DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6,8,9,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by “Enhanced hydrogen sequestration” article by Lu et al.
Lu et al. discloses a method comprising injecting a foam comprising hydrogen and a surfactant into an underground formation (see hydrogen and sodium dodecyl sulfate (surfactant))
Re claim 2, further comprising, prior to injecting the foam, mixing the hydrogen and the surfactant to form the foam (see page 3).
Re claim 3, Lu et al. discloses before mixing the hydrogen and the surfactant, disposing the surfactant in a liquid (see page 6, 9), wherein a concentration of the surfactant used to form the foam is from 0.1 wt. % to 2 wt. % in the liquid (page 3).
Re claim 6, wherein the underground formation comprises a member selected
from the group consisting of an aquifer, a cavern, and a depleted oil or gas reservoir (page 1).
Re claim 8, wherein the surfactant comprises a member selected from the group consisting of an anionic surfactant (pages 1-3, sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) also known as sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), a cationic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant and a zwitterionic surfactant.
Re claim 9, wherein the surfactant comprises a surfactant selected from the group consisting of: sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), pages 1-3, sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) also known as sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS).
Re claim 20, Lu et al. discloses an underground formation comprising a member selected from the group consisting of an aquifer, a cavern, and a depleted oil or gas reservoir (page 1); and a foam disposed in the underground formation, wherein the foam comprises hydrogen and a surfactant (pages 1-3).
Claim(s) 10-13,16,18,19,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1as being anticipated by Northrop (US 5267614).
Northrop discloses a method comprising: forming, within an underground formation, a foam comprising hydrogen (waste gas) and a surfactant (abstract)
Re claim 11, comprising, prior to forming the foam, injecting the hydrogen and the surfactant into the underground formation (see abstract).
Re claim 12, the hydrogen and the surfactant are coinjected; or the hydrogen is injected at a first time and the surfactant is injected at a second time different from the first time (see abstract)
Re claim 13, further comprising, before injecting the surfactant, disposing the surfactant in a liquid, wherein a concentration of the surfactant used to form the foam is from 0.1 wt. % to 2 wt. % in the liquid (see col. 3 line 25+).
Re claim 16, wherein the underground formation comprises a member selected from the group consisting of an aquifer, a cavern, and a depleted oil or gas reservoir (see col. 1 depleted gas reservoir).
Re claim 18 wherein the surfactant comprises an anionic surfactant (col. 3, alpha olefin sulfonates)
Re claim 19, alpha olefin sulfonates (AOS) (col. 3).
Re claim 20, Northrop discloses an underground formation comprising a member selected from the group consisting of an aquifer, a cavern, and a depleted oil or gas reservoir (col. 1 depleted gas reservoir); and a foam disposed in the underground formation, wherein the foam comprises hydrogen and a surfactant (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enhanced hydrogen sequestration article by Lu et al.
Re claim 4, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein a volume ratio of hydrogen to surfactant in the foam is from 1:1 to 20:1 since it has been held discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re claim 5, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein a volume fraction of hydrogen is from 50 vol. % to 95 vol since it has been held discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Northrop ‘614
Re claim 4, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Northrop to wherein a volume ratio of hydrogen to surfactant in the foam is from 1:1 to 20:1 since it has been held discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re claim 5, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Northrop to wherein a volume fraction of hydrogen is from 50 vol. % to 95 vol since it has been held discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced hydrogen sequestration” article by Lu et al. in view of “Hydrogen underground storage” article by Mahdi et al..
Lu et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Lu et al. is silent about after injecting the foam into the underground formation, producing hydrogen from the underground formation. Mahdi et al. teaches producing hydrogen from the underground formation after storing underground (see page 2). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu et al. to recover hydrogen after storing underground as taught by Mahdi et al. since such a modification enables one to use the stored hydrogen to power vehicles and the like.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Northrop ‘614 in view of “Hydrogen underground storage” article by Mahdi et al..
Northrop discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Northrop is silent about after injecting the foam into the underground formation, producing hydrogen from the underground formation. Mahdi et al. teaches producing hydrogen from the underground formation after storing underground (see page 2). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Northrop to recover hydrogen after storing underground as taught by Mahdi et al. since such a modification enables one to use the stored hydrogen sulfide to generate sulfur and sulfuric acid.
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
6/13/2026