DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1 “at the armature, a torque is exerted as a result of a non-axisymmetric quality of said magnetic field in at least one portion of the apparatus for at least some portion of the time which said armature spends within said apparatus” is indefinite.
The specification discloses a non-axisymmetric quality of the magnetic field of the electromagnetic coil 1 is caused by:
a shim 3 inserted in a circumferential portion between the coil and the barrel 4 and providing the armature 2 with sections of magnetic material removed or making the barrel 4 larger than the armature 2 diameter (figs 2-6c & 15-20, pg 9, [0028]);
in addition to the electromagnetic coil 1 providing radial coil 12 (fig 21, pg 16, [0054-0055]); and
mentions three other structures to cause a non-axisymmetric quality of the magnetic field (pg 16, [0056]), but does not disclose specific structural details with respect to these structures and it is not clear how they would be configured.
The claim limitation is indefinite since:
it does not recite any structural limitations (shim, radial coil, armature w/ sections removed, etc.) for producing a non-axisymmetric quality electromagnetic field; and
it will cover any other electromagnetic coil/armature configuration that has a non-axisymmetric quality that is not disclosed by applicant.
Claims 2-12 are rejected since they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vjacheslavovich (RU2258885, “Vjacheslavovich” using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Vjacheslavovich discloses an apparatus comprising:
a) one or more of an electromagnetic coil 3 which may impart a linear accelerating force and/or a rotational torque onto an armature 2 by means of an electromagnetic field (figs 1-2, [0018-0020]); and
b) a force, or a superposition of forces, is exerted upon the armature 2 differentially depending upon its material properties, and/or its position within the electromagnetic field generated by the apparatus (figs 1-5, [0018]); and
c) at the armature 2, a torque is exerted as a result of a non-axisymmetric quality of said magnetic field in at least one portion of the apparatus for at least some portion of the time which said armature spends within said apparatus (figs 1-5, [0018-0020], recess 6 & 7 in magnetic circuit 4 & 2 cause non-axisymmetric quality; alternatively since Vjacheslavovich discloses all the claimed structure (coil & armature w/o helical ribs or grooves) & exerts a torque on the armature it is capable of providing a non-axisymmetric quality magnetic field); and
d) an external surface of said armature 2 which lacks helical groove or helical rib features (figs 1-2).
Re claim 2, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the armature 2 is non-axisymmetric in its physical shape, material properties, electrical properties, or magnetic properties (figs 1-2, 2 is non-axisymmetric in shape by recesses 7 in a similar manner as applicants fig 16); and/or the electromagnetic field generated by the electromagnetic coil 3 is essentially non-axisymmetric in intensity (figs 1-5, 4 w/ recesses 6 causes non-axisymmetric in intensity).
Re claim 4, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the armature 2 lacks aerodynamic fins or spiral groove features (fig 1-2).
Re claim 5, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic field is generated by three or more coils 3 (fig 1).
Re claim 6, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the armature 2 is constructed primarily from a ferromagnetic material ([0004]).
Re claim 8, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electromagnetic coil 3 surrounds a barrel 1 fashioned from non-magnetic material (fig 1, [0004] & [0018]), and within said barrel 1 there exists an internal bore through which the armature 2 may pass (figs 1-2), and when the armature 2 is positioned within said internal bore (figs 1-2), the cross section of the internal bore consists of less than 90% by area of a material which interacts with the electromagnetic field of the apparatus (fig 2, due to 6 & 7).
Re claim 9, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a cross section of the armature 2 does not substantially change in shape along an axis parallel to its linear acceleration (figs 1-2).
Re claim 10, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electromagnetic coil(s) 3 are switched on or off by a control system in response to the armature's angular position (fig 1, [0004] & [0018], 5 position sensor so capable of sensing angular position ).
Re claim 12, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 10 as discussed above and further discloses the angular position of the armature 2 is provided by electrical, optical, mechanical, radio frequency, or magnetic signals generated by the armature 2 as it passes through a barrel 1 of the apparatus (fig 1, [0018], using 5 detects at least magnetic signals).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huse (US1985254, “Huse”).
Re claim 1, Huse discloses an apparatus comprising:
a) one or more of an electromagnetic coil 13 which may impart a linear accelerating force and/or a rotational torque onto an armature 16 by means of an electromagnetic field (figs 1-4, pg 1, lns 44-49 & pg 2, lns 22-44); and
b) a force, or a superposition of forces, is exerted upon the armature 16 differentially depending upon its material properties, and/or its position within the electromagnetic field generated by the apparatus (figs 1-4, pg 2, lns 22-44); and
c) at the armature 16, a torque is exerted as a result of a non-axisymmetric quality of said magnetic field in at least one portion of the apparatus for at least some portion of the time which said armature 16 spends within said apparatus (figs 1-4, pg 2, lns 22-44, non-axisymmetric caused by coil spiral shape; alternatively since Huse discloses all the claimed structure (coil & armature w/o helical ribs or grooves) & exerts a torque on the armature it is capable of providing a non-axisymmetric quality magnetic field); and
d) an external surface of said armature 16 which lacks helical groove or helical rib features (figs 1 & 3-4).
Re claim 7, Huse discloses claim 1 and further discloses the armature 16 is constructed primarily from an electrically conductive material within which a transitory electrical current is induced while the armature 16 is within the apparatus (figs 3-4, pg 2, lns 22-44), and said electrical current creates a magnetic field which interacts with the electromagnetic field generated by the apparatus (figs 3-4, pg 2, lns 22-44, squirrel cage structure inherently forms magnetic field in response to electromagnetic field of 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vjacheslavovich in view of Lesellier et al. (FR3033880, “Lesellier”, using machine translation).
Re claim 3, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the apparatus in its entirety weighs less than 100 lbs.
Lesellier discloses the apparatus to launch the armature is hand held (fig 1, pg 2, indicated text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus of Vjacheslavovich to be hand held, as disclosed by Lesellier, and thereby its entirety weighing less than 100 lbs, in order to employ the apparatus in an easily portable manner, as demonstrated by Lesellier.
Re claim 11, Vjacheslavovich discloses claim 6 as discussed above and but is silent with respect to the ferromagnetic material is selected from the group consisting of: Permendur KF49, Permendur 2V, ferrite, iron, steel, or steel alloys.
Lesellier discloses the ferromagnetic material of the armature 12 is steel (pg 3, indicated text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the ferromagnetic material of the armature to be steel, as disclosed by Lesellier, in order to form the armature from a known ferromagnetic material employed for armatures, as demonstrated by Lesellier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jacobsen et al. (US5252870, figs 1-4, coil 24, 152, armature 40,124) reads on at least claim 1.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834