DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 have been canceled.
Regarding a prior amendment to claim 1, reciting a series of 4 alternative detected components/characteristics, the examiner selected detecting decreased Amyloid Beta for further examination. The limitations are no longer recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantinidis (“Treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease by Zinc Compounds”; 1992; Drug Dev. Res.; 27:1-14; cited in a prior Office action) in view of Novak et al. (US 2016/0151415 A1; 06/02/2016; IDS reference); and Lee et al. (“Zinc Inhibits Amyloid β Production from Alzheimer’s Amyloid Precursor Protein in SH-SY5Y Cells”; 2009; Korean J. Physiol. Pharmacol; 13:195-200; cited in a prior Office action).
The claims are directed to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease comprising administering a composition comprising 64Zne or as an aspartate salt, where the 64Zn enrichment level is at least 95%, and specific doses are also required, as alternate choices.
Constantinidis teaches administering inter alia intravenously (i.e., by injection) to a patient suffering from Alzheimer’s disease zinc aspartate (page 8, paragraph 5). The administration resulted in improvements in memory, understanding, communication, and social contact in the patient (page 9, paragraph 1).
Constantinidis does not teach administering 64Zn-enriched aspartate, where the enrichment is at least 80% 64Zn. The skilled artisan would have recognized that naturally occurring Zn contains lower relative amount of this isotope (48.63% relative abundance); i.e., some 64Zn-enriched aspartate was injected into the AD subject, but not the claimed levels of “at least 95%” (claim 1) or more (dependent claim 3) of 64Zn.
Novak et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a solution for improving degenerative disease comprising an isotope selected from, inter alia, Zn-64 in an amount of 0-100% (claims 1-2, 5). Degenerative pathologies include Alzheimer disease which are also age related [0007].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the instant application to utilize the composition of Novak et al. in the method of Constantinidis and have a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so since Novak et al. teach that the composition can be used for treatment of Alzheimer’s disease and Constantinidis teach that zinc compositions treat Alzheimer’s disease. Therefore, the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
.
Lee teaches zinc inhibits Amyloid β production from Alzheimer’s Amyloid Precursor Protein in SH-Sy5Y Cells (title). Alzheimer’s disease (AD) is the most common cause of dementia. The pathologic hallmarks of AD are neurofibrillary tangles and senile plaques, the main components of which are tau (a microtubule-associated protein) and amyloid beta peptide (Aβ) respectively )195; 1st paragraph). Lee documents that one effect of zinc influx on Aβ levels was decrease of Aβ40 levels in a dose dependent manner; similarly, concentration of Aβ42 also decreased to a level similar to the level of Aβ 40 (196, right, 4th paragraph).
The reduction of Aβ levels as a result of zinc uptake into cells is consistent with benefits of zinc treatment of AD taught by Constantinidis, and provides a rationale rendering obvious the further detection of decreased Amyloid Beta after obvious administration of administering 64Zn-enriched aspartate. The motivation to include this detection would have been to verify this reduction of Aβ is a result of treatment.
Regarding claim 13 dosing, zinc aspartate was dosed with 3 pills a day, each contains 50 mg of zinc bis (DL-hydrogen aspartate); this would have been an obvious starting point to select zinc-64 aspartate, and the dosing would have resulted in an amount withing the claimed range.
Regarding claim 14, Zn-64 concentrations include 2 mg/mL (Figure 7), rendering obvious this or obvious similar concentrations (i.e., 2.25 mg/ml), close to the amount of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, for a typical patient of 65 or 70 kg, 50 mg dosing corresponds to 0.76 or 0.71 mg/kg, rendering obvious the range of claim 1.
Doses, concentrations of aqueous solutions and mg/kg amounts are also obvious as a result of routine optimization, starting with amounts discussed above.
Applicant alleges that none of the references teach Zn-64 enrichment of the level of at least 95%; somehow the teachings do not enable this level of enrichment. The Examiner disagrees. Levels of Zn-64 up to 100% are clearly taught. Novak et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a solution for improving degenerative disease comprising an isotope selected from, inter alia, Zn-64 in an amount of 0-100% (claims 1-2, 5). The teachings of Novak explicitly include AD.
MPEP 2144.04 VII discusses purity of a product: Pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are nonobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product nonobvious. In the instant case, the argument amounts to mere purity of the Zn64 compound administered, which does not render the claimed method nonobvious.
Applicant further argues that disclosure of certain dosage and route of administration must be for treating Alzheimer’s disease in a patient, not generic degenerative disease. The Examiner does not agree, and notes that the examples cited provide amounts of the claims or close to the claims, suitable to render the claimed concentrations prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
TIMOTHY P. THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1614
/TIMOTHY P THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614