Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document JP 5872178 B2 (herein referred to as ‘178).
Regarding claim1, ‘178 discloses a honeycomb structure for a heat exchanger, the honeycomb structure comprising: an inner peripheral wall 8; an outer peripheral wall 3; and partition walls 7 disposed between the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls defining cells 5 each extending from a first end face to a second end face (see Fig. 6)., wherein, in a cross section orthogonal to an extending direction of the cells, the partition walls comprise one or more first partition walls extending in a radial direction. ‘178 does not disclose the diameters or the opening ratio as recited, however, since the prior art discloses the structure of the device, the recited diameters and the opening ratio would have involved a mere change in the size of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the recited one or more second partition walls would have involved duplication of working parts of a device, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the device will still carry its intended tasks with the modification.
Regarding claims 3-6, the opening ratios would have involved a mere change in the size of a component as stated above.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, ‘178 discloses a heat exchanger comprising the recited honeycomb structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 2 that JP ‘178 fails to teach the inner diameter of the asserted peripheral wall, and the opening ratio of the honeycomb structure. While the examiner agrees that JP ‘178 fails to teach the claimed range, the claim is not patentable over the teaching of JP ‘178. As explained on page 4 of JP ‘178 (translation), the diameter and the thickness of these walls are for reducing the chances of cracks. Furthermore, JP ’178 six examples of different parameters, in which the concerns of thickness, diameter, and openings are similar to applicant’s invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive to applicant’s inner and outer diameter claimed range as well as the opening ratio, since this would merely involve routine experimentation to find an optimal result.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763