DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-11 and 13-31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in the Office Action mailed 10/14/25, is hereby withdrawn due to amendments made by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-14, 17-18, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by John (US 2016/0315506; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, John teaches an apparatus (Figures 1A and 7D) for wireless communication at a transmission device (Pt1), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the transmission device to (Para. [0175]);
sense a presence of an object according to sensing information obtained by the transmission device, wherein the sensing information is obtained from a sensor associated with the transmission device (Para. [0103], [0133], and [0137] teach detecting an object with a motion detector and transferring power to the detected object.), and is independent of communications from a radio frequency (RF) energy harvesting device (Pr1); and
transmit an RF signal (See RF signals in figure 1A) configured to power the RF energy harvesting device in response to sensing the presence of the object (Para. [0103], [0133], and [0137] teach detecting an object with a motion detector and transferring power to the detected object.) and based at least in part on the sensing information indicating a direction of the object that corresponds to a coverage area of the transmission device (The transmission device of John adjusts a transmission protocol to route wireless power to a region (using a directional antenna) in which motion has been detected by the motion detector. Para. [0103]. Also, para. [0173] teaches “sensors in a patient’s home to enable power transmitters to adjust their transmission characteristics based upon a location of the patient so as to optimize energy transmission.”).
As for claim 2, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal, are configured to cause the transmission device to initiate transmission of the RF signal in response to sensing the presence of the object (Para. [0103], [0133], and [0137] teach detecting an object with a motion detector and transferring power to the detected object.).
Regarding claim 3, John teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the transmission device to obtain the sensing information from the sensor associated with the transmission device (Para. [0103], [0133], and [0137] teach detecting an object with a motion detector and transferring power to the detected object.).
As for claim 4, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal, are configured to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal using a transmit component, wherein the sensor is separate from the transmit component (See antenna 16 and motion detector 340 in figure 7D).
As for claim 5, John teaches wherein the sensor further comprises at least one of:
a motion sensor (para. [0137]), or
a light sensor (para. [0137]).
As for claim 6, John teaches wherein the sensing information comprises a signal from a motion sensor (340 in figure 7D) associated with the transmission device indicating the presence of the object (para. [0103]).
Regarding claim 9, John teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmission device to cease transmission of the RF signal after a configured length of time (Para. [0188]-[0190] teach halting power transmission after selected time intervals).
As for claim 10, John teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmission device to: receive second sensing information after initiating transmission of the RF signal, wherein the second sensing information does not indicate the presence of the object; and cease transmission of the RF signal after receiving the second sensing information (Para. [0144] and [0188] teach stopping power transmission when no motion is detected.).
As for claim 11, John teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmission device to avoid transmission of the RF signal while the transmission device waits for the presence of the object to be sensed (Para. [0103] and [0133] teach beginning wireless power transmission when the motion detector senses an object).
Regarding claim 13, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to sense the presence of the object, are configured to cause the transmission device to sense the presence of the object while the RF energy harvesting device is in a dormant state (One embodiment of John includes the energy harvester being implanted in a moving patient. Para. [0058] The moving patient will be detected regardless of the operational state of the energy harvester.).
Regarding claim 14, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal, are configured to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal in accordance with a schedule (Para. [0137], [0144], and [0193] teach transmitting power according to a schedule).
As for claim 17, John teaches wherein the RF energy harvesting device is affixed to or associated with the object (For example, a medical device implanted in a patient. Para. [0053]).
As for claim 18, John teaches wherein the object comprises at least one of an individual or a medical device (Para. [0053]).
Regarding claims 27-28, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John.
Regarding claim 7, John teaches wherein the sensing information comprises a signal from a light sensor associated with the transmission device (para. [0137]), but fails to teach the light sensor indicating that a level of illuminance is lower than a threshold.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to detect an object with a light sensor that indicates that a level of illuminance is lower than a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect an object with the light sensor of John by indicating that a level of illuminance is lower than a threshold because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known light-based object sensor operation.
As for claims 15 and 16, John teaches wherein the RF signal is in a 2.4 gigahertz band (para. [0061]) or a 900 megahertz band (para. [0061).
John fails to teach wherein the RF signal has an effective isotropic radiated power of up to 20 decibel milliwatts or up to 34 decibel milliwatts.
However, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, the power level of an RF power signal is a matter of design choice made to meet particular specification demands for an RF transmitter application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the power level of John because such a modification would have merely a matter of design choice made to meet particular design specifications.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Bell et al. (US 2016/0028265; “Bell”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 8, John teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmission device to receive, from a passive infrared sensor associated with the transmission device, an indication that the object is present in the coverage area of the passive infrared sensor, the sensing information comprising the indication.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize passive infrared sensors as object detecting devices. For example, see para. [0044] of Bell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a passive infrared sensor as the object detector of John because such a modification would have been merely implementing a well-known object detecting device.
Claims 19-26, 29, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Butler et al. (US 2016/0048709; “Butler”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 19, John teaches an apparatus (Figures 1A and 7D) for wireless communication at a transmission device (Pt1), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the transmission device to (Para. [0175]);
identify a schedule to initiate transmission of a radio frequency (RF) signal configured to power an RF energy harvesting device, wherein the schedule is based on sensing information obtained from a sensor associated with the transmission device (Para. [0137], [0144], and [0193] teach a user setting a schedule for wireless power transmission), and is independent of communications from the RF energy harvesting device (Pr1); and
transmit the RF signal (See RF signals in figure 1A) in accordance with the schedule (Para. [0137], [0144], and [0193] teach a user setting a schedule for wireless power transmission).
John fails to teach wherein the RF energy harvesting device is associated with at least one of a cart, merchandise, or warehouse stock.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize RF power transfer systems in warehouses and retails stores. For example, see para. [0434] of Butler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the RF power transfer system of John in a warehouse or a retail store because such a modification would have been merely implementing a well-known application of RF power transfer.
As for claim 20, John teaches wherein the schedule indicates a time at which objects or RF energy harvesting devices are predicted to be present relative to the transmission device (Para. [0173] teaches activating power transfer based on historical power harvesting).
As for claim 21, John teaches wherein the schedule indicates a time interval in which transmission of RF signals configured to power the RF energy harvesting device is permitted (Para. [0137], [0193]).
Regarding claim 22, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to identify the schedule, are configured to cause the transmission device to receive configuration information indicating the schedule (Para. [0137] teaches a user configured schedule).
As for claim 23, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to identify the schedule, are configured to cause the transmission device to generate the schedule (The schedule is generated from user input and historical data. Para. [0137] and [0173]).
Regarding claim 24, John teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission device to generate the schedule, are configured to cause the transmission device to generate the schedule according to historical information regarding times at which objects were sensed or RF signals were transmitted (Para. [0173] teaches activating power transfer based on historical power harvesting).
Regarding claim 25, John teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the transmission device to sense a presence of an object according to sensing information obtained by the transmission device, wherein, to cause the one or more processors to transmit the RF signal, the one or more processors are configured to cause the transmission device to transmit the RF signal in accordance with sensing the presence of the object (Para. [0103], [0133], and [0137] teach detecting an object with a motion detector and transferring power to the detected object.).
Regarding claim 26, John teaches activating power transfer based on historical power harvesting (para. [0173]), but fails to teach wherein a time interval indicated by the schedule corresponds to operating hours or a restocking time of a store or a loading or unloading time of a warehouse.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize RF power transfer systems in warehouses and retails stores. For example, see para. [0434] of Butler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the RF power transfer system of John in a warehouse or a retail store because such a modification would have been merely implementing a well-known application of RF power transfer.
Regarding claim 29, the method as recited in the claim is inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 32, John teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the object is at least one of a cart, merchandise, or warehouse stock.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize RF power transfer systems in warehouses and retails stores. For example, see para. [0434] of Butler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the RF power transfer system of John in a warehouse or a retail store because such a modification would have been merely implementing a well-known application of RF power transfer.
As for claim 33, John modified by Butler teaches wherein the RF energy harvesting device includes a tag of the at least one of a cart, merchandise, or warehouse stock (para. [0434] of Butler).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 January 21, 2026