DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 10/7/25.
The text of those sections of AIA 35 U.S.C. code not present in this action can be found in previous office actions dated 2/20/25, and 7/14/15
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Metscher et al. US PGPub 2019/0017174 hereinafter METSCHER in view of Thebault et al. US Patent Number 6,740,408 hereinafter THEBAULT and Schmidt US PG Pub 2019/0047173 hereinafter SCHMIDT, and Magdassi et al. US PGPub 2014/0326236 hereinafter MAGDASSI on claims 1-5 and 7-10 are withdrawn because the independent claim 1 has been amended and claims 3-5 have been cancelled.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Metscher et al. US PGPub 2019/0017174 hereinafter METSCHER in view of Thebault et al. US Patent Number 6,740,408 hereinafter THEBAULT and Schmidt US PG Pub 2019/0047173 hereinafter SCHMIDT, and Magdassi et al. US PGPub 2014/0326236 hereinafter MAGDASSI as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by Ultraviolet Waves - Nasa Science hereinafter NASA on claim 6 is withdrawn because the claim has been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metscher et al. US PGPub 2019/0017174 hereinafter METSCHER in view of Schmidt US PG Pub 2019/0047173 hereinafter SCHMIDT and Hong et al. US PGPub 2012/0156049 hereinafter HONG.
As for claim 1, METSCHER teaches "The invention relates to a method for coating a component, which is provided for the hot gas duct of a turbomachine" (abstract, lines 1-2) and "The coating can be used, for example, to protect a region of the component that, on account of a high flow velocity or temperature of the hot gas, for example, is particularly at risk of oxidation or hot-gas corrosion" (paragraph 7, lines 1-4), i.e. a method for producing an oxidation protection coating at least in regions on a component of a thermal gas turbine.
METSCHER teaches "The coating material is applied to the "uncoated" component surface; that is, the component has not already been coated at least in the region in question and preferably has not already been coated in its entirety" (paragraph 11, lines 1-4), "applying a coat of the particle-treated binding agent onto a region of an uncoated surface of the component" (claim 1, lines 9-10), and "The suspension can be sprayed on" (paragraph 41, lines 12-13), i.e. coating of the component at least in regions with a lacquer by spraying or brushing… the lacquer consisting of a single coat of lacquer.
METSCHER teaches "The particles and the binding agent together preferably form a suspension and can be mixed together, for example, directly prior to application" (paragraph 12, lines 3-4), and "In a preferred embodiment, the particles comprise aluminum, which diffuses proportionately into the surface of the component during the thermal treatment" (paragraph 14, lines 1-3). i.e. which comprises at least one ... binder ... and aluminum metal particles.
METSCHER is silent on UV-curable binder and curing of the lacquer by exposure to UV light having a wavelength of between 200 nm and 400 nm.
SCHMIDT teaches “A method for additively manufacturing a ceramic containing article includes selecting a ceramic precursor and a curable resin” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “In another example of any of the above described exemplary methods for additively manufacturing a ceramic containing article curing the layer comprises applying at least one of a light, ultra-violet (UV) radiation, infra-red (IR) radiation, thermal radiation, microwave radiation and plasma radiation to a material bed including at least one layer of the mixed ceramic precursor and curable resin” (paragraph 12).
SCHMIDT teaches “The curable resin 120 is typically an organic resin selected based on the curing process of the additive manufacturing machine to be used, the desired composition and microstructure of the resultant ceramic containing article, and any number of other factors” (paragraph 34, lines 1-5).
SCHMIDT is silent on the wavelengths of light that make up a UV range.
However, as shown above, SCHMIDT does teach curing with ultraviolet light. NASA teaches that the range of ultraviolet light is from 100 nm to 400 nm (page 1 ), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir.1997). See MPEP2144.05.
As such SCHMIDT inherently teaches a wavelength range that overlaps with the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include UV-curable binder and curing of the lacquer by exposure to UV light in a range that overlaps with 200 nm and 400 nm in the process of METSCHER because SCHMIDT teaches that such a binder was known in the manufacture of components and further that curing material can produce a desired microstructure of the resulting article as well as other factors.
METSCHER is silent on the particles having a mean particle size of up to 1 µm. METSCHER is also silent on a weight proportion of the metal particles in a total weight of the single coat of lacquer being between 20 wt% and 70 wt %.
HONG teaches “Disclosed is a field repairable coated airfoil such as a wing or a rotor blade having a leading edge protected by a spray applied or prefabricated variable thickness” (abstract, lines 1-3).
HONG teaches “The useful fillers have a hardness greater than that of the material forming the continuous phase of the coating. The particle size of the fillers may be from nano-sized to 200 microns, or preferably less than 100 microns” (paragraph 191, lines 1-4) and “The filler content in the hand sandable coating, based on the total solid weight, can range from 10% by weight to 90%, depending on the interaction of the fillers and the base elastomers. Preferred is 20% to 80% by weight” (paragraph 191, lines 4-8), i.e. ranges that overlap with having a mean particle size of up to 1 µm and a weight proportion of the metal particles in a total weight of the single coat of lacquer being between 20 wt% and 70 wt %. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the ranges that overlap with having a mean particle size of up to 1 µm and a weight proportion of the metal particles in a total weight of the single coat of lacquer being between 20 wt% and 70 wt % in the process of METSHCER because HONG teaches that such particle sizes and concentrations produced coatings with continuous phases and have favorable interactions with the binders.
METSCHER is silent on wherein the binder is an oligomer or at least one prepolymer.
SCHMIDT teaches “Non-limiting examples of curable resins include photopolymers or light-activated resins whose monomers/oligomers can be photo-initiated via ionic or free radical mechanisms” (paragraph 33, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the binder is an oligomer.
SCHMIDT teaches “The curable resin 120 is typically an organic resin selected based on the curing process of the additive manufacturing machine to be used, the desired composition and microstructure of the resultant ceramic containing article, and any number of other factors” (paragraph 34, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the binder is an oligomer in the process of METSCHER because SCHMIDT teaches that such a binder was known in the manufacture of components and further that curing material can produce a desired microstructure of the resulting article as well as other factors.
METSCHER is silent on the thickness of the lacquer layer.
HONG teaches “As earlier described, the topcoat may also be formulated to provide higher erosion (sand and water) resistance and applied over a basecoat. In the preferred embodiment, the sandable erosion resistant basecoat layer constitutes at least 50%, of the total coating thickness. The
total thickness of the hand sandable erosion protection system can be any thickness suitable for the protection of the substrate. In general, suitable erosion protection of a typical substrate involves a minimum thickness of 0.006", more preferably 0.008", most preferably more than 0.012"” (paragraph 192, lines 8-17). It is expected that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have converted the inches of HONG to the micrometers of the claim, which overlap with the instant claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the ranges that overlap with having a mean particle size of up to 1 µm and a weight proportion of the metal particles in a total weight of the single coat of lacquer being between 20 wt% and 70 wt % in the process of METSHCER because HONG teaches that such thickness were typical and preferred for erosion protection layers.
METSCHER is silent on the temperature of the coating. However, Examiner does note that METSCHER teaches temperatures for later steps in which the temperature is increased. Thereby, it is the position of the Examiner that METSCHER’s coating happens at room temperature, i.e. 25°C, as there is not indication that heating or cooling is used during that process. As such, METSCHER teaches spraying at a temperature of between 5 °C and 30 °C.
METSCHER is silent on the visocity.
HONG teaches “A repair resin must have the proper viscosity so that it does not run or drip from the sharp curve during the repair procedure. Any repair to the blade surface must minimize the distortion of the aerodynamic contour” (paragraph 149, lines 4-8) and “This dynamic change of viscosity can be used to good advantage to do the repair. When the viscosity is still low (coating still has thin consistency for about the first 30 minutes), the repair resin can be used to deposit a thin layer onto the damaged areas. The fluid coating will spread into the micropits and craters and seal the primed surfaces. As the viscosity increases, the repair resin can be used to build up the coating thickness faster as it has less tendency to flow on its own” (paragraph 165, lines 9-15), i.e. wherein the viscosity effects the result of coverage and thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the viscosity of the coating such that the desired thickness and coverage is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
METSCHER teaches "The component, which is covered in some regions with the particle-treated binding agent, then undergoes thermal treatment, during which the binding agent is released and the coating material remains on the component (at the surf ace or also diffused inward)" (paragraph 5, lines 5-9), i.e. wherein thermally treating the component at least in the region of the cured single coat of lacquer for production of the oxidation protection coating.
As for claim 2, METSCHER is silent on a wherein the lacquer comprises at least one solvent and/or one additive and/or one filler and/or one photoinitiator is used for the coating, and/or wherein the binder comprises at least one oligomer and/or at least one prepolymer is used.
HONG teaches “It may contain some or all of the following ingredients: resins, curing agents, fillers, fibers, fabrics, viscosity modifier, pigments, hydrolysis stabilizers, adhesion promoters, coupling agents, UV stabilizers, defoamers, wetting agents, etc” (paragraph 176, lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the lacquer comprises at least… one additive in the process of METSCHER because HONG teaches additives can adjusting viscosity, i.e. viscosity modifier, and promote adhesion, i.e. adhesion promoters.
As for claim 7, METSCHER teaches "the thermal treatment can also be regarded as diffusion annealing, in which not only is the binding agent released, but also the aluminum diffuses into the surface of the component" (paragraph 17, lines 12-15), i.e. wherein the step of thermally treating comprises a diffusion annealing process for forming the oxidation protection coating.
As for claim 8, METSCHER teaches "In a preferred embodiment, the temperature during the thermal treatment is at least 800° C., further and especially preferred, at least 850° C. or 900° C. Preferred upper limits can be, for example, at most 1200° C., 1150° C., 1100° C., or 1050° C." (paragraph 17, lines 1-5), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the diffusion annealing process comprises an annealing of the component at a temperature of between 800 °C and 1000 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 9, METSCHER teaches "This is shown in FIG. 3b, in which the coating material 35, that is, the aluminum, is situated in part at the surface 30, but is also proportionately diffused inward" (paragraph 42, lines 7-10), i.e. wherein the produced oxidation protection coating comprises at least one diffusion layer and one buildup layer.
As for claim 10, METSCHER teaches "Preferred embodiments are presented in the dependent claims and in the entire description, without a distinction always being made in detail between the coating method and a manufacturing method during the course of which the coating is carried out on a corresponding component" (paragraph 6, lines 1-6), i.e. wherein the method is for the manufacture.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1717