DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/581,915 filed on February 20th 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), submitted on January 2nd 2025, and February 20th 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,8-10, 12 and 18-20 -are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US 20220132464 A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP-3499975 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Agiwal et al. disclose a paging message monitoring method, comprising: monitoring, by a relay terminal, a paging message on at least one of a plurality of resources (US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0012 discloses “receiving, from the BS, a message that indicates an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring the paging message for the remote UE; and monitoring the paging message for the remote UE based on the active BWP of the relay UE.”);
Agiwal et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of resources comprise resources configured by a network device for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities to monitor paging messages
However, in an analogous art, Chen et al. teaches wherein the plurality of resources comprise resources configured by a network device for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities to monitor paging messages (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraphs 169-171 discloses “The remote UE information includes at least one of: a remote UE identifier, a remote UE mobility state, a remote UE power saving indication, a remote UE type, a remote UE coverage state, Uu discontinuous reception configuration of the remote UE, a relay forwarding paging indication, and information of the relay UE connected/ paired/associated with the remote UE. [0170] The remote UE identifier includes at least one of: a Prose UE identifier, a layer-2 UE identifier, a C-RNTI, an S-TMSI, an IMSI, an eNBX2APID, an eNBS1APID, and a GUTI. [0171] The remote UE type includes at least one of: a public secure UE/a non-public secure UE, a UE category, and a bandwidth limited UE/a common UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., to wherein the plurality of resources comprise resources configured by a network device for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities to monitor paging messages, in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for terminals with a plurality of bandwidth types.
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of resources are configured in a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0477 discloses “If the active DL BWP of relay UE 40 is configured with search space for paging (i.e. parameter pagingSearchSpace (paging search space identifier) is signaled by gNB 10 in the DL BWP configuration):a. At step S1150, Relay UE 40 may monitor the Remote UE's PO for receiving paging for Remote UE.”); or the plurality of resources are configured in a second initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP); the second initial downlink BWP is an initial downlink BWP configured by the network device for a terminal type with a second bandwidth capability; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal; or the plurality of resources are configured in a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs), and each of the plurality of resources corresponds to a respective initial downlink BWP of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Agiwal et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 1. Each piece of the plurality pieces of indication information corresponds to a terminal type with a respective bandwidth capability of the terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraph 0283 discloses “In step 1004, the relay UE, after receiving the PC5 discontinuous reception configuration transmitted. by the base station, transmits the configuration information corresponding to the PC5 discontinuous reception configuration to the remote UE nearby.”).
Agiwal et al. fail to explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting, by the relay terminal, a plurality pieces of indication information; wherein the plurality pieces of indication information are configured to indicate whether the relay terminal is capable of providing a relay service for the terminal types with the plurality of bandwidth capabilities;
However in an analogous art Chen et al. teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the relay terminal, a plurality pieces of indication information; wherein the plurality pieces of indication information are configured to indicate whether the relay terminal is capable of providing a relay service for the terminal types with the plurality of bandwidth capabilities (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraph 0273 “The relay forwarding paging indication is configured to indicate that the relay UE needs to forward remote UE paging.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., to further comprise: transmitting, by the relay terminal, a plurality pieces of indication information; wherein the plurality pieces of indication information are configured to indicate whether the relay terminal is capable of providing a relay service for the terminal types with the plurality of bandwidth capabilities, in order to facilitate monitoring and relaying of paging messages for the remote terminal through the relay terminal.
Regarding claim 9, Agiwal et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein first indication information indicates that the relay terminal is capable of providing a relay service for a terminal type with a fourth bandwidth capability corresponding to the first indication information, in response to at least one of the following conditions being met: the relay terminal being capable of monitoring a paging message on a fourth resource; the fourth resource being a resource configured by the network device for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability(US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0012 discloses “receiving, from the BS, a message that indicates an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring the paging message for the remote UE; and monitoring the paging message for the remote UE based on the active BWP of the relay UE.”);
Agiwal et al. fail to explicitly disclose the network device having been configured the fourth resource for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability, a second bandwidth capability of the relay terminal being greater than or equal to the fourth bandwidth capability; wherein the first indication information is any one of the plurality pieces of indication information.
However in an analogous art Chen et al. teaches the network device having been configured the fourth resource for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability, a second bandwidth capability of the relay terminal being greater than or equal to the fourth bandwidth capability; wherein the first indication information is any one of the plurality pieces of indication information (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraph 0273 “The relay forwarding paging indication is configured to indicate that the relay UE needs to forward remote UE paging.”. Paragraph 0283 discloses “In step 1004, the relay UE, after receiving the PC5 discontinuous reception configuration transmitted. by the base station, transmits the configuration information corresponding to the PC5 discontinuous reception configuration to the remote UE nearby.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., to configured the fourth resource for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability, a second bandwidth capability of the relay terminal being greater than or equal to the fourth bandwidth capability; wherein the first indication information is any one of the plurality pieces of indication information, in order to facilitate monitoring and relaying of paging messages for the remote terminal through the relay terminal.
Regarding claim 10, Agiwal et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the first indication information indicates that the relay terminal is incapable of providing the relay service for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability corresponding to the first indication information, in response to any of the following conditions being met: the network device having not been configured a resource to a monitor the paging message for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability; the relay terminal being incapable of monitoring the paging message on the fourth resource; the fourth resource being a resource configured by the network device for the terminal type with the fourth bandwidth capability; and the second bandwidth capability of the relay terminal being less than the fourth bandwidth capability; wherein the first indication information is any one of the plurality pieces of indication information (US 20220132464 A1Paragraph 0541 discloses “If the active DL BWP of relay UE 40 is not configured with search space for paging (i.e. parameter pagingSearchSpace (paging search space identifier) is not signaled by gNB 10 in the DL BWP configuration):a. Relay UE 40 does not monitor paging for Remote UE(s) 30, 35.”).
Regarding claim 19, Agiwal et al. discloses and transmitting paging messages on a plurality of resources (Paragraphs 0544 and 0547 respectively disclose “Relay UE 40 may send CN paging indication to that Remote UE (using MAC CE or sidelink signaling message over sidelink signaling radio bearer or SCI). Relay UE may send 5G-S-TMSI to Remote UE and Relay UE 40 may send RAN paging indication to that Remote UE (using MAC CE or signaling message over sidelink signaling radio bearer or SCI). Relay UE may send I-RNTI to Remote UE)”.
Agiwal et al. fail to explicitly disclose a network device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory and perform: configuring a plurality of resources for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; wherein a terminal type with each of the plurality of bandwidth capabilities corresponds to a respective resource of the plurality of resources.
However in an analogous art Chen et al. teaches a network device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory and perform: configuring a plurality of resources for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; wherein a terminal type with each of the plurality of bandwidth capabilities corresponds to a respective resource of the plurality of resources (EP 3499975 A1 paragraph 212 discloses “In the information processing method provided by the embodiments of the present invention, the base station receives the remote UE information; the base station transmits paging information for paging the remote UE to the relay UE according to the remote UE information;” where by paragraphs 0217-0219 disclose “The remote UE identifier includes one or more of: a Prose UE identifier, a layer-2 UE identifier, a C-Runciman S-TMSI, an IMSI, an eNBX2APID, an eNBS1APID, and a GUTI. [0218] The remote UE type includes at least one of: a public secure UE/a non-public secure UE, a UE category, and a bandwidth limited UE/a common UE. [0219] The UE category includes at least one of: category 0, category 1, category M1, and NB-loT. The remote UE coverage state is the normal coverage.”; and transmitting paging messages on the plurality of resources.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., a network device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory and perform: configuring a plurality of resources for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; wherein a terminal type with each of the plurality of bandwidth capabilities corresponds to a respective resource of the plurality of resources, in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for the remote terminals with varying bandwidth capabilities.
Regarding claim 20, Agiwal et al. disclose the network device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the configuring a plurality of resources for terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities, comprises: transmitting first configuration information; wherein the first configuration information is configured to configure a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP), and is configured to configure the plurality of resources for the terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities in the first initial downlink BWP(US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0477 discloses “If the active DL BWP of relay UE 40 is configured with search space for paging (i.e. parameter pagingSearchSpace (paging search space identifier) is signaled by gNB 10 in the DL BWP configuration):a. At step S1150, Relay UE 40 may monitor the Remote UE's PO for receiving paging for Remote UE.”); or transmitting second configuration information; wherein the second configuration information is configured to configure a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs), and each of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs corresponds to a terminal type with a respective bandwidth capability of the terminal types with the plurality of bandwidth capabilities; the second configuration information is also configured to configure the plurality of resources in a second initial downlink BWP of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs; or transmitting third configuration information; wherein the third configuration information is configured to configure a plurality of initial downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs), and configure a resource in each of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs, each of the plurality of initial downlink BWPs corresponds to a terminal type with a respective bandwidth capability of the terminal types with the plurality of bandwidth capabilities.
Claims 3-7,11,13-17-are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US 20220132464) in view of Chen et al. (EP-3499975 A1) further in view of Tang (CN 111491318 A)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the monitoring, by a relay terminal, a paging message on at least one of a plurality of resources, comprises: monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a first resource of the plurality of resources (US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0012 discloses “receiving, from the BS, a message that indicates an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring the paging message for the remote UE; and monitoring the paging message for the remote UE based on the active BWP of the relay UE.”);
Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a first bandwidth capability; the first bandwidth capability is a bandwidth capability less than or equal to a second bandwidth capability of a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal.
However in an analogous art Tang teaches wherein the first resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a first bandwidth capability; the first bandwidth capability is a bandwidth capability less than or equal to a second bandwidth capability of a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal (CN 111491318 A Paragraph 0073 discloses “ For example, the network device can also determine the bandwidth capabilities of all terminal devices in the cell it covers at a certain moment in advance, and configure the paging bandwidth with the system bandwidth according to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that each paging bandwidth is not greater than the bandwidth corresponding to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that all terminal devices in the cell covered by the network device can receive paging messages.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Tang, wherein the first resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a first bandwidth capability; the first bandwidth capability is a bandwidth capability less than or equal to a second bandwidth capability of a plurality of bandwidth capabilities; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal, in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for both terminals.
Regarding claims 4 and 14. Agiwal et al. and Chen et al disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the monitoring, by a relay terminal, a paging message on at least one of a plurality of resources, comprises: monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a second resource and/or a paging message on a third resource of the plurality of resources (Paragraph 0477 discloses “If the active DL BWP of relay UE 40 is configured with search space for paging (i.e. parameter pagingSearchSpace (paging search space identifier) is signaled by gNB 10 in the DL BWP configuration):a. At step S1150, Relay UE 40 may monitor the Remote UE's PO for receiving paging for Remote UE.”).
Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the second resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a second bandwidth capability; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal; the third resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a third bandwidth capability; the third bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of a remote terminal.
However in an analogous art Tang teaches wherein the second resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a second bandwidth capability; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal; the third resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a third bandwidth capability; the third bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of a remote terminal (CN 111491318 A Paragraph 0073 discloses “ For example, the network device can also determine the bandwidth capabilities of all terminal devices in the cell it covers at a certain moment in advance, and configure the paging bandwidth with the system bandwidth according to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that each paging bandwidth is not greater than the bandwidth corresponding to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that all terminal devices in the cell covered by the network device can receive paging messages.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Tang, wherein the second resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a second bandwidth capability; the second bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of the relay terminal; the third resource is a resource configured by the network device for a terminal type with a third bandwidth capability; the third bandwidth capability represents a bandwidth capability of a remote terminal, in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for both terminals.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 4.
Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a second resource and/or a paging message on a third resource of the plurality of resources, comprises: monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource and the paging message on the third resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being greater than or equal to the third bandwidth capability; monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being less than the third bandwidth capability (CN 111491318 A Paragraph 0073 discloses “ For example, the network device can also determine the bandwidth capabilities of all terminal devices in the cell it covers at a certain moment in advance, and configure the paging bandwidth with the system bandwidth according to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that each paging bandwidth is not greater than the bandwidth corresponding to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that all terminal devices in the cell covered by the network device can receive paging messages.”).
However in an analogous art Tang teaches wherein the monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a second resource and/or a paging message on a third resource of the plurality of resources, comprises: monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource and the paging message on the third resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being greater than or equal to the third bandwidth capability; monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being less than the third bandwidth capability (CN 111491318 A Paragraph 0073 discloses “ For example, the network device can also determine the bandwidth capabilities of all terminal devices in the cell it covers at a certain moment in advance, and configure the paging bandwidth with the system bandwidth according to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that each paging bandwidth is not greater than the bandwidth corresponding to the minimum bandwidth capability, so that all terminal devices in the cell covered by the network device can receive paging messages.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Tang, wherein the monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a second resource and/or a paging message on a third resource of the plurality of resources, comprises: monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource and the paging message on the third resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being greater than or equal to the third bandwidth capability; monitoring, by the relay terminal, the paging message on the second resource, in response to the second bandwidth capability being less than the third bandwidth capability in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for both terminals.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Agiwal et al. Chen et al. and Tang disclose the method as claimed in claim 4, before monitoring, by the relay terminal, a paging message on a second resource and/or a paging message on a third resource of the plurality of resources, further comprising: receiving, by the relay terminal, auxiliary information transmitted by the remote terminal; wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate the third resource (US 20220132464 A1 Paragraphs 489-491 respectively disclose “[0489] In one method of this disclosure (FIG. 12), the operation for monitoring paging for at least one Remote UE as follows: [0490] At steps S1210-A and S1210-B, Remote UE(s) 30, 35 may transmit paging monitoring request to Relay UE 20. [0491] For example, Remote UE(s) 30, 35 may send its 5G-S-TMSI to Relay UE 40; For example, Remote UE(s) 30, 35 may send its I-RNTI, if remote UE is in RRC_INACTIVE (referring to step S1100-a and S1100-b). These parameters can be sent by Remote UE 30, 35 to Relay UE 40 using RRC signaling message over sidelink signaling radio bearer (SL SLRB) or over sidelink data radio bearer. The signaling message carrying these parameters is transmitted in a MAC PDU wherein the Remote UE's layer 2 identity (or part of Remote UE's layer 2 identity) and Relay UE's layer 2 identity (part of Relay UE's layer 2 identity) is added in header of the MAC PDU. The MAC PDU is then transmitted over PSSCH”).
Regarding claims 7 and 17. Agiwal et al., Chen et al. and Tang disclose the method as claimed in claim 6. The third resource configured by the network device for the terminal type with the third bandwidth capability; and an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) configured by the network device for the terminal type of the third bandwidth capability (US 20220132464 A1 Paragraph 0012 discloses “receiving, from the BS, a message that indicates an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring the paging message for the remote UE; and monitoring the paging message for the remote UE based on the active BWP of the relay UE”).
Agiwal et al., Chen et al. and Tang fail to explicitly disclose wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of: bandwidth capability information of the third bandwidth capability of the remote terminal (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraph 0268 discloses “The remote UE information includes at least one of: a remote UE identifier list, a remote UE power saving indication, a remote UE type, a remote UE coverage state, a remote U E mobility state, a relay forwarding paging indication, and Uu discontinuous reception configuration of the remote UE. Paragraph 0270 discloses “the remote UE type includes at least one of: a public secure UE/a non-public secure UE, a UE category, and a bandwidth limited UE/a common UE.”);
However in an analogous art Chen et al. teaches wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of: bandwidth capability information of the third bandwidth capability of the remote terminal (EP 3499975 A1 Paragraph 0268 discloses “The remote UE information includes at least one of: a remote UE identifier list, a remote UE power saving indication, a remote UE type, a remote UE coverage state, a remote U E mobility state, a relay forwarding paging indication, and Uu discontinuous reception configuration of the remote UE. Paragraph 0270 discloses “the remote UE type includes at least one of: a public secure UE/a non-public secure UE, a UE category and a bandwidth limited UE/a common UE.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al., Chen et al. and Tang to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al., wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of: bandwidth capability information of the third bandwidth capability of the remote terminal in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for the remote terminal.
Regarding claim 11, Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the bandwidth capability represents a maximum bandwidth which a terminal is capable of supporting (CN I11491318 A Paragraph 0067 discloses “In the system bandwidth, there is a paging bandwidth used to carry paging messages. The paging bandwidth in the prior art is likely to be greater than the bandwidth capability of the paged terminal equipment, so that the paged terminal equipment cannot receive own paging message.”).
However, in an analogous art Tang teaches wherein the bandwidth capability represents a maximum bandwidth which a terminal is capable of supporting (CN I11491318 A Paragraph 0067 discloses “In the system bandwidth, there is a paging bandwidth used to carry paging messages. The paging bandwidth in the prior art is likely to be greater than the bandwidth capability of the paged terminal equipment, so that the paged terminal equipment cannot receive own paging message.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Agiwal et al. and Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Tang., wherein the bandwidth capability represents a maximum bandwidth which a terminal is capable of supporting in order to facilitate monitoring of paging messages for the remote terminal, the bandwidth capability is deemed to be the maximum bandwidth of the terminal so that it can be accounted for when configuring monitoring by the relay terminal.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant states that “The Examiner appears to equate Agiwal's single active BWP with "at least one of a plurality of resources" as claimed. This equation is erroneous. "At least one of a plurality of resources" requires the existence of multiple resources from which one or more may be selected. Agiwal's active BWP is not one option among many; it is the only resource, predetermined and singular. The structural and functional differences are fundamental: Claim 1's scheme enables selective monitoring across differentiated resources, while Agiwal's scheme operates on a single, fixed resource.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Agiwal Paragraph 0012 states “In an exemplary embodiment, the method further comprising: receiving, from the remote UE, a request message to monitor the paging message for the remote UE, in a case that the relay UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; transmitting, to the BS, a message indicates that the relay UE needs to monitor the paging message for the remote UE; receiving, from the BS, a message that indicates an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring the paging message for the remote UE; and monitoring the paging message for the remote UE based on the active BWP of the relay UE.” Furthermore, Agiwal Paragraph 0068 states “In RRC connected state, UE is configured with one or more DL and UL BWPs, for each configured Serving Cell (i.e. PCell or SCell).” The combination of paragraphs 12 and 68 reveal that the UE in the RRC connected state, configured with one or more DL and UL BWPs and that the relay UE indicates to the BS the need to monitor the paging message for the remote UE. In response the BS indicates an active BWP of the relay UE is configured with a search space for monitoring paging messages. This shows that selection/usage of a single BWP from multiple BWPs. Additionally, Paragraph 0541 further shows the selection of a BWP configured for paging message monitoring from multiple BWPs “If the active DL BWP of relay UE 40 is not configured with search space for paging (i.e. parameter pagingSearchSpace (paging search space identifier) is not signalled by gNB 10 in the DL BWP configuration): a. Relay UE 40 does not monitor paging for Remote UE(s) 30, 35. b. At Step S1340, Relay UE 40 may receive BWP switching command to switch to another BWP which is configured with search space for paging.”.
In the remarks, applicant states that “Chen does not disclose resources. Chen does not disclose configuration of resources by a network device. Chen does not disclose a plurality of bandwidth capabilities. Chen does not disclose resource configuration for paging message monitoring.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Agiwal as discussed above established configuration of resources by a network device and configuration for paging monitoring services. Agiwal fails to explicitly disclose terminal types with a plurality of bandwidth capabilities to monitor paging messages. Hence the introduction of Chen whereby FIG.2, FIG.6, and FIG.11 serve as motivation to modify Agiwal and incorporate the teachings of Chen, as Chen too utilizes the relay UE to enable the BS to reach the remote UE for the purpose of efficient resource effective communications. Chen specifically states through paragraphs 0223-0224 “In the above solution, the remote UE type includes at least one of: a public secure UE/a non-public secure UE, a UE category, and a bandwidth limited UE/a common UE. the UE category comprises at least one of: category 0, category 1, category M1, and narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT).” Thus, the combination of Agiwal and Chen teach a paging monitoring method supporting termina types with a plurality of bandwidths.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471