DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/581,573 filed on February 20, 2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopka et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250254593, hereinafter, “Kopka”) in view of Uusitalo et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20110143761, hereinafter, “Uusitalo”).
Regarding claim 1, Kopka teaches:
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a device, an area of reduced wireless communication coverage for a primary wireless communication channel utilized for wireless communication by a mobile node during transit of the mobile node along a predicted path (Kopka: [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 2, according to some embodiments, topology engine 200 [i.e., device] includes one or more of a signal module 202, a physical topology module 204, a network topology module 206, and virtual tunnel module 208 … [0054] In some embodiments, the signal module 202 uses Radio Resource Management (RRM) to ensure optimal distribution of available radio frequency (RF) spectrum among multiple access points (APs) in a network ... In some embodiments, the RRM can identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) and adjust the network parameters to improve coverage in these areas. This might involve … changing their channel assignment, which can be done proactively (i.e., before a user arrives) … [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel ... Fig. 2).
Although Kopka teaches a topology engine using Radio Resource Management (RRM) to identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) in relation to the predicted path a client device will travel, Kopka does not explicitly teach:
enabling, by the device and in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path; and
returning, by the device and based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Uusitalo teaches:
enabling, by the device and in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path (Uusitalo: [0118] ... As already illustrated in FIG. 4b, the apparatus allows for advance (e.g. while the device is still in one cell and before it has moved to the next (e.g. adjacent) cell in question along the predicted path) indications of channels available to the mobile device D whilst it is moving along a predicted geographic path … [0119] … device D is moving from origin A to destination B. The device D is predicted to cross over five different cells along this geographic path. In this scenario, the apparatus 100/processor 2 has identified/determined a full listing of channels available within each cell ... Once the apparatus 100 has determined the channels available in each cell, it can consider optimization of channel selection … [0120] ... In certain embodiments of the present disclosure, one or more of channel strength, reliability etc. may also be considered as a criterion for determining channel availability [i.e., threshold level] (e.g. if more than one channel is available) ... Figs. 4b, 5); and
returning, by the device and based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node (Uusitalo: [0121] In contrast, there is a great benefit in the present embodiment of FIG. 5 in selecting a channel that is common across multiple cells/regions. By providing an advance indication of common channels available for use across some or all of the cells/regions along a predicted geographic path it is possible to reduce the number of channel switches that would take place as the device D moves from region to region, or even to eliminate the need for channel switching depending on the predicted path to be taken and channels available along that predicted path. As shown in FIG. 5, if channel four is selected at the start of the journey, no further channel changes need occur between the origin and destination if the predicted path is followed. This optimization of channel selection helps to reduce interruption of white-space communication, reduce power needed to switch channels, etc. [As shown in Fig. 5 and described in ¶ [0118-0123], it is possible to equate Channel 4 in cell (i) as the claimed “primary wireless channel”, and as the device transitions into cell (ii) (equated to the claimed “area”), the “secondary wireless channel” can be selected from the available Channels 1 or 5 (per optimization of channel selection mentioned in ¶ [0120]). Once exiting from cell (ii), the device can go back to/reselect Channel 4 ]. Figs. 4b, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka to include the features as taught by Uusitalo above in order to improve seamless connectivity for a device moving between cells along a geographic path or journey. (Uusitalo, ¶ [0118]).
Regarding claim 14, Kopka teaches:
An apparatus, comprising:
one or more network interfaces to communicate with a network; a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes; and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the process, when executed, configured to (Kopka: [0082] FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating a client device showing an example embodiment of a client device that may be used within the present disclosure and/or the framework illustrated in FIG. 1. Client device 700 may include many more or less components than those shown in FIG. 7, such as a plurality of computers. However, the components shown are sufficient to disclose an illustrative embodiment for implementing the present disclosure. Client device 700 may represent, for example, UE 102 discussed above at least in relation to FIG. 1. [0083] As shown in the figure, in some embodiments, client device 700 includes one or more processors (CPU) 722 in communication with one or more non-transitory computer readable media 730 … one or more network interfaces 750 … [0089] Mass memory 730 includes a RAM 732, a ROM 734, and other storage means. Mass memory 730 illustrates another example of computer storage media for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules ... Figs. 1, 7):
identify an area of reduced wireless communication coverage for a primary wireless communication channel utilized for wireless communication by a mobile node during transit of the mobile node along a predicted path (Kopka: [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 2, according to some embodiments, topology engine 200 [i.e., device] includes one or more of a signal module 202, a physical topology module 204, a network topology module 206, and virtual tunnel module 208 … [0054] In some embodiments, the signal module 202 uses Radio Resource Management (RRM) to ensure optimal distribution of available radio frequency (RF) spectrum among multiple access points (APs) in a network ... In some embodiments, the RRM can identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) and adjust the network parameters to improve coverage in these areas. This might involve … changing their channel assignment, which can be done proactively (i.e., before a user arrives) … [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel ... Fig. 2).
Although Kopka teaches a topology engine using Radio Resource Management (RRM) to identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) in relation to the predicted path a client device will travel, Kopka does not explicitly teach:
enable, in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path; and
return, based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Uusitalo teaches:
enable, in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path (Uusitalo: [0118] ... As already illustrated in FIG. 4b, the apparatus allows for advance (e.g. while the device is still in one cell and before it has moved to the next (e.g. adjacent) cell in question along the predicted path) indications of channels available to the mobile device D whilst it is moving along a predicted geographic path … [0119] … device D is moving from origin A to destination B. The device D is predicted to cross over five different cells along this geographic path. In this scenario, the apparatus 100/processor 2 has identified/determined a full listing of channels available within each cell ... Once the apparatus 100 has determined the channels available in each cell, it can consider optimization of channel selection … [0120] ... In certain embodiments of the present disclosure, one or more of channel strength, reliability etc. may also be considered as a criterion for determining channel availability [i.e., threshold level] (e.g. if more than one channel is available) ... Figs. 4b, 5); and
return, based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node (Uusitalo: [0121] In contrast, there is a great benefit in the present embodiment of FIG. 5 in selecting a channel that is common across multiple cells/regions. By providing an advance indication of common channels available for use across some or all of the cells/regions along a predicted geographic path it is possible to reduce the number of channel switches that would take place as the device D moves from region to region, or even to eliminate the need for channel switching depending on the predicted path to be taken and channels available along that predicted path. As shown in FIG. 5, if channel four is selected at the start of the journey, no further channel changes need occur between the origin and destination if the predicted path is followed. This optimization of channel selection helps to reduce interruption of white-space communication, reduce power needed to switch channels, etc. [As shown in Fig. 5 and described in ¶ [0118-0123], it is possible to equate Channel 4 in cell (i) as the claimed “primary wireless channel”, and as the device transitions into cell (ii) (equated to the claimed “area”), the “secondary wireless channel” can be selected from the available Channels 1 or 5 (per optimization of channel selection mentioned in ¶ [0120]). Once exiting from cell (ii), the device can go back to/reselect Channel 4 ]. Figs. 4b, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka to include the features as taught by Uusitalo above in order to improve seamless connectivity for a device moving between cells along a geographic path or journey. (Uusitalo, ¶ [0118]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 14 as outlined above.
Kopka further teaches:
wherein the secondary wireless communication channel is reserved for use by the mobile node within the area of reduced wireless communication coverage for the primary wireless communication channel (Kopka: [0063] In some embodiments, the virtual tunnel module 208 is configured to execute a seamless handoff for client devices as they move through the network in a Multi-Dwelling Unit (MDU). In some embodiments, a seamless handoff includes the client device transitioning from one access point (AP) to another without the user experiencing any substantial interruption in service, such as dropped connections and/or buffering. The virtual tunnel module works in conjunction with the physical topology module 204 and logical topology module 206 to predict the path a client device will take based on historical data and the physical layout of the MDU. This prediction includes identifying which APs the device will likely connect to as it moves as described above. Once the path is predicted, the virtual tunnel module 208 can reserve resources on the APs along the predicted path. This reservation ensures that the necessary bandwidth and connection capabilities are available for the client device when it reaches the new AP's coverage area.).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 14 as outlined above.
Kopka further teaches:
wherein the area of reduced wireless communication coverage for the primary wireless communication channel is identified based on one or more of mapped signal properties associated with the area (Kopka: [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel. The physical location of the APs can be determined in one or more ways. In some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use an AP map, which may include a digital representation of the MDU structure (e.g., walls, floors, levels, etc.) and/or the location of the APs within the MDU. Suitable digital representations of an MDU include … a signal strength map. Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 14 as outlined above.
Kopka further teaches:
wherein a location of the mobile node relative to the area of reduced wireless communication coverage for the primary wireless communication channel is identified based on one or more of global positioning system data associated with the mobile node (Kopka: [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel. The physical location of the APs can be determined in one or more ways. In some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use an AP map, which may include a digital representation of the MDU structure (e.g., walls, floors, levels, etc.) and/or the location of the APs within the MDU. Suitable digital representations of an MDU include … a signal strength map … [0059] In some embodiments, the physical topology 204 module uses a Global Positioning System (GPS), which may be associated with UE 102, to determine physical topology, where the movement is received and/or stored by the physical topology module to define the paths, non-paths, and/or obstacles. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uusitalo further teaches:
wherein the mobile node is part of a convoy of moving vehicles, and wherein enabling the secondary wireless communication channel includes coordinating wireless communications between a plurality of mobile nodes of the convoy to establish the secondary wireless communication channel via a different mobile node of the plurality of mobile nodes of the convoy located outside of the area (Uusitalo: [0128] As the multiple/plurality of devices D of the network shown in FIG. 6 are travelling together, i.e. they all pass through the same cells/regions along that path at substantially the same time, it can be said that they are all sharing the same journey. Therefore, the same channels available for one device of the network would also be available for all the other devices of the network (subject to capacity issues) … [0130] The highlighted device D' is, in this locally defined ad hoc network, configured to act as a master node. This master node device D' effectively represents the network to the apparatus 100 (and in other embodiments may comprise the apparatus 100). The master node mobile device D' provides predicted geographic path signalling to the apparatus 100, which then operates in substantially the same way as for the single mobile device of FIG. 5. The processor 2 then returns the advance indication (via output 4) that channel 4 is available for use by master node mobile device D'. This advance indication may then be used by the other devices of the network to select appropriate channels available for use along the predicted geographic path to be taken ... Figs. 6, 7).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Uusitalo is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Uusitalo further teaches:
wherein the convoy is selected from a group consisting of: a train on a track (Uusitalo: [0127] ... In the situation where a plurality of devices connect to each other in ad-hoc manner to form a mesh network, the whole network is moving together with its users (e.g. on a train, bus, plane, etc) ... Figs. 6, 7).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Uusitalo is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uusitalo further teaches:
selecting the secondary wireless communication channel from a pool of available channels based on environmental conditions and channel performance metrics (Uusitalo: [0119] … device D is moving from origin A to destination B. The device D is predicted to cross over five different cells along this geographic path. In this scenario, the apparatus 100/processor 2 has identified/determined a full listing of channels available within each cell ... Once the apparatus 100 has determined the channels available in each cell, it can consider optimization of channel selection … [0120] ... In certain embodiments of the present disclosure, one or more of channel strength, reliability etc. may also be considered as a criterion for determining channel availability (e.g. if more than one channel is available) ... Figs. 4b, 5).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Uusitalo is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kopka further teaches:
wherein the device is the mobile node (Kopka: [0049] Topology engine 200, as discussed above and further below in more detail, can include components for the disclosed functionality. According to some embodiments, topology engine 200 may be a special purpose computing machine or processor, and can be hosted by a device on network 104, within cloud system 106, on AP device, 108 and/or on UE 102 … [0041] According to some embodiments, UE 102 can be any type of device, such as, but not limited to, a mobile (smart) phone, (smart) watch, tablet, laptop, sensor, IoT device, autonomous machine, appliance, and/or any other device equipped with a cellular and/or wireless or wired transceiver.... Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kopka further teaches:
wherein identifying the area of reduced wireless communication coverage along the predicted path is based on wireless communication performance by one or more mobile nodes along a known repeated path (Kopka: [0054] In some embodiments, the signal module 202 uses Radio Resource Management (RRM) to ensure optimal distribution of available radio frequency (RF) spectrum among multiple access points (APs) in a network ... In some embodiments, the RRM can identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) and adjust the network parameters to improve coverage in these areas. This might involve … changing their channel assignment, which can be done proactively (i.e., before a user arrives) … [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel ... Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Kopka teaches:
A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a device to execute a process comprising (Kopka: [0083] As shown in the figure, in some embodiments, client device 700 includes one or more processors (CPU) 722 in communication with one or more non-transitory computer readable media 730 via a bus 724 … [0089] Mass memory 730 includes a RAM 732, a ROM 734, and other storage means. Mass memory 730 illustrates another example of computer storage media for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules ... Figs. 1, 7):
identifying an area of reduced wireless communication coverage for a primary wireless communication channel utilized for wireless communication by a mobile node during transit of the mobile node along a predicted path (Kopka: [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 2, according to some embodiments, topology engine 200 [i.e., device] includes one or more of a signal module 202, a physical topology module 204, a network topology module 206, and virtual tunnel module 208 … [0054] In some embodiments, the signal module 202 uses Radio Resource Management (RRM) to ensure optimal distribution of available radio frequency (RF) spectrum among multiple access points (APs) in a network ... In some embodiments, the RRM can identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) and adjust the network parameters to improve coverage in these areas. This might involve … changing their channel assignment, which can be done proactively (i.e., before a user arrives) … [0055] Still referring to FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the physical topology module 204 is configured to use physical locations of the APs and/or a physical layout of an MDU to predict a path the client device will travel ... Fig. 2).
Although Kopka teaches a topology engine using Radio Resource Management (RRM) to identify areas with weak or no signal (known as “coverage holes”) in relation to the predicted path a client device will travel, Kopka does not explicitly teach:
enabling, in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path; and
returning, based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Uusitalo teaches:
enabling, in preparation of the mobile node entering the area, a secondary wireless communication channel configured to provide a threshold level of wireless communication coverage for wireless communication by the mobile node during transit through the area along the predicted path (Uusitalo: [0118] ... As already illustrated in FIG. 4b, the apparatus allows for advance (e.g. while the device is still in one cell and before it has moved to the next (e.g. adjacent) cell in question along the predicted path) indications of channels available to the mobile device D whilst it is moving along a predicted geographic path … [0119] … device D is moving from origin A to destination B. The device D is predicted to cross over five different cells along this geographic path. In this scenario, the apparatus 100/processor 2 has identified/determined a full listing of channels available within each cell ... Once the apparatus 100 has determined the channels available in each cell, it can consider optimization of channel selection … [0120] ... In certain embodiments of the present disclosure, one or more of channel strength, reliability etc. may also be considered as a criterion for determining channel availability [i.e., threshold level] (e.g. if more than one channel is available) ... Figs. 4b, 5); and
returning, based on the mobile node exiting the area, to the primary wireless communication channel to provide wireless communication by the mobile node (Uusitalo: [0121] In contrast, there is a great benefit in the present embodiment of FIG. 5 in selecting a channel that is common across multiple cells/regions. By providing an advance indication of common channels available for use across some or all of the cells/regions along a predicted geographic path it is possible to reduce the number of channel switches that would take place as the device D moves from region to region, or even to eliminate the need for channel switching depending on the predicted path to be taken and channels available along that predicted path. As shown in FIG. 5, if channel four is selected at the start of the journey, no further channel changes need occur between the origin and destination if the predicted path is followed. This optimization of channel selection helps to reduce interruption of white-space communication, reduce power needed to switch channels, etc. [As shown in Fig. 5 and described in ¶ [0118-0123], it is possible to equate Channel 4 in cell (i) as the claimed “primary wireless channel”, and as the device transitions into cell (ii) (equated to the claimed “area”), the “secondary wireless channel” can be selected from the available Channels 1 or 5 (per optimization of channel selection mentioned in ¶ [0120]). Once exiting from cell (ii), the device can go back to/reselect Channel 4 ]. Figs. 4b, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka to include the features as taught by Uusitalo above in order to improve seamless connectivity for a device moving between cells along a geographic path or journey. (Uusitalo, ¶ [0118]).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopka-Uusitalo in view of Sampathkumar et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250016657, hereinafter, “Sampathkumar”).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 14 as outlined above.
Kopka-Uusitalo does not explicitly teach:
wherein enabling the secondary wireless communication channel includes opportunistically enabling Multi-Link Operations (MLO) on the mobile node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sampathkumar teaches:
wherein enabling the secondary wireless communication channel includes opportunistically enabling Multi-Link Operations (MLO) on the mobile node (Sampathkumar: [0058] According to some embodiments, a mesh network topology change refers to a modification or reconfiguration of the network's structure and connectivity pattern. In a mesh network, devices are interconnected with multiple paths, allowing data to travel through different routes to reach its destination. When a topology change occurs, the arrangement of such connections is altered, which can occur for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, adding new devices to the network, removing existing devices, repositioning devices to optimize performance or extend coverage, and the like, or some combination thereof. According to some embodiments, such processing can involve updating the routing tables and establishing new links between devices. As discussed herein, such updating can be effectuated via implementation of MLO, which can improve how the network scales and responds to evolving requirements and conditions so as to provide continuous, efficient data transmission and reliable connectivity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka-Uusitalo to include the features as taught by Sampathkumar above in order to provide continuous, efficient data transmission and reliable connectivity. (Sampathkumar, ¶ [0058]).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopka-Uusitalo in view of Lu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250365797, hereinafter, “Lu”).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 14 as outlined above.
Kopka-Uusitalo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the secondary wireless communication channel is associated with a distinct wireless communication technology than is utilized by the primary wireless communication channel and wherein the distinct wireless communication technology is selected from a group consisting of: millimeter wave (mmWave), light fidelity (Li-Fi), and 802.11ad.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches:
wherein the secondary wireless communication channel is associated with a distinct wireless communication technology than is utilized by the primary wireless communication channel and wherein the distinct wireless communication technology is selected from a group consisting of: millimeter wave (mmWave) (Lu: [0068] ... With the standardization of Multi-Link Operation (MLO) technology in IEEE 802.11be (Wi-Fi 7), a multi-link communication technology combining the millimeter wave link and low-frequency link may be considered based on the MLO architecture and technology. That is, in a device that supports the millimeter wave communication, in addition to one link operating in the millimeter wave band [i.e., secondary wireless channel], at least one link operates in the low-frequency band [e.g., for primary wireless channel] …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka-Uusitalo to include the features as taught by Lu above in order to improve transmission efficiency. (Lu, ¶ [0068]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopka-Uusitalo in view of Bengtsson et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20150141019, hereinafter, “Bengtsson”).
Regarding claim 9, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kopka-Uusitalo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the secondary wireless communication channel is enabled responsive to the mobile node being within a threshold proximity of a base station associated with the area of reduced wireless communication coverage.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bengtsson teaches:
wherein the secondary wireless communication channel is enabled responsive to the mobile node being within a threshold proximity of a base station associated with the area of reduced wireless communication coverage (Bengtsson: [0056] In some embodiments, as represented by block 404, the base station and/or the mobile device may predict, based on the location, current speed and/or current direction of movement of the mobile device, whether the mobile device will enter a geographic area associated with the prospective offload alternative connection point within a predetermined period of time [i.e., threshold proximity]. As with block 402, this prediction may trigger the mobile device and/or base station to make a determination regarding whether to transfer the connection from the current connection point to the prospective offload alternative connection point (thus changing it from prospective to a determined offload alternative connection point) … Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka-Uusitalo to include the features as taught by Bengtsson above in order to minimize data overhead in a cellular network. (Bengtsson, ¶ [0003]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopka-Uusitalo in view of Fang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230104554, hereinafter, “Fang”).
Regarding claim 10, Kopka-Uusitalo discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kopka-Uusitalo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the mobile node includes multiple antennas and enabling of the secondary wireless communication channel involves utilizing a different set of antennas than those used for the primary wireless communication channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fang teaches:
wherein the mobile node includes multiple antennas and enabling of the secondary wireless communication channel involves utilizing a different set of antennas than those used for the primary wireless communication channel (Fang: [0108] In the example of FIG. 15, Radios 1515, 1520, and 1525 can communicate with other electronic devices over a wireless network (e.g., WLAN) using multiple spatial streams (e.g., multiple antennas) and typically operates according to IEEE standards (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax, IEEE 802.11ay, IEEE 802.11be, etc.). Radios 1515, 1520, and 1525 can perform multi-link operations and groupcast transmission and reception. For example, radio 1515 can be configured to operate a first BSS in a first wireless band (e.g., 2.4 GHz), radio 1520 can be configured to operate a second BSS in a second wireless band (e.g., 5 GHz), and radio 1525 can be configured to operate a third BSS in a third wireless band (e.g., 6 GHz). Wireless device 1500 can include more than three radios, according to embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kopka-Uusitalo to include the features as taught by Fang above in order to reduce power consumption and improve wireless network performance. (Fang, ¶ [0006]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416