DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (i.e., claim(s) 1-9) with traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the basis that a search and examination of all claims would place no burden on the examiner. This is found not to be persuasive because:
Applicant fails to provide evidence that there is not an undue burden;
the groups are directed to distinct inventions having different classifications which is which evidence of search burden (See CTRS dated 11/29/2025);
examination on the merits of method claims differs from that of apparatus claims; and
there is nothing to indicate that the search and examination would be coextensive.
For at least the reasons set forth above, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made final. As the result, claim(s) 10-14 are/remain withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected Groups II and III. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-9 is/are examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, “using at least one processor:” should be changed to --using at least one processor configured for:--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “adjustable springs to control a pressure exerted by the powder deposition device”, “a high-resolution camera”, and “one or more sensors configured to monitor powder behavior during a recoating process” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figures. 2A-2D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g) and [0012, 0027-0032] of Applicant’s published application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“powder deposition device to arrange a first layer” in claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0022] and [0035] of Applicant’s published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krol (US 20190168304).
Regarding claim 1, Krol discloses a method of operating an additive fabrication device to fabricate a three-dimensional object (P0001), the method comprising:
using at least one processor (implicit disclosure of a processor based on the disclosed manner of controlling the additive fabrication device: P0027, 0033, 0055, 0071; See prior art of record):
operating a powder deposition device (the taught group of powder application devices 20 reads on the claimed powder deposition device) to arrange a first layer (lowermost layer) of powder over a build platform (12) of the additive fabrication device (P0057, 0059, 0063, Fig. 1a);
scanning a laser beam (scanning rightmost laser beam B) to consolidate portions of the first layer of powder along a path of the laser beam, wherein the laser beam's path corresponds to a cross-section of an object being fabricated (P0002, 0057, 0067-0069, Fig. 1a); and
prior to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder, operating the powder deposition device to deposit powder on top of at least part of the first layer of powder (P0023, 0040, 0063, Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 2, Krol further discloses wherein the powder deposited on top of at least part of the first layer of powder is a portion of a second layer of powder, and wherein the method further comprises continuing to operate the powder deposition device to completely deposit the second layer of powder over the first layer of powder (P0023, 0040, 0063).
Regarding claim 6, Krol further implicitly discloses prior to moving the powder deposition device, determining, by the at least one processor, that moving the powder deposition device over the first layer of powder would not interfere with the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder (P0068-0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 20150283761) in view of Takenami (JP 3724437B2 with English machine translation – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses a method of operating an additive fabrication device to fabricate a three-dimensional object (P0001-0002, Figs. 1), the method comprising:
using at least one processor (using control part 5 configured for processing data and controlling the additive fabrication device based on processing data: P0002, 0017-0022, Figs. 1-2; thus, 5 reads on the claimed processor):
operating a powder deposition device (3) to arrange a first layer of powder (M) over a build platform (23) of the additive fabrication device (P0002, 0019, 0021, Figs. 1-2);
scanning a laser beam (L) to consolidate portions of the first layer of powder along a path of the laser beam, wherein the laser beam's path corresponds to a cross-section (F) of an object being fabricated (P0020, 0022, Figs. 1-2).
Maeda fails to explicitly disclose prior to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder, operating the powder deposition device to deposit powder on top of at least part of the first layer of powder.
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices (P0001, 0008, Fig. 1), Takenami discloses the technique of prior to completing the scanning of a laser beam (L) on a first layer of powder, operating a powder deposition device (2) to deposit powder on top of at least part (V) of the first layer of powder (P0009, 0048, annotated Figs. 1 and 13c) for the benefit(s) of shortening fabrication time and/or increasing the production efficiency (P0008).
Since Maeda further discloses to execute at least partially the powder layer formation and scanning simultaneously to shorten fabrication time (P0030), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Maeda in view of Takenami by configuring the at least one processor for operating the powder deposition device to deposit powder on top of at least part of the first layer of powder prior to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder for yielding the predictable result(s)/benefit(s) of shortening fabrication time and/or increasing the production efficiency as suggested by Takenami. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Regarding claim 2, Takenami further discloses wherein the powder deposited on top of at least part of the first layer of powder is a portion of a second layer of powder, and wherein the method further comprises continuing to operate the powder deposition device to completely deposit the second layer of powder over the first layer of powder (P0009, 0048, annotated Figs. 1 and 13c).
Regarding claim 3, Maede further discloses/suggests lowering the build platform to position the second layer of powder for scanning of the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder (P0021, 0030). Takenami further discloses/suggests lowering the build platform to position the second layer of powder for scanning of the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder (P0048, Figs. 9a-c).
Regarding claim 4, since Maede further discloses that the technique of scanning the laser beam to consolidate portions of a layer of powder in response to the powder deposition device completing depositing the layer of powder on the build platform is known in the art for the benefit(s) of executing formation of the powder layer and scanning of the powder layer at different times (P0004) while Takenami further discloses/suggests the technique of scanning the laser beam to consolidate portions of a layer of powder after the powder deposition device completes depositing the layer of powder on the build platform (Figs. 9a-c), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the method of Maeda by scanning the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder in response to the powder deposition device completing depositing the layer second layer of powder on the build platform for yielding the predictable result(s)/benefit(s) of executing formation of the second powder layer and scanning of the second powder layer at different/subsequent times. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C and 2144.04 IV C.
Regarding claim 5, Takenami further discloses prior to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the second layer of powder, operating the powder deposition device to deposit powder over at least part of the second layer of powder (repeating the taught powder deposition and irradiating steps: P0009, annotated Figs. 1 and 13c).
Regarding claim 6, Maede further discloses/suggests prior to moving the powder deposition device, determining, by the at least one processor, that moving the powder deposition device over the first layer of powder would not interfere with the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder (P0022-0023). Takenami further discloses/suggests further discloses/suggests prior to moving the powder deposition device, determining, by the at least one processor, that moving the powder deposition device over the first layer of powder would not interfere with the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder (P0009, 0048, annotated Figs. 1 and 13c).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krol (US 20190168304) as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 3-4, Krol further discloses subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder on the build platform by the powder deposition device, lowering the build platform to position the second layer of powder at a suitable height position (P0074-0076, Fig. 1b).
However, Krol fails to disclose to position the second layer of powder for scanning of the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder and scanning the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder.
However, as evidenced the prior art of record (e.g., [0027-0032] of Applicant’s published application), the technique of lowering the build platform to position the second layer of powder for scanning of the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder and scanning the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder is well-known in the art and desirable when using only one laser beam.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Krol in view of ordinary knowledge in the art by configuring the at least one processor to lower the build platform to position the second layer of powder for scanning of the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder and to scan the laser beam to consolidate portions of the second layer of powder subsequent to completely depositing the second layer of powder for yielding the predictable result(s)/benefit(s) of allowing use of single laser beam and decreasing the cost/complexity of the device of Krol. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C and/or 2144 II. In addition, since it has been held that the changes in the order of steps is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results/criticality, the proposed modification is deemed obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Regarding claim 5, Krol further discloses prior to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the second layer of powder, operating the powder deposition device to deposit powder over at least part of the second layer of powder (P0023, 0040, 0063, Fig. 1a).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krol (US 20190168304) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Safai (US 20210356404) and/or Colosimo (US 20220016709).
Regarding claim 7, Krol fails to explicitly disclose that in response to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder, determining, by the at least one processor, whether or not the first layer comprises any defects based on image data generated by a high-resolution camera.
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices, Safai discloses the technique of including a processor (140) configured for determining whether or not the first/latest manufactured layer comprises any defects based on image data generated by a high-resolution camera (130) for the benefit(s) of eliminating defects in the manufactured/printed layer during the additive fabrication and/or enhancing printing quality (P0033-0036, 0039-0043).
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices, Colosimo discloses the technique of determining whether or not the first/latest printed layer comprises any defects based on image data generated by a high-resolution camera after completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first/latest layer of powder (P0049, 0063, 0071-0079, 0091, Fig. 4) for the benefit(s) of detecting/eliminating defects in the printed layer during the additive fabrication and/or enhancing printing quality (P0001, 0098).
Since Krol further discloses to detect errors/defect on the first/previous layer of powder based on camera sensors in order to correct the errors/defect in-situ (P0031), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Krol in view Safai and/or Colosimo by configuring the at least one processor to determine whether or not the first layer comprises any defects based on image data generated by a high-resolution camera in response to completing the scanning of the laser beam on the first layer of powder for yielding the predictable results of for the benefit(s) of detecting/eliminating defects in the printed layer during the additive fabrication and/or enhancing printing quality as suggested by Safai and/or Colosimo. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krol (US 20190168304) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 206652972U with English machine translation - attached) and/or Schmidbauer (US 20200114424).
Regarding claim 8, Krol fails to disclose wherein the powder deposition device includes adjustable springs to control a pressure exerted by the powder deposition device against the first layer of powder.
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices, Wang discloses the technique of including in a powder deposition device adjustable springs (springs 4: Fig. 1) to control a pressure exerted by the powder deposition device against the layer of powder for the benefit(s) of enhancing powder deposition (abstract, pages 1-3 of translation).
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices, Schmidbauer discloses the technique of including in the powder deposition device adjustable springs (9) to control a pressure exerted by the powder deposition device against the layer of powder (P0012-0013, 0023-0024, 0044-0046, Fig. 2) for the benefit(s) of enhancing powder deposition (P0005, 0048).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Krol in view Wang and/or Schmidbauer by including/incorporating in the powder deposition device adjustable springs to control a pressure exerted by the powder deposition device against the layer of powder for the benefit(s) of improving powder deposition as suggested by Wang and Schmidbauer. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krol (US 20190168304) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi (US 20200238613).
Regarding claim 9, Krol fails to disclose wherein the powder deposition device includes one or more sensors configured to monitor powder behavior during a recoating process.
In the same field of endeavor, methods of operating additive fabrication devices, Shi discloses the technique of including on the powder deposition device (200) one or more sensors (252) configured to monitor powder behavior during a recoating process for the benefit of improving powder deposition control and accuracy (P0053-0056, Fig. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Krol in view Shi by including/incorporating in the powder deposition device one or more sensors configured to monitor powder behavior during a recoating process for the benefit(s) of improving powder deposition control and accuracy as suggested by Shi. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure.
Torrealba (US 20240286355) discloses a relevant method (Claims 22-28).
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743