CTNF 18/581,874 CTNF 89138 DETAILED ACTION For this Office action, Claims 1-19 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 8, 9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pat Pub. 2022/0252987; found in IDS 05/20/2024) in view of Kaleskas et al. (herein referred to “Kaleskas”, US 5045048) . Regarding instant Claim 1, Yamada discloses a regeneration treatment apparatus that from a used washing solution containing a resin aggregate generated as a non-exposed portion of an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor having a photosensitive resin layer is removed through development of a washing solution of which a main component is water, removes the resin aggregate (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraphs [0080]-[0081]; device for recycling a used water-based developer after development of a flexographic original printing plate material having a photosensitive resin layer, device including a centrifugal separator having a rotating body, see centrifugal separator in the embodiment of Figure 1), the regeneration treatment apparatus comprising: a centrifuge that has a rotating body for separating out the resin aggregate from the used washing solution (Figure 1; Paragraph [0065]; Paragraphs [0080]-[0081]); an induction path through which the resin aggregate from the centrifuge passes (Figure 1; Paragraph [0080]; discharge port 7/conduit). However, Yamada is silent on a portion in contact with the resin aggregate having a critical surface tension of 31 mN/m or less and a dynamic friction coefficient of 0.2 or less. Kaleskas discloses a rotary centrifuge bowl and seal for blood processing in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a centrifuge for separation of liquid and solid components (Abstract; blood processing centrifuge). Kaleskas further discloses the importance of the minimization of friction in order to reduce frictional heating to reduce thermal damage to the components that have been separated (Col. 2, Lines 5-11; Col. 5, Lines 40-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify at least a portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to reduce the critical surface tension and the dynamic friction coefficient in order to reduce frictional heating and thermally damage the aggregate as taught by Kaleskas (Col. 2, Lines 5-11; Col. 5, Lines 40-51). Understanding this motivation, one of ordinary skill in the art could reduce such properties of said portion in contact through routine optimization to reach the result-effective variable of reduction in friction and surface tension that suits the separated resin aggregate passing through the apparatus at any portion that contacts said aggregate. See MPEP 2144.05, II. A. and B. for more detail. Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a portion in contact with the resin aggregate once or repeatedly (Kaleskas, Col. 2, Lines 5-11; see that portion with reduced friction at least comes in to contact with aggregate at least once). Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 1, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the portion in contact with the resin aggregate is the induction path (Kaleskas, Col. 2, Lines 5-11; portions in contact with aggregate, including induction path, would be the portion). Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 1, upon which Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses a washout processor comprising the treatment apparatus of Claim 1 (Paragraph [0065]; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). Regarding instant Claim 9, Yamada discloses a washout processor that develops an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor having a photosensitive resin layer using a washing solution of which a main component is water, wherein a portion in contact with a used washing solution which contains a resin aggregate generated as a non-exposed portion of the imagewise exposed flexographic printing precursor is removed (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0065]; Paragraphs [0080]-[0081]; device for recycling a used water-based developer after development of a flexographic original printing plate material having a photosensitive resin layer, device including a centrifugal separator having a rotating body, see centrifugal separator in the embodiment of Figure 1; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). However, Yamada is silent on a portion in contact with the resin aggregate having a critical surface tension of 31 mN/m or less and a dynamic friction coefficient of 0.2 or less. Kaleskas discloses a rotary centrifuge bowl and seal for blood processing in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a separation of liquid and solid components (Abstract; blood processing centrifuge). Kaleskas further discloses the importance of the minimization of friction in order to reduce frictional heating to reduce thermal damage to the components that have been separated (Col. 2, Lines 5-11; Col. 5, Lines 40-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify at least a portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to reduce the critical surface tension and the dynamic friction coefficient in order to reduce frictional heating and thermally damage the aggregate as taught by Kaleskas (Col. 2, Lines 5-11; Col. 5, Lines 40-51). Understanding this motivation, one of ordinary skill in the art could reduce such properties of said portion in contact through routine optimization to reach the result-effective variable of reduction in friction and surface tension that suits the separated resin aggregate passing through the apparatus at any portion that contacts said aggregate. See MPEP 2144.05, II. A. and B. for more detail. Regarding instant Claim 13, Claim 8, upon which Claim 13 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a portion in contact with the resin aggregate once or repeatedly (Kaleskas, Col. 2, Lines 5-11; see that portion with reduced friction at least comes in to contact with aggregate at least once). Regarding instant Claim 14, Claim 8, upon which Claim 14 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses comprising a developing tank that develops an imagewise expose flexographic printing plate precursor (Figure 6; Paragraph [0103]; developer tank 14), wherein a portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a gas-liquid interface of the washing solution at an inner wall surface of the development tank (Figure 6; Paragraph [0103]; contact can occur at developer tank 14 in this location). Regarding instant Claim 15, Claim 1, upon which Claim 15 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses a manufacturing method of a flexographic printing plate, the manufacturing method comprising developing an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor using the used washing solution from which the resin aggregate is removed using the regeneration treatment apparatus according to claim 1 (Abstract; Figure 6; Paragraph [0065]; Paragraph [0103]; treated liquid 20; developer tank 14; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 8, upon which Claim 15 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses a manufacturing method of a flexographic printing plate, the manufacturing method comprising developing an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor using the washout processor to according to claim 8 (Abstract; Figure 6; Paragraph [0065]; Paragraph [0103]; treated liquid 20; developer tank 14; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 2, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses a washout processor comprising the treatment apparatus of Claim 2 (Paragraph [0065]; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). Regarding instant Claim 18, Claim 10, upon which Claim 18 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a portion in contact with the resin aggregate once or repeatedly (Kaleskas, Col. 2, Lines 5-11; see that portion with reduced friction at least comes in to contact with aggregate at least once) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4, 5, 10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pat Pub. 2022/0252987 found in IDS 05/20/2024) in view of Kaleskas et al. (herein referred to “Kaleskas”, US 5045048) as applied to claim s 1 and 9 respectively above, and further in view of Heren et al. (herein referred to as “Heren”, US 6601779) . Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the material of the portion. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 1, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the material of the portion. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Regarding instant Claim 10, Claim 9, upon which Claim 10 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the material of the portion. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Regarding instant Claim 11, Claim 9, upon which Claim 11 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the material of the portion. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Regarding instant Claim 19, Claim 11, upon which Claim 19 is dependent, has been rejected above. Yamada further discloses comprising a developing tank that develops an imagewise expose flexographic printing plate precursor (Figure 6; Paragraph [0103]; developer tank 14), wherein a portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a gas-liquid interface of the washing solution at an inner wall surface of the development tank (Figure 6; Paragraph [0103]; contact can occur at developer tank 14 in this location) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US Pat Pub. 2022/0252987; found in IDS 05/20/2024) in view of Heren et al. (herein referred to as “Heren”, US 6601779) . Regarding instant Claim 6, Yamada discloses a regeneration treatment apparatus that from a used washing solution containing a resin aggregate generated as a non-exposed portion of an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor having a photosensitive resin layer is removed through development using a washing solution of which a main component is water, removes the resin aggregate (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraphs [0080]-[0081]; device for recycling a used water-based developer after development of a flexographic original printing plate material having a photosensitive resin layer, device including a centrifugal separator having a rotating body, see centrifugal separator in the embodiment of Figure 1). However, the reference is silent on a material of a portion in contact with the resin aggregate. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 6, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the portion in contact with the resin aggregate is a portion in contact with the resin aggregate once or repeatedly (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44; see that portion with reduced friction at least comes in to contact with aggregate/fluid at least once). Regarding instant Claim 12, Yamada discloses a washout processor that develops an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor having a photosensitive resin layer using a washing solution of which a main component is water, wherein a portion in contact with a used washing solution which contains a resin aggregate generated as a non-exposed portion of the imagewise exposed flexographic printing precursor is removed (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0065]; Paragraphs [0080]-[0081]; device for recycling a used water-based developer after development of a flexographic original printing plate material having a photosensitive resin layer, device including a centrifugal separator having a rotating body, see centrifugal separator in the embodiment of Figure 1; fluid is reused in washout processor processes). However, the reference is silent on a material of a portion in contact with the resin aggregate. Heren discloses a sprinkler bearing assembly in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing low friction in a fluid flow apparatus (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52). Heren further discloses a portion of the assembly in contact with the fluid is comprised of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (wherein this polymer has a molecular weight typically in the millions of Daltons) as the material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the portion in contact with the resin aggregate of Yamada to further comprise polyethylene having an average molecular weight of 700,000 or more as taught by Heren because Heren discloses such a material provides hydrophobic surface tension that lowers the friction with the water flowing through the flow path (Heren, Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 38-52; Col. 3, Lines 30-44). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RICHARD C GURTOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)272-3189. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am-5:30pm MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Lebron can be reached at (571) 272-0475. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 05/15/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/581,874 Page 2 Art Unit: 1773