DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 22 July 2026 is entered. Claims 1, 11, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner determined that the biological material Lactobacillus rhamnosus strain GG is both well-known in the art and readily available.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 July 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is apparent that Bifidobacterium longum BB536, Bifidobacterium longum AH1206, Bifidobacterium breve AH1205, Bifidobacterium infantis 35624, and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 is required to practice the claimed invention. As such the biological material must be known and readily available or obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification, or otherwise known and readily available to the public. If it is not so obtainable or available, the requirements of 35 USC 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, may be satisfied by a deposit of the biological materials.
The process disclosed in the specification does not appear to be repeatable, it is not clear that the invention will work with commonly available material and it is not apparent if the Bifidobacterium longum BB536, Bifidobacterium longum AH1206, Bifidobacterium breve AH1205, Bifidobacterium infantis 35624, and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 that are considered necessary to make and use the invention is both known and readily available to the public. Therefore, a deposit at a recognized depository may be made to obviate this rejection.
If the deposit is made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then a statement, affidavit or declaration by Applicants, or by an attorney of record over his or her signature and registration number, or by someone in a position to corroborate the facts of the deposit, that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public on the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon granting of the patent, would satisfy the deposit requirement made herein.
If the deposit is a non-Budapest Treaty deposit, then in order to certify that the deposit meets the requirements set forth in 37 CFR 1.801-1.809 and MPEP 2402-2411.05, a statement, affidavit or declaration by Applicant or by an attorney of record over his or her signature and registration number, or by someone in a position to corroborate the facts of the deposit would satisfy the requirements herein by stating and providing that:
(a) During the pendency of the application, access to the invention will be afforded to the Commissioner upon request;
(b) All restrictions upon availability to the public will be irrevocably removed upon granting of the patent;
(c) The deposit will be maintained in a public depository for a period of 30 years, or 5 years after the last request or for the enforceable life of the patent, whichever is longer; and
(d) Provide evidence of the test of the viability of the biological material at the time of deposit (see 37 CFR 1.807).
(Maintained) Claims 5-6, 15-16, and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 15, and 20 recite the composition comprises turmeric in an amount sufficient to provide up to 50 mg total curcuminoids per serving. It is unclear what amount of the turmeric ingredient must be present in the composition to sufficiently provide up to 50 mg total curcuminoids per serving. Neither the claims nor the specification provides any specific amount or range of amounts of turmeric that would provide the up to 50 mg total curcuminoids per serving. The lack of a sufficiently defined amount of turmeric in the composition renders the claims indefinite.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 5, and claim 16 is dependent on claim 15, so those claims are indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Maintained) Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slykerman et al. (US 11439674 B2, effectively filed 02 June 2017) in view of Berg et al. (WO 2015164021 A1, published 29 October 2015).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 13, Slykerman teaches a method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in a human adult female subject in need thereof (i.e. a mother with postnatal depression or postnatal anxiety), comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Lactobacillus rhamnosus probiotic (Slykerman claim 1), and a prebiotic, such as human milk oligosaccharides (Slykerman claim 16; col. 12 lns. 3-16).
However, Slykerman does not teach the composition comprises a long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid (LCPUFA) or sialyllactose.
Berg teaches a nutritional composition that comprises probiotic Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG together with human milk oligosaccharides 3’- or 6’-sialyllactose (Berg [0005]), (Berg [0001]), and long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Berg [0006]). Berg also teaches administering their nutritional composition to a human subject promotes healthy brain function and development through the gut-brain axis (Berg Abstract and [0044]-[0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to administer Berg’s probiotic composition comprising probiotic Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (LGG), human milk oligosaccharides 3’- or 6’-sialyllactose, and long chain polyunsaturated fatty acids like docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in a subject in need thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because both Slykerman’s and Berg’s compositions comprise Lactobacillus rhamnosus probiotics and human milk oligosaccharide prebiotics, and both compositions are taught to have beneficial effects on healthy human brain function. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider Berg’s composition to be suitable for administration to treat postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in Slykerman’s method.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Berg teaches the composition comprises 0.005-1g/100kcal of 3’- and 6’-sialyllactose (Berg [0048]). In a serving of 700-1000kcal, the amount of 3’- and 6’-sialyllactose in Berg’s composition would fall within the range of 7-10g per serving of sialyllactose in the composition used in the claimed method. Berg teaches an example composition formulation comprising 5-100 mg/100kcal (equivalent to 0.05-1mg/kcal) of long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid (LCPUFA) docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Berg pg. 25 Formulation Example 1). In a 150-200kcal serving, the amount of DHA in Berg’s composition would fall within the range of 150-200mg per serving of LCPUFA in the composition used in the claimed method. Berg teaches the composition comprises 1x104 CFU/100kcal to 1.5x1010 CFU/100kcal of probiotic Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (Berg [0054]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the nutritional composition is taught to include vitamin D and calcium (Slykerman Col. 17, line 17; Berg [0102]-[0103]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the nutritional composition is taught to be in liquid or powder form (Slykerman Col. 2, line 55, Col. 8, line 67; Berg [0017]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the nutritional composition is taught to be a milk(dairy)-based nutritional composition (Slykerman Col. 9; Berg [0025]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Slykerman teaches formulating the administered composition in the form of a yogurt (Slykerman claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, Berg implicitly teaches a 100-kcal serving because throughout the disclosure Berg references concentrations of the different nutritional components per 100 kcal (for example Berg Page 25 Formulation Example 1). Berg also teaches an 8 oz. serving size (Berg [0099]).
MPEP 2144.05(I) second paragraph recites “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.")”.
In the instant case, reducing the serving amount of the liquid nutritional composition of Berg from 8 oz down to 6-7 oz would be expected by one of ordinary skill in the art to still possess the same beneficial properties and characteristics as taught by Berg, and thus would have been an obvious variation in serving size of the composition of Berg. Additionally, by reducing the 8 oz. serving size of Berg down to 6-7 oz., the caloric load of the serving would also be expected to decrease because less of the nutritional composition would be present in the serving. Therefore, because the nutritional composition of Berg anticipates the composition used in the method of claim 1 (as discussed in the 102 rejection above), the slight difference in serving size from 8 oz. taught by Berg to the 6-7 oz. of claim 10 would not be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to change the properties of the nutritional composition as taught by Berg.
(Maintained) Claims 5 and 15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slykerman and Berg as applied to claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Andrews et al. (US 20160038553 A1, published February 2016), Mager et al. (US 9282758 B2, published March 2016), Maletto et al. (US 20070248696 A1, published October 2007), and as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2011. Dietary Reference Intakes for Calcium and Vitamin D. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press, Summary Tables, Dietary Reference Intakes, Pages 1103-1115).
Slykerman and Berg do not teach adding fenugreek into their nutritional composition.
However, Andrews teaches adding about 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek to a nutritional composition and that adding fenugreek into a nutritional composition can aid in inducing and increasing lactation in lactating mothers (Andrews [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek as taught by Andrews into the nutritional composition of Berg, and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Andrews taught that adding 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek to a nutritional composition can induce and increase lactation in lactating mothers, and thus by adding fenugreek the nutritional composition of Berg would have the added advantage of being able to induce and increase lactation to the subject consuming the composition.
Slykerman, Berg, and Andrews do not teach the addition of turmeric into the nutritional composition.
However, Mager also teaches that turmeric can be added into a composition to add antioxidative properties (Mager col. 27 lines 28-39).
Mager does not teach how much turmeric is added into the composition.
MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) states: “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Additionally, MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B) states: “[i]n order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017)”.
Adjusting the concentrations of turmeric in the composition to concentrations known in the art was well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Maletto teaches a composition comprising turmeric in an amount from 5 mg to 1000 mg (Maletto claim 6), which overlaps with the instant range, and that turmeric offers beneficial antioxidant, antitumor, anti-amyloid, and anti-inflammatory properties (Maletto [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add turmeric to the composition of Berg in an amount ranging from 5 to 1000mg as taught by Mager and Maletto, and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because turmeric was taught by Mager and Maletto to be useful for adding antioxidative properties to compositions, and Maletto taught a composition comprising an effective amount of turmeric, 5-1000mg.
Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto do not explicitly teach a specific amount of calcium or vitamin D present in its nutritional composition.
However, Berg does teach that the vitamins and minerals of the nutritional composition, including vitamin D and calcium, may be added in amounts sufficient to supply the daily nutritional requirements of a subject (Berg [0101]). Calcium has an average Recommended Dietary Intake range of 200 to 1300 mg/day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1108 Column Calcium). Vitamin D has an average Recommended Dietary Intake range of 10 to 20 mcg/day, which is equivalent to 400-800 IU per day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1106 Column Vitamin D and footnote b). The Tolerable Upper Intake level of vitamin D ranges from 25-100 mcg/day, which is equivalent to 1000 to 4000 IU per day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1112 Column Vitamin D).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to adjust the concentration of vitamin D and calcium in the nutritional composition of Berg to be in accordance with the average Recommended Dietary Intake ranges and Tolerable Upper Intake levels of vitamin D and calcium as evidenced by Institute of Medicine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Berg taught that the vitamins and minerals of the nutritional composition, including vitamin D and calcium, may be added in amounts sufficient to supply the daily nutritional requirements of a subject (Berg [0101]), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amounts of vitamin D and calcium to match the daily nutritional requirements of a subject.
(Maintained) Claims 6 and 16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of King et al. (US 9339453 B2, published May 2016).
Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, and Maletto do not teach adding nut extracts into the nutritional composition.
Mager teaches a nutritional composition comprising sialyllactose, DHA, and Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, and also teaches that nuts, like walnuts and almonds, are exemplary sources of omega-3 fatty acids such as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Mager Col. 2 lines 20-26).
Mager does not teach a nut extract, nor an amount of nut extract to add to the nutritional composition.
King teaches a composition comprising a nut extract in a range from 1 gram to 36 grams (King bridging paragraph from column 6 to 7), which is equivalent to 0.035 to 1.27 oz., and thus overlaps with the instant range of up to 1.5 oz. nut extract per serving.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add 0.035 to 1.27 oz. of nut extract as taught by Mager and King into the nutritional composition taught by Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto, and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because nuts and their extracts like those of walnuts and almonds were taught by Mager and King to be useful sources of DHA, an ingredient present in the nutritional composition of Berg. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to use nut extracts as sources of DHA in the composition of Berg.
(Maintained) Claim 20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slykerman et al. (US 11439672 B2, effectively filed 02 June 2017), Berg et al. (WO 2015164021 A1, published 29 October 2015), Andrews et al. (US 20160038553 A1, published February 2016), Mager et al. (US 9282758 B2, published March 2016), Maletto et al. (US 20070248696 A1, published October 2007), and King et al. (US 9339453 B2, published May 2016), and as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2011. Dietary Reference Intakes for Calcium and Vitamin D. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press, Summary Tables, Dietary Reference Intakes, Pages 1103-1115).
Slykerman teaches a method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in a human adult female subject in need thereof (i.e. a mother with postnatal depression or postnatal anxiety), comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Lactobacillus rhamnosus probiotic (Slykerman claim 1), and a prebiotic, such as human milk oligosaccharides (Slykerman col. 12 lns. 3-16). The nutritional composition may include vitamin D and calcium (Slykerman Col. 17, line 17;
in liquid or powder form (Slykerman Col. 2, line 55, Col. 8, line 67) and may be a dairy-based product (Slykerman Col. 9).
However, Slykerman does not teach the composition comprises a long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid (LCPUFA), sialyllactose, fenugreek, turmeric, or nut extract, nor serving sizes of those components.
Berg teaches a nutritional composition that comprises human milk oligosaccharides 3’- or 6’-sialyllactose (Berg [0005]), probiotics such as Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (Berg [0001]), and long chain polyunsaturated fatty acids like docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Berg [0006]). Berg also teaches the administration of the nutritional composition to a human subject, which promotes health brain function and development through the gut-brain axis (Berg Abstract and [0044]-[0047]). Berg teaches the composition comprises 0.005-1g/100kcal of 3’- and 6’-sialyllactose (Berg [0048]). In a serving of 700-1000kcal, the amount of 3’- and 6’-sialyllactose in Berg’s composition would fall within the range of 7-10g per serving of sialyllactose in the composition used in the claimed method. Berg teaches an example composition formulation comprising 5-100 mg/100kcal (equivalent to 0.05-1mg/kcal) of long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid (LCPUFA) docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Berg pg. 25 Formulation Example 1). In a 150-200kcal serving, the amount of DHA in Berg’s composition would fall within the range of 150-200mg per serving of LCPUFA in the composition used in the claimed method. Berg teaches the composition comprises 1x104 CFU/100kcal to 1.5x1010 CFU/100kcal of probiotic Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (Berg [0054]). Berg also teaches the nutritional composition may comprise vitamin D and calcium (Berg [0102]-[0103]).
However, Slykerman and Berg do not teach adding fenugreek into their nutritional composition.
Andrews teaches adding about 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek to a nutritional composition and that adding fenugreek into a nutritional composition can aid in inducing and increasing lactation in lactating mothers (Andrews [0006]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek as taught by Andrews into the nutritional composition of Berg , and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Andrews taught that adding 500mg to 2000mg of fenugreek to a nutritional composition can induce and increase lactation in lactating mothers, and thus by adding fenugreek the nutritional composition of Berg would have the added advantage of being able to induce and increase lactation to the subject consuming the composition.
However, Slykerman, Berg and Andrews do not teach the addition of turmeric into the nutritional composition.
Mager teaches that turmeric can be added into a composition to add antioxidative properties (Mager col. 27 lines 28-39).
Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, and Mager do not teach how much turmeric is added into the composition.
MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) states: “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Additionally, MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B) states: “[i]n order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017)”.
Adjusting the concentrations of turmeric in the composition to concentrations known in the art was well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Maletto teaches a composition comprising turmeric in an amount from 5 mg to 1000 mg (Maletto claim 6), which overlaps with the instant range, and that turmeric offers beneficial antioxidant, antitumor, anti-amyloid, and anti-inflammatory properties (Maletto [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add turmeric to the composition of Berg in an amount ranging from 5 to 1000mg as taught by Mager and Maletto , and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because turmeric was taught by Mager and Maletto to be useful for adding antioxidative properties to compositions, and Maletto taught a composition comprising an effective amount of turmeric, 5-1000mg.
Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto do not explicitly teach a specific amount of calcium or vitamin D present in its nutritional composition.
However, Berg does teach that the vitamins and minerals of the nutritional composition, including vitamin D and calcium, may be added in amounts sufficient to supply the daily nutritional requirements of a subject (Berg [0101]). Calcium has an average Recommended Dietary Intake range of 200 to 1300 mg/day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1108 Column Calcium). Vitamin D has an average Recommended Dietary Intake range of 10 to 20 mcg/day, which is equivalent to 400-800 IU per day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1106 Column Vitamin D and footnote b). The Tolerable Upper Intake level of vitamin D ranges from 25-100 mcg/day, which is equivalent to 1000 to 4000 IU per day, as evidenced by Institute of Medicine (IOM Page 1112 Column Vitamin D).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to adjust the concentration of vitamin D and calcium in the nutritional composition of Berg to be in accordance with the average Recommended Dietary Intake ranges and Tolerable Upper Intake levels of vitamin D and calcium as evidenced by Institute of Medicine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Berg taught that the vitamins and minerals of the nutritional composition, including vitamin D and calcium, may be added in amounts sufficient to supply the daily nutritional requirements of a subject (Berg [0101]), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amounts of vitamin D and calcium to match the daily nutritional requirements of a subject.
Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, and Maletto do not teach adding nut extracts into the nutritional composition.
Mager teaches a nutritional composition comprising sialyllactose, DHA, and Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, and also teaches that nuts, like walnuts and almonds, are exemplary sources of omega-3 fatty acids such as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Mager Col. 2 lines 20-26).
However, Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto do not teach a nut extract, nor an amount of nut extract to add to the nutritional composition.
King teaches a composition comprising a nut extract in a range from 1 gram to 36 grams (King bridging paragraph from column 6 to 7), which is equivalent to 0.035 to 1.27 oz., and thus overlaps with the instant range of up to 1.5 oz. nut extract per serving.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add 0.035 to 1.27 oz. of nut extract as taught by Mager and King into the nutritional composition taught by Slykerman, Berg, Andrews, Mager, and Maletto, and administer the composition in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because nuts and their extracts like those of walnuts and almonds were taught by Mager and King to be useful sources of DHA, an ingredient present in the nutritional composition of Berg. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to use nut extracts as sources of DHA in the composition of Berg.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that commercially available turmeric dietary supplements contain explicit indications of curcuminoid content, and determining curcuminoid content in turmeric is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art (Remarks pg. 8), indications or content claims on commercially available supplements do not obviate the indefiniteness of the claim. There is no definitive description as to how much turmeric is actually present in the claimed composition, and this is further confounded by different turmeric dietary supplements containing different amounts of curcuminoids. Furthermore, just because a method of evaluating curcuminoid content exists does not mean that the claim is definite as written. The claim still does not definitively state how much turmeric is present in the composition.
Applicant’s argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not find a motivation or expectation of modifying Slykerman based on Chichlowski (Berg) because neither Slykerman nor Berg disclose or render obvious a method of reducing the occurrence or severity of postpartum depression and/or anxiety in a postpartum mother (Remarks pg. 9-10). This is not persuasive.
For clarification, the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-19 is over Slykerman et al. (US 11439674 B2, effectively filed 02 June 2017) in view of Berg et al. (WO 2015164021 A1, published 29 October 2015). While Applicant’s statement that reference WO 2015164021 A1 should be attributed to Chichlowski rather than Berg is noted (Remarks pg. 8 last sentence), Examiner will continue to use the reference description of Berg to refer to WO 2015164021 A1 in order to maintain consistency with the previous Office Action and ensure clarity of the record.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-19 is based on the combination of Slykerman and Berg, and the motivation for combining the two references can be found within the rejection itself. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer Berg’s probiotic composition comprising probiotic Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, human milk oligosaccharides 3’- or 6’-sialyllactose, and long chain polyunsaturated fatty acids like docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in Slykerman’s method of treating postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in a subject in need thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because both Slykerman’s and Berg’s compositions comprise Lactobacillus rhamnosus probiotics and human milk oligosaccharide prebiotics, and both compositions are taught to have beneficial effects on healthy human brain function. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider Berg’s composition to be suitable for administration to treat postnatal depression and postnatal anxiety in Slykerman’s method.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/Alexander M Duryee/Examiner, Art Unit 1657