DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Pang (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2016/0165393).
Consider claim 19; Pang discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more programs including computer-executable instructions that (par. 82, lines 17-21), when executed by one or more application processors of an electronic device (par. 82, lines 17-21), cause the electronic device to perform operations (par. 82, lines 17-21), the operations comprising:
obtain first locations of the electronic device (e.g. nearest to farthest locations) which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of first advertising packets (par. 48) by the wireless communication chipset while the first external device (e.g. server) is located in a first point (par. 42, lines 1-9), and
determine a first geofence corresponding to the first external device (e.g. server) located in the first point (par. 45, lines 1-3), based on the obtained first locations [e.g. nearest to farthest locations (par. 42, lines 1-9)].
Consider claim 20; Pang discloses identify a first timing which is a timing of measuring a first location [e.g. via geofence (par. 60, lines 1-7)] among the obtained first locations [e.g. nearest to farthest locations (par. 42, lines 1-9)], identify a second timing at which the wireless communication chipset receives the first advertising packets (par. 48) corresponding to the first location (par. 61, lines 4-9), and determine the first geofence (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10), based on second locations excluding the first location from the obtained first locations in case that a difference between the first timing and the second timing is greater than or equal to a specified time [e.g. migration threshold (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0350355) in view of Pang (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2016/0165393).
Consider claim 1; Linn discloses an electronic device comprising:
one or more application processors (par. 28, lines 1-10);
memory electrically coupled with the one or more application processors (par. 28, lines 1-10); and
a wireless communication chipset which supports a short-range communication [e.g. BLE (par. 31, lines 1-6)] and is electrically coupled with the one or more application processors (par. 28, lines 1-10),
wherein the wireless communication chipset is configured to receive an advertising packet broadcast by a first external device (e.g. source electronic device) with a specified interval (par. 145, lines 1-5), and
wherein the memory stores instructions that (par. 28, lines 1-15), when executed by the one or more application processors (par. 28, lines 1-10), cause the electronic device to (par. 28, lines 1-15).
Linn discloses the claimed invention except: obtain first locations of the electronic device which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of first advertising packets by the wireless communication chipset while the first external device is located in a first point, and
determine a first geofence corresponding to the first external device located in the first point, based on the obtained first locations.
In an analogous art Pang discloses obtain first locations of the electronic device (e.g. nearest to farthest locations) which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of first advertising packets (par. 48) by the wireless communication chipset while the first external device (e.g. server) is located in a first point (par. 42, lines 1-9), and
determine a first geofence corresponding to the first external device (e.g. server) located in the first point (par. 45, lines 1-3), based on the obtained first locations [e.g. nearest to farthest locations (par. 42, lines 1-9)].
It is an object of Linn’s invention to broadcast information. It is an object of Pang’s invention to broadcast information based on positioning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Linn by including a geofence, as taught by Pang, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses identify a first timing which is a timing of measuring a first location [e.g. via geofence (par. 60, lines 1-7)] among the obtained first locations [e.g. nearest to farthest locations (par. 42, lines 1-9)], identify a second timing at which the wireless communication chipset receives the first advertising packets (par. 48) corresponding to the first location (par. 61, lines 4-9), and determine the first geofence (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10), based on second locations excluding the first location from the obtained first locations in case that a difference between the first timing and the second timing is greater than or equal to a specified time [e.g. migration threshold (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10)].
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses determine whether a number of the obtained first locations exceeds a specified number [e.g. the sum of the radii of two circles (par. 43)], identify second locations with a number exceeding the specified number in order of an oldest measurement timing among the obtained first locations in case that the number of the obtained first locations exceeds the specified number [e.g. the farthest (par. 42, lines 1-9)], and determine the first geofence (par. 45, lines 1-3), based on third locations excluding the second locations from the obtained first locations [e.g. being within the geo fence (par. 45, lines 1-3)].
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses the first locations are stored in the memory (par. 82, lines 17-21) at respective measurement timings [e.g. nearest to the farthest (par. 42, lines 1-9)].
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 4; Pang discloses compare a first timing at which the first location among the first locations is stored in the memory (e.g. acquired) and a second timing at which the one or more application processors determines the first geofence (e.g. via the determining unit) (par. 64, lines 1-11), and determine the first geofence (par. 64, lines 7-11), based on second locations excluding the first location from the first locations (e.g. nearest geo fence) in case that a difference between the first timing and the second timing is greater than or equal to a specified time [e.g. real-time determination time (par. 61, lines 4-9; par. 75, lines 3-23)].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Linn discloses the one or more application processors which is in a low-power state is released from the low-power state when the wireless communication chipset receives the advertising packet of the first external device (par. 81).
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses obtain second locations of the electronic device which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of second advertising packets by the wireless communication chipset (par. 78, lines 7-23) while a second external device (e.g. server) is located in a second point adjacent to the first point [e.g. more than oner server can be involved in the process (par. 79, lines 6-14)], and determine a second geofence corresponding to the second external device (e.g. server) located in the second point (par. 78, lines 7-23; par. 79, lines 6-14), based on the obtained second locations (par. 75, lines 6-23).
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 7; Pang discloses determine a third geofence (par. 64, lines 7-11) corresponding to the first external device and the second external device (e.g. servers) (par. 78, lines 7-23; par. 79, lines 6-14), based on the first geofence and the second geofence (par. 78, lines 7-23; par. 79, lines 6-14).
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses support a function related to a first-type geofence to a user in case that the first geofence has a first radius (par. 43), and support a function associated with a second-type geofence in case that the first geofence has a second radius smaller than the first radius (par. 43).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses the specified interval is determined based on a communication environment between the wireless communication chipset and the first external device (e.g. server) (par. 55, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses obtain second locations of the electronic device which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of second advertising packets by the wireless communication chipset from the first external device (par. 48) in a state where the first external device moves to a second point different from the first point [e.g. the external device can be mobile or wireless (par. 16, lines 1-7)], and determine a second geofence (par. 45, lines 1-3) corresponding to the first external device located in the second point [e.g. the external device can be mobile or wireless (par. 16, lines 1-7)], based on the second locations (par. 16, lines 1-7; par. 48).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 11; Pang discloses receive the plurality of first advertising packets of the first external device with a first interval while the first external device is located in the first point (par. 48; par. 55, lines 1-4), and receive the plurality of second advertising packets of the first external device (par. 48) with a second interval shorter than the first interval [e.g. based on movement (par. 75, lines 3-23)] as the first external device moves to the second point [e.g. the external device can be mobile or wireless (par. 16, lines 1-7)].
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses a display electrically coupled with the one or more application processors (par. 81), wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to display an execution screen of an application related to a geofence on the display (par. 81), and wherein the execution screen includes at least one user interface which displays information on the determined first geofence (par. 81).
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses a location tracking circuit (par. 71, lines 1-10), wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to identify a location of the electronic device by using the location tracking circuit (par. 71, lines 1-10).
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 1; Pang discloses the wireless communication chipset includes a wireless communication circuit and a sub processor [e.g. handheld or portable equipment are known to have wireless components (par. 16, lines 1-7; par. 79, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 16; Linn discloses a method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
receiving an advertising packet broadcast by a first external device (e.g. source electronic device) with a specified interval (par. 145, lines 1-5).
Linn discloses the claimed invention except: obtaining first locations of the electronic device which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of first advertising packets by the wireless communication chipset while the first external device is located in a first point, and
determining a first geofence corresponding to the first external device located in the first point, based on the obtained first locations.
In an analogous art Pang discloses obtaining first locations of the electronic device (e.g. nearest to farthest locations) which are measured in response to receiving a plurality of first advertising packets (par. 48) by the wireless communication chipset while the first external device (e.g. server) is located in a first point (par. 42, lines 1-9), and
determining a first geofence corresponding to the first external device (e.g. server) located in the first point (par. 45, lines 1-3), based on the obtained first locations [e.g. nearest to farthest locations (par. 42, lines 1-9)].
It is an object of Linn’s invention to broadcast information. It is an object of Pang’s invention to broadcast information based on positioning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Linn by including a geofence, as taught by Pang, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 16; Pang discloses identify a first timing which is a timing of measuring a first location among the obtained first locations [e.g. via geofence (par. 60, lines 1-7)], identify a second timing at which the wireless communication chipset receives the first advertising packets (par. 48) corresponding to the first location (par. 61, lines 4-9), and determine the first geofence (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10), based on second locations excluding the first location from the obtained first locations in case that a difference between the first timing and the second timing is greater than or equal to a specified time [e.g. migration threshold (par. 62, line 1 – par. 64, line 10)].
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Pang discloses determine whether a number of the obtained first locations exceeds a specified number [e.g. the sum of the radii of two circles (par. 43)], identify second locations with a number exceeding the specified number in order of an oldest measurement timing among the obtained first locations in case that the number of the obtained first locations exceeds the specified number [e.g. the farthest (par. 42, lines 1-9)], and determine the first geofence (par. 45, lines 1-3), based on third locations excluding the second locations from the obtained first locations [e.g. being within the geo fence (par. 45, lines 1-3)].
Dunlap is a reference that also discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646