Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 2/20/2024 has been considered.
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/581,583 filed on 2/20/2024 is presented for examination by the Examiner.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, said claim recites a “causing the holder to position and retain the prism while bringing the prism into abutment with the mounting surface” in lines 7-8. It is not clear how the claimed method causes the holder to position and retain the prism. For examination purposes it will be taken that this caused by abutting the prism with the mounting surface.
Claims 8 is dependent from claim 7 and is indefinite for the reason given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya-ku (JPH0650012U, hereinafter, “Shibuya-ku”).
Regarding claim 1, Shibuya-ku discloses (reference paragraphs refer to the English translation, figure numbers refer to the original) a prism block (30, 40), Fig. 4, comprising:
a holder 30 having an opening surface (left open side of block 30 as seen in Fig. 4) and a mounting surface (bottom surface of block 30) perpendicular to the opening surface ([0023], [0024], when the prism 40 is inserted into the box 30 the bottom surface of prism 42 abuts the bottom surface of the block 30); and
a prism 40 configured to receive first light that travels in a first direction, and to cause second light that travels in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to exit (through the hole in the bottom surface of holder 30), the prism 40 being positioned and retained by the holder 30 while being in abutment with the mounting surface ([0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Shibuya-ku discloses the prism block according to claim 1, wherein
the holder includes a plate-shaped portion (bottom portion of block 30) having the mounting surface (the top surface thereof), Fig. 4, and
the plate-shaped portion has a circular hole having a circular planar shape (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Shibuya-ku discloses the prism block according to claim 1, wherein
the prism has a first flat surface configured to receive the first light (a flat surface of prism 41 facing the entrance of block 30), a second flat surface perpendicular to the first flat surface (a flat surface of prism 42 facing the bottom surface of block 30), and configured to cause the second light to exit, an inclined surface 43 inclined with respect to the first flat surface and the second flat surface (Fig. 4, [0022]), and configured to subject the first light to total-reflection to generate the second light, and a remaining surface other than the first flat surface, the second flat surface, and the inclined surface (a side surface of prism 42), and
the holder 30 has a hole 34 extending from an outside of the holder toward the remaining surface (Fig. 4, [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Shibuya-ku discloses the prism block according to claim 1, wherein
the prism has a first flat surface configured to receive the first light (a flat surface of prism 41 facing the entrance of block 30), a second flat surface perpendicular to the first flat surface (a flat surface of prism 42 facing the bottom surface of block 30), and configured to cause the second light to exit, and an inclined surface 43 inclined with respect to the first flat surface and the second flat surface, and configured to subject the first light to total-reflection to generate the second light (Fig. 4, [0022]), and
the second flat surface is in surface-contact with the mounting surface ([0026], when prisms 41, 42 slide into the holder 30 until the end of the mounting surface 32, the bottom surface of prism 42 is in contact with the top surface of the plate-shaped bottom portion of the holder 30, see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya-ku.
Regarding claim 7, Shibuya-ku discloses a method for manufacturing a prism block (30, 40), Fig. 4, comprising:
inserting a prism 40 into a holder 30 having an opening surface (left open side of block 30 as seen in Fig. 4) and a mounting surface (bottom surface of block 30) perpendicular to the opening surface (prism 40 can be slid into holder 30 from the top), and bringing the prism into abutment with the mounting surface ([0026]), the prism being configured to receive first light that travels in a first direction, and to cause second light that travels in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to exit (through the hole in the bottom surface of holder 30); and
causing the holder to position and retain the prism while bringing the prism into abutment with the mounting surface ([0026]).
Shibuya-ku does not discloses inserting the prism into the holder via the opening surface. In Shibuya-ku the prism is inserted into the holder via the top opening surface of block 30 (see arrow in Fig, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shibuya-ku so that the prism 40 is inserted into the holder 30 via the bottom direction , i.e., the opening surface of the holder, since it has been held that a mere reversal of working parts of a device (i.e., here, insertion of the prism along the opposite direction as the one seen by the arrow in Fig. 4) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya-ku in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0072601, hereinafter, “Park”).
Regarding claim 3, Shibuya-ku discloses the prism block according to claim 1, wherein
the prism has a first flat surface (a flat surface of prism 41 facing the entrance of block 30) configured to receive the first light, a second flat surface perpendicular to the first flat surface (a flat surface of prism 42 facing the bottom surface of block 30), and configured to cause the second light to exit, and an inclined surface 43 inclined with respect to the first flat surface and the second flat surface, and configured to subject the first light to total-reflection to generate the second light (Fig. 4, [0022]),
the holder has an opposing surface 32 facing the inclined surface 43 ([0024]).
Shibuya-ku does not disclose the holder has an opposing surface facing the inclined surface with a gap between the inclined surface and the opposing surface.
Park discloses a prism actuator (Abstract). In Park the prism actuator includes a prism holder 200 that holds a prism 300 (Fig. 3, [0065]). In one embodiment, the prism holder 200 may include a groove 250 in an inner surface of the holder so that a space may be formed between the holder 200 and the prism 300 by the groove (Fig. 7, [0075]).
Both Shibuya-ku and Park disclose optical prism holders.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shibuya-ku, so that, there is space/gap between the inclined surface 43/44 of the prism 40 and the opposing surface 32 of the prism holder 30, for securing the bonding of the prism to the prism holder, as taught by Park (0075]) (after, for example, aligning the two components).
Shibuya-ku/Park does not disclose the opposing surface 32 has an asperity shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shibuya-ku/Park, so that, the grove 250 in Park has an asperity shape (a flat shape is shown in Fig. 7 of Park), since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). An engaging surface with an asperity shape would provide better adhesion wear between the two components.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya-ku in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2010/0290135, hereinafter, “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 6, Shibuya-ku discloses the prism block according to claim 1.
Shibuya-ku does not disclose a camera module further comprising: an optical system configured to cause the second light to form an image; and
an image pickup element configured to take the image.
Yamamoto discloses an image pickup apparatus, i.e., a camera module (Fig. 1, [0011]) comprising a prism 9, an optical system 18, 21 configured to cause the light reflected from the prism to form an image, and image pickup element 24 configured to take the image ([0032]-[0037]).
Both Shibuya-ku and Yamamoto disclose optical elements/systems for controlling incident image light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shibuya-ku so that the prism block (30, 40) is part of a beam bending assembly in a camera module, for controlling/directing the incident image light along the final optical axis.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya-ku in view of Kohler (US 2022/0026174, hereinafter, “Kohler”).
Regarding claim 8, Shibuya-ku discloses the method for manufacturing the prism block according to claim 7, wherein
the holder 30 includes a plate-shaped portion (bottom portion of block 30) having the mounting surface (the top surface thereof), Fig. 4,
the plate-shaped portion has a circular hole having a circular planar shape (Fig. 4).
Shibuya-ku does not disclose the method comprising irradiating the prism with light via the circular hole, and causing the prism to reflect the light to form an image of the circular hole; and
moving the prism in a direction perpendicular to the opening surface while bringing the prism into abutment with the mounting surface, until a position where the image is to be formed reaches a target position.
Kohler discloses a sighting arrangement (Fig. 1) comprising two prisms 1, 2 inserted into a prism holder ([0027], [0031]). An illuminated mark 7 is illuminated into the prism assembly so that the mark is aligned so that the illuminated mark 7 is superimposed on the sight axis 4 ([0029]).
Both Shibuya-ku and Kohler disclose optical assemblies including prisms for redirecting incident light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shibuya-ku so that accurate positioning of the prism 40 into the holder 30 is achieved by using an illumination light emitted into the prism/holder assembly (via the hole of the bottom surface of the holder) so that a target image position is achieved (via moving the prism within the prism holder), as taught by Kohler, for achieving a precise alignment between the prism with the mounting surfaces of the prism holder.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephone Allen, can be reached on 571-272-2434. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872