DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Newly added claims 19-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 12-13) about the rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 13-16) about amended Claims 1, 6, and 13 is moot based on the new ground rejections. Below are answers regarding to some arguments in REMARKS pages 13-16:
1) For the argument “IIDA merely discloses a transmission method of TDMA, and does not disclose that multiple transmission antennas transmit during a same period” and “does not disclose that second and third ones are selected simultaneously in at least one period.” (see REMARKS page 15 lines 9-11, 13-14), the rejection filed 02/25/2026 did not use Iida (‘203) for the related claimed limitation.
2) For the argument “IIDA does not disclose that virtual array antennas are arranged at discrete positions and that virtual array antennas are combined (i.e., arranged at overlapping positions).” (see REMARKS page 15 lines 15-17), there is no claimed language in claim 1 that indicates “virtual array antennas are arranged at discrete positions and that virtual array antennas are combined (i.e., arranged at overlapping positions)”.
3) For the argument “in the timing chart of FIG. 17 of KISHIGAMI, the radar apparatus cannot perform antenna synthesis between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna” (see REMARKS page 16 lines 3-5), there is no claimed language regarding “perform antenna synthesis between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna”. The claimed language is “simultaneously selects the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in at least one transmission period among the first number of transmission periods”, which is shown in KISHIGAMI (‘777) Figs. 17-18.
4) For the argument “Moreover, while KISHIGAMI discloses two transmission antennas as multiple antennas in the unit as shown in FIG. 12 and FIG. 14, the unit is merely an antenna to switch between long distance and short distance. (See, e.g., KISHIGAMI at col. 27, line 64 to col. 28 line 8). That is, the two transmission antennas are a long-distance antenna and a short-distance antenna. In this regard, in FIG. 15, the l81 radar transmission signal and the 2nd radar transmission signal are transmitted at the same timing because trigger d 1 and d2 are at the same timing. It is not possible, however, to combine the two transmission signals transmitted from the antennas because they are a long-distance transmission signal and a short-distance transmission signal.” (see REMARKS page 16 lines 11-18), Kishigami (‘777) FIG. 12, FIGs. 14-15, col. 27, line 64 to col. 28 line 8 are not used in the rejection filed 02/25/2026.
5) For the argument “KISHIGAMI fails to cure the deficiencies of IIDA with respect to a plurality of transmission antennas being arranged in a first direction at first/discrete intervals (which are equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal)” (see REMARKS from page 16 line 1 from bottom to page 17 lines 1-3), Examiner disagrees in part because Iida (‘203) discloses that “the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged in a first direction at a first interval” {Fig.3 TX1, TX2 with distance N*d} and “the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a { Fig.3 TX1, TX2 with distance N*d; col.12 TABLE 1 (d, 0.65)}.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 14-15 objected to because of the following informalities: “the at lease one transmission signal” in claim 2 lines 2-3, claim 3 lines 3-4 and 6-7, claim 7 line 3, claim 8 lines 2 and 5, claim 14 lines 2-3, claim 15 lines 3-4 and 6-7, respectively. It appears “modulated” is missing. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation " a Doppler frequency range during the simultaneous selection is twice compared with the first number of transmission periods in which the first transmission antenna is selected " in lines 2-3. It is indefinite because it is not clear how “a Doppler frequency range” is “compared with the first number of transmission periods”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (US 11,119,203, hereafter Iida) in view of Kishigami et al. (US9,664,777, hereafter Kishigami) and Jansen et al. (US 9,541,638 , hereafter Jansen).
Regarding claim 1, Iida (‘203) discloses that A radar apparatus {title}, comprising:
a control circuitry {Fig.5 item 110 (FMCW TDMA MIMO radar signal processor) output chirp control signal} which, in operation, selects at least one of a plurality of transmission antennas in a first number of transmission periods {Fig.5 item 130 (transmission processing unit); Fig.8 TX antenna vs. Nchirp, TX1, TX2 (see the bottom part) }; and
a transmission circuitry which, in operation, transmits at least one modulated transmission signal in every transmission period using the selected at least one of the plurality of transmission antennas { Fig.5 items 130 (transmission processing unit), 131a-b, 140a, 140b (antennas); Fig.8 TX antenna vs. Nchirp, TX1, TX2 (see the bottom part); col.1 lines 24-26 (Time-division multiple access (TDMA) frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) multiple-input multiple output (MIMO) radar devices); col.3 lines 10-11 (the TDMA FMCW MIMO radar devices) },
wherein
the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged in a first direction at a first interval {Fig.3 TX1, TX2 with distance N*d},
the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of { Fig.3 TX1, TX2 with distance N*d; col.12 TABLE 1 (d, 0.65 λ)},
the control circuitry, in operation, selects a first transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas once in the first number of transmission periods, selects a second transmission antenna and a third transmission antenna adjacent to the second transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas a plurality of times in the first number of transmission periods {Fig.12E; Examiner’s note: TX1 and TX2 are ”adjacent”},
However, Iida (‘203) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal”, “simultaneously selects the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in at least one transmission period among the first number of transmission periods” and “the control circuitry performs antenna combining between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna by further controlling a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the second transmission antenna and a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period in which the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna are simultaneously selected”. In the same field of endeavor, Kishigami (‘777) discloses that
simultaneously selects the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in at least one transmission period among the first number of transmission periods {Figs.17-18 (first radar transmission signal, third radar transmission signal)}, and
the control circuitry performs antenna combining between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period in which the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna are simultaneously selected {Fig.6; Figs.17-18 (first radar transmission signal, third radar transmission signal); col.36 lines15-17 (The first transmission code controlling section of the first radar unit controls the first radar transmitting section of the first radar unit belonging to the first group G1), 25-27 (The third transmission code controlling section of the third radar unit controls the third radar transmitting section of the third radar unit belonging to the first group G1); Examiner’s note: Fig.6 for “control circuitry”. “the first group G1” for “performs antenna combining”. }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iida (‘203) with the teachings of Kishigami (‘777) {use input transmission code to control transmit signals at same time period for grouped transmit antennas and use phase modulation (e.g. PSK (Phase Shift Keying)) on the input transmission code} to use input transmission code to control transmit signals at same time period for grouped transmit antennas and use phase modulation (e.g. PSK (Phase Shift Keying)) on the input transmission code. Doing so would provide a wide-angle radar device and suppress the interference signal between radar units so as to obtain accurate position estimate of a target in a wide angle range as a whole, as recognized by Kishigami (‘777) {col.1 lines 58-60 (the radar units independently measure respective predetermined measurement areas to measure a wide angle range as a whole, thereby detecting a target); col.2 lines 6-7 (a problem in that accuracy of position estimation of a target is impaired); col.34 line 19 (the wide-angle radar device); col.35 lines 33-34 (the interference signal between radar units belonging to the same group must be suppressed)}.
However, Kishigami (‘777) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal” and “the control circuitry performs antenna combining between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna by further controlling a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the second transmission antenna and a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period”. In the same field of endeavor, Jansen (‘638) discloses that
the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal {Fig.11 (2λ); col.7 lines 47-54 (a linear array of N transmit antennas with equal spacing between the antennas of half the carrier wavelength is assumed and dn is the position of the n" transmitter on the X-axis, dn is on the order of a few wavelengths therefore the increase in beat frequency or beat phase is negligible); col.9 lines 65-66 (Fig.11 illustrates a radar system with three transmit antennas); Examiner’s note: “2λ” for “an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency”};
the control circuitry performs antenna combining between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna by further controlling a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the second transmission antenna and a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period {Fig.11 items 1160, 1162, 1168, s(t); Fig.12; col.4 Eq.(1)
; col.10 lines 2-3 (A first phase shifter 1160), 8-9 (A second phase shifter 1162, third phase shifter 1168); Examiner’s note: s(t) for “modulated transmission signal”. Fig.12 for “antenna combining”};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Iida (‘203) and Kishigami (‘777) with the teachings of Jansen (‘638) {use transmission antennas with spacing of two times of wavelength and phase shifters} to use transmission antennas with spacing of two times of wavelength and phase shifters. Doing so would cause that the increase in beat frequency or beat phase is negligible and reduce the maximum unambiguous Doppler frequency with smaller chance of overlapping Doppler spectra so as to increase the accuracy of the angle of arrival measurement, as recognized by Jansen (‘638) {col.6 lines 26-28 (The accuracy of the angle of arrival measurement may be increased by the use of multiple transmit antennas as well as multiple receive antennas.); col.7 lines 47-54 (a linear array of N transmit antennas with equal spacing between the antennas of half the carrier wavelength is assumed and dn is the position of the nth transmitter on the X-axis, dn is on the order of a few wavelengths therefore the increase in beat frequency or beat phase is negligible); col.11 lines 3-7 (Therefore the reduction of the maximum unambiguous Doppler frequency is 1/2. If in each measurement, three transmit antennas were used, the reduction would have been 1/3. Therefore the chance of overlapping Doppler spectra is smaller)}.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) discloses that in the radar apparatus,
the transmission circuitry, in operation, adjusts a transmission timing of the at least one transmission signal in each of the first number of transmission periods by providing different delays in the first number of transmission periods {see Iida (‘203) Fig.5 item 131a-b in 130 (transmission processing unit); Fig.12E-F; Fig.15; col.4 lines 11-12 (timings at which transmitting antennas 140a and 140b are selected using switches 131a and 131b.)}.
Regarding claim 6, as modified above, Iida (‘203) discloses that A signal processing method used by a radar apparatus {title; Fig.5 item 110 (FMCW TDMA MIMO radar signal processor)}, the signal processing method comprising:
selecting at least one of a plurality of transmission antennas in a first number of transmission periods; and
transmitting at least one modulated transmission signal in every transmission period using the selected at least one of the plurality of transmission antennas;
wherein
the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged in a first direction at a first interval,
the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal,
a first transmission antenna, among the plurality of transmission antennas, is selected once in the first number of transmission periods,
a second transmission antenna and a third transmission antenna adjacent to the second transmission antenna, among the plurality of transmission antennas, are selected a plurality of times in the first number of transmission periods,
the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna are simultaneously selected in at least one transmission period among the first number of transmission periods, and
an antenna combination between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna is performed by further controlling a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the second transmission antenna and a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period in which the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna are simultaneously selected.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) discloses that in the radar apparatus,
in a case that the second transmission antenna or the third transmission antenna is selected, the control circuitry selects two consecutive transmission periods among the first number of transmission periods {see Iida (‘203) Fig.12C (TX2)}.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 11. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Regarding claim 13, as modified above, Iida (‘203) discloses that A radar processing circuit {Fig.5}, comprising:
a control circuitry which, in operation, selects at least one of a plurality of transmission antennas in a first number of transmission periods; and
a transmission circuitry which, in operation, transmits at least one modulated transmission signal in every transmission period using the selected at least one of the plurality of transmission antennas,
wherein
the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged in a first direction at a first interval,
the first interval is equal to an integer multiple of a half wavelength of a transmission frequency of the at least one modulated transmission signal,
the control circuitry, in operation, selects a first transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas once in the first number of transmission periods, selects a second transmission antenna and a third transmission antenna adjacent to the second transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas a plurality of times in the first number of transmission periods, and simultaneously selects the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in at least one transmission period among the first number of transmission periods, and
the control circuitry performs antenna combining between the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna by further controlling a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the second transmission antenna and a phase of the modulated transmission signal transmitted from the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period in which the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna are simultaneously selected.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 11. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 13, respectively, above, and further in view of Oshima et al. (US 9,983,294, hereafter Oshima).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Iida (‘203) discloses that the radar apparatus further comprising:
a receiving circuitry which, in operation, receives reflection signals in which each of the at least one transmission signal is reflected by an object, using one or more receiving antennas { Fig.5 items 160 (reception processing unit), 150a-c (RX1, RX2, RX3); col.4 lines 49-53 (emits a chirp signal whose frequency increases or decreases linearly with time as a transmission signal from a transmitting antenna, captures an echo signal reflected back from a target by a receiving antenna)};
However, Iida (‘203) and Kishigami (‘777) do not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a Doppler analysis circuitry which, in operation, analyzes a Doppler frequency component of each of the received reflection signals corresponding to each of the at least one transmission signal” and “a direction estimation circuitry which, in operation, estimates a direction of the object based on the Doppler frequency component of each of the received reflection signals”. In the same field of endeavor, Jansen (‘638) discloses that
a Doppler analysis circuitry which, in operation, analyzes a Doppler frequency component of each of the received reflection signals corresponding to each of the at least one transmission signal {Fig.10 (FFT); col.5 lines 56-61 (Once all of the FMCW chirps in the sequence have been received and processed using an FFT, the DSP 140 may then in a second step, perform an FFT on data samples in the columns. This second FFT determines the contribution of the Doppler effect on the frequency of the received signal due to any relative velocity between the radar system 100)};
a direction estimation circuitry which, in operation, estimates a direction of the object
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Iida (‘203) and Kishigami (‘777) with the teachings of Jansen (‘638) {use transmission antennas with spacing of two times of wavelength and phase shifters, extract Doppler frequency and calculate angle of arrival } to use transmission antennas with spacing of two times of wavelength and phase shifters, extract Doppler frequency and calculate angle of arrival. Doing so would provide phase correction based on Doppler frequency, cause that the increase in beat frequency or beat phase is negligible and reduce the maximum unambiguous Doppler frequency with smaller chance of overlapping Doppler spectra so as to separate signals and increase the accuracy of the angle of arrival measurement, as recognized by Jansen (‘638) { col.6 lines 26-28 (The accuracy of the angle of arrival measurement may be increased by the use of multiple transmit antennas as well as multiple receive antennas.); col.7 lines 47-54 (a linear array of N transmit antennas with equal spacing between the antennas of half the carrier wavelength is assumed and dn is the position of the nth transmitter on the X-axis, dn is on the order of a few wavelengths therefore the increase in beat frequency or beat phase is negligible); col.8 lines 66-67 (After the correction, all subsets Q may be aligned in time and the signal separation step may be executed); col.11 lines 3-7 (Therefore the reduction of the maximum unambiguous Doppler frequency is 1/2. If in each measurement, three transmit antennas were used, the reduction would have been 1/3. Therefore the chance of overlapping Doppler spectra is Smaller), 16-19 (object displacement during transmission may corrupt the linear phase relationship that is essential to multiple transmitter, multiple receiver angle of arrival estimation.), 45-50 (phase correcting all sample matrices for object displacement. The phase correction of each spatial distance and Doppler frequency combination is based upon the corresponding sampled Doppler frequency)}.
However, Jansen (‘638) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a direction estimation circuitry which, in operation, estimates a direction of the object based on the Doppler frequency component of each of the received reflection signals”. In the same field of endeavor, Oshima (‘294) discloses that
a direction estimation circuitry which, in operation, estimates a direction of the object based on the Doppler frequency component of each of the received reflection signals {Fig.5 item 43 (Angle Measurement Processing Unit) for item 44 (Stationary Object Decision Processing Unit) based on items 41-1, 41-2 (Fourier Transform Unit), 42-1, 42-2 (Peak Detection Processing Unit) from items 34-1, 34-2 (receiving antenna); col.14 lines 40-41 (applies the FFT or DFT to the received signal), 44-45 (thereby creating the range Doppler map); col.16 line 18 (Receiving antennas 34-1 and 34-2) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) with the teachings of Oshima (‘294) {create range-doppler map for angle measurement} to create range-doppler map for angle measurement. Doing so would detect targets from radar range-doppler map so as to recognize stationary object and moving object by identifying peaks in radar range-doppler map created from different transmit antennas, as recognized by Oshima (‘294) {col.2 lines 52-58 (peak detector that detects a peak with signal power not less than a threshold in the range Doppler map created by the range Doppler map generator, wherein a stationary object deciding unit recognizes, if the Doppler frequency corresponding to the peaks detected by the peak detector equals Doppler frequency computed from distance corresponding to the peaks); col.4 lines 46-47 (deciding whether an object in a neighborhood is a moving target or a stationary object); col.6 lines 20-22 (In the range Doppler map, not only a peak associated with a moving target (a peak of the signal power), but also peaks associated with a stationary object and the like take place.)}).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1 and 3, Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) do not explicitly disclose that “a detection circuitry which, in operation, detects a Doppler frequency component having a received power greater than a threshold value as a peak Doppler frequency component in the received reflection signals corresponding to a transmission signal transmitted from the first transmission antenna”. In the same field of endeavor, Oshima (‘294) discloses that the radar apparatus further comprising:
a detection circuitry which, in operation, detects a Doppler frequency component having a received power greater than a threshold value as a peak Doppler frequency component in the received reflection signals corresponding to a transmission signal transmitted from the first transmission antenna { Fig.1 item 13 (peak detection processing unit); Fig.2 range-doppler_power (Target, Moving Target); Fig.5 and Fig.8 item 42-1 (peak detection processing unit) for item 34-1 (Receiving antennas); col.5 lines 10-12 (The peak detection processing unit 13 executes the processing of detecting a peak with signal power not less than a threshold in the range Doppler map); col.6 lines 20-22 (peak associated with a moving target (a peak of the signal power), but also peaks associated with a stationary object and the like take place); col. 16 line 18 (Receiving antennas 34-1 and 34-2)}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. peaks above a threshold in a range-doppler map represent targets) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. detect targets from radar range-doppler map) and result in an improved system (e.g. recognize stationary object and moving object by identifying peaks in radar range-doppler map, as recognized by Oshima (‘294) {col.2 lines 52-58 (peak detector that detects a peak with signal power not less than a threshold in the range Doppler map created by the range Doppler map generator, wherein a stationary object deciding unit recognizes, if the Doppler frequency corresponding to the peaks detected by the peak detector equals Doppler frequency computed from distance corresponding to the peaks); col.4 lines 46-47 (deciding whether an object in a neighborhood is a moving target or a stationary object); col.6 lines 20-22 (In the range Doppler map, not only a peak associated with a moving target (a peak of the signal power), but also peaks associated with a stationary object and the like take place.)}).
Regarding claims 8-9, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 3-4, respectively. Accordingly, claims 8-9 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 3-4, respectively, shown above.
Regarding claims 15-16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 3-4, respectively. Accordingly, claims 15-16 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 3-4, respectively, shown above.
Claims 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), Jansen (‘638), and Oshima (‘294) as applied to claims 4, 9, and 16, respectively, above, and further in view of Lee (US 9,057,785, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1 and 3-4, Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) do not explicitly disclose that “the detection circuitry, in operation, converts the peak Doppler frequency component into Doppler frequency components of a range of received reflection signals corresponding to transmission signals transmitted from the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna, and excludes overlapping peak frequency components among the converted peak frequency components, or excludes peak frequency components having a smaller received power than a determined value among the overlapping peak frequency components”. In the same field of endeavor, Oshima (‘294) discloses that in the radar apparatus,
the detection circuit, in operation, converts the peak Doppler frequency component into Doppler frequency components of a range of received reflection signals corresponding to transmission signals transmitted from the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna {Fig.4 items 13-1 and 13-2 (peak detection processing unit) input to item 12 (angle measurement processing unit); Fig.6 items ST2 (Calculate Longitudinal Distance yn Corresponding to Beat frequency of nth detected peaks); Fig.8 the combination of the output of items 42-1 and 42-2 (peak detection processing unit) for items 34-1 and 34-2 (Receiving antennas) is output to item 43 (angle measurement processing unit); col.12 lines 29-34 (The angle measurement processing unit 21 executes the processing of measuring the incident angle of a scattered wave on the antennas 6-1 and 6-2 by using phase difference between a peak detected by the peak detection processing unit 13 -1 and a peak detected by the peak detection processing unit 13-2.); Examiner’s note: phase difference for “converts” “into” }, and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638) with the teachings of Oshima (‘294) { create range-doppler map for angle measurement, detect target based on peaks above a threshold in a range-doppler map, and take account of phase difference caused by transmit antennas locations in the combination of peaks from different transmit antennas } to create range-doppler map for angle measurement, detect target based on peaks above a threshold in a range-doppler map, and take account of phase difference caused by transmit antennas locations in the combination of peaks from different transmit antennas. Doing so would detect targets from radar range-doppler map without error caused by transmit antennas locations so as to recognize stationary object and moving object by identifying peaks in radar range-doppler map created from different transmit antennas, as recognized by Oshima (‘294) {col.2 lines 52-58 (peak detector that detects a peak with signal power not less than a threshold in the range Doppler map created by the range Doppler map generator, wherein a stationary object deciding unit recognizes, if the Doppler frequency corresponding to the peaks detected by the peak detector equals Doppler frequency computed from distance corresponding to the peaks); col.4 lines 46-47 (deciding whether an object in a neighborhood is a moving target or a stationary object); col.6 lines 20-22 (In the range Doppler map, not only a peak associated with a moving target (a peak of the signal power), but also peaks associated with a stationary object and the like take place.)}).
However, Oshima (‘294) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “excludes overlapping peak frequency components among the converted peak frequency components, or excludes peak frequency components having a smaller received power than a determined value among the overlapping peak frequency components”. In the same field of endeavor, Lee (‘785) discloses that
excludes overlapping peak frequency components among the converted peak frequency components, or excludes peak frequency components having a smaller received power than a determined value among the overlapping peak frequency components {col.29 lines 28-29 (coincidences of peaks from all m spectra within a Doppler shift window), 34-37 (due to a chance overlap of echoes from other ranges, spectral features may be removed from the spectra) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), Jansen (‘638), and Oshima (‘294) with the teachings of Lee (‘785) {remove overlap spectral features (e.g. peaks) in Doppler shift window} to remove overlap spectral features (e.g. peaks) in Doppler shift window. Doing so would greatly reduce the false-alarm rate so as to reduce ambiguity as to the ranges and Doppler shifts , as recognized by Lee (‘785) {col.29 lines 39-40 (greatly reduce the false-alarm rate); col.30 lines 41-43 (Doppler-displaced echoes overlaying other echo spectra and causing ambiguity as to the ranges and Doppler shifts)}.
Regarding claim 10, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 5, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 5, shown above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is represented by Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), and Jansen (‘638), Kishigami et al. (US 2017/0082730, hereafter Kishigami-2), and Rao et al. (US 20160146931 A1, hereafter Rao).
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 1, Iida (‘203), Kishigami (‘777), Jansen (‘638), Kishigami-2 (‘730), and Rao (‘931), either alone or in combination, do not disclose (see words with underline)
disposition positions of two virtual antennas corresponding to a simultaneous selection of the second transmission antenna and the third transmission antenna in the at least one transmission period overlap, with the plurality of transmission antennas being arranged in the first direction equally at the first interval.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648