DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunn et al. (US 20070285270 A1), hereinafter "Gunn," in view of Won et al. (US 20220209265 A1), hereinafter "Won".
Regarding claim 1, Gunn teaches:
A mobile surveillance and security system (reference character 100, Fig. 1-3, [0022]; corresponding to a system including a mobile surveillance unit, the system comprising: the mobile surveillance unit);
A power manager that communicates with, monitors, and controls a battery and a generator (reference character 235, Fig. 3, [0031]; corresponding to at least one controller);
The power source includes a battery and one or more additional power sources, for example a fuel cell ([0028]; corresponding to a fuel cell generator coupled to the controller).
Gunn does not teach:
a temperature sensor a temperature sensor coupled to the at least one controller and configured for sensing a temperature adjacent the fuel cell generator;
a fan system coupled to the at least one controller and including a fan positioned adjacent the fuel cell generator;
wherein the at least one controller is configured to: receive a signal from the temperature sensor indicative of the sensed temperature and generate a control signal to turn the fan on based on the sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature.
However, Won teaches:
A sensor device including at least one sensor capable of measuring temperature and specifically a coolant temperature sensor which measures a coolant temperature of a point corresponding to the inlet of the fuel cell stack (reference characters 510, 512, and 514; [0060]; corresponding to a temperature sensor coupled to the at least one controller and configured for sensing a temperature adjacent the fuel cell generator);
The fuel cell system may include a sensor device, a cooling fan controller, and a cooling fan ([0058]) and the cooling fan controller may be electrically connected with the sensor device and the cooling fan and may perform an overall operation of the fuel cell system that controls the RPM of the cooling fan ([0061]; corresponding to a fan system coupled to the at least one controller and including a fan positioned adjacent the fuel cell generator);
The cooling fan controller may correct the determined RPM of the cooling fan, based on a coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell stack that is measured by the sensor device ([0061]; corresponding to the at least one controller is configured to: receive a signal from the temperature sensor indicative of the sensed temperature); and
When the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to the threshold value, the fuel cell system may correct the RPM of the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller. In this case, the cooling fan controller may set the RPM of the cooling fan, which is set to 0, to the minimum RPM ([0076]; corresponding to generate a control signal to turn the fan on based on the sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the add the temperature sensor, fan system, and cooling fan controller of Won to the surveillance unit of Gunn in order to ensure high-power operation of the fuel cell stack and improve its safety and durability (Won, [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Gunn in view of Won teaches system of claim 1 with the temperature sensor as an incorporated component of the fuel cell system (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Gunn modified by Won teaches:
It is preferable that the mobile system be a self-contained system (Gunn [0028]) and the enclosure of the mobile system includes a front panel, a rear panel, a left side panel, a right side panel, a top panel, and a bottom panel, the panels together define an enclosure interior (Gunn [0026], reference character 105, Fig. 2) and the battery, additional power source(s), and the power management unit can be positioned in the enclosure (Gunn [0060]; corresponding to the mobile surveillance unit further comprises: a box including the fuel cell generator and at least one battery);
the mobile system includes a surveillance apparatus, a security apparatus, and a surveillance and security manager (Gunn [0037], Fig. 2; corresponding to a head unit);
the surveillance apparatus including an input device or equipment for monitoring and/or observing a thing, animal, person, group, area, space, or similar concern (Gunn [0037], Fig. 2, reference character 250 of Fig. 3; corresponding to at least one sensor); and
the security apparatus including an output device or equipment for giving or assuring safety (Gunn [0047], reference character 255 of Fig. 3; corresponding to at least one output device).
Regarding claim 6, Gunn modified by Won teaches the system of claim 1 and the surveillance unit comprising a box including the fuel cell system, temperature sensor, and at least one batter (see claims 1 and 5 above).
While Gunn in view of Won does not expressly teach wherein responsive to the fan being turned on, at least some air within the box is forced out of the box, Gunn [0026] discloses that one or more panels of the enclosure can include one or more openings for exhausting hot gases from the enclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of exhaust openings in the panels would enable air to escape the enclosure while the fan is being operated, thus it would naturally flow from the teachings of Gunn in view of Won that at least some air within the box would be forced out of the box in response to the fan being turned on.
Regarding claim 7, Gunn modified by Won teaches the system of claim 1 as well as when the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is lower than the threshold value, the fuel cell system may perform control to turn off the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller (Won [0077]; corresponding to the at least one controller is further configured to generate another, different control signal to turn the fan off based on the sensed temperature being less than the threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 8, Gunn modified by Won teaches the system of claim 7 as well as the surveillance unit further comprising a box including the fuel cell, the temperature regulator, and at least one battery (see claims 5 and 6 above).
While Gunn in view of Won does not expressly teach wherein responsive to the fan being turned off, at least some air within the box remains in the box, Gunn [0026] discloses that one or more panels of the enclosure can include one or more openings for drawing ambient air into the enclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of intake openings in the panels would allow air to enter the enclosure while the fan is being operated, thus it would naturally flow from the teachings of Gunn in view of Won that at least some air that was drawn in would remain within the box in response to the fan being turned off.
Regarding claim 9, Gunn modified by Won teaches the system of claim 1 as well as the fuel cell and temperature regulating sensor and fan system included within the enclosure (see claims 5 and 6 above).
Regarding claim 11, Gunn in view of Won teaches:
a method of powering a mobile surveillance and/or security unit (Gunn [0021]; corresponding to a method of operating a mobile surveillance unit);
a power source that includes a battery and one or more additional power sources, for example a fuel cell (Gunn [0028]; corresponding to generating power via a fuel cell generator coupled to a mobile surveillance unit);
the mobile system can further include a frame, a structure supported by the frame, a power source supported by the frame, and a surveillance apparatus supported by the structure (Gunn [0005]) and an enclosure defined by a front panel, a rear panel, a left side panel, a right side panel, a top panel, and a bottom panel (Gunn [0026], reference character 105 of Fig. 2; corresponding to a fuel cell generator coupled to a mobile surveillance unit and positioned with a trailer box of the mobile surveillance unit);
the mobile system can further include a security apparatus electrically coupled to the power source and in communication with the surveillance apparatus (Gunn [0006]; corresponding to providing at least some of the generated power to one or more devices of the mobile surveillance unit);
the fuel cell system may include a first temperature sensor that measures the temperature of the first coolant between the fuel cell stack and the first valve (Won [0047]; corresponding to sensing a temperature proximate the fuel cell generator); and
when the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to the threshold value, the fuel cell system may correct the RPM of the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller. In this case, the cooling fan controller may set the RPM of the cooling fan, which is set to 0, to the minimum RPM (Won [0076]; corresponding to causing a fan proximate the fuel cell generator to turn on responsive to the sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature).
While Gunn in view of Won does not expressly teach turning on the fan to cause at least some air in the trailer box to exit the trailer box, Gunn [0026] discloses that one or more panels of the enclosure can include one or more openings for exhausting hot gases from the enclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of exhaust openings in the panels would enable air to escape the enclosure while the fan is being operated, thus it would naturally flow from the teachings of Gunn in view of Won that at least some air within the box would be forced out of the box in response to the fan being turned on.
Regarding claim 13, Gunn in view of Won teaches the method of claim 11 as well as when the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is lower than the threshold value, the fuel cell system may perform control to turn off the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller (Won [0077]; corresponding to further comprising responsive to the sensed temperature being less than the threshold temperature, causing the fan to turn off).
While Gunn in view of Won does not expressly teach turning the fan off such that at least some air within the trailer box remains in the trailer box, Gunn [0026] discloses that one or more panels of the enclosure can include one or more openings for drawing ambient air into the enclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of intake openings in the panels would allow air to enter the enclosure while the fan is being operated, thus it would naturally flow from the teachings of Gunn in view of Won that at least some air that was drawn in would remain within the box in response to the fan being turned off.
Regarding claim 15, Gunn modified by Won teaches the method of claim 11 as well as the cooling fan controller determining whether the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to a threshold value (Won [0009, 0075]; corresponding to further comprising comparing the sensed temperature to the threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 16, Gunn in view of Won teaches:
A mobile surveillance and security system (Gunn [0022], reference character 100 of Fig. 1-3; corresponding to a mobile surveillance unit);
The mobile system includes an enclosure that is supported by a running gear or frame. The frame is adapted to be connected to a truck or other suitable vehicle by a hitch (Gunn [0022]; corresponding to a trailer);
The mobile system includes a movable tower assembly (Gunn [0023], reference character 125 of Fig. 1; corresponding to a mast coupled to the trailer);
The mobile system includes a surveillance apparatus, a security apparatus, and a surveillance and security manager (Gunn [0037], Fig. 2; corresponding to a head unit coupled to the mast and including a controller);
The surveillance apparatus including an input device or equipment for monitoring and/or observing a thing, animal, person, group, area, space, or similar concern and the surveillance apparatus can comprise multiple apparatus, and the multiple apparatus may be combined (Gunn [0037], Fig. 2, reference character 250 of Fig. 3; corresponding to a number of sensors);
The security apparatus including an output device or equipment for giving or assuring safety and the security apparatus can comprise multiple apparatus, and the multiple apparatus may be combined (Gunn [0047], reference character 255 of Fig. 3; corresponding to a number of output devices);
The mobile system includes an enclosure that is supported by a running gear or frame (Gunn [0022]), the enclosure of the mobile system includes a front panel, a rear panel, a left side panel, a right side panel, a top panel, and a bottom panel, the panels together define an enclosure interior (Gunn [0026], reference character 105, Fig. 2) and the battery, additional power source(s), and the power management unit can be positioned in the enclosure (Gunn [0060]; corresponding to a storage box coupled to the trailer and including at least one battery and a fuel cell generator);
The fuel cell system may include a sensor device, a cooling fan controller, and a cooling fan (Won [0058, 0059], reference character 80 of Fig. 1-4; corresponding to a temperature regulator adjacent the fuel cell generator as well as a fan system including a fan);
The sensor device may include at least one sensor capable of measuring temperature, including a coolant temperature sensor to measure a coolant temperature at an inlet of the fuel cell stack (Won [0060]) and the cooling fan controller may be electrically connected with the sensor device and the cooling fan and may perform an overall operation of the fuel cell system that controls the RPM of the cooling fan (Won [0061]; corresponding to a temperature sensor coupled to the controller and configured for sensing a temperature proximate the fuel cell generator);
The cooling fan controller may correct the determined RPM of the cooling fan based on a coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell stack that is measured by the sensor device (Won [0061]; corresponding to the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the temperature sensor indicative of the sensed temperature); and
When the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to the threshold value, the fuel cell system may correct the RPM of the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller. In this case, the cooling fan controller may set the RPM of the cooling fan, which is set to 0, to the minimum RPM (Won 0076]; corresponding to generate a control signal to control operation of the fan system based on the sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 19, Gunn in view of Won teaches the mobile surveillance unit of claim 16 with the temperature sensor as an incorporated component of the fuel cell system (see claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 20, Gunn in view of Won teaches the mobile surveillance unit of claim 16 as well as:
The fuel cell system may determine, through the cooling fan controller, whether the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to a threshold value (Won [0075], corresponding to the controller is configured to: compare the sensed temperature to the threshold temperature); and
When the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell is higher than or equal to the threshold value, the fuel cell system may correct the RPM of the cooling fan through the cooling fan controller. In this case, the cooling fan controller may set the RPM of the cooling fan, which is set to 0, to the minimum RPM (Won [0076]; corresponding to convey the control signal to the fan system to turn the fan on responsive to the sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunn in view of Won as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walsh (US 20030044662 A1)..
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Gunn in view of Won teach the system of claim 1.
Gunn in view of Won do not teach of claim 3:
wherein the threshold temperature comprises a temperature of approximately 105 degrees Fahrenheit;
nor of claim 4:
wherein the threshold temperature comprises a temperature in the range of approximately 102 degrees Fahrenheit to approximately 108 degrees Fahrenheit.
However, Walsh teaches:
In one possible example, the fuel cell is a PEM fuel cell operating at a temperature of less than 85 °C., and the predetermined threshold is 75 °C.
Conversion of the temperatures of Walsh results in a corresponding temperature range of less than 185 °F which overlaps with the instantly claimed (Walsh: less than 185 °F; claimed: 102-108 °F; overlap: 102-108 °F). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Walsh’s temperature threshold range to the system of Gunn in view of Won in order to manage waste heat in the fuel cell system to provide improved control over system operating temperatures. In this regard, it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill to select any temperature within the disclosed range, including a value within the claimed range, to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Gunn in view of Won teaches the method of claim 11 as well as turning the fan on in response to a sensed temperature being greater than or equal to a threshold (see claim 1 above) and turning the fan off in response to a sensed temperature being less than a threshold (see claim 7 above).
Gunn in view of Won does not teach specific threshold temperatures as conditions for the on/off operation of the fan.
However, Walsh teaches a temperature range for operation of the fuel cell that overlaps with the claimed threshold temperature range (see claims 3 and 4 above). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunn in view of Won as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Murakami et al. (US 20220140381 A1), hereinafter "Murakami".
Regarding claim 10, Gunn in view of Won teach the system of claim 9 as well as the mobile system including an enclosure that is supported by a running gear or frame, the frame adapted to be connected to a truck or other suitable vehicle by a hitch (Gunn [0022]; corresponding to the mobile surveillance unit further comprises a trailer and a box coupled to the trailer).
Gunn in view of Won does not teach:
the box comprising the housing, one or more batteries, and fuel for the fuel cell generator.
However, Murakami teaches:
the fuel cell system is configured by housing, in the housing, a hydrogen storage unit, the fuel cell stack that generates electric power using hydrogen supplied from the hydrogen storage unit, and a power storage unit that stores electric power generated by the fuel cell stack or supplied from the outside ([0034]) and the power storage unit is, for example, any type of secondary battery ([0041]; corresponding to the box comprising the housing, one or more batteries, and fuel for the fuel cell generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the housing and hydrogen storage unit of Murakami to the system of Gunn in view of Won in order to house the fuel storage, fuel cell stack, and power storage in the same unit to improve its convenience as a mobile power source (Murakami [0005]).
Claims 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunn in view of Won as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20220416265 A1), hereinafter "Chen".
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Gunn in view of Won teaches the mobile surveillance unit of claim 16 as well as a temperature sensor positioned at an inlet of the fuel cell stack (Won [0060]).
Gunn in view of Won does not teach:
the fan system adjacent to the fuel cell generator; nor
wherein the fan system includes a housing at least partially around the fan, the housing positioned adjacent to the fuel cell generator.
However, Chen teaches blowers with a housing surrounding the periphery of the fan blades (reference characters 272 and 290) adjacent to the fuel cell stack (reference character 230, Fig. 5 and 7; corresponding to the fan system positioned adjacent to the fuel cell generator and the fan system includes a housing at least partially around the fan, the housing positioned adjacent to the fuel cell generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the blowers of Chen adjacent to the fuel cell in the mobile surveillance unit of Gunn in view of Won in order to keep the fuel cell compact while effectively dissipating waste heat from the enclosure (Chen [0003]).
Conclusion
/A.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734