DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 7 recites: “to the first connection terminals” should be --to the plurality of first connection terminals--
Claim 1 line 8 recites: “to the second connection terminals” should be --to the plurality of second connection terminals--
Appropriate correction is required.
(Note: Applicant is reminded to correct the issues throughout the claim set to prevent from confusing and antecedent basis issues).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 16 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyamura et al. (US 2022/0278488).
As per claim 1: Miyamura et al. discloses a cable connector assembly (as shown in fig. 1), comprising:
a connector (F) including a first housing 10 having an elongated body with a pair of opposite ends 11/12 and forming a first independent body (wherein the housing 10), a plurality of first connection terminals 20 disposed in the first housing 10 (as shown in fig. 3), a second housing 50 detachably received in the first housing 10 at one end 11 of the first housing 10 and forming a second independent body (wherein the (M) housing 50), and a plurality of second connection terminals 60 disposed in the second housing 50;
a plurality of cables (L) respectively connected to the plurality of first connection terminals 20 (as shown in fig. 1); and
a printed circuit board (not label, see fig. 1) to which the plurality of second connection terminals 60 are connected (see fig. 7), the two independent bodies (10/50) are separated from each other and assembled with the plurality of cables (L) and the printed circuit board (see fig. 7).
As per claims 2, 7-9, : Miyamura et al. discloses the cable connector assembly, wherein a plurality of connection ends of the cables (L) are each connected to one of a plurality of ends of the plurality of first connection terminals 20 (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein the first housing 10 has a first slot 12 and a second slot 11 independent of and integrated with the first slot 12 (as shown in fig. 3); and wherein the plurality of first connection terminals 20 are received in the first slot 12, the second housing 50 and the plurality of second connection terminals 60 are received in the second slot 11 (see fig. 7); and wherein the second housing 50 and the plurality of second connection terminals 60 are detachably received in the second slot 11 (see fig. 7).
As per claim 16: Miyamura et al. discloses a method of assembling a cable connector assembly (as shown in fig. 1), comprising:
providing a connector (F) including a first housing 10 forming a first independent body (wherein the housing 10), a plurality of first connection terminals 20 disposed in the first housing 10, a second housing 50 forming a second independent body (wherein the (M) housing 50), and a plurality of second connection terminals 60 disposed in the second housing 50, the two independent bodies10/50 are separate from each other (as shown in fig. 1);
connecting a plurality of cables (L) to the plurality of first connection terminals 20;
connected the plurality second connection terminals 60 to a printed circuit board (not label, see fig. 1); and
mounting a combination of the first housing 10, the plurality of first connection terminals 20, and the cables (L) connected to the plurality of first connection terminals 20 onto the printed circuit board (as shown in fig. 10).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-13, 15-16, and 20-21 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nozaki et al. (US 2024/0429637).
As per claim 1: Nozaki et al. discloses a cable connector assembly, comprising: a connector 10 including a first housing 11 having an elongated body with a pair of opposite ends (see fig. 3) and forming a first independent body 14/15, a plurality of first connection terminals 12 disposed in the first housing 11 (as shown in fig. 3), a second housing 67 detachably received in the first housing 11 at one end of the first housing (see fig. 1, through a coupling portion 59) and forming a second independent body (wherein the 2nd housing 67), and a plurality of second connection terminals (not label, see figs. 2, 7, wherein the terminals are located within the housing 67) disposed in the second housing 67 (see fig. 2); a plurality of cables 48 respectively connected to the first connection terminals 12 (see figs. 3, 7); and a printed circuit board 59 to which the plurality of second connection terminals (wherein the cables 48A are connected to the terminals within the housing 67 (see fig. 2), the two independent bodies 14/15 and 67 are separated from each other and assembled with the plurality of cables 48/48A and the printed circuit board 59 (as shown in fig. 2).
As per claims 2, 7-13, 15: Nozaki et al. discloses the cable connector, wherein a plurality of connection ends of the cables 48 are each connected to one of a plurality of ends of the plurality of first connection terminals 12 (as shown in fig. 7); and wherein the first housing 11 has a first slot 19 and a second slot 24 independent of and integrated with the first slot 19 (see figs. 1, 3); and wherein the plurality of first connection terminals 12 are received in the first slot 19, the second housing 67 and the plurality of second connection terminals are received in the second slot 24 (see fig. 2, through a coupling portion); and wherein the second housing 67 and the plurality of second connection terminals are detachably received in the second slot 24 (see fig. 3, through the coupling portion); and wherein the pair of opposite ends of the first housing 11 each have a first fixing portion 35; and wherein the printed circuit board 59 has a pair of second fixing portions 71 at positions corresponding to the opposite ends of the first housing 11; and wherein the first housing 11 is fixed to the printed circuit board 59 by a fastener sequentially passing through one of the first fixing portions 35 and one of the second fixing portions 71 (as shown in fig. 2); and wherein the PCB has an elongated shape (see fig. 1); and wherein the connector is a female electrical connector (see fig. 1).
As per claim 16: Nozaki et al. discloses a method of assembling a cable connector assembly, comprising:
providing a connector 10 including a first housing 11 forming a first independent body (as shown in fig. 1), a plurality of first connection terminals 12 disposed in the first housing 11, a second housing 67 forming a second independent body (see figs. 1-2), and a plurality of second connection terminals (not label, see figs. 2, 7, wherein the terminals are located within the housing 67) disposed in the second housing 67, the two independent bodies are separate from each other (as shown in figs. 1-2);
connecting a plurality of cables 48 to the first connection terminals 12;
connected the second connection terminals to a printed circuit board 59 (see fig. 2); and
mounting a combination of the first housing 11, the first connection terminals 12, and the cables 48 connected to the plurality of first connection terminals onto the printed circuit board 59 (as shown in fig. 3).
As per claim 20: Nozaki et al. discloses the method, wherein mounting the combination of the first housing 11, the plurality of first connection terminals 12, and the cables 48 connected to the plurality of first connection terminals 12 onto the printed circuit board 59 includes: receiving the second housing 67 with the plurality of second connection terminals (within the housing 67) in a second slot of the first housing 11 (as shown in fig. 3); and fixing the first housing 11, with the plurality of first connection terminals 12 and the cables 48, to the printed circuit board 59 by a fastener 72 passing through a first fixing portion 35 on the first housing 11 and a second fixing portion 66 on the printed circuit board 59 (as shown in fig. 1).
As per claim 21: Nozaki et al. discloses a method of assembling a cable connector assembly, comprising: providing a connector 10 including a first housing 11, a plurality of first connection terminals 12 disposed in the first housing 10, a second housing 67, and a plurality of second connection terminals (not label, see figs. 2, 7, wherein the terminals are located within the housing 67) disposed in the second housing 67;
connecting a plurality of cables 48 to the plurality of first connection terminals 20 (see fig. 1);
connected the plurality of second connection terminals to a printed circuit board 59 (as shown in fig. 2); and mounting a combination of the first housing 11, the plurality of first connection terminals 12, and the cables 48 connected to the plurality of first connection terminals 12 onto the printed circuit board 59 (as shown in fig. 3), mounting of the combination includes:
receiving the second housing 67 with the second connection terminals (not label, located within the housing 67) in a second slot of the first housing (wherein the 1st and 2nd connector/housing indirectly connected through the PCB); and
fixing the first housing 11, with the plurality of first connection terminals 12 and the cables 48, to the printed circuit board 59 by a fastener 72 passing through a first fixing portion 35 on the first housing 11 and a second fixing portion 66 on the printed circuit board 59.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4,6, 14, and 17-19 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozaki et al. (US 2024/0429637).
As per claims 3-4, 6, and 17-19: Nozaki et al. discloses the cable connector assembly. However, Nozaki et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of connection ends of the cables are connected to the ends of the plurality of first connection terminals by soldering; and wherein the ends of the first connection terminals are combined with the connection ends of the cables by overmolding; and wherein a plurality of ends of the second connection terminals are directly connected to the printed circuit board by soldering.
On the other hand, Nozaki et al. mentioned the cables are crimped and electrically connected to the plurality of first connection terminals (see Para. [0048]). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having different method of connecting the cables to the terminals or to the PCB by soldering or overmolding can only deal with manufacture desire techniques to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure electrical conductivity connection between sources, and to provide a vibration and shock dampening to the connector by overmolding technique. Further, having soldering or overmolding techniques are common knowledge, well known and commonly used in the art of connector to improve the electrical connection between sources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the cable connector assembly of Nozaki et al. by having the plurality of connection ends of the cables are connected to the ends of the plurality of first connection terminals by soldering; and wherein the ends of the first connection terminals are combined with the connection ends of the cables by overmolding; and wherein a plurality of ends of the second connection terminals are directly connected to the printed circuit board by soldering as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure electrical conductivity connection between sources, and to provide a vibration and shock dampening to the connector by overmolding technique. Further, it is obvious to have the soldering method instead crimping, stamping, glueing et al.
As per claim 14: Nozaki et al. discloses the cable connector assembly, with cable L and the PCB 59. However, Nozaki et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the cables are flexible and bendable, the cables are bent around the printed circuit board.
On the other hand, Nozaki et al. mentioned there is a flexible/bendable PCB (as shown in fig. 1) in order to accommodate the connector as desire. Although, Nozaki et al. silents wherein the cables are flexible and bendable, the cables are bent around the printed circuit board. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the recited limitation above can only deal with manufacture desire design to further adapted between the connector and mating connector with a stable, durable and reliable connection without disruption to the electrical connectivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831