DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on December 23, 2025. Claims 1-8 remain pending and claims 9-10 are withdrawn in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Korea on February 24, 2023 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0172425 A1 by Hayashi et al. (“Hayashi.”)
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a display device comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels arrayed in a matrix along a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to each other in a display region for displaying an image (Figs. 1 and 2, sub-pixels 49; [0061], The image display panel 40 is a self-luminous type image display panel that displays an image by causing a self-luminous body of the pixel 48 and sub-pixels 49 (refer to FIG. 2) to be lit based on the signal from the image-display-panel driving unit 30); and
a drive circuit configured to drive the sub-pixels based on pixel data having information on a plurality of pixels constituting the image ([0059], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 10 a signal processing unit 20, an image-display-panel driving unit 30. The signal processing unit 20 is a circuit that receives an input signal from an image output unit 12 of a control device 11, generates a signal by performing predetermined data conversion processing on the input signal, and transmits the resultant signal to components of the display device 10), wherein the sub-pixels constitute a plurality of sets of sub-pixels in each of which the sub-pixels are arrayed in a matrix with the sub-pixels of a first sub-pixel number of 2 or larger arranged along the first direction and the sub-pixels of a second sub-pixel number of 2 or larger arranged along the second direction (Figs. 2 and 3, 7 and 9 subpixels are greater than 2 in both Y and X-directions),
the pixels are positioned in a matrix along the first direction and the second direction, each of the sets of sub-pixels corresponds to a set of pixels in which the pixels are arrayed in a matrix with the pixels of a first pixel number of 2 or larger arranged along the first direction and the pixels of a second pixel number of 2 or larger arranged along the second direction (Figs. 1 and 2, pixels 48; [0061], The image display panel 40 is a self-luminous type image display panel that displays an image by causing a self-luminous body of the pixel 48 and sub-pixels 49 (refer to FIG. 2) to be lit based on the signal from the image-display-panel driving unit 30);
a value obtained by dividing the second sub-pixel number by the second pixel number is larger than 1 and smaller than 1.5 (Figs. 7 and 9, one row (such as row 3) includes 5.5 subpixels 49G,49B,49R,49G, 49B,49R/ 5 pixel regions Pix equals 1.1 similar to Applicants division of 5 sub-pixels by 4 pixel numbers)., and the drive circuit is configured to drive each of the sub-pixels based on the pixel data of the pixels in a predetermined region ([0085], As illustrated in FIGS. 7 and 9, one first sub-pixel 49R is adjacent to one to four pixels 48. The signal processing unit 20 according to the first embodiment collects the red component from four unit pixel regions Pix at the maximum for one first sub-pixel 49R and assigns the collected red component to one first sub-pixel 49R. Similarly, the signal processing unit 20 collects the green component and the blue component from four unit pixel regions)
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a value obtained by dividing the first sub-pixel number by the first pixel number is larger than 2 and smaller than 3 (Figs. 7 and 9, one column includes 7 sub-pixels 49R,49W,49G divided by 3 pixel regions Pix which equals 2.33).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels include a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel ([0064], The arrangement of the sub-pixels 49 of the same color refers to an arrangement determining a positional relation of a plurality of sub-pixels 49 having a color limited to any one of, for example, red (R), green (G), and blue (B)), the pixel data includes first pixel data corresponding to the first sub-pixel, second pixel data corresponding to the second sub-pixel, and third pixel data corresponding to the third sub-pixel (Figs. 7-11, a pixel includes data from 49R, 49G, 49B), and the first sub-pixel number, the second sub-pixel number, the first pixel number, and the second pixel number are defined such that a ratio of a total of numbers of the first pixel data, the second pixel data, and the third pixel data of the pixels constituting each of the sets of pixel to a total of numbers of the first sub-pixels, the second sub-pixels, and the third sub-pixels included in each of the sets of sub-pixels is 0.9 to 1.1 (Figs. 7 and 9, the total number of subpixels 49R,49G,49B equal 60 and the total number of pixels equal 15*4 RGBW gradations or 60, the ratio is 1 similar to Applicant’s calculation of total sub-pixels of 25 and total pixels 8 * 3(RGB gradation) or 24, the ration is 1.04).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the sets of sub-pixels are arrayed along the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 2 and 3, 7 and 9 subpixels are greater than 2 in both Y and X-directions).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined region is defined based on a distance between the sub-pixel and the pixel ([0085], As illustrated in FIGS. 7 and 9, one first sub-pixel 49R is (a distance) adjacent to one to four pixels 48. The signal processing unit 20 according to the first embodiment collects the red component from four unit pixel regions Pix at the maximum for one first sub-pixel 49R and assigns the collected red component to one first sub-pixel 49R. Similarly, the signal processing unit 20 collects the green component and the blue component from four unit pixel regions)
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a periphery of each of the sets of sub-pixels overlaps a periphery of a corresponding one of the sets of pixels (Figs 3 and 7, a periphery of sub-pixel 49 overlaps the peripheries of a set of four pixels as in [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels include a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel, and a plurality of the first sub-pixels, a plurality of the second sub-pixels, and a plurality of the third sub-pixels are disposed such that the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel are repeatedly disposed in the order as listed along the first direction and the first sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel, and the second sub-pixel are repeatedly disposed in the order as listed along the second direction (Figs. 3 and 7, the subpixels 49R,49G,49B are repeatedly disposed in an order in both directions as in [0064], the sub-pixels 49 of the same color are arranged at even intervals in the row direction and at even intervals in the column direction).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi teaches the display device according to claim 7, wherein the first sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel is a blue sub-pixel ([0064], The arrangement of the sub-pixels 49 of the same color refers to an arrangement determining a positional relation of a plurality of sub-pixels 49 having a color limited to any one of, for example, red (R), green (G), and blue (B)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0307105 A1 by Li et al. teaches asymmetric pixel sectors 212 where 7 sub-pixels are in a row direction divided by 3 pixels equaling 2.33 and 6 or more sub-pixels are divided by 4 pixels in another direction equaling 1.5.
WO 2012/067038 A1 by Nakagawa et al. multiple subpixels constituting each pixel are allocated to multiple virtual pixels, such as 11 sub-pixels corresponding to two virtual pixels.
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621