DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 7, a second notch in the valve seat appears to be the same as amended claim 1 which is the notch in the valve seat. Claims 29 and 30 are not supported by the specification and the examiner does not know what the applicant is talking about in claim 30 in which the second groove is at an end of the valve seat and is open(?) to the end of the valve seat?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8, 21-24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morrison US 4,068,821.
Regarding claim 1, Morrison discloses a valve assembly (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a valve body (12 or 50 and 52) defining an upstream end (left side), a downstream end (right side), and an opening (14 or 54) extending along a central axis between the upstream end and the downstream end (see Figs. 1-3);
a valve gate (16 or 56) movable relative to the valve body, the valve gate defining a first side proximal to the upstream end and a second side proximal to the downstream end, the second side being opposite to the first side;
a valve seat (18 or 20 or 58 or 60) disposed within the valve body adjacent to the valve gate, the valve seat including a flange (at 36, 37 90, 92) received within a notch (at 25, 27, 70, 72) in the valve body, wherein the valve seat is configured to form a fluid tight seal with the valve gate; and
a sealing element (40 or 42 or 102 or 104) disposed between the valve body and the valve seat and retained within a notch (where the sealing element resides is a notch in Figs. 1-3) in the valve seat, the sealing element and contacting each of the valve body and the valve seat, wherein the sealing element urges the valve seat towards the valve gate (col. 7, lines 57-61, col. 9, lines 55-56) wherein the notch in the valve body and the flange create a stepped profile configured to trap debris and restrict passage of debris toward the sealing element (see Figs. 1-3, is stepped so would trap debris).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the flange (at 36 and 30, 37 and 31, 70 and 90, or 72 and 92) extends about the central axis, and wherein the first notch and the flange together create a flow restriction to prevent fluid flow therethrough (provides a flow restriction).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the sealing element includes an annular seal (40 or 42 or 102 or 104) engaging with each of the valve seat and the valve body.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the sealing element further includes a spring element received within the annular seal, and wherein the spring element exerts a spring force on the valve seat to engage the valve seat with the valve gate (functions as both seal and spring, col. 7, lines 57-61, col. 9, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 7 (see 112 rejection), wherein the valve seat defines a second notch (at 34 and 30, 35 and 31, 98 or 100) extending circumferentially about the central axis, and wherein the sealing element is received within the second notch of the valve seat (already in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the valve seat is a first valve seat disposed at the first side of the valve gate and the sealing element is a first sealing element disposed between the first valve seat and the valve body, the valve assembly further comprising a second valve seat disposed at the second side of the valve gate and a second sealing element disposed between the second valve seat and the valve body (see Figs. 1-3, the first valve seat and first sealing element on the left upstream side of the gate and the second valve seat and second sealing element on the right downstream side of the gate).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the valve seat is a single body that includes the notch in the valve seat and which is configured to form the fluid tight seal with the valve gate (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the flange extends beyond the notch in the valve seat and the sealing element (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 23, Morrison discloses a valve assembly (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a valve body (12 or 50 and 52) defining an upstream end (left side), a downstream end (right side), and an opening (14 or 54) extending along a central axis between the upstream end and the downstream end (see Figs. 1-3);
a valve gate (16 and 56) movable relative to the valve body, the valve gate defining a first side proximal to the upstream end and a second side proximal to the downstream end, the second side being opposite to the first side (see Figs. 1-3);
a valve seat (18 or 20 or 58 or 60) disposed within the valve body adjacent to the valve gate, the valve seat being a single body that extends between the valve body and the valve gate (see Figs. 1-3); and
a sealing element (40 or 42 or 102 or 104) retained within a notch in the valve seat (where the sealing element resides is a notch in Figs. 1-3), wherein the sealing element urges the valve seat towards the valve gate to form a fluid seal preventing fluid from flowing between the valve seat and the valve gate (col. 7, lines 57-61, col. 9, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the valve seat includes a flange extending about the central axis, wherein the flange is received within a first notch in the valve body, and wherein the first notch and the flange together create a flow restriction to prevent fluid flow therethrough (see Figs. 1-3, is stepped so would trap debris).
Regarding claim 26, wherein the sealing element includes an annular seal engaging both the valve seat and the valve body (see Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 25, and 27-30, as understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison US 4,068,821 in view of Chatufale US 6,664,572.
Regarding claims 4 and 27, Morrison lacks a the sealing element further includes a separate spring element received within the annular seal, and wherein the spring element exerts a spring force on the valve seat to engage the valve seat with the valve gate (Morrison functions as both seal and spring, col. 7, lines 57-61, col. 9, lines 55-56). Chatufale discloses a separate spring element received within the annular seal (col. 8, line 19 - col. 9, line 2, “The seal rings 151/152 also preferably comprise an inner spring member coupled to the high temperature plastic body adapted to exert a force outwardly against the upward legs of the U-shaped body and provide a seal against the inner surface of pocket insert grooves 156 and 155, respectively. The inner spring member preferably comprises an alloy such as Elgiloy, and alternatively may comprise other metals, for example”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single seal and spring of Morrison to be separate as disclosed by Chatufale as a matter of simple substitution of seal and spring and/or to provide a more corrosion resistant and tougher seal and spring.
Regarding claim 5, Morrison in view of Chatufale discloses the spring element is made of a metallic material (Chaufale discloses in col. 8, line 19 - col. 9, line 2, “The seal rings 151/152 also preferably comprise an inner spring member coupled to the high temperature plastic body adapted to exert a force outwardly against the upward legs of the U-shaped body and provide a seal against the inner surface of pocket insert grooves 156 and 155, respectively. The inner spring member preferably comprises an alloy such as Elgiloy, and alternatively may comprise other metals, for example”)..
Regarding claims 6 and 28, Morrison lacks the sealing element further includes an annular shim received within the spring element. Chatufale discloses the sealing element further includes an annular shim (153a, 158a, 153b, or 158b) received within the spring element (see Fig. 7, and col. 8, line 19 - col. 9, line 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single seal and spring of Morrison to be separate and have a shim as disclosed by Chatufale as a matter of simple substitution of seal and spring and/or to provide a more corrosion resistant and tougher seal and spring and/or to provide means to “help prevent rotation, displacement or collapse” of the seals.
Regarding claim 25, Morrison lacks the sealing element has a U-shape. Chatufale discloses the sealing element has a U-shape 151, or 152 or 166. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sealing element of Morrison a U-shape as disclosed by Chatufale as a matter of simple substitution of shape changes and/or to make the sealing element smaller in size to reduce material costs.
Regarding claims 29 and 7?, Morrison lacks the valve seat includes a second groove configured to receive a second sealing element. Chatufale discloses the valve seat includes a second groove configured to receive a second sealing element (other of 151 or 152 in grooves 155 or 56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morrison to make a second groove having a second sealing element as disclosed by Chatufale as a second seal would provide better sealing of the device.
Regarding claim 30, Morrison lacks the second groove is positioned at an end of the valve seat and is open to the end of the valve seat. The modification of claim 29 above is seen to be positioned at an end of the valve seat and is open to the end of the valve seat
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has canceled the non-elected claims so there is no restriction currently. Regarding applicant’s arguments to the 102 rejection to Chatufale the examiner agrees that it is no longer a 102 rejection. The examiner has just kept the 102 Morrison rejection for simplicity, but Grove is still seen to be a 102 rejection for in dependent claim 23. Also, Chatufale and Grove can be easily modified by Morrison as a 103 rejection for all claims, but the examiner just kept the Morrison in view of Chatufale rejections for simplicity. Regarding applicant’s arguments to the 102 rejection to Morrison, the examiner does not follow applicant’s arguments about the sealing element retained in a notch as the sealing element is clearly retained within the notch where the sealing element resides whether it’s in the notch (L-shaped notch of the valve seat) or the groove (98 and/or 100) which is also a notch and the sealing element 40, 42, 102, 104 are retained in these notches. The examiner doesn’t understand applicant’s arguments in this respect. It appears the applicant is reading limitations into the claims that are not there.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921