DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayson (US H000319 H) in view of Miller (2021/0190451).
With respect to claim 38, Clayson teaches a suppressor (Figures 1-3, #10 – note that the diffusor device #10 functions to expand the high pressure gases such that the gases are expelled from the device at a low pressure, which is functionally a “suppressor” as the high pressure muzzle blast is suppressed and exhausted at a low pressure) for a weapon system (defined by Gatling type gun having barrels #14) having a plurality of barrels (14), the suppressor comprising: an aft end (12) configured to receive a muzzle of each barrel (14) of the plurality of barrels; a forward end (defined by end having exit tubes #34) defining a plurality of discrete projectile apertures (34) spaced radially about a center of the forward end and configured to align with the plurality of barrels (14) when the muzzle of each barrel is received in the aft end (12); and a sidewall (defined by sidewall forming outer body of nose #30, enclosing chamber #32) extending from the aft end (12) to the forward end (defined by end having exit tubes #34).
Clayson fails to teach each of the discrete projectile apertures having a non-circular cross-sectional profile.
Miller teaches a similar firearm suppressor (Figures 1A-D, #200), wherein it is known to form a forward end (Figure 1, defined by end having flash hider #100, defining a projectile exit aperture through portion #120) defining a plurality of discrete projectile apertures (defined by walls #120a/b of flash hider forming the discrete projectile apertures, when combined with, and forming the plurality of exit tubes #34 of Clayson), having a non-circular cross-sectional profile (defined by cross-sectional profile of portions #120a/b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Clayson, with the apparatus of Miller so as to can reduce flash in the visible and infrared wavelengths emitted from the distal end of the suppressor of Clayson, as taught by Miller (see Miller, [0034]).
With respect to claim 39, Clayson and Miller teach wherein each discrete non-circular projectile aperture (Clayson #34, when combined with Miller #100/120) is elongated in a direction (axial direction parallel to projectile pathway) extending counter to a direction of rotation (radial direction) of the plurality of barrels (Clayson, #14, when combined) during firing of the weapon system.
With respect to claim 40, Clayson and Miller teach the suppressor of claim 38. Clayson and Miller further teaches a plurality of discrete non-circular projectile apertures (Miller, defined by walls #120a/b of flash hider forming the discrete projectile apertures, when combined with, and forming the plurality of exit tubes #34 of Clayson).
Clayson and Miller fail to teach wherein each discrete non-circular projectile aperture has a generally triangular shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each discrete non-circular projectile aperture has a generally triangular shape, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Clayson.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, 24-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,604,042. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the current application is contained in the patented claims previously indicated.
Claims 21-22, 24-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,768,049. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the current application is contained in the patented claims previously indicated.
Claims 21-22, 24-37 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 18/234,263 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the current application is contained in the patented claims previously indicated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 38-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers the new reliance on Miller, in combination with Clayson, so teach all of the limitations of claims 38-40.
It is noted that the nonstatutory double patenting rejection for claims 38-40 has been withdrawn in light of the amendments to claim 38. Claims 21-22 and 24-37 are still rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as indicated above, but will be in condition for allowance upon acceptance of a properly filed terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837