DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 16 recites the limitation "the sun-facing front side of the wafer solar cell" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 2020/0365746 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for improving the ohmic contact between a front contact grid and a doped layer of a wafer solar cell (abstract), the method comprising the following steps: providing the wafer solar cell having the doped layer ([0022]), the front contact grid, and a back contact grid ([0022]), electrically contacting the front contact grid with a contacting device electrically connected to a pole of a voltage source ([0023]), electrically contacting a further contacting device electrically connected to the other pole of the voltage source with the back contact grid ([0023]), applying a voltage to the front contact grid and the back contact grid using the voltage source ([0023]), wherein the applied voltage is smaller in magnitude than a breakdown voltage of the wafer solar cell, and the applied voltage is opposite to a forward-biased voltage direction of the wafer solar cell ([0023]), guiding a point light source over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell while the voltage is applied ([0027] teaches that for bifacial solar cells, one-sided treatment is sufficient to optimize the contacts on both sides; it is noted that the disclosure satisfies the limitation “guiding a point light source over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell while the voltage is applied”), wherein a section of a partial region of the sun-averted back side is illuminated such that a current flow is induced in the partial region and acts on the partial region ([0023] discloses a section of a subsection), wherein the voltage, which is in a range from 1 to 40 V ([0024] discloses 10 V), is applied by the voltage source to the front contact grid and the back contact grid in an opposite directed of the forward-biased voltage direction ([0023]), wherein a local illumination has a power density in a range from 200 W/cm2 to 500,000 W/cm2 ([0013]) and wherein a current from 0.1 to 10 A flows between front and back contacts while the voltage is applied and during illumination ([0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses the wafer solar cell is a bifacial solar cell ([0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses the point light source is guided directly next to back contact fingers of the back contact grid over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell ([0017], [0027] discloses one-sided treatment).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses the point light source is a laser ([0012]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses wherein guiding a point light source over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell comprises guiding a point light source only over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell ([0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses the point light source is guided directly next to back contact fingers of the back contact grid over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell ([0017], [0027] discloses one-sided treatment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sany Group Co. Ltd. (CN 115312629 A – see attached machine translation, hereinafter referred to as Sany Group) in view of Zhao (US 2020/0365746 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sany Group discloses a method for improving the ohmic contact between a front contact grid and a doped layer of a wafer solar cell ([n0046]), the method comprising the following steps: providing the wafer solar cell having the doped layer ([n0060]), the front contact grid, and a back contact grid ([n0064]).
While Sany Group does disclose laser-enhanced contact optimization technology is used to process the metal paste on the front side of the wafer ([n0065]), and laser-enhanced contact optimization technology is used to process the metal paste of the back side of the wafer ([n0103]); Sany Group does not explicitly disclose electrically contacting the front contact grid with a contacting device electrically connected to a pole of a voltage source, electrically contacting a further contacting device electrically connected to the other pole of the voltage source with the back contact grid, applying a voltage to the front contact grid and the back contact grid using the voltage source, wherein the applied voltage is smaller in magnitude than a breakdown voltage of the wafer solar cell, and the applied voltage is opposite to a forward-biased voltage direction of the wafer solar cell, guiding a point light source over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell while the voltage is applied, wherein a second of a partial region of the sun-averted back side is illuminated such that a current flow is induced in the partial region and acts on the partial region, wherein the voltage, which is in a range from 1 to 40 V, is applied by the voltage source to the front contact grid and the back contact grid in an opposite directed of the forward-biased voltage direction, wherein a local illumination has a power density in a range from 200 W/cm2 to 500,000 W/cm2, and wherein a current from 0.1 to 10 A flows between front and back contacts while the voltage is applied and during illumination.
Zhao discloses a method for improving the ohmic-contact behavior between a contact grid and an emitter layer in a silicon solar cell ([0001]), and further discloses electrically contacting the front contact grid with a contacting device electrically connected to a pole of a voltage source ([0023]), electrically contacting a further contacting device electrically connected to the other pole of the voltage source with the back contact grid ([0023]), applying a voltage to the front contact grid and the back contact grid using the voltage source ([0023]), wherein the applied voltage is smaller in magnitude than a breakdown voltage of the wafer solar cell ([0023]), and the applied voltage is opposite to a forward-biased voltage direction of the wafer solar cell ([0023]), wherein the voltage, which is in a range from 1 to 40 V ([0024] discloses 10 V), is applied by the voltage source to the front contact grid and the back contact grid in an opposite directed of the forward-biased voltage direction ([0023]), wherein a local illumination has a power density in a range from 200 W/cm2 to 500,000 W/cm2 ([0013]) and wherein a current from 0.1 to 10 A flows between front and back contacts while the voltage is applied and during illumination ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the LECO process parameters disclosed by Zhao for the LECO process used to process the metal paste of the back side of the wafer of Sany Group, because as evidenced by Zhao, the disclosed LECO process parameters are known in the art, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when using the process parameters disclosed by Zhao for the LECO process used to process the metal paste of the back side of the wafer of Sany Group.
Modified Sany Group discloses guiding a point light source (Zhao – [0023]) over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell (Sany Group – [n0103]) while the voltage is applied (Sany Group – [0023]), wherein a second of a partial region (Zhao – [0023] discloses a section of a subsection) of the sun-averted back side is illuminated (Sany Group – [n0103]) such that a current flow is induced in the partial region and acts on the partial region (Zhao – [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses a front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell (Sany Group – Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses the wafer solar cell is a bifacial solar cell (Sany Group – [n0003] discloses bifacial TOPCon cells).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses the point light source is guided directly next to back contact fingers of the back contact grid over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell (Zhao – [0017], [0027] discloses one-sided treatment).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses the point light source is a laser (Zhao – [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses wherein guiding a point light source over a sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell comprises guiding a point light source only over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell (Zhao - [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses the sun-facing front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater surface roughness than the sun-averting back side of the wafer solar cell (Sany Group – Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses the point light source is guided directly next to back contact fingers of the back contact grid over the sun-averted back side of the wafer solar cell (Zhao - [0017], [0027] discloses one-sided treatment).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sany Group Co. Ltd. (CN 115312629 A – see attached machine translation, hereinafter referred to as Sany Group) in view of Zhao (US 2020/0365746 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2011/0303266).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sany Group does disclose the front contact grid and the back contact grid respectively cover a front side and back side of the wafer solar cell with a degree of metallization, have electrical conductivity, and have an electrical layer resistance in material on the front side and back side (Sany Group – [n0045]; it is noted that the disclosed electrodes necessarily have an electrical layer resistance), modified Sany Group does not explicitly disclose the back contact grid has a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid, has a higher electrical conductivity than the front contact grid, and/or has a lower electrical layer resistance in the material on the back side than the front contact grid on the front side.
Chang discloses a back contact grid with a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the back contact grid of modified Sany Group with a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid, as disclosed by Chang, because as taught by Chang, among light beams incident on the first surface, some of the light beams are reflected by the second electrodes, further improving efficiency of the solar cell ([0011]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Sany Group does not explicitly disclose the front contact grid has a multiplicity of front contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one front busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of front contact fingers, and/or the back contact grid has a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers.
Chang discloses a back contact grid with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers (180 in relation to 190 in Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the back contact grid of modified Sany Group with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers, as disclosed by Chang, because as evidenced by Chang, the configuration amounts to the use of a known arrangement in the art for a back contact grid of a solar cell, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the back contact grid of modified Sany Group with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers based on the teaching of Chang.
Regarding claim 4, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Sany Group does not explicitly disclose the front contact fingers are arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another.
Chang discloses front contact fingers arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the front contact fingers of modified Sany Group such that the front contact fingers are arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another, as disclosed by Chang, because as taught by Chang, among light beams incident on the first surface, some of the light beams are reflected by the second electrodes, further improving efficiency of the solar cell ([0011]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sany Group discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sany Group further discloses a number of the back contact fingers is greater than a number of front contact fingers (Chang - Fig. 3; 140 in relation to 180).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2020/0365746 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chang et al. (US 2011/0303266).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Zhao does disclose the front contact grid and the back contact grid respectively cover a front side and back side of the wafer solar cell with a degree of metallization, have electrical conductivity, and have an electrical layer resistance in material on the front side and back side ([0022]; it is noted that the disclosed contacts necessarily have an electrical layer resistance); Zhao does not explicitly disclose the back contact grid has a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid, has a higher electrical conductivity than the front contact grid, and/or has a lower electrical layer resistance in the material on the back side than the front contact grid on the front side.
Chang discloses a back contact grid with a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the back contact grid of Zhao with a greater degree of metallization than the front contact grid, as disclosed by Chang, because as taught by Chang, among light beams incident on the first surface, some of the light beams are reflected by the second electrodes, further improving efficiency of the solar cell ([0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the front contact grid has a multiplicity of front contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one front busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of front contact fingers, and/or the back contact grid has a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers.
Chang discloses a back contact grid with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers (180 in relation to 190 in Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the back contact grid of Zhao with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers, as disclosed by Chang, because as evidenced by Chang, the configuration amounts to the use of a known arrangement in the art for a back contact grid of a solar cell, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the back contact grid of Zhao with a multiplicity of back contact fingers arranged parallel to one another and at least one back busbar arranged transversely to the multiplicity of back contact fingers based on the teaching of Chang.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose the front contact fingers are arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another.
Chang discloses front contact fingers arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the front contact fingers of modified Zhao such that the front contact fingers are arranged at a distance from one another which is greater than a further distance at which the back contact fingers are arranged from one another, as disclosed by Chang, because as taught by Chang, among light beams incident on the first surface, some of the light beams are reflected by the second electrodes, further improving efficiency of the solar cell ([0011]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhao further discloses a number of the back contact fingers is greater than a number of front contact fingers (Chang - Fig. 3; 140 in relation to 180).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2020/0365746 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, in view of Holdermann (US 2015/0040983).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose a front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater
surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell.
Holdermann discloses a PERC solar cell (abstract) and further discloses a front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell ([0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the front side of the wafer solar cell of Zhao with a greater surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell, as disclosed by Holdermann, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the sun-facing front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater surface roughness than the sun-averting back side of the wafer solar cell.
Holdermann discloses a PERC solar cell (abstract) and further discloses a front side of the wafer solar cell has a greater surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell ([0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the front side of the wafer solar cell of Zhao with a greater surface roughness than a back side of the wafer solar cell, as disclosed by Holdermann, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726