DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 02/20/24. Claims 1-20 are currently pending yet all are rejected as detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected because independent claim 1 recites “the brake control module triggers the backup brake actuator to lock hydraulic pressure in the hydraulic lines supplying the at least one among the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies and the third and fourth brake assemblies for backup parking brake functionality” and claim 14 recites “actuating a backup brake actuator operably coupled to a first locking valve disposed in hydraulic lines supplying at least one among the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies and the third and fourth brake assemblies to lock hydraulic pressure in the hydraulic lines supplying the at least one among the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies and the third and fourth brake assemblies for backup parking brake functionality.” Regarding claim 1, it is unclear if the brake control module either: (1) triggers the backup brake actuator to lock the pressure in the line supplying one of the first, second, third or fourth assemblies; or (2) triggers the backup brake actuator to lock the pressure in the line supplying one of the first and second brake assemblies, and triggers the third and fourth brake assemblies. The distinction is crucial yet the lack of specificity here renders the limitation indefinite. Regarding claim 14, it is unclear if the method includes actuating a backup brake operator that is: (1) operably coupled to a first locking valve disposed in hydraulic lines supplying one of the first, second, third and fourth brake assemblies; or (2) operably coupled to a first locking valve disposed in hydraulic lines supplying one of the first and second brake assemblies, and operably coupled to the third and fourth brake assemblies. The distinction is crucial yet the lack of specificity here renders the limitation indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Heinz
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinz (WO 2019/215278). Heinz is directed to a brake system with parking brake functionality. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Heinze discloses a vehicle braking system [Figs. 1-2, 4-5] comprising: a first hydraulic brake assembly (RBV1) associated with a first wheel (front wheel 1); a second hydraulic brake assembly (RBV2) associated with a second wheel (front wheel 2); a third brake assembly (RBH1) associated with a third wheel (rear wheel 1); a fourth brake assembly (RBH2) associated with a fourth wheel (rear wheel 2); a brake control module (3 or other DV) [see Figs. 1, 5] operably coupled to the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies to control primary operation of the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies, and operably coupled to the third and fourth brake assemblies to provide brake torque application for parking brake functionality; and a backup brake actuator (4, DV) operably coupled to a first locking valve (SVH or FV1/FV2, or PD1) disposed in hydraulic lines supplying at least one among the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies and the third and fourth brake assemblies, wherein, responsive to an indication of loss or degradation of the parking brake functionality, the brake control module triggers the backup brake actuator to lock hydraulic pressure in the hydraulic lines supplying the at least one among the first and second hydraulic brake assemblies (via FV1/FV2 or PD1) and the third and fourth brake assemblies (via SVH) for backup parking brake functionality. See Figs. 1-2, 4-5 (using two DVs); see also 112 rejection above.
Claim 2: Heinz discloses that the hydraulic supply lines include a first hydraulic supply line (VL) operably coupled to the first hydraulic brake assembly and a second hydraulic supply line (VR) operably coupled to the second hydraulic brake assembly, and wherein the first locking valve, when actuated, simultaneously locks pressure in both the first and second hydraulic supply lines. See Fig. 1c, 5.
Claim 3: Heinz discloses that the hydraulic supply lines include a third hydraulic supply line operably coupled to the third brake assembly and a fourth hydraulic supply line operably coupled to the fourth brake assembly, and wherein the vehicle braking system further includes a second locking valve (SVH) that, when actuated, simultaneously locks pressure in both the third and fourth hydraulic supply lines. See Fig. 5.
Claim 4: Heinz discloses that the first and second locking valves are internal to the brake control module. See Figs. 1-2, 4-5 (modify what constitutes the “module”).
Claim 5: Heinz discloses that the first and second locking valves are external to the brake control module. See Figs. 1-2, 4-5 (modify what constitutes the “module”).
Claim 6: Heinz discloses that the first locking valve comprises a locking body (FV or PD1) that is repositioned linearly to simultaneously lock pressure in both the first and second hydraulic supply lines. See Figs. 1, 5.
Claim 7: Heinz discloses that the first locking valve comprises a locking body that rotates about an axis to simultaneously lock pressure in both the first and second hydraulic supply lines. See Translation (ratchet gate valve).
Claim 8: Heinz discloses that the brake control module determines a current pressure in the first and second hydraulic lines responsive to receipt of the indication and, in response to the current pressure being below a threshold value, raising pressure to greater than the threshold value before actuating the first locking valve. See Translation (“target pressure”).
Claim 9: Heinz discloses that the third brake assembly and the fourth brake assembly are each electromechanical brake assemblies, and wherein responsive to the indication, the brake control module triggers the first locking valve to simultaneously lock pressure in both the first and second hydraulic supply lines. See Translation (“electromechanical”).
Claim 10: Heinz discloses that the first locking valve is internal to the brake control module. See Figs. 1-2, 4-5 (modify what constitutes the “module”).
Claim 11: Heinz discloses that the first locking valve is external to the brake control module. See Figs. 1-2, 4-5 (modify what constitutes the “module”).
Claim 12: Heinz discloses that the brake control module provides a notification to an operator of the vehicle responsive to actuation of the first locking valve. See Translation (“warning lamp”).
Claim 13: Heinz discloses that the backup brake actuator comprises a latching solenoid. See Translation (ratchet gate-type solenoid valve).
Claim 14: see claim 1 above.
Claim 15: see claim 2 above.
Claim 16: see claim 3 above.
Claim 17: see claim 8 above.
Claim 18: see claim 12 above.
Claim 19: see claim 13 above.
Claim 20: see claims 4 and 5 above.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 August 13, 2026