DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communicated dated 11/14/2025. Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 12 have been amended. Claim(s) 1-20 have been currently pending examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The applicant filed amendment(s) to claim(s) on 11/14/2025 to remedy the rejection(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Page(s) 5-9, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12, 18-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Prabhakar et al. (US 2012/0209822 A1) and further in view of LI, YI (CN 111783108 A) in a detailed and different interpretation of previously applied references in USC § 103 listed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prabhakar et al. (US 2012/0209822 A1) and further in view of LI YI (CN 111783108 A).
Re Claim 1, 6 & 12, LI YI teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions comprising executable code that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to: LI YI; FIG. 1-18; Page(s) 3-10, 11-29; A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored executed by processors.)
receive a query associated with at least a portion of a database; (LI YI; FIG. 1-18; Page(s) 3-10, 11-29; A query associated with a database.)
execute the query against obtained data to generate a query result, wherein the obtained data comprises at least part of the at least a portion of the database; (LI YI; FIG. 1-18; Page(s) 3-10, 11-29; Executing the query, generating results/outcomes, the data corresponding to data in a database.)
LI YI does not explicitly suggest generate a proof, wherein the query, the query result, and the proof are associated with a commitment to the at least a portion of the database and the commitment comprises a value generated from other data previously ingested into the at least a portion of the database and is stored external to the database; and provide the proof and the query result in response to the query, wherein the value of the commitment enables verification of the query result against the proof.
However, in analogous art, Prabhakar discloses generate a proof, wherein the query, the query result, and the proof are associated with a commitment to the at least a portion of the database and the commitment comprises a value generated from other data previously ingested into the at least a portion of the database and is stored external to the database; and (Prabhakar; FIG. 1-13; Background, Summary, ¶ [0054], [0070]-[0087]; The cited embodiment(s) detail comparable subject matter that is similar in scope to the claimed invention that details a proof, query, query results and commitment associated with a database. In addition, the commitment/commit values associated with previously stored and utilized data stored in a external database.)
provide the proof and the query result in response to the query, wherein the value of the commitment enables verification of the query result against the proof. (Prabhakar; FIG. 1-13; Background, Summary, ¶ [0054], [0070]-[0087]; The proof, query result, value related to the commitment that enables verification.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI in view of Prabhakar to include commitment values and proofs for the verification of query results for the reasons of authenticating data in online transactions. (Prabhakar Background of The Invention)
Re Claim 2, 7, & 17, LI YI-Prabhakar discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the query is received from a verifier configured to verify the query result against the proof using the commitment. (LI YI; FIG. 1-18; Page(s) 3-10, 11-29; The cited embodiment(s) detail a comparable methodology in which the verification of the query using a related commitment is conducted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI in view of Prabhakar to include commitment values and proofs for the verification of query results for the reasons of authenticating data in online transactions. (Prabhakar Background of The Invention)
Re Claim 3, 8 & 18, LI YI-Prabhakar discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the proof comprises the query result. (Prabhakar; FIG. 1-12; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0084], [0099]-[0110]; Generating a poof, wherein the proof, query, and result/output associated with a commitment to the database.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI in view of Prabhakar to include commitment values and proofs for the verification of query results for the reasons of authenticating data in online transactions. (Prabhakar Background of The Invention)
Re Claim 4, 9 & 19, LI YI-Prabhakar discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the query is received from a verifier, a client, an intermediary, or a gateway. (Prabhakar; FIG. 1-12; Background, Summary, ¶ [0052], [0073]-[0083]; A client.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI in view of Prabhakar to include commitment values and proofs for the verification of query results for the reasons of authenticating data in online transactions. (Prabhakar Background of The Invention)
Re Claim 5, 10 & 20, LI YI-Prabhakar discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 4, wherein the proof and the query result are returned to the verifier, client, intermediary, or gateway from which the query is received and the database is a blockchain database. (Prabhakar; FIG. 1-12; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0084], [0099]-[0110]; Generating a poof, wherein the proof, query, and result/output associated with a commitment to the database. Sending the proof to the client.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI in view of Prabhakar to include commitment values and proofs for the verification of query results for the reasons of authenticating data in online transactions. (Prabhakar Background of The Invention)
Claim(s) 11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prabhakar et al. (US 2012/0209822 A1), in view of LI YI (CN 111783108 A) and further in view of Naqvi et al. (US 2020/0304309 A1)
Re Claim 11 & 13, LI YI-Prabhakar discloses the system of claim 6, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the system is external to a blockchain network hosting the database which comprises a blockchain database.
However, in analogous art, Naqvi teaches wherein the system is external to a blockchain network hosting the database which comprises a blockchain database. (Naqvi; FIG. 1-5; Summary, ¶ [0065]-[0088]; The system includes a blockchain related database.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI-Prabhakar in view of Naqvi to include blockchains for the reasons of verifying generating proofs in a blockchain. (Naqvi Abstract & ¶ [0065]-[0071])
Re Claim 14, LI YI-Prabhakar-Naqvi discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the method is implemented by one or more provers that are external to a blockchain network hosting the database. (Naqvi; FIG. 1-8; Summary, ¶ [0070], [0097], [0129]-[0162]; Proof of authority, related to the blockchain hosting a database.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI-Prabhakar in view of Naqvi to include blockchains for the reasons of verifying generating proofs in a blockchain. (Naqvi Abstract & ¶ [0065]-[0071])
Re Claim 15, LI YI-Prabhakar-Naqvi discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the method is implemented by one or more provers of a query verification apparatus that comprises nodes of a blockchain network hosting the database. (Naqvi; FIG. 1-8; Summary, ¶ [0065]-[0070], [0095]-[0107], [0129]-[0145], [0176]-[0177], [0340]-[0351]; Query verification as it related to databases of a blockchain related network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI-Prabhakar in view of Naqvi to include blockchains for the reasons of verifying generating proofs in a blockchain. (Naqvi Abstract & ¶ [0065]-[0071])
Re Claim 16, LI YI-Prabhakar-Naqvi discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more provers are external to the blockchain network. (Naqvi; FIG. 1-8; Summary, ¶ [0070], [0097], [0129]-[0162]; Proof of authority, related to the blockchain hosting a database.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify LI YI-Prabhakar in view of Naqvi to include blockchains for the reasons of verifying generating proofs in a blockchain. (Naqvi Abstract & ¶ [0065]-[0071])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443