Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to communications filed on March 24, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12, and 14-20. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable under US 20130331157 A1 (“Grant”) in view of AU 2015338882 A1 (“Mains”).
In regards to claim 1, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of ([0002], “The present disclosure relates generally to a … haptic enabled gun controller.”) an actual firearm, comprising:
a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of an actual firearm, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal”
Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators’ [0025].);
a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect ([0005], “actuator configured to output a haptic effect … in response to receiving a control signal from the processor” Examiner notes that the processor represents the controller as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘the haptic effect generator … would receive control signals from a controller’ [0039].);
a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of the actual firearm, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated ([0042], “a sensor … is coupled to the trigger to measure the distance that the trigger is moved by the user's finger.” Examiner notes a sensor represents a trigger interface. In the claimed invention ‘the trigger interface … is designed to determine when a user actuates the trigger mechanism of the firearm.’ [0041]);
and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) mounting mechanism of the actual firearm after an original grip assembly of the actual firearm has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator, which represents the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention and a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly. Examiner also notes that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which are generally detachable components.).
Mains discloses
an actual firearm, comprising (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 2, Grant discloses
wherein the haptic effect generator module is configured such that at least a portion of the original trigger mechanism of the actual firearm may be integrated with the haptic effect generator module such that it is operatively coupled to the trigger interface ([0042], “the controller … includes … actuators … coupled to the trigger”).
In regards to claim 3, Grant discloses
wherein the adaptor plate comprises at least one plate mounting aperture, wherein the haptic effect generator module includes at least one module mounting aperture, and wherein a mounting pin can be inserted into the at least one plate mounting aperture and the at least one module mounting aperture to secure the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate, and thereby to the body of the firearm ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt that uses an adaptor plate, which inherently includes various mounting apertures (such as screw holes and recoil lugs) that can accommodate securing the actuator (the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) to the stock butt and body of the firearm.).
In regards to claim 4, Grant discloses
wherein an original grip assembly removed from the actual firearm is attached to the haptic effect generator module, the original grip assembly comprising first and second grips and at least one bracket that extends between the first and second grips, and wherein the adaptor plate comprises at least one bracket groove that is configured to receive the at least one bracket of the original grip assembly when the haptic effect generator module is secured to the adaptor plate ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly that can include an adaptor plate, whereby the stock butt is shown as attached to the actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention). Examiner also notes that a grip assembly may include grips and brackets.).
In regards to claim 5, Grant discloses
wherein the original grip assembly comprises a backplate that is used to attach the original grip assembly to the original grip assembly mounting mechanism of the actual firearm, and wherein the backplate of the original grip assembly is used to attach the original grip assembly to the haptic effect generator module ([0050], “the controller … may include a slider … The controller … may include an actuator … coupled to slider” Examiner notes that a backplate is part of a slider assembly in a firearm and that the slider assembly can be coupled to the actuator (haptic effect generator in claimed invention).).
In regards to claim 6, Grant does not disclose wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass.
Mains discloses
wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor (page 7, lines 7-8, “Embodiments include linear motors configured to simulate haptic feedback”) that includes a stator (page 10, line 9, “The motor includes two parts: the slider and the stator”) and a sliding mass (page 13, line 1, “the linear motor may include a sliding mass”).
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, and a sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, and a sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 7, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the haptic effect generator module further comprises a cocking mechanism interface that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass, wherein when the haptic effect generator module is secured to a body of the actual firearm, the cocking mechanism interface is positioned such that a cocking movement of an original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm will cause the cocking mechanism interface and the sliding mass of the linear motor to move ([0050], “The actuator … may … output a haptic effect (e.g., a click or pulse) when the slider … is moved a … distance, such as to represent that the weapon is cocked.”).
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, and a sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, and a sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 8, Grant does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to control movement of the sliding mass of the linear motor so as to provide force feedback to the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm via the cocking mechanism interface during a cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism to simulate the forces a user would feel during a normal cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm.
Mains discloses
wherein the controller is configured to control movement of the sliding mass of the linear motor so as to provide force feedback to the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm via the cocking mechanism interface during a cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism to simulate the forces a user would feel during a normal cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm (page 9, lines 16-18, “One embodiment provides a method and apparatus simulating the recoil of a conventional firearm using a linear motor controlling a sliding mass and operatively coupled to a controller” Examiner notes that the method and apparatus that simulates recoil may use mechanical means to drive the firearm's actual cocking mechanism to provide realistic force feedback.).
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, wherein the controller is configured to control movement of the sliding mass of the linear motor so as to provide force feedback to the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm via the cocking mechanism interface during a cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism to simulate the forces a user would feel during a normal cocking movement of the original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, and a controller for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, and a controller for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 9, Grant does not disclose wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft can move axially inward while the haptic effect generator module is being secured to the body of the actual firearm and can move axially outward once the haptic effect generator module has been removably secured to the body of the actual firearm such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module.
Mains discloses
wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft can move axially inward while the haptic effect generator module is being secured to the body of the actual firearm and can move axially outward once the haptic effect generator module has been removably secured to the body of the actual firearm such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module (page 48, lines 19-24, “the charging spring by the linear motor may follow the … traditional spring used in the … handgun by varying its resistance force over the linear position of the … slider with a single spring constant … Or the motor may emulate multiple spring constants … to emulate other mechanical resistances encountered in a … handgun platform’s linear movement associated with … cocking … the weapon slider”).
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, and wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft can move axially inward while the haptic effect generator module is being secured to the body of the actual firearm and can move axially outward once the haptic effect generator module has been removably secured to the body of the actual firearm such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, a charging spring, and a weapon slider for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, a charging spring, and a weapon slider for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 10, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the haptic effect generator module further comprises: a housing that is configured to be inserted into the body of ([0043], “The actuator may output a haptic effect” Examiner notes that an actuator typically has a housing that can be configured to be inserted into the firearm body. See annotated Grant FIG. 2.) the actual firearm;
a weight that is attached to the sliding mass of the linear motor;
and a linear rail that is attached to an interior of the housing, wherein the weight is configured to slide along the linear rail such that the weight and the attached sliding mass of the linear motor move in a controlled linear fashion when the sliding mass of the linear motor moves relative to the stator of the linear motor ([0058], “actuator … may include … a linear … actuator … configured to move moving mass … toward end stop” Examiner notes that a linear actuator is specifically designed with linear guide rails within their housing.).
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
a weight that is attached to the sliding mass of the linear motor (page 5, line 18, “Figure 60 is … a sliding mass including … magnets” Examiner notes that magnets can act as weights.);
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of: a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm; a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect; a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated; and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, wherein the haptic effect generator module further comprises: a housing that is configured to be inserted into the body of; and a linear rail that is attached to an interior of the housing, wherein the weight is configured to slide along the linear rail such that the weight and the attached sliding mass of the linear motor move in a controlled linear fashion when the sliding mass of the linear motor moves relative to the stator of the linear motor, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, comprising an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, the actual firearm a weight that is attached to the sliding mass of the linear motor, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, and magnets for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a linear motor, a slider, a stator, a sliding mass, and magnets for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 11, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of an actual firearm to convert the actual firearm into a firearm simulator, comprising ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates are essential for attaching actuators.):
a frame ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates for an actuator can have a frame.);
a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of the actual firearm ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates inherently require an attachment mechanism.);
and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates inherently require an attachment mechanism.).
Mains discloses
an actual firearm, comprising (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of to convert into a firearm simulator, comprising: a frame; a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of; and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 12, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the firearm attachment mechanism is configured to attach the frame ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates for an actuator can have a frame with a corresponding frame attachment mechanism.) to an original grip assembly mounting mechanism of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator, which represents the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention and a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly, which may be attached to the frame.) the actual firearm.
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of to convert into a firearm simulator, comprising: a frame; a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of; and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame, wherein the firearm attachment mechanism is configured to attach the frame to an original grip assembly mounting mechanism of, as disclosed by Grant, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 13, Grant discloses
wherein the module attachment mechanism comprises at least one plate mounting aperture configured to receive a mounting pin that secures a haptic effect generator module to the frame ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt that uses an adaptor plate, which inherently includes various mounting apertures (such as screw holes, lugs, and pins) that can accommodate securing the actuator (the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) to the stock butt, body of the firearm, and frame.).
In regards to claim 14, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein at least one bracket groove is provided on the frame, the at least one bracket groove being configured to receive at least one bracket of an original grip assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) of the actual firearm when the haptic effect generator module is secured to the frame ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt that uses an adaptor plate, which inherently includes various mounting apertures (such as screw holes, lugs, and brackets) that can accommodate securing the actuator (the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) to the stock butt, body of the firearm, and the frame.).
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of to convert into a firearm simulator, comprising: a frame; a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of; and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame, wherein at least one bracket groove is provided on the frame, the at least one bracket groove being configured to receive at least one bracket of an original grip assembly of when the haptic effect generator module is secured to the frame, as disclosed by Grant, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 15, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the firearm attachment mechanism is configured to attach the frame ([0011], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates inherently require an attachment mechanism.) to an original grip assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) mounting mechanism of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator, which represents the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention and a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly, which may be attached to the frame.) the actual firearm.
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of to convert into a firearm simulator, comprising: a frame; a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of; and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame, as disclosed by Grant, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 16, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of an actual firearm to convert the actual firearm to a firearm simulator, comprising ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal” Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, “haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators” [0025].):
removing an original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of ([0030], “FIG. 1 illustrates … a haptically enabled gun … As shown in FIG. 1, the controller … includes … a handle … It should be noted that the gun controller shown in FIG. 1 is only an example and any other design of gun is contemplated.”) the actual firearm;
mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt and a handle and that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which may be mounted to the handle.);
mounting the original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) that was removed from the actual firearm to a haptic effect generator module ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a handle mounted to an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention).);
and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) in the body of the firearm, whereby the adaptor plate is a component of the stock butt that is coupled with the actuator.) the actual firearm.
Mains discloses
an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising: removing an original handle assembly from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of; mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism; mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module; and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 17, Grant discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the original handle assembly of the actual firearm comprises at least one handle and a trigger lever that together form an integrated handle and trigger module, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a trigger interface, and wherein mounting the integrated handle and trigger module to the haptic effect generator module results in the trigger lever being operatively coupled to the trigger interface ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a handle and trigger integrated together and a trigger actuator.).
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising: removing an original handle assembly from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of; mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism; mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module; and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of, wherein the original handle assembly of, comprises at least one handle and a trigger lever that together form an integrated handle and trigger module, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a trigger interface, and wherein mounting the integrated handle and trigger module to the haptic effect generator module results in the trigger lever being operatively coupled to the trigger interface, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 18, Grant discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the adaptor plate comprises at least one plate mounting aperture, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises at least one module mounting aperture, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm comprises inserting a mounting pin through the at least one plate mounting aperture and the at least one module mounting aperture to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt that uses an adaptor plate, which inherently includes various mounting apertures (such as screw holes and lugs) that can accommodate securing the actuator (the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) to the stock butt and body of the firearm.).
Mains discloses
the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising: removing an original handle assembly from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of; mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism; mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module; and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of, wherein the original handle assembly of, comprises at least one handle and a trigger lever that together form an integrated handle and trigger module, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a trigger interface, and wherein mounting the integrated handle and trigger module to the haptic effect generator module results in the trigger lever being operatively coupled to the trigger interface, wherein the adaptor plate comprises at least one plate mounting aperture, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises at least one module mounting aperture, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of comprises inserting a mounting pin through the at least one plate mounting aperture and the at least one module mounting aperture to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm and actual ammunition for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 19, Grant discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor that includes a stator and a sliding mass, and a cocking mechanism interface that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the firearm results in the cocking mechanism interface being positioned such that a cocking movement of an original cocking mechanism of the actual firearm will cause the cocking mechanism interface and the sliding mass of the linear motor to move ([0050], “The actuator … may … output a haptic effect (e.g., a click or pulse) when the slider … is moved a … distance, such as to represent that the weapon is cocked.”).
Mains discloses
wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor (page 7, lines 7-8, “Embodiments include linear motors configured to simulate haptic feedback”) that includes a stator (page 10, line 9, “The motor includes two parts: the slider and the stator”) and a sliding mass (page 13, line 1, “the linear motor may include a sliding mass”), the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”).
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising: removing an original handle assembly from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of; mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism; mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module; and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of, and a cocking mechanism interface that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the firearm results in the cocking mechanism interface being positioned such that a cocking movement of an original cocking mechanism of will cause the cocking mechanism interface and the sliding mass of the linear motor to move, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a slider, a stator, a linear motor, and sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a slider, a stator, a linear motor, and sliding mass for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
In regards to claim 20, Grant does not disclose wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft is configured to move axially between retracted and extended positions and is biased toward the extended position, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm comprises causing the spring-loaded shaft to move inward toward the retracted position while the haptic effect generator module is being inserted into the body of the actual firearm, and then allowing the spring-loaded shaft to move outward toward the extended position once the haptic effect generator module has been removably mounted to the body of the actual firearm such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module.
Mains discloses
wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft is configured to move axially between retracted and extended positions and is biased toward the extended position, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) comprises causing the spring-loaded shaft to move inward toward the retracted position while the haptic effect generator module is being inserted into the body of the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”), and then allowing the spring-loaded shaft to move outward toward the extended position once the haptic effect generator module has been removably mounted to the body of the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module (page 48, lines 19-24, “the charging spring by the linear motor may follow the … traditional spring used in the … handgun by varying its resistance force over the linear position of the … slider with a single spring constant … Or the motor may emulate multiple spring constants … to emulate other mechanical resistances encountered in a … handgun platform’s linear movement associated with … cocking … the weapon slider”).
Grant and Mains are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of haptic feedback for firearms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising: removing an original handle assembly from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of; mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism; mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module; and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of, and a cocking mechanism interface that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the firearm results in the cocking mechanism interface being positioned such that a cocking movement of an original cocking mechanism of will cause the cocking mechanism interface and the sliding mass of the linear motor to move, as disclosed by Grant, an actual firearm, the actual firearm, wherein the haptic effect generator module comprises a linear motor, wherein the cocking mechanism interface comprises a spring-loaded shaft that is operatively coupled to the sliding mass of the linear motor, wherein the spring-loaded shaft is configured to move axially between retracted and extended positions and is biased toward the extended position, and wherein removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm comprises causing the spring-loaded shaft to move inward toward the retracted position while the haptic effect generator module is being inserted into the body of the actual firearm, and then allowing the spring-loaded shaft to move outward toward the extended position once the haptic effect generator module has been removably mounted to the body of the actual firearm such that an end of the spring-loaded shaft protrudes from a housing of the haptic effect generator module, as disclosed by Mains, to provide an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a slider, a stator, a linear motor, sliding mass, charging spring, and slider for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an actual firearm, actual ammunition, a slider, a stator, a linear motor, sliding mass, charging spring, and slider for methods and apparatuses that simulate firearm haptic feedback used in gaming environments.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2), Applicant argues that “Grant fails to disclose or suggest an actual firearm … Grant fails to disclose or suggest: A haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of an actual firearm; A trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of the actual firearm; or An adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly mounting mechanism of the actual firearm after an original grip assembly of the actual firearm has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm … ” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, I. Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-18 Are Allowable Over Grant, A. Claims 1-5 and 7, page 9, paragraphs 1-4). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Grant discloses a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of ([0002], “The present disclosure relates generally to a … haptic enabled gun controller.”) a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal” Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators’ [0025].); a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect ([0005], “actuator configured to output a haptic effect … in response to receiving a control signal from the processor” Examiner notes that the processor represents the controller as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘the haptic effect generator … would receive control signals from a controller’ [0039].); a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated ([0042], “a sensor … is coupled to the trigger to measure the distance that the trigger is moved by the user's finger.” Examiner notes a sensor represents a trigger interface. In the claimed invention ‘the trigger interface … is designed to determine when a user actuates the trigger mechanism of the firearm.’ [0041]); and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator, which represents the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention and a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly. Examiner also notes that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which are generally detachable components.) and Mains discloses an actual firearm, comprising (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-5 and 7, as obvious by Grant in view of Mains, are maintained.
With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2), Applicant argues that “Grant fails to disclose any sort of adaptor plate having a frame with a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of an actual firearm” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, I. Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-18 Are Allowable Over Grant, B. Claims 11-15, page 10, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 11, Grant discloses a mounting plate for securing a haptic effect generator module to a body of to convert into a firearm simulator, comprising ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates are essential for attaching actuators.): a frame ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates for an actuator can have a frame.); a firearm attachment mechanism configured to attach the frame to a body of ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates inherently require an attachment mechanism.); and a module attachment mechanism configured to secure a haptic effect generator module to the frame ([0034], “the detachable components … include … actuators …, whereby the component is … connected to the base” Examiner notes that mounting plates inherently require an attachment mechanism.) and Mains discloses an actual firearm, comprising (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”), the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”), the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claim 11 and dependent claims 12-15, as obvious by Grant in view of Mains, are maintained.
With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2), Applicant argues that “Grant fails to disclose removing an original handle from a handle assembly mounting mechanism on a body of the actual firearm, as recited in claim 16 … because Grant does not have a removable handle assembly, Grant necessarily cannot disclose mounting the original handle assembly that was removed from the actual firearm to a haptic effect generator module, as also recited in claim 16” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, I. Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-18 Are Allowable Over Grant, C. Claims 16-18, page 11, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 16, Grant discloses a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal” Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, “haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators” [0025].): removing an original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of ([0030], “FIG. 1 illustrates … a haptically enabled gun … As shown in FIG. 1, the controller … includes … a handle … It should be noted that the gun controller shown in FIG. 1 is only an example and any other design of gun is contemplated.”); mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt and a handle and that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which may be mounted to the handle.); mounting the original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a handle mounted to an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention).); and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) in the body of the firearm, whereby the adaptor plate is a component of the stock butt that is coupled with the actuator.) and Mains discloses an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) and the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claim 16 and dependent claims 17-18, as obvious by Grant in view of Mains, are maintained.
With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, Applicant argues that “Grant fails to disclose all the features of claims 1 and 16. Mains fails to cure the deficiencies of Grant detailed above” (See AMENDMENT, REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, II. Claims 6, 8-10, 19 and 20 Are Allowable Over Grant and Mains, page 11, paragraph 5). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Grant discloses a haptic effect system configured to be mounted to a frame or body of ([0002], “The present disclosure relates generally to a … haptic enabled gun controller.”) a haptic effect generator module that is configured to be removably secured to a body of, the haptic effect generator module including a haptic effect generator that is capable of generating a haptic effect that simulates firing the firearm ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal” Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators’ [0025].); a controller that is operatively coupled to the haptic effect generator and that causes the haptic effect generator to generate the haptic effect ([0005], “actuator configured to output a haptic effect … in response to receiving a control signal from the processor” Examiner notes that the processor represents the controller as disclosed in the claimed invention, ‘the haptic effect generator … would receive control signals from a controller’ [0039].); a trigger interface configured to be operatively coupled to a trigger mechanism of, wherein the trigger interface causes a trigger signal to be sent to either the controller or the haptic effect generator when the trigger mechanism is actuated ([0042], “a sensor … is coupled to the trigger to measure the distance that the trigger is moved by the user's finger.” Examiner notes a sensor represents a trigger interface. In the claimed invention ‘the trigger interface … is designed to determine when a user actuates the trigger mechanism of the firearm.’ [0041]); and an adaptor plate that is configured to be attached to a grip assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) mounting mechanism of after an original grip assembly of has been removed, wherein the adaptor plate also is configured to removably secure the haptic effect generator module to the body of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator, which represents the haptic effect generator of the claimed invention and a stock butt that inherently includes a grip assembly. Examiner also notes that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which are generally detachable components.) and Mains discloses an actual firearm, comprising (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”)
an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”). Further, regarding claim 16, Grant discloses a method of mounting a haptic effect generator module to elements of to convert to a firearm simulator, comprising ([0005], “The invention … may include … an actuator coupled to the trigger, the actuator configured to output a haptic effect to the trigger in response to receiving a … signal” Examiner notes that an actuator represents a haptic effect generator as disclosed in the claimed invention, “haptic effect generator … could include … piezoelectric actuators, ultrasonic actuators and/or pneumatic or hydraulic actuators” [0025].): removing an original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) from a handle mounting mechanism on a body of ([0030], “FIG. 1 illustrates … a haptically enabled gun … As shown in FIG. 1, the controller … includes … a handle … It should be noted that the gun controller shown in FIG. 1 is only an example and any other design of gun is contemplated.”); mounting an adaptor plate to the handle mounting mechanism ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a stock butt and a handle and that many stock butts use adaptor plates, which may be mounted to the handle.); mounting the original handle assembly ([0070], “the engaging component sits naturally against the forearm in such a way that force can be applied to the forearm when the handle is gripped” Examiner notes that a firearm handle, often referred to as the grip, inherently includes a grip assembly that allows the user to hold and control the firearm effectively.) that was removed from to a haptic effect generator module ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts a handle mounted to an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention).); and removably mounting the haptic effect generator module to the body of the actual firearm by, at least in part, coupling the haptic effect generator module to the adaptor plate such that the original handle assembly is located in substantially the same position relative to the body of the actual firearm that the original handle assembly occupied when it was mounted to the handle mounting mechanism on the body of ([0011], “FIG. 2 illustrates a … controller” Examiner notes that annotated Grant FIG. 2 depicts an actuator (haptic effect generator of the claimed invention) in the body of the firearm, whereby the adaptor plate is a component of the stock butt that is coupled with the actuator.) and Mains discloses an actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”) and the actual firearm (page 45, line 5, “an actual firearm with actual ammunition may be tested”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of claims 6, 8-10, and 19-20, as obvious by Grant in view of Mains, are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LISA H ANTOINE
Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715