DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lnu et al (US 2025/0,150,948; hereinafter Lnu) in view of Rangineni et al (US 2024/0,276,304; hereinafter Rangineni).
Regarding claim 1, Lnu disclose a method of modifying parameters associated with an initial Periodic Advertisement with Responses (PAwR) train (a central device generally uses statically configurable PAwR parameters or PAwR_OLD, which are statically allocated at an initial time of the PAwR train; paras. [0039]-[0041], [0093]), the method comprising:
transmitting parameters associated with a modified PAwR train from a periodic advertiser to a plurality of wireless devices (one or more wireless communication devices, such as peripheral ESL devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e; paras. [0037], [0095]) within an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU (dynamically updating PAwR characteristics of a PAwR train without the peripheral devices losing synchronization with the central device, the PAwR characteristics can be dynamically updated by performing a PAwR parameter update wherein the central device 610 sends to the one or more of peripheral devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e, a signal such as an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU, where the signal includes an indication of the new PAwR parameters, PAwR_NEW; paras. [0040]-[0041], [0065]-[0067], [0095]; Figs. 6, 7), wherein the plurality of wireless devices are synchronized to the initial PAR train (during the PAwR train, peripheral devices scan for the synchronization signal transmitted from the central device to stay synchronized with the central device wherein dynamic update, e.g., during the PAwR train, in the PAwR parameters and/or PHY without the peripheral devices losing synchronization with the central device; paras. [0039]-[0040]; and
wherein one of the parameters comprises a timer offset value, which defines a time from a current time to a start of a periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (parameters can include e.g. Subevent_interval, Response_Slot_Delay, or different types of parameters not included in Fig. 8; etc. ¶ [0097]; Fig. 8). Lnu do not explicitly disclose a timer offset value. In the same field of endeavor, Rangineni disclose a parameter including a timer offset value for the periodic advertisement (PAwR parameter for update operations can include a timer offset value, e.g. toffset0/toffset1, to adjusting timing values of periodic advertisement links; paras. [0107]-[0115]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rangineni into Lnu in order to derive a timing value that minimize adverse effects of one periodic advertising link on other periodic advertising links so that the wireless devices can remain synchronize to the network device (Rangineni; ¶ [0111]).
Regarding claim 3, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the parameters include at least one of: a periodic advertisement interval; a subevent advertising interval; a number of subevents (Num_Subevents); a duration of a subevent (Subevent_Interval); or a duration of a response slot (Lnu; Fig. 8; ¶ [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PAwR train, such that the periodic advertisement is transmitting both the modified PAwR train and the initial PAwR train, before transmitting the parameters (the initial PAwR train and modified PAwR train are sent before actual new PAwR parameters 660, 720 are sent to be applied to the PAwR train; Lnu, paras. [0039], [0093], [0096]).
Regarding claim 5, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the periodic advertiser terminates the initial PAwR train after transmitting the parameters (the initial PAwR train is configured with the PAwR_OLD parameters 710 and the initial PAwR train ends when the PAwR is updated with the new PAwR parameters 720; Lnu, paras. [0039], [0093], [0095]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 6, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the periodic advertiser transmits the parameters during a plurality of AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs before terminating the initial PAwR train (the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU signal is sent a plurality of times; Lnu, paras. [0093], [0095]).
Regarding claim 7, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the timer offset value represents a time from the current time to a next periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (while embodiments have shown changing interval start timing, other embodiments can include changing any other suitable timing values, including but not limited to: interval duration, sub-interval duration, a number or type of sub-intervals in an interval, or transmission types, advertising interval, periodic advertising event timing and/or alignment; Rangineni, paras. [0107]-[0115], [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PAwR train at a specific time, and the timer offset value is a time from the current time to the specific time (while embodiments have shown changing interval start timing, other embodiments can include changing any other suitable timing values, including but not limited to: interval duration, sub-interval duration, a number or type of sub-intervals in an interval, or transmission types; Rangineni, paras. [0107]-[0115], [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the periodic advertiser transmits the parameters during a plurality of AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs before starting the modified PAwR train (updated parameters are sent using AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs; Rangineni. paras. [0051], [0150]).
Regarding claim 17, Lnu disclose a method of modifying parameters associated with an initial Periodic Advertisement (PA) train (a central device generally uses statically configurable PA parameters or PA_OLD, which are statically allocated at an initial time of the initial PA train; paras. [0039]-[0041], [0093]), the method comprising:
transmitting parameters associated with a modified PA train from a periodic advertiser to a plurality of wireless devices (one or more wireless communication devices, such as peripheral ESL devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e; paras. [0037], [0095]) within an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU (the PA characteristics can be dynamically updated by performing a PA parameter update wherein the central device 610 sends to the one or more of peripheral devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e, a signal such as an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU, where the signal includes an indication of the new PA parameters, PA_NEW; paras. [0040]-[0041], [0065]-[0067], [0095]; Figs. 6, 7), wherein the plurality of wireless devices are synchronized to the initial PAR train (during the PA train, peripheral devices scan for the synchronization signal transmitted from the central device to stay synchronized with the central device wherein dynamic update, e.g., during the PA train, in the PA parameters and/or PHY without the peripheral devices losing synchronization with the central device; paras. [0039]-[0040]; and
wherein one of the parameters comprises a timer offset value, which defines a time from a current time to a start of a periodic advertisement on the modified PA train (parameters can include e.g. Subevent_interval, Response_Slot_Delay, or different types of parameters not included in Fig. 8; etc. ¶ [0097]; Fig. 8). Lnu do not explicitly disclose a timer offset value and transmitting parameters associated with a modified PA train from a periodic advertiser to a plurality of wireless devices within an AUX_SYNC_IND or an AUX_SYNC_SUBFRAME_IND PDU. In the same field of endeavor, Rangineni disclose a parameter including a timer offset value for the periodic advertisement (PA parameter for update operations can include a timer offset value, e.g. toffset0/toffset1, to adjusting timing values of periodic advertisement links; paras. [0107]-[0115]), and transmitting parameters associated with a modified PA train from a periodic advertiser to a plurality of wireless devices within an AUX_SYNC_IND or an AUX_SYNC_SUBFRAME_IND PDU (in some embodiments, advertiser device 616 can operate according to a Bluetooth (BT) standard, and repeated parameter update packets can be AUX_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs or AUX_SYNC_IND PDUs; paras. [0051], [0079], [0150]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rangineni into Lnu in order to send updated synchronization parameters using any suitable form including but not limited to, e.g. new advertising data type in a AUX_SYNC_IND PDU in a periodic advertising broadcast link, to derive a timing value that minimize adverse effects of one periodic advertising link on other periodic advertising links so that the wireless devices can remain synchronize to the network device (Rangineni; paras. [0111], [0051]).
Regarding claim 19, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PA train, such that the periodic advertisement is transmitting both the modified PA train and the initial PA train, before transmitting the parameters (the initial PA train and modified PA train are sent before actual new PAwR parameters 660, 720 are sent to be applied to the PA train; Lnu, paras. [0039], [0093], [0096], wherein PA and PAwR are alternatively used based on the type of periodic advertisement link train with or without responses that’s being used; Rangineni, paras. [0051], [0079], [0150]).
Regarding claim 20, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PA train at a specific time, and the timer offset value is a time from the current time to the specific time (while embodiments have shown changing interval start timing, other embodiments can include changing any other suitable timing values, including but not limited to: interval duration, sub-interval duration, a number or type of sub-intervals in an interval, or transmission types; Rangineni, paras. [0107]-[0115], [0034]).
Claims 2, 10-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lnu et al (US 2025/0,150,948) in view of Rangineni et al (US 2024/0,276,304) further in view of Mallat (US 2024/0,357,646).
Regarding claim 2, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wireless devices receive the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU (transceiver and antennas 235 of peripheral devices 120/620 receives the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU message sent by the network device; paras. [0055]-[0056], [0093], [0109]), adjust internal timers based on the timer offset value so as to exit low power mode in time to receive the periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (parameter update can include adjusting sleep clock accuracy to transition from low power mode to receiving state during one or more sub-intervals to receive the periodic advertising wherein re-alignment of the PAwR stream timing, e.g. based on the timer offset value, e.g. toffset1, so that the wireless devices can stay in sleep/low-power mode at higher intervals to save power; Lnu, ¶ [0038]; Rangineni; paras. [0034], [0132], [0109]-[0110], [0155]). Lnu and Rangineni do not explicitly disclose adjusting internal timers to exit low power. In the same field of endeavor, Mallat disclose the periodic advertisement occurs at regular intervals and the devices are able to enter a low power state and can wake up at predetermined times in order to receive the next periodic advertisement (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to adjust the wake up time to correspond to the regular intervals timing of the periodic advertisement so that the device can save power and resources by only waking up at certain predetermined times to receive the periodic advertisement.
Regarding claim 10, Lnu disclose a Bluetooth network (paras. [0049], [0070]), comprising:
a periodic advertiser (PAwR advertiser or central/network device; ¶ [0090], [0092];
and a plurality of wireless devices (one or more wireless communication devices, such as peripheral ESL devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e; paras. [0037], [0095]);
wherein the plurality of wireless devices are synchronized to the initial PAwR train transmitted by the periodic advertiser (during the PAwR train, peripheral devices scan for the synchronization signal transmitted from the central device to stay synchronized with the central device wherein dynamic update, e.g., during the PAwR train, in the PAwR parameters and/or PHY without the peripheral devices losing synchronization with the central device; paras. [0039]-[0040]; and
wherein the periodic advertiser transmits parameters associated with a modified PAwR train from the periodic advertiser to the plurality of wireless devices within an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU (the PAwR characteristics can be dynamically updated by performing a PAwR parameter update wherein the central device/PAwR advertiser 610 send to the one or more of peripheral devices, e.g. 620, 305a-305e, a signal such as an AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU, where the signal includes an indication of the new PAwR parameters, PAwR_NEW,; paras. [0040]-[0041], [0065]-[0067], [0095]; Figs. 6-7); and
wherein one of the parameters comprises a timer offset value, which defines a time from a current time to a start of a periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (parameters can include e.g. Subevent_interval, Response_Slot_Delay, or different types of parameters not included in Fig. 8; etc. ¶ [0097]; Fig. 8); and wherein the plurality of wireless devices receive the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU (transceiver/antennas 235 of peripheral devices 120/620 receives the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU message sent by the network device; paras. [0055]-[0056], [0093], [0109]). Lnu do not explicitly disclose a timer offset value. In the same field of endeavor, Rangineni disclose a parameter including a timer offset value for the periodic advertisement (PAwR parameter for update operations can include a timer offset value, e.g. toffset0/toffset1, to adjust timing values of periodic advertisement links; paras. [0107]-[0115]), adjust internal timers based on the timer offset value so as to exit low power mode in time to receive the periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (parameter update can include adjusting sleep clock accuracy to transition from low power mode to receiving state during one or more sub-intervals to receive the periodic advertising wherein re-alignment of the PAwR stream timing, e.g. based on the timer offset value, e.g. toffset1, so that the wireless devices can stay in sleep/low-power mode at higher intervals to save power; paras. [0034], [0132], [0109]-[0110], [0155]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rangineni into Lnu in order to derive a timing value that minimize adverse effects of one periodic advertising link on other periodic advertising links so that the wireless devices can remain synchronize to the network device (Rangineni; ¶ [0111]). Lnu and Rangineni do not explicitly disclose adjusting internal timers to exit low power mode. In the same field of endeavor, Mallat disclose the periodic advertisement occurs at regular intervals and the devices are able to enter a low power state and can wake up at predetermined times in order to receive the next periodic advertisement (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to adjust the wake up time to correspond to the regular intervals timing of the periodic advertisement so that the device can save power by only waking up at certain predetermined times to receive the periodic advertisement.
Regarding claim 11, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 10, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PAwR train, such that the periodic advertisement is transmitting both the modified PAwR train and the initial PAwR train, before transmitting the parameters (the initial PAwR train and modified PAwR train are sent before actual new PAwR parameters 660, 720 are sent to be applied to the PAwR train; Lnu, paras. [0039], [0093], [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 11, wherein the periodic advertiser terminates the initial PAwR train after transmitting the parameters (the initial PAwR train is configured with the PAwR_OLD parameters 710 and the initial PAwR train ends when the PAwR is updated with the new PAwR parameters 720; Lnu, paras. [0039], [0093], [0095]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 11, wherein the periodic advertiser transmits the parameters during a plurality of AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs before terminating the initial PAwR train (the AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDU signal is sent a plurality of times before the initial PAwR train ends and the PAwR changes to the updated PAwR train; Lnu, paras. [0093], [0095]).
Regarding claim 14, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 13, wherein the timer offset value represents a time from the current time to a next periodic advertisement on the modified PAwR train (while embodiments have shown changing interval start timing, other embodiments can include changing any other suitable timing values, including but not limited to: interval duration, sub-interval duration, a number or type of sub-intervals in an interval, or transmission types, advertising interval, periodic advertising event timing and/or alignment; Rangineni, paras. [0107]-[0115], [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 10, wherein the periodic advertiser starts the modified PAwR train at a specific time, and the timer offset value is a time from the current time to the specific time (while embodiments have shown changing interval start timing, other embodiments can include changing any other suitable timing values, including but not limited to: interval duration, sub-interval duration, a number or type of sub-intervals in an interval, or transmission types; Rangineni, paras. [0107]-[0115], [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Lnu, Rangineni, and Mallat disclose the Bluetooth network of claim 15, wherein the periodic advertiser transmits the parameters during a plurality of AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs before starting the modified PAwR train (updated parameters are sent using AUX_SYNC_SUBEVENT_IND PDUs; Rangineni. paras. [0051], [0150]).
Regarding claim 18, Lnu and Rangineni disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of wireless devices receive AUX_SYNC_IND or AUX_SYNC_SUBFRAME_IND PDU (Rangineni; paras. [0051], [0079], [0150]), adjust internal timers based on the timer offset value so as to exit low power mode in time to receive the periodic advertisement on the modified PA train (parameter update can include adjusting sleep clock accuracy to transition from low power mode to receiving state during one or more sub-intervals to receive the periodic advertising wherein re-alignment of the PA stream timing, e.g. based on the timer offset value, e.g. toffset1, so that the wireless devices can stay in sleep or low-power mode at higher intervals to save power; Lnu, ¶ [0038]; Rangineni; paras. [0034], [0132], [0109]-[0110], [0155]). Lnu and Rangineni do not explicitly disclose adjusting internal timers to exit low power mode. In the same field of endeavor, Mallat disclose the periodic advertisement occurs at regular intervals and the devices are able to enter a low power state and can wake up at predetermined times in order to receive the next periodic advertisement (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to adjust the wake up time to correspond to the regular intervals timing of the periodic advertisement so that the device can save power and resources by only waking up at certain predetermined times to receive the periodic advertisement.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648