DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-10, 12 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/26.
In the reply of 7/20/26 applicant indicated that claims 1-20 read on the elected specie of figures 9-10. However, claim 8 recites the first stage is configured for outside-in flow which is contrary to figures 9-10 where the first stage in inside-out. Therefore, claims 8-10 are withdrawn as claims 9-10 depend from claim 8. Claim 12 recites the first and second stages are modular. Paragraphs 23-24 of the specification state that figures 11-12 are an exploded view illustrating the filter element of figure 7. Paragraph 28 also presents the modular arrangement is in contrast to the end cap (82), which is the endcap of figures 9-10. Therefore, the modular arrangement recited in claim 12 is directed to a non-elected specie and claim 13 depends from claim 12 and both are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 appears to have a typo and should read, “…configured for inside[[r]]-out flow…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 15 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 14 requires the first stage is configured for inside-out flow. Claims 15 and 17 each add the additional limitation that the second stage is configured for outside-in flow and thus are duplicate claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 16, claim 14, line 14 and claim 18, line 15 each recite the first and second filter media provide axially staged treatment of the fluid. Claim 18, line 11 also recites the second filter media treats the fluid in an outside-in flow. This is a recitation of the process of the filter cartridge filtering a fluid and thus the claim is directed to both a product and a process. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). It is unclear if infringement would occur when the filter medias actually provide treatment to a fluid or if infringement would occur if the filter medias are capable of providing treatment to a fluid. For examination purposes the claims are assumed to recite the filter medias are capable of providing treatment to the fluid.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inlet flow” and "the outlet flow” in lines 3 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite “an inlet flow” and “an outlet flow”.
Claims 14 and 18 recite the same limitations and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the partially treated fluid". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “a partially treated fluid”.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jumper US 3,564,883.
Claim 1, Jumper teaches an integral filter element assembly (16) with axially staged treatment comprising: a proximal endcap (25) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an inlet flow through the filter element, a first filter media (17) adhesively (28) coupled to and extending from the proximal endcap and configured to treat a fluid flowing therethrough in a first stage, an intermediate endcap unit (29) adhesively (30) coupled to the first filter media and spaced from the proximal end cap, a second filter media (22) adhesively (31) coupled to and extending from the intermediate endcap unit and configured to treat fluid flowing therethrough in a second stage, the second filter media is a distinct type of media from the first filter media (col. 2, lines 16-62) and a distal endcap (34) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an outlet flow through the filter element and adhesively (35’) coupled to the second filter media and spaced from the intermediate endcap unit, the first and second filter media are configured to provide axially staged treatment to the fluid within an integral filter element assembly (fig. 1). The recitation of the filter element being a “drop-in” filter element is a recitation of how the filter element is installed within a housing and does not provide any particular structural limitation to the filter element.
Claim 14, Jumper teaches a filter element assembly (16) with axially staged treatment comprising: a proximal endcap (25) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an inlet flow through the filter element including a central opening, a first filter media (17) extending from the proximal endcap and configured to treat a fluid flowing therethrough in a first stage in an inside-out flow direction, an intermediate endcap unit (29) coupled to the first filter media and spaced from the proximal end cap, a second filter media (22) extending from the intermediate endcap unit and configured to treat fluid flowing therethrough in a second stage, the second filter media is a distinct type of media from the first filter media (col. 2, lines 16-62) and a distal endcap (34) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an outlet flow through the filter element and coupled to the second filter media and spaced from the intermediate endcap unit, wherein the first and second filter media are configured to provide axially staged treatment to the fluid (fig. 1). The recitation of the filter element being a “drop-in” filter element is a recitation of how the filter element is installed within a housing and does not provide any particular structural limitation to the filter element.
Claim 18, Jumper teaches a filter element assembly (16) with axially staged treatment comprising: a proximal endcap (25) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an inlet flow through the filter element, a first filter media (17) extending from the proximal endcap and configured to treat a fluid flowing therethrough in a first stage, an intermediate endcap unit (29) coupled to the first filter media and spaced from the proximal end cap, a second filter media (22) extending from the intermediate endcap unit and configured to treat fluid flowing therethrough in a second stage, the second filter media is a distinct type of media from the first filter media (col. 2, lines 16-62) and is configured to treat the fluid in an outside-in flow in the second stage, and a distal endcap (34) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an outlet flow through the filter element and coupled to the second filter media and spaced from the intermediate endcap unit, wherein the first and second filter media are configured to provide axially staged treatment to the fluid (fig. 1). The recitation of the filter element being a “drop-in” filter element is a recitation of how the filter element is installed within a housing and does not provide any particular structural limitation to the filter element.
Claims 2-7, 11, 15-17 and 19, Jumper further teaches the second stage is configured for outside in flow (fig. 1); the intermediate endcap unit is configured to block fluid flow directly from the interior of the first filter media to an interior of the second filter media (fig. 1); the second stage includes an internal perforated support tube (23) adjacent the second filter media receiving partially treated fluid form the first stage (fig. 1); the first stage is configured for inside-out flow and the second stage is configured for outside-in flow (fig. 1); the intermediate endcap unit is configured to direct fluid from the interior of the first filter media through the first filter media (fig. 1); and the first stage includes an external perforated support tube (20) adjacent the first filter media (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. US 4,565,629.
Claim 14, Wilson teaches a filter element assembly (13) with axially staged treatment comprising: a proximal endcap (at 31) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an inlet flow through the filter element including a central opening, a first filter media (52) extending from the proximal endcap and configured to treat a fluid flowing therethrough in a first stage in an inside-out flow direction, an intermediate endcap unit coupled to the first filter media and spaced from the proximal end cap, a second filter media (54) extending from the intermediate endcap unit and configured to treat fluid flowing therethrough in a second stage, the second filter media is a distinct type of media from the first filter media (col. 3, lines 34-48) and a distal endcap (at 28) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an outlet flow through the filter element and coupled to the second filter media and spaced from the intermediate endcap unit, wherein the first and second filter media are configured to provide axially staged treatment to the fluid (fig. 1). The recitation of the filter element being a “drop-in” filter element is a recitation of how the filter element is installed within a housing and does not provide any particular structural limitation to the filter element.
Claim 18, Wilson teaches a filter element assembly (13) with axially staged treatment comprising: a proximal endcap (at 31) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an inlet flow through the filter element, a first filter media (52) extending from the proximal endcap and configured to treat a fluid flowing therethrough in a first stage, an intermediate endcap unit coupled to the first filter media and spaced from the proximal end cap, a second filter media (54) extending from the intermediate endcap unit and configured to treat fluid flowing therethrough in a second stage, the second filter media is a distinct type of media from the first filter media (col. 3, lines 34-48) and is configured to treat the fluid in an outside-in flow in the second stage, and a distal endcap (at 28) configured to be positioned within a filter housing adjacent an outlet flow through the filter element and coupled to the second filter media and spaced from the intermediate endcap unit, wherein the first and second filter media are configured to provide axially staged treatment to the fluid (fig. 1). The recitation of the filter element being a “drop-in” filter element is a recitation of how the filter element is installed within a housing and does not provide any particular structural limitation to the filter element.
Claims 15, 17 and 19-20, Wilson further teaches the first stage is configured for inside-out flow and the second stage is configured to outside-in flow and the proximal and distal endcaps each include a sealing member (28, 31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,144,407 Olmos
US 4,259,097 Patel et al.
US 2008/0272046 Lampert et al.
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779