DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-40 are pending in the application. Claims 1-20 are cancelled. The amendments to the claims overcome each and every objection and the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/12/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 30, line 8: please correct “an outer lumen” to “the outer lumen”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 30-33, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farin et al. (US 2014/0005474 A1) in view of Augelli et al. (US 2018/0008313 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Farin discloses a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095], [0098], [0103]), the method comprising:
positioning a secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) at least partially within a primary trocar (trocar unit 8200);
upon positioning the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) at least partially within the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200), coupling the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) to the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) thereby forming a trocar assembly (laparoscopic system 8000) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095]-[0098]), wherein, when coupled:
one or more openings (opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124) in an outer lumen (lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) extend beyond a single lumen (lumen of tube 8220) of the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095], [0098], [0102]-[0103]); and
a fluid seal is created between the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) and the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) (see par. [0095]-[0097]); and
delivering the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity using the trocar assembly (laparoscopic system 8000) (see par. [0095], [0098], [0103]).
However, Farin fails to state wherein the secondary trocar is configured to facilitate delivery of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity; and coupling the primary trocar to a surgical robot.
Augelli teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0024], [0028]) wherein the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) is configured to facilitate delivery of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity (via a valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and an inlet port 164 on the adaptor assembly 120, see par. [0028]); and coupling the primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) to a surgical robot (via an engagement flange 118 on the robotic cannula portion 112, see par. [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Farin to include the valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and inlet port 164 of Augelli on the needle engager unit 8100 of Farin such that the secondary trocar is configured to facilitate delivery of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity, as taught by Augelli, in order to provide the structure for connecting the trocar assembly to a source of insufflation gas supply (see Augelli par. [0028]). It further would've been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Farin to include the engagement flange 118 of Augelli on the trocar unit 8200 of Farin such that the method includes coupling the primary trocar to a surgical robot, as taught by Augelli, in order to allow robotically assisted laparoscopic surgeries to be performed using the trocar assembly (see Augelli par. [0009], [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein coupling the secondary trocar to the primary trocar comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar with one or more latches of the secondary trocar.
Augelli teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0024], [0028]) wherein coupling the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) to the primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) with one or more latches (latches 142a-b) of the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Farin to include wherein coupling the secondary trocar to the primary trocar comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar with one or more latches of the secondary trocar, as taught by Augelli, in order to allow the secondary trocar to be releasably secured to the primary trocar (see Augelli par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches permitting or restricting a flow of the insufflation fluid using a stopcock (Augelli, valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and inlet port 164) of the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) (see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 25, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches wherein delivering the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity comprises:
receiving, by the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100), the insufflation fluid from an insufflator (see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 21 above);
directing the insufflation fluid through the trocar assembly (Farin, laparoscopic system 8000) via the outer lumen (Farin, lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) (see Farin Figs. 11A-F, see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 21 above); and
discharging the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity via the one or more openings (Farin, opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124) of the outer lumen (Farin, lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) (see Farin Figs. 11A-F, see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 26, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches inserting a medical instrument through an inner lumen (lumen of inner tubular body 8122) of the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0098]-[0099], [0103]).
Regarding claim 30, Farin discloses a system (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095], [0098], [0103]) comprising:
a primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) (see Figs. 11A-F);
a secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) configured to be positioned at least partially within the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200), wherein the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) comprises an outer lumen (lumen of outer tubular body 8112) and an inner lumen (lumen of inner sleeve 8120) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0096], [0098]); and
a trocar assembly (laparoscopic system 8000), wherein the trocar assembly (laparoscopic system 8000) is formed by coupling the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) to the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095]-[0098]) and further comprising:
one or more openings (opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124) in the outer lumen (lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) extending beyond a single lumen (lumen of tube 8220) of the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0095], [0098], [0102]-[0103]); and
a fluid seal between the primary trocar (trocar unit 8200) and the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) (see par. [0095]-[0097]).
However, Farin fails to state the primary trocar coupled to a surgical robot; wherein the secondary trocar is configured to facilitate delivery of insufflation fluid to the patient cavity through the one or more openings in the outer lumen.
Augelli teaches a system (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0024], [0028]) comprising a primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) coupled to a surgical robot (via an engagement flange 118 on the robotic cannula portion 112, see par. [0025]); wherein the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) is configured to facilitate delivery of insufflation fluid to the patient cavity through the one or more openings (distal opening of adaptor assembly 120) in the outer lumen (lumen of adaptor assembly 120) (via a valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and an inlet port 164 on the adaptor assembly 120, see par. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Farin to include the engagement flange 118 of Augelli on the trocar unit 8200 of Farin such that the system includes the primary trocar coupled to a surgical robot, as taught by Augelli, in order to allow robotically assisted laparoscopic surgeries to be performed using the trocar assembly (see Augelli par. [0009], [0024]-[0025]). It further would've been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Farin to include the valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and inlet port 164 of Augelli on the needle engager unit 8100 of Farin such that the secondary trocar is configured to facilitate delivery of insufflation fluid to the patient cavity through the one or more openings in the outer lumen, as taught by Augelli, in order to provide the structure for connecting the trocar assembly to a source of insufflation gas supply (see Augelli par. [0028]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein coupling the secondary trocar to the primary trocar comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar with one or more latches of the secondary trocar.
Augelli teaches a system (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0024], [0028]) wherein coupling the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) to the primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar (robotic cannula portion 112) with one or more latches (latches 142a-b) of the secondary trocar (adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130) (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Farin to include wherein coupling the secondary trocar to the primary trocar comprises engaging a lip of the primary trocar with one or more latches of the secondary trocar, as taught by Augelli, in order to allow the secondary trocar to be releasably secured to the primary trocar (see Augelli par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 32, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. Farin further includes an insufflator (see par. [0095], [0098], [0103]).
Regarding claim 33, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 32 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further includes wherein the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) is configured to receive the insufflation fluid from the insufflator and the outer lumen (Farin, lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) is configured to direct the insufflation fluid through the trocar assembly (Farin, laparoscopic system 8000) (see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 30 above).
Regarding claim 35, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches wherein the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) further comprises a stopcock (Augelli, valve assembly 160, rotatable toggle valve stem 162, and inlet port 164) configured to permit or restrict a flow of the insufflation fluid (see Augelli par. [0028], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 30 above).
Regarding claim 38, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches a medical instrument configured to be inserted through an inner lumen (lumen of inner tubular body 8122) of the secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) (see Figs. 11A-F, par. [0098]-[0099], [0103]).
Claims 23 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farin et al. (US 2014/0005474 A1) in view of Augelli et al. (US 2018/0008313 A1), as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, further in view of Ott et al. (US 9,381,312 B1).
Regarding claim 23, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state heating and/or humidifying the insufflation fluid.
Ott teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Figs. 6-8, col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13) comprising heating and humidifying the insufflation fluid (via conditioning media 20, see col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Farin to include the conditioning media 20 of Ott within the laparoscopic system 8000 of modified Farin such that the method further comprises heating and humidifying the insufflation fluid, as taught by Ott, in order to allow hydrating and temperature control of the insufflation fluid prior to delivery (see Ott col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13).
Regarding claim 34, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein the secondary trocar further comprises one or more conditioning elements configured to heat and/or humidfy the insufflation fluid.
Ott teaches a system (see Figs. 6-8, col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13) wherein the secondary trocar (trocar 10) further comprises one or more conditioning elements (conditioning media 20) configured to heat and/or humidfy the insufflation fluid (see col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Farin to include the conditioning media 20 of Ott within the laparoscopic system 8000 of modified Farin such that the system further comprises the secondary trocar further comprises one or more conditioning elements configured to heat and/or humidfy the insufflation fluid, as taught by Ott, in order to allow hydrating and temperature control of the insufflation fluid prior to delivery (see Ott col. 10 line 54-col. 11 line 13).
Claims 27 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farin et al. (US 2014/0005474 A1) in view of Augelli et al. (US 2018/0008313 A1), as applied to claims 26 and 30 above, further in view of Stearns et al. (US 2007/0088275 A1).
Regarding claim 27, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 26 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state creating a fluid seal within the inner lumen using a one-way valve.
Stearns teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Fig. 34, par. [0131]) comprising creating a fluid seal within the inner lumen (lumen through trocar associated with cap 3400) using a one-way valve (duckbill valve 3420 and resilient ring 3430) (see Fig. 34, par. [0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Farin to include creating a fluid seal within the inner lumen using a one-way valve, as taught by Stearns, in order to provide an enhanced seal around the medical instrument (see Stearns par. [0131]).
Regarding claim 39, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein the fluid seal is created using a one-way valve.
Stearns teaches a system (see Fig. 34, par. [0131]) wherein a fluid seal is created using a one-way valve (duckbill valve 3420 and resilient ring 3430) (see Fig. 34, par. [0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Farin to include wherein a fluid seal is created using a one-way valve, as taught by Stearns, in order to provide an enhanced seal around the medical instrument (see Stearns par. [0131]).
Claims 28 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farin et al. (US 2014/0005474 A1) in view of Augelli et al. (US 2018/0008313 A1), as applied to claims 21 and 32 above, further in view of Geisz et al. (US 2018/0103977 A1).
Regarding claim 28, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state determining, by a pressure sensor, a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity; communicating, by the pressure sensor, the pressure measurement to an insufflator; and controlling a supply of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity based on the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor.
Geisz teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Fig. 1, par. [0018]) comprising: determining, by a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 22), a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity (see par. [0019]-[0020]); communicating, by the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 22), the pressure measurement to an insufflator (insufflator 10) (see par. [0019]-[0020]); and controlling a supply of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity based on the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 22) (see par. [0019]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Farin to include determining, by a pressure sensor, a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity; communicating, by the pressure sensor, the pressure measurement to an insufflator; and controlling a supply of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity based on the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor, as taught by Geisz, in order to allow the pressure for the laparoscopic surgery to be optimized by controlling the pressure of the insufflation gas supplied to the patient cavity (see Geisz par. [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 32 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state a pressure sensor configured to communicate a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity to the insufflator.
Geisz teaches a system (see Fig. 1, par. [0018]) comprising a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 22) configured to communicate a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity to the insufflator (insufflator 10) (see par. [0019]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Farin to include a pressure sensor configured to communicate a pressure measurement indicative of a pressure of the patient cavity to the insufflator, as taught by Geisz, in order to allow the pressure for the laparoscopic surgery to be optimized by controlling the pressure of the insufflation gas supplied to the patient cavity (see Geisz par. [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 37, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 36 substantially as claimed. Modified Farin further teaches wherein the insufflation fluid is discharged to the patient cavity via the one or more openings (Farin, opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124) of the outer lumen (Farin, lumen of outer tubular body 8112) of the secondary trocar (Farin, needle engager unit 8100) and a supply of the insufflation fluid to the patient cavity is based at least on the pressure measurement from the pressure sensor (Geisz, pressure sensor 22) (see Geisz par. [0019]-[0020], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 36 above).
Claims 29 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farin et al. (US 2014/0005474 A1) in view of Augelli et al. (US 2018/0008313 A1), as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, further in view of Silver et al. (US 2020/0187984 A1).
Regarding claim 29, modified Farin teaches the method of claim 21 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar is at least partially provided by a gasket.
Silver teaches a method for supplying insufflation fluid to a patient cavity (see Fig. 12, par. [0074]) wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar (insufflation sleeve 110) and the secondary trocar (access port 70) is at least partially provided by a gasket (seal 115) (see Fig. 12, par. [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Farin to include wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar is at least partially provided by a gasket, as taught by Silver, in order to provide the structure of the seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar (see Silver par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 40, modified Farin teaches the system of claim 30 substantially as claimed. However, modified Farin fails to state wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar is at least partially provided by a gasket.
Silver teaches a system (see Fig. 12, par. [0074]) wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar (insufflation sleeve 110) and the secondary trocar (access port 70) is at least partially provided by a gasket (seal 115) (see Fig. 12, par. [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Farin to include wherein the fluid seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar is at least partially provided by a gasket, as taught by Silver, in order to provide the structure of the seal between the primary trocar and the secondary trocar (see Silver par. [0074]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to independent claim 21, Applicant argues that Farin fails to teach one or more openings in an outer lumen of the secondary trocar. This argument is not found to be persuasive. Farin teaches a secondary trocar (needle engager unit 8100) having an outer lumen (lumen of outer tubular body 8112) which has an opening (opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124). The inner lumen (lumen of inner sleeve 8120) is slidable in and out of the opening (opening at distal end of outer tubular body 8112 nearest funnel 8124) as shown in Figs. 11A-F and described in par. [0098] of Farin. Therefore, it appears that Farin still teaches these limitations as recited in the claim.
In regards to independent claim 30, Applicant argues that Augeli’s combination of adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130 do not correspond to the claimed secondary trocar because the combination of structures does not teach both an inner and an outer lumen and further does not teach delivering insufflation gas through one or more openings of the outer lumen. This argument is not found to be persuasive. The combination of adaptor assembly 120 and insert tube 130 each incorporate hollow spaces/lumens as shown in Figs. 2-3 of Augeli. Adaptor assembly 120 includes an outer lumen/space for accommodating the insertion of tubular body portion 136 and insert tube 130 incorporates an inner lumen/space within tubular body portion 136. Further, paragraph [0028] of Augeli teaches that insufflation gas is delivered to the patient through adaptor assembly 120, specifically via valve assembly 160, toggle valve stem 162, and inlet port 164. Thus, the distal opening of adaptor assembly 120 where the insufflation gas exits the adaptor assembly 120 to be delivered to the patient would be considered the one or more openings of the outer lumen. Therefore, it appears that the combination of Farin and Augeli would still teach these limitations as currently recited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783