DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gramoli et al. (US 2021/0256016 A1, Applicant’s submitted IDS filed 2/20/2024), hereinafter “Gramoli”, and in view of Rule et al. (US 2021/0390549 A1, Applicant’s submitted IDS filed 2/20/2024), hereinafter “Rule”, and further in view of Covaci et al. (US 2020/0295919 A1), hereinafter “Covaci”.
As per claim 1, Gramoli teaches a method comprising:
“receiving, by a computing device, a record, wherein the record comprises a transaction identifier and identification information for each of one or more approving devices” at [0008], [0102]-[0105] and Figs. 1, 3, 6;
(Gramoli teaches the RBBC application 300 includes the transaction buffer 304, which stores transaction data for transactions that are to be processed. Data stored for each transaction includes: an identifier value uniquely identifying the transaction. The RBBC application 300 also includes logic module 310 stores state data specifying an identifier of the node (e.g., a node ID), role data indicating the current role of the node, and related node data specifying other node with which the reference node communicates with to perform transaction processing (e.g., the verifier node in the verifier group associated with the reference node, when the reference node has a proposer role)).
“generating, based on the record, a temporary record” at [0080], [0103], [0108] and Fig. 6;
(Gramoli teaches generating proposed transaction data representing a set of proposed transactions from a group of transactions)
“sending, to a subset of the one or more approving devices, the temporary record” at [0009], [0108]-[0109], [0131];
(Gramoli teaches transmitting the proposed transaction data to a predetermined number of associated verifier computing nodes to verify each of the proposed transactions)
“receiving, from each approving device of the subset of approving device, 3a communication indicating approval of the temporary record” at [0010], [0018]-[0019], [0077]-[0079], [0104], [0108]-[0112] and Fig. 7;
(Gramoli teaches receiving, from at least one of the predetermined number of verifier computing nodes, verification data indicating a verification result of each proposed transactions. Each proposer node is associated with a plurality of primary verifiers nodes, such that each transaction is verified by at least t+1 and at most 2t+1 nodes of the system)
“wherein the communication comprises a first indication that a first parameter matches a first verification parameter
(Gramoli teaches at step 704, the verification module 308 extracts values for the transaction fields including: the transaction identifier, the pubic key of the sender; the amount or value of the transaction; the public key of the receiver; and the encrypted digital signature representation. The verification module 709 compares the computed hash value to the value embedded in the digital signature. If the hash values match, then at step 710 the transaction is declared as correct indicating that it truly originated from the sender. Verification data representing the result of the verification process of step 606 is broadcast from each verifier node to the proposer node)
“generating, based on a determination that a predetermined number of approving devices have approved the temporary record, a signature for the record; storing, based on the determination that the predetermined number of approving devices have approved the temporary record, the record in a plurality of ledgers” at [0002], [0011]-[0019], [0108]-[0112] and Fig. 8;
(Gramoli teaches each proposal (i.e., set of proposed transactions) must be verified between t+1 and 2t+1 times. Once the proposed transactions are verified, generating block data to include one or more transactions of the group in a blockchain data structure. The transactions of a client are proposed, verified, and the blockchain is updated to include the verified transactions. Blockchain data structure is implemented as list of records (or “blocks”) that are linked and secured using cryptography. Each block contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block in addition to record data defining the block)
Gramoli does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more approving devices is associated with a third-party authorized to approve a record” nor “wherein the communication comprises… a second indication that a second parameter matches a second verification parameter” as claimed. However Rule teaches a method for building blockchain for verifying assets for smart contracts including a sending a transaction to a plurality of approving devices/verifiers, wherein “each of the approving device is associated with a third-party authorized to approve a record” at [0039], [0045].(Rule teaches “one or more verifiers 302 can verify one or more asset characteristics 320 in transaction 316. For example, if asset is a residential home, a realtor can verify the square footage and address, if the asset is a diamond ring, an appraiser can verify the color, the clarity and carat).
Rule also teaches at [0064]-[0065] the transaction includes asset having an identifier and a plurality of verifiable characteristics. The verifiable characteristics can be verified and signed by the verifiers. Rule teaches at [0073] that each verifier can verify multiple characteristics associated with the transaction and record the verification information in a new block of the blockchain. For example, a verifier who is a builder can verify the date a home was built and the square feet of the home. A verifier who is a photographer may verify the address of the home and the date of the photo. Rule therefore teaches that the verification received from each of the verifier includes at least two indications that a first parameter matches a first verification parameter (e.g., “the date a home was built”) and a second parameter matches a second verification parameter (e.g., “the square feet of the home”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Rule with Gramoli’s teaching by allowing each approving device/ verifier to approve/verify more than one parameter in order to improve the efficiency of the system and reducing the number of approving required to approve the transaction.
Gramoli teaches storing a record in the blockchain system but does not explicitly teach “the record comprises a digital twin of a resource” as claimed. However, it is obvious that any type of records can be stored in the blockchain. Covaci teaches a method for combining blockchain technology with digital twin including the steps of receiving data generated by a digital twin and storing data in the blockchain at [0017]-[0018]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Covaci with Gramoli’s teaching by storing the digital twin data in an immutable record because “the reliability and security of a digital twin is dependent upon the security of the data on which the digital twin is reliant. The data should ideally be immutable such that operation of the digital twin cannot be tampered with during real time operation and correctly reflect the status of the system. This can be important, for example, to prevent a third party from interfering with the data such that the digital twin does not properly represent the real time status of the physical system and provides misleading information which could lead to an operation error or failure in the physical system”, as suggested by Covaci at [0007].
As per claim 3, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “receiving, from a user device that created the record, a request for identifying information associated with each of the one or more approving devices; determining, based on the request, the identification information for each of the one or more approving devices; and sending, to the user device that create the record, the identification information for each of the one or more approving devices” at [0085]-[0092], [0143]-[0145] and Fig. 1.
As per claim 4, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 3 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: wherein “the identifying information comprises at least one of: a phone number, an email address, a username, or a user ID” at [0085]-[0092], [0105], [0143]-[0145] and Fig. 1.
As per claim 5, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “sending, via an electronic communication, the temporary record to the subset of the one or more approving device” at [0129]-[0134].
As per claim 6, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 5 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches “the electronic communication comprises at least one of a digital message, an application programmable interface (API) call, a file input, an asynchronous data communication, a synchronous communication, an email communication, a push notification, or an intra-application communication” at [0129]-[0134].
As per claim 7, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “the record comprises information indicating at least one of: an asset identifier, parametric or molecular data of a resource; a last know holder of the resource; a location of the resource; parameter measurements of the resource; or historic and back-tested knowledge of efficiency potential of each parametric element, formula, or content of the resource” at [0136]-[0140], [0154].
As per claim 8, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “sending, to subset of the one or more approving devices, a unique code; and receiving, from each approving device of the subset of approving devices, a signature of the unique code with the communication indicating approval of the temporary record” at [0129]-[0134].
As per claim 9, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches “the plurality of ledgers comprises: a private ledger accessible by a second subset of the one or more approving devices; and a public ledger accessible by the subset of approving device” at [0002]-[0004], [0074]-[0076].
As per claim 10, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches “the plurality of ledgers comprises one or more of: a public blockchain; a private blockchain; a hybrid blockchain; a distributed database; an immutable database; a distributed ledger; a declarable blockchain; or a discoverable blockchain” at [0002]-[0004], [0074]-[0076].
Claims 2, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over , Gramoli-Rule and Covaci, as applied to claims 1, 3-10 above, and further in view of McKenney et al. (US 2005/0223004 A1, Applicant’s submitted IDS filed 2/10/2023), hereinafter “McKenney”.
As per claim 2, Gramoli-Rule and Covaci teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Gramoli does not explicitly teach “deleting, after storing the record in the plurality of ledger, the temporary record” as claimed. However, McKenny teaches a method for managing a hash chain including the steps of deleting the temporary record from the hash chain after the record has been moved to another hash chain at [0039]-[0040] and Fig. 5. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine McKenny with Gramoli’s teaching to delete the temporary record after storing the corresponding record in another hash chain, in order to “free up the memory used by the temporary record”, as suggested by McKenny at [0055].
As per claim 11, Gramoli teaches a computing device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
“receive a record, wherein the record comprises a transaction identifier and identification information for each of one or more approving devices” at [0008], [0102] and Fig. 6;
(Gramoli teaches receiving a group of transactions. Transaction buffer stores, in the mempool, transaction data for transactions that are to be processed. Data stored for each transaction includes: an identifier value uniquely identifying the transaction, a public key value of the sender, an amount or value of the transaction, a public key value of the receiver; and a digital signature value allowing verification of the transaction)
“generate, based on the record, a temporary record” at [0080], [0103] and Fig. 6;
(Gramoli teaches generating proposed transaction data representing a set of proposed transactions from a group of transactions)
“send, to a subset of the one or more approving devices, the temporary record” at [0009];
(Gramoli teaches transmitting the proposed transaction data to a predetermined number of associated verifier computing nodes to verify each of the proposed transactions)
“receive, from each approving device of the subset of approving devices, a communication indicating approval of the temporary record” at [0010], [0018]-[0019], [0077]-[0079], [0104], [0108]-[0112] and Fig. 7;
(Gramoli teaches receiving, from at least one of the predetermined number of verifier computing nodes, verification data indicating a verification result of each proposed transactions. Each proposer node is associated with a plurality of primary verifiers nodes, such that each transaction is verified by at least t+1 and at most 2t+1 nodes of the system)
“wherein the communication comprises a first indication that a first parameter matches a first verification parameter
(Gramoli teaches at step 704, the verification module 308 extracts values for the transaction fields including: the transaction identifier, the pubic key of the sender; the amount or value of the transaction; the public key of the receiver; and the encrypted digital signature representation. The verification module 709 compares the computed hash value to the value embedded in the digital signature. If the hash values match, then at step 710 the transaction is declared as correct indicating that it truly originated from the sender. Verification data representing the result of the verification process of step 606 is broadcast from each verifier node to the proposer node)
“generate, based on a determination that a predetermined number of approving devices have approved the temporary record, a signature for the record; storing, based on the determination that the predetermined number of approving devices have approved the temporary record, the record in a plurality of ledgers” at[0002], [0011], [0016],[0021], [0108]-[0112] and Fig. 8;
(Gramoli teaches each proposal (i.e., set of proposed transactions) must be verified between t+1 and 2t+1 times. Once the proposed transactions are verified, generating block data to include one or more transactions of the group in a blockchain data structure. The transactions of a client are proposed, verified, and the blockchain is updated to include the verified transactions. Blockchain data structure is implemented as list of records (or “blocks”) that are linked and secured using cryptography. Each block contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block in addition to record data defining the block)
Gramoli does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more approving devices is associated with a third-party authorized to approve a record” nor “wherein the communication comprises… a second indication that a second parameter matches a second verification parameter” as claimed. However Rule teaches a method for building blockchain for verifying assets for smart contracts including a sending a transaction to a plurality of approving devices/verifiers, wherein “each of the approving device is associated with a third-party authorized to approve a record” at [0039], [0045].(Rule teaches “one or more verifiers 302 can verify one or more asset characteristics 320 in transaction 316. For example, if asset is a residential home, a realtor can verify the square footage and address, if the asset is a diamond ring, an appraiser can verify the color, the clarity and carat).
Rule also teaches at [0064]-[0065] the transaction includes asset having an identifier and a plurality of verifiable characteristics. The verifiable characteristics can be verified and signed by the verifiers. Rule teaches at [0073] that each verifier can verify multiple characteristics associated with the transaction and record the verification information in a new block of the blockchain. For example, a verifier who is a builder can verify the date a home was built and the square feet of the home. A verifier who is a photographer may verify the address of the home and the date of the photo. Rule therefore teaches that the verification received from each of the verifier includes at least two indications that a first parameter matches a first verification parameter (e.g., “the date a home was built”) and a second parameter matches a second verification parameter (e.g., “the square feet of the home”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Rule with Gramoli’s teaching by allowing each approving device/ verifier to approve/verify more than one parameter in order to improve the efficiency of the system and reducing the number of approving required to approve the transaction.
Gramoli teaches storing a record in the blockchain system but does not explicitly teach “the record comprises a digital twin of a resource” as claimed. However, it is obvious that any type of records can be stored in the blockchain. Covaci teaches a method for combining blockchain technology with digital twin including the steps of receiving data generated by a digital twin and storing data in the blockchain at [0017]-[0018]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Covaci with Gramoli’s teaching by storing the digital twin data in an immutable record because “the reliability and security of a digital twin is dependent upon the security of the data on which the digital twin is reliant. The data should ideally be immutable such that operation of the digital twin cannot be tampered with during real time operation and correctly reflect the status of the system. This can be important, for example, to prevent a third party from interfering with the data such that the digital twin does not properly represent the real time status of the physical system and provides misleading information which could lead to an operation error or failure in the physical system”, as suggested by Covaci at [0007].
Gramoli does not explicitly teach “deleting, after storing the record in the plurality of ledger, the temporary record” as claimed. However, McKenny teaches a method for managing a hash chain including the steps of deleting the temporary record from the hash chain after the record has been moved to another hash chain at [0039]-[0040] and Fig. 5. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine McKenny with Gramoli’s teaching to delete the temporary record after storing the corresponding record in another hash chain, in order to “free up the memory used by the temporary record”, as suggested by McKenny at [0055].
As per claim 12, Gramoli-Rule-Covaci and McKenny teach the method of claim 11 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “receiving, from a user device that created the record, a request for identifying information associated with each of the one or more approving devices; determining, based on the request, the identification information for each of the one or more approving devices; and sending, to the user device that create the record, the identification information for each of the one or more approving devices” at [0085]-[0092], [0143]-[0145] and Fig. 1.
As per claim 13, Gramoli-Rule-Covaci and McKenny teach the method of claim 11 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches “cause the computing device to send, via an the electronic communication, the temporary record to the subset of the one or more approving devices, wherein the electronic communication comprises at least one of a digital message, an application programmable interface (API) call, a file input, an asynchronous data communication, a synchronous communication, an email communication, a push notification, or an intra-application communication” at [0129]-[0134].
As per claim 14, Gramoli-Rule-Covaci and McKenny teach the method of claim 11 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “the record comprises information indicating at least one of: an asset identifier, parametric or molecular data of a resource; a last know holder of the resource; a location of the resource; parameter measurements of the resource; or historic and back-tested knowledge of efficiency potential of each parametric element, formula, or content of the resource” at [0136]-[0140], [0154].
As per claim 15, Gramoli-Rule-Covaci and McKenny teach the method of claim 11 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches: “send, to the subset of the one or more approving devices, a unique code; and receive from each approving device of the subset of approving devices, a signature of the unique code with the communication indicating approval of the temporary record” at [0129]-[0134].
As per claim 16, Gramoli-Rule-Covaci and McKenny teach the method of claim 11 discussed above. Gramoli also teaches “the plurality of ledgers comprises: a private ledger accessible by a subset of the one or more approving devices; and a public ledger accessible by the device associated with a third-party that is authorized to approve the record” at [0002]-[0004], [0074]-[0076].
Claims 17-20 recite similar limitations as in claims 11-16 and are therefore rejected by the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
February 27, 2026