DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaune (US 2014/0054762).Re claim 1: Nagaune discloses A power conversion device (everything in fig. 1(b)), comprising: a semiconductor module (14, 15, 16, 1 in fig. 1(a)) having a heat dissipation fin (11 in fig. 3); and a flow path (flow path of 201 in fig. 4) through which a coolant (‘cooling medium’ in para. 0055) flows, allowing the coolant to flow at least at an area where the heat dissipation fin is positioned (fig. 4), wherein the flow path is configured to direct a flow of the coolant upward (the flow path of 201 directs a cooling medium upward in fig. 4).Re claim 2: Nagaune discloses wherein a guide portion (25 and the zigzag section of 2 that connects to it in fig. 4) is formed on a lower surface of the flow path at a position ahead of the heat dissipation fin and obliquely protrude upward toward a flow direction of the coolant (lower surface of the flow path of 201 at a position that’s ahead of the 11’s and obliquely protrudes upward toward a flow direction of 201 in fig. 4).Re claim 3: Nagaune discloses wherein an upper end of the guide portion is positioned higher than a lower end of the heat dissipation fin (top end of 25 is above the bottom end of 11 in fig. 4).Re claim 4: Nagaune discloses wherein the guide portion includes an inclined portion inclined upward and a flat portion horizontally extending in the flow direction from an upper end of the inclined portion (the upper end of the inclined portion below 25 has a flat portion horizontally extending from it in the flow direction in fig. 4).Re claim 6: Nagaune discloses wherein the guide portion includes a stepped portion (25 in fig. 4) protruding upward from a rear end of the flat portion (top end of the flat portion in fig. 4).Re claim 7: Nagaune discloses wherein the stepped portion is formed extending in a width direction from one widthwise end of the flat portion to other widthwise end of the flat portion (25 extends from left to right from its bottom left to its bottom right in fig. 4).Re claim 8: Nagaune discloses wherein the stepped portion has a constant height (25 has a constant height in fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaune (US 2014/0054762) in view of Chen (US 2007/0215335).Re claim 10: Nagaune discloses A power conversion device (everything in fig. 1(b)), comprising: a housing (2 in fig. 4) having a flow path through which a coolant flows (flow path of 201 in fig. 4), wherein the flow path includes a heat exchanger (11’s in fig. 3, 4) having an opening in an upper portion thereof (the channels on the right end of the upper portion of 11 form an opening that lets 201 pass in fig. 4), and wherein a guide portion (25 and the zigzag section of 2 that connects to it in fig. 4) obliquely protruding upward (fig. 4) is formed on a lower surface of the flow path (lower surface of the flow path of 201 in fig. 4); a cover (1 in fig. 4) covering the upper portion of the heat exchanger (1 covers the upper portion of the 11’s in fig. 4), coupled to the housing (1 is coupled to 2 in fig. 4); and a semiconductor module (14, 15, 16 in fig. 1(a)) coupled to the cover (fig. 1(a)). Nagaune does not explicitly disclose wherein the cover having a communication hole communicating with the heat exchanger; and having a heat dissipation fin inserted into the communication hole. Chen discloses wherein the cover (10 in fig. 2) having a communication hole (142 in fig. 2) communicating with the heat exchanger (20’s in fig. 2); and having a heat dissipation fin (20 in fig. 2) inserted into the communication hole (fig. 2). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conversion device of Nagaune wherein the cover having a communication hole communicating with the heat exchanger; and having a heat dissipation fin inserted into the communication hole as taught by Chen, in order to be able to use different materials for the cover and the heat exchanger to make use of different material properties as needed. For example, copper has excellent heat conduction but aluminum is lighter and cost-effective.Re claim 11: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein the heat dissipation fin is positioned behind the guide portion in the heat exchanger (11 is behind 25 in fig. 4).Re claim 12: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein an upper end of the guide portion is positioned higher than a lower end of the heat dissipation fin. (top end of 25 is above the bottom end of 11 in fig. 4).Re claim 13: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein the guide portion includes an inclined portion inclined upward toward a flow direction of the coolant and a flat portion horizontally extending from an upper end of the inclined portion in the flow direction. (the upper end of the inclined portion below 25 has a flat portion horizontally extending from it in the flow direction in fig. 4).Re claim 14: The modified Nagaune does not explicitly disclose wherein the inclined portion is formed as a convex curved surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conversion device of the modified Nagaune wherein the inclined portion is formed as a convex curved surface in order to provide smoother flow for the coolant, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).Re claim 15: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein the guide portion includes a stepped portion (25 in fig. 4) protruding upward from a rear end of the flat portion (top end of the flat portion in fig. 4).Re claim 16: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein the stepped portion is formed extending in a width direction from one widthwise end of the flat portion to other widthwise end of the flat portion (25 extends from left to right from its bottom left to its bottom right in fig. 4).Re claim 17: The modified Nagaune discloses wherein the stepped portion has a constant height along the width direction (25 has a constant height from left to right in fig. 4).Re claim 18: The modified Nagaune does not explicitly disclose wherein a front surface of the stepped portion is connected to the flat portion through a concave surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conversion device of the modified Nagaune wherein a front surface of the stepped portion is connected to the flat portion through a concave surface in order to provide smoother flow for the coolant, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaune (US 2014/0054762).Re claim 5: Nagaune does not explicitly disclose wherein the inclined portion is formed as a convex curved surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conversion device of Nagaune wherein the inclined portion is formed as a convex curved surface in order to provide smoother flow for the coolant, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).Re claim 9: Nagaune does not explicitly disclose wherein a front surface of the stepped portion is connected to the flat portion through a concave surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conversion device of Nagaune wherein a front surface of the stepped portion is connected to the flat portion through a concave surface in order to provide smoother flow for the coolant, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance: the limitations of claim 19 (wherein a first inclined surface is formed on a lower surface of the cover and is positioned ahead of the communication hole and inclined upward toward a flow direction of the coolant) in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10 are believed to render the combined subject matter allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance: the limitations of claim 20 (wherein a second inclined surface is formed on a lower surface of the cover and is positioned behind the communication hole and inclined downward toward a flow direction of the coolant) in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10 are believed to render the combined subject matter allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 7,564,129 – is considered pertinent because this reference describes a power semiconductor module.
US 2020/0286812 – is considered pertinent because this reference describes a refrigerant channel of a heatsink.
US 2023/0044486 – is considered pertinent because this reference describes a liquid cooling jacket with a refrigerant flow path.
/ZHENGFU J FENG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835 November 29, 2025