DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealing system provided on the prophylactic handpiece of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “chucking device” in claims 1 and 7-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-10, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the term “the spring action” lacks antecedent basis in the claims, and it is unclear what action or force the term refers to. Clarification is required.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, it is unclear how the sealing system is part of and arranged on the claimed treatment device. As best understood and supported by the original disclosure the sealing systems is located on the tool. However, the tool is not positively recited as part of the treatment device. Additionally it is unclear how the sealing system would be implemented onto the treatment device and/or what it would comprise, as such embodiment is only briefly described and is not illustrated or explained in detail. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 10, the terms “the bore” and “the hollow shaft” lack antecedent basis in the claims. The terms are recited in claim 2, but claim 10 ultimately depends from claim 1. It is unclear if the dependency should be changed, if the terms intend to refer to different structure or if they intend to recite back. Clarification is required.
All other claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuchs (US 2004/0251640 A1).
Regarding the above claims Fuchs discloses a dental prophylactic treatment device (see Fig. 3; considered a prophylactic treatment device as it is configured to receive and operate a prophylactic treatment tool (not positively required), if so desired) comprising: a prophylactic contra-angle handpiece (see above, Fig. 3) having a handle part extending along a longitudinal axis (e.g. area that extends from head 30, where “HSPL” and “HLR” are printed in Fig. 3), a head part (30) adjoining the handle part, a tool holder (20) rotatably disposed in the head part and extending along an axis of rotation (see citations below), wherein the longitudinal axis of the handle part and the rotational axis of the head part are disposed at an angle to one another (e.g. approximately 90 degrees, see Fig. 3), the tool holder (20) configured to detachably hold a dental tool having a prophylactic treatment section (configured to hold a prophylactic tool if so desired, if appropriately sized and shaped shank; tool not positively recited, required or part of claimed device), wherein the tool holder comprises a chucking device (20/2) configured to fix a tool shaft of the dental tool non-positively or frictionally and/or force locking manner in order to hold the tool shaft axially with respect to the axis of rotation of the tool holder and to bring about a rotary entrainment of the tool shaft, so that the dental tool can be rotated about the axis of rotation together with the tool holder (see citations below), and wherein the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece has no manually operated pushing device on the outside of the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece for operating the chucking device for releasing the dental tool from the tool holder (no pushing device for operating the chucking device is disclosed in the embodiment disclosed at [0019]; drill ejector is optional; tool is pushed into and out of chuck; see abstract, [0011], [0014], [0016], [0019], [0027]-[0031] per claims 1, 12 and 18). Fuchs further discloses wherein the non-positive or friction-locking chucking device and/or force locking chucking device (20) comprises a hollow shaft (2) having a bore (3) which extends along the axis of rotation of the tool holder and in which at least a portion of the tool shaft can be detachably received, and at least one clamping lug (4a) protruding into the bore in order to clamp the tool shaft in the hollow shaft (see citations above per claims 2 and 12); wherein the at least one clamping lug is connected non-detachably to the hollow shaft (see [0027]-[0030]; lug is milled; per claims 3 and 13); wherein the at least one clamping lug connects to the hollow shaft at exactly two contact points (see Fig. 2 and citations above; per claims 4 and 14); wherein the dental tool is held in the tool holder exclusively by the spring action and holding force generated and exerted by the at least one clamping lug (see citations above; per claims 5 and 15); wherein the at least one clamping lug is arranged between two slots (6) which are machined in the hollow shaft to form the at least one clamping lug (see citations above; per claims 6 and 16); and wherein the at least one clamping lug (4a) is a first clamping lug and the hollow shaft comprises a second clamping lug (second instance of 4a, see [0029]), wherein a bar (7) is arranged between the first and second clamping lug (per claim 17).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-13, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madry et al (US 9017073 B2).
Regarding the above claims Madry discloses a dental prophylactic treatment device (see Figs. 1-4c and abstract) comprising: a prophylactic contra-angle handpiece (see above, Fig. 1) having a handle part (14/16) extending along a longitudinal axis (e.g. axis of shaft 26), a head part (18) adjoining the handle part, a tool holder (38) rotatably disposed in the head part and extending along an axis of rotation, wherein the longitudinal axis of the handle part and the rotational axis of the head part are disposed at an angle to one another (see Fig. 1), the tool holder (38) configured to detachably hold a dental tool having a prophylactic treatment section (configured to hold a prophylactic tool if so desired, see Fig. 1; tool not positively recited, required nor part of device), wherein the tool holder comprises a chucking device (68) configured to fix a tool shaft of the dental tool non-positively or frictionally and/or force locking manner in order to hold the tool shaft axially with respect to the axis of rotation of the tool holder and to bring about a rotary entrainment of the tool shaft, so that the dental tool can be rotated about the axis of rotation together with the tool holder (see citations below), and wherein the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece has no manually operated pushing device on the outside of the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece for operating the chucking device for releasing the dental tool from the tool holder (no pushing device for operating the chucking device is disclosed; see abstract, col 3, line 39 through col 8, line 24; per claims 1, 12 and 18). Madry et al further discloses wherein the non-positive or friction-locking chucking device and/or force locking chucking device (38) comprises a hollow shaft (68 forms hollow shaft) having a bore (70) which extends along the axis of rotation of the tool holder and in which at least a portion of the tool shaft can be detachably received, and at least one clamping lug (72) protruding into the bore in order to clamp the tool shaft in the hollow shaft (see citations above per claims 2 and 12); wherein the at least one clamping lug is connected non-detachably to the hollow shaft (lug shown to be integral with shaft/chucking device; per claims 3 and 13); wherein the dental tool is held in the tool holder exclusively by the spring action and holding force generated and exerted by the at least one clamping lug (see citations above; per claims 5 and 15); the device further comprising a sealing system (formed by extension/flange of prophy cup where it extends upwards towards head, as shown in Fig. 1) for sealing the head part of the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece which prevents penetration of impurities and/or a treatment agent into the head part (at least to some degree compared to a prophy cup without such flange; per claims 7 and 19); wherein the sealing system is disposed on the dental tool (flange of prophy cup) such that said system interacts with the head part of the prophylactic contra-angle handpiece in order to prevent penetration of impurities and/or a treatment agent into the head part (extends upwards towards head to close gap, see Fig. 1; per claim 8); wherein the chucking device is designed as a sliding chucking device into which at least a portion of the tool shaft can be inserted into or removed from the bore of the hollow shaft by a sliding movement along the axis of rotation of the tool holder (appropriately sized and shaped tool can be slid (either with or without rotation) into the holder along the axis thereof), wherein the sealing system is designed in such a way that the insertion of the dental tool into the sliding chucking device causes or increases a sealing effect of the sealing system (as flange is located on cup, sealing is caused by insertion of cup shank into chucking device such that flange is arranged to close gap between prophy cup and head; see Fig. 1 per claim 10); and further comprising a dental tool (e.g. prophy cup and shank, not numbered) having a tool shaft (portion of cup in chucking device) and a prophylactic treatment section (prophy cup section), wherein the tool shaft is designed over the entire length as a cylindrical pin (see Fig. 1) having no recess for engagement of the tool holder (see Fig. 1; no recesses for engagement of the tool holder are described or illustrated; per claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al in view of Schatz et al (US 2005/0026110 A1).
Regarding the above claims, Fuchs et al discloses all the features of the claimed invention as explained above, including wherein the chucking device is designed as a sliding chucking device into which at least a portion of the tool shaft can be inserted into or removed from the bore of the hollow shaft by a sliding movement along the axis of rotation of the tool holder (per claim 10), but does not teach wherein the device further comprising a sealing system for sealing the head part which prevents penetration of impurities and/or treatment agent into the head part, wherein the sealing system is provided on the handpiece, or wherein the sealing system is designed such that the insertion of the tool into the sliding chucking device causes or increase a sealing effect of the sealing system as required
Schatz et al, however, teaches a similar dental tool comprising a body (2), a head (2b), and a chucking device (9), the device comprising a sealing system (20) for sealing the head part which prevents penetration of impurities and/or treatment agent into the head part (at least to some degree), wherein the sealing system is provided on the handpiece (see Figs.), or wherein the sealing system is designed such that the insertion of the tool into the sliding chucking device causes or increase a sealing effect of the sealing system (e.g. when tool is inserted into chuck, bore of chuck is closed, increasing the sealing effect of the sealing system at least to some degree (vs open bore with sealing system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Fuchs et al to include the sealing system of Schatz, as combined above and as best understood by the Examiner, as such modification would help to prevent contamination and/or damage to the internal components of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO892 form.
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772