DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s RCE submission filed on 4/28/2026. Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 11-13 were amended. Claim 14 is new. Claims 4, and 5 were canceled during the previous Office Action. Claims 1-3, 6-14 are pending in the application of which Claims 1, 11, and 12 are independent and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the RCE filed on 4/28/2026 (herein “Amendment”) with respect to the Applicant’s arguments and amendments in the RCE with respect to the 35 USC §103 rejection raised in the previous office action have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which was necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further considerations, a new ground of rejection is introduced.
Please see prior art section below for more detail including updated citations and obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US20030050778A1), and in further view of Shaw (US20130101097A1).
Nguyen, and Shaw were applied during the previous Office Action.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12 Nguyen teaches [A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a control method of controlling an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: - claim 1], [A method of controlling an information processing apparatus, comprising: - claim 11], and [An information processing apparatus, comprising: a display; and at least one processor or circuitry configured to perform operations comprising: - claim 12] (Nguyen, Par. 0010:” … a computer implemented speech recognition system for generating e-mail messages based upon focused language models which are accessed …”, and Par. 0018:” The computer system 18 includes a microcomputer, a digital signal processor, or a similar device which has a combination of a CPU 30, a ROM 32, a RAM 34, and an input/output section 36.”, and Par. 0026:’ … the computer system 18 via the input/output section 36 and can be stored in RAM 34 until processed by the voice recognizer section 60 of the e-mail message module 50.” and Par. 0005:” … text messages are summarized by the system so that they can be displayed and edited by the user on the comparatively small screen of the device.)
causing the information processing apparatus to execute processing for converting a content of a voice message received by the information processing apparatus into a summarized text; (Nguyen, Par. 0027:” Once the voice message is converted to text, a text summarizer section 62 can be implemented for summarizing the converted text in order to reduce the amount of text that is to be displayed on the display screen 14 of the personal digital assistant 10. Because the display screen 14 is relatively small, the text summarizer section 62 allows the processor 18 to reduce the size of the text message. …”).
Nguyen, does not teach, however, Shaw teaches causing the information processing apparatus to display (i) an object that performs an action for playing the voice message and (ii) the summarized text in a case where a setting is a first setting; (Shaw, Par. 0036:” In accordance with a fifth embodiment and with reference to FIG. 6, a visual voice mail may be transcribed to text via a system switch. At 90, the visual voice mail server receives a new incoming voice message. At 92 the visual voice mail server transcribes the voice message to text. At 94, the visual voice mail server sends the message waiting notification indicator to the subscriber. The message waiting notification indicator also provides an interface to the system which informs allow the system to select and determine whether the subscriber desires to receive the text transcription together with the audio file, a determination which is made at 96. If the system indicates that the subscriber should receive both an audio file and a text file, then both audio and text are delivered at 98. If the system indicates that the subscriber should only receive a voice message, then the voice message is delivered at 100. The order of this exemplary embodiment may be altered such that the conversion to text only occurs after the dual mode is selected at 96.”, and Par. 0041:” … the visual voice mail may be decomposed into objects which are viewed prior to downloading. This allows the recipient to view the objects according to a class-based paradigm, which may, for example, be a subject of interest such as a birthday party, a hobby, or any other type of classification. At 160, the visual voice mail is received. At 162 the visual voice mail is decomposed into one or more objects. At 164 one or more objects are presented to the subscriber. …”) Note: dual mode (yes: text and voice) reads on setting since the system select whether to provide text and voice or voice only, see Fig. 6.
causing the information processing apparatus not to display the summarized text in a case where the setting is a second setting that is different from the first setting; and (Shaw, Par. 0036:” … The message waiting notification indicator also provides an interface to the system which informs allow the system to select and determine whether the subscriber desires to receive the text transcription together with the audio file, a determination which is made at 96. If the system indicates that the subscriber should receive both an audio file and a text file, then both audio and text are delivered at 98. If the system indicates that the subscriber should only receive a voice message, then the voice message is delivered at 100. The order of this exemplary embodiment may be altered such that the conversion to text only occurs after the dual mode is selected [setting] at 96.”) Note: If dual mode is selected, both text and voice is delivered to the user/subscriber, however, if the dual mode is NOT selected (see Fig. 6), then only voice is delivered, therefore, dual mode selection provide setting.
causing the information processing apparatus to play the voice message, in response to the object being selected by a user of the information processing apparatus. (Shaw, Par. 0036:” … If the system indicates that the subscriber should only receive a voice message, then the voice message is delivered at 100. …”, and Par. 0040:” … Each voice flow includes an individual segment of the voice message. This allows the recipient to listen to the message incrementally based on whether the of message is of interest to the subscriber.”) Note: listen to the message, reads on play the voice message.
Shaw is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, further in view of Shaw to cause the information processing apparatus to display (i) an object that performs an action for playing the voice message and (ii) the summarized text in a case where a setting is a first setting; causing the information processing apparatus not to display the summarized text in a case where the setting is a second setting that is different from the first setting; and causing the information processing apparatus to play the voice message, in response to the object being selected by a user of the information processing apparatus. Motivation to do so would allow a subscriber to selectably convert voice mail to text when the subscriber is unavailable to listen to the voice mail (Shaw, Par. 0031).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Nakamura (US 20230223124 A1) .
Nakamura was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen , as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, however, Nakamura teaches wherein the summarized text is displayed in a form different from normal text messages displayed. (Nakamura, Par. 0129:” In Modification Example 2-1 above, in a case where status information indicating that the user has determined that it is an erroneous detection is assigned, the controller 36 may change a display form of the summary information of the group to which the status information is assigned. … In addition to this, for example, by different character colors, thicknesses, italic, and font types, different character background colors, and different line types of character enclosing lines, a display form of summary information of a group to which the work status of an “erroneous detection” is assigned may be changed. By displaying the information so …”).
Nakamura is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Nakamura to wherein the summarized text is displayed in a form different from normal text messages displayed. Motivation to do so would improve user’s visibility of the presented information (Nakamura, Par. 0107).
Regarding claim 3, Nguyen , as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 2.
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, however, Nakamura further teaches wherein the summarized text is displayed in a display form including a character and a color which are different from the normal text messages displayed. (Nakamura, Par. 0129:” In Modification Example 2-1 above, in a case where status information indicating that the user has determined that it is an erroneous detection is assigned, the controller 36 may change a display form of the summary information of the group to which the status information is assigned. … In addition to this, for example, by different character colors, thicknesses, italic, and font types, different character background colors, and different line types of character enclosing lines, a display form of summary information of a group to which the work status of an “erroneous detection” is assigned may be changed. By displaying the information so …”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Han (US 20230359836 A1).
Han was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen , as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, as modified above, further teaches wherein the information processing apparatus is caused to perform processing for converting the content of the voice message into text and perform summarization of the text into the summarized text [[based on a predetermined number of character strings from a start of the text, or date and time and a place which are described in the text]]. (Nguyen, Par. 0027:” Once the voice message is converted to text, a text summarizer section 62 can be implemented for summarizing the converted text in order to reduce the amount of text that is to be displayed on the display screen 14 of the personal digital assistant 10. Because the display screen 14 is relatively small, the text summarizer section 62 allows the processor 18 to reduce the size of the text message. …”).
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, However, Han teaches [[wherein the information processing apparatus is caused to perform processing for converting the content of the voice message into text and perform summarization of the text into]] the summarized text based on a predetermined number of character strings from a start of the text, or date and time and a place which are described in the text. (Han, Par. 0107:” According to an embodiment, the summary model 320 may be trained to output the summary text based on a length of a pre-set summary text. For example, when pre-set to obtain the summary text including five words, the summary model 320 may output the summary text of a length including the five words regardless of a number of words included in the input phrase. “)
Han is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Nguyen, as modified above, with Han. As implied in Han [Par. 0023], one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings because it would offer the benefit of conciseness and improved readability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Zafar (US20090003540A1).
Zafar was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, However, Zafar teaches causing the information processing apparatus to display an object for receiving a setting for setting whether or not to attach the summarized text to the voice message when the voice message is transmitted. (Zafar, Par. 0017:” … The systems and methods may filter the content of the voice mail messages and may perform actions on the voice mail messages based on user preferences. For example, in one implementation, the systems and methods may convert the audio voice mail messages to text voice mail messages, and may extract information (e.g., topics, summary, keywords, context, etc.) from the text voice mail messages. The information, the text voice mail messages, and the voice mail messages may be provided (e.g., displayed) to a user, and the user may access, review, prioritize, reply to, etc. this content as desired.”, and Par. 0064:” FIG. 9 is a diagram of an exemplary user interface 900 that may be provided by VMA server 125 (e.g., by display information logic 420) to one of user devices 135 (e.g., to displays of user devices 135). User interface 900 may be displayed if a user selects see related button 750 (FIG. 7). As shown in FIG. 9, user interface 900 may depict content (e.g., voice mail, e-mail, SMS, text, or instant messages, etc.) that may be related to the selected voice mail message of FIG. 7. The relation between the related content and the selected voice mail message may be based on user-defined preferences (e.g., similarity of subject matter, author, topic, date, etc.).”)
Zafar is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Zafar to cause the information processing apparatus to display an object for receiving a setting for setting whether or not to attach the summarized text to the voice message when the voice message is transmitted. Motivation to do so would determine a delivery method for the voice mail information based on user preferences (Zafar, Par. 0023).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Jang (US10572726 B1).
Jang was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, however, Jang teaches receiving an input of a character string, and causing the information processing apparatus to search for the summarized text using the received character string. (Jang, col. 4, ll. 37-45:” In some embodiments the keywords 116 input may include instructions to the media summarizer 104 to automatically identify keywords and to generate the summary 112 based on the identified keywords. Alternately or additionally, the keywords 116 input may include one or more words supplied and/or otherwise identified by the user. For example, a user may identify a keyword from the summary 112 and the summary 112 may be updated to include the additionally identified keyword.”)
Jang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Jang to receiving an input of a character string, and causing the information processing apparatus to search for the summarized text using the received character string. Motivation to do so would be in order to extract the information the user considers important (Jang, Col. 1, ll. 61-62).
Claims 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Rohde (US 20090252305 A1).
Rohde was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, does not teach, however, Rohde teaches wherein the information processing apparatus executes the processing for converting the content of the voice message into the text and performs summarization of the text into the summarized text. (Rohde, Par. 0031:” … the server 116 generates a summary or textual summary of the voice message. ... Also, the server 116 may convert an entire voice message into text and then generate a summary based on the text data. Any known or future technique of summarizing voice or speech content may be used.”, and Par. 0014:” … Textual summaries of the voice messages are transmitted to a user interface corresponding to the ...”, and Par. 0016:” … The server is further operable to transmit the textual summary to the one of the plurality of devices.”, and Par. 0040:”… The summary content may be transmitted to the user device 201 separate from the data 213.”)
Rohde is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Rohde to wherein the information processing apparatus executes the processing for converting the content of the voice message into the text and performs the summarization of the text into the summarized text by causing an external server to convert the content of the voice message into the text and perform the summarization of the text into the summarized text and receiving the summarized text. Motivation to do so would prioritize important voice messages that are relatively more important or relevant to act on (Rohde, Par. 0003).
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 9.
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, however, Shaw further teaches causing the information processing apparatus to display text indicating that the voice message has been converted into the text. (Shaw, Par. 0036:” In accordance with a fifth embodiment and with reference to FIG. 6, a visual voice mail may be transcribed to text via a system switch. At 90, the visual voice mail server receives a new incoming voice message. At 92 the visual voice mail server transcribes the voice message to text. At 94, the visual voice mail server sends the message waiting notification indicator to the subscriber. The message waiting notification indicator also provides an interface to the system which informs allow the system to select and determine whether the subscriber desires to receive the text transcription together with the audio file, a determination which is made at 96. … the conversion to text only occurs after the dual mode is selected at 96.”, and Par. 0041:” … the visual voice mail may be decomposed into objects which are viewed prior to downloading. This allows the recipient to view the objects according to a class-based paradigm, which may, for example, be a subject of interest such as a birthday party, a hobby, or any other type of classification. At 160, the visual voice mail is received. At 162 the visual voice mail is decomposed into one or more objects. At 164 one or more objects are presented to the subscriber. …”) Note: Based on the dual mode setting user can receive an object (text string- see as-filed spec. Par. 0064) indicating voice message is available.
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, does not teach, however, Rohde teaches wherein the information processing apparatus is a mobile terminal. (Rohde, Par. 0040:” … The summary content may be transmitted to the user device 201 separate from the data 213.”, and Par. 0021:” The user device 104 is a wireless device (e.g., a cellular phone, a PDA, a wireless computer), … “, and Par. 0039:” … For example, the user device 201 is a cellular telephone, a digital telephone, a computer, or a PDA. … “, and Par. 0040:” … The summary content may be transmitted to the user device … “, and Par. 0054:”… Alternatively, the summaries are generated in or by the user device that executes the user interface.”)
Rohde is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Rohde to wherein the information processing apparatus is a mobile terminal. Motivation to do so would prioritize important voice messages that are relatively more important or relevant to act on (Rohde, Par. 0003).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, and Shaw, and in further view of Kim (US9344554B2).
Kim was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen, as modified above, teaches the storage medium of claim 1.
Nguyen, as modified above, further teaches wherein the summarized text is displayed [[under the object that performs the action for playing the voice message]]. (Nguyen, in Par. 0027 teaches Once the voice message is converted to text, a text summarizer section 62 can be implemented for summarizing the converted text in order to reduce the amount of text that is to be displayed on the display screen 14 of the personal digital assistant 10.)
Nguyen, as modified above, does not teach, however, Kim teaches [[wherein the summarized text is displayed ]] under the object that performs the action for playing the voice message. (Kim, Col. 8, ll. 36-52:” … terminal 100 detects a voice signal to check the received message, it can activate a message function. In that case, as shown in view 303 of FIG. 3, the portable terminal 100 displays a message screen 345 for showing a received message and a reduced file playback screen 340. That is, the file playback screen 330 is reduced or may be partially or fully removed in order to display the received message. In the illustrated example, the reduced file playback screen 340 is composed of an information displaying area 337, a part of which is reduced or removed, compared with the information displaying area 331 shown in view 301, a control key area 335 for playing back a file, and a proceeding bar area 333. The reduced file playback screen 340 is arranged in the middle portion and the upper portion of the display unit. On the other hand, the message screen 345 is arranged at the lower portion of the display unit 141, i.e., below the reduced file playback screen 340.”)
Kim is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen, as modified above, further in view of Kim to perform the action for playing the voice message. Motivation to do so would allow a user to easily use the plurality of user functions according to various types of input signals, and maintains the connection with tasks added while the user is operating a plurality of tasks (Kim, Col. 1, ll. 54-58).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Lee et al. (US 20210297371A1) teaches in Par. 0042:” … an instant message, which is including information related to a content, input from another user device 105 participating in the chatroom and display the instant message received through the chatroom. Here, the information related to the content may include information that defines the content or explains the origin of the content and address information of the content, specifically, link information of the content. For example, the user device 100 may display at least one of link information or summary information matched with the link information.”
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
DARIOUSH AGAHI, P.E.
Primary Examiner
/DARIOUSH AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656