DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 18-19 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menhere (2024/0208664) in view of Bohm (2025/0256854) and Born et al (5699662). Menhere teaches (1) An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: an electric machine 30 extending axially along an axis; an exhaust duct 64 including an annular first section 102 and a non-annular second section 104, 103 fluidly coupled with and downstream of the annular first section, the annular first section 102 extending circumferentially around the axis, and the non-annular second section 104, 103 axially overlapping the electric machine 30 and extending partially circumferentially about the electric machine 30; and a mounting structure connecting the electric machine to the exhaust duct 64, the mounting structure including a duct mount [between 66 and 102], a machine mount [e.g. ring upstream end of 48 in Fig. 4] the duct mount [between 66 and 102] connected to the annular first section 102; the machine mount [e.g. ring upstream end of 48 in Fig. 4] connected to the electric machine 30; (2) wherein the duct mount [between 66 and 102] comprises an annular mounting flange that extends circumferentially around the axis. (4) wherein the exhaust duct 64 is connected to to the duct mount [between 66 and 102]. (5) wherein the exhaust duct 64 is mechanically fastened to the duct mount [between 66 and 102]. (6) wherein the machine mount [e.g. ring upstream end of 48 in Fig. 4] extends circumferentially around and is mechanically fastened to the electric machine 30. (7) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring [e.g. ring upstream end of 48 in Fig. 4] connected to the electric machine 30; (16) wherein the annular first section 102 is axially spaced from the electric machine 30. (17) a gas turbine engine comprising the exhaust duct 64, an engine case 66 and a rotating assembly 78, the engine case 66 housing the rotating assembly 78, the electric machine 30 mounted to the engine case through the mounting structure; and a drivetrain 86 projecting through a bore of the annular first section 102 and operably coupling a rotor in the electric machine 30 to the rotating assembly 78. (20) An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: an electric machine 30 extending axially along an axis; an exhaust duct 64 including an annular first section 102 and a non-annular second section 104, 103 fluidly coupled with and downstream of the annular first section 102, the annular first section 102 circumscribing the axis, and the non-annular second section 104, 103 axially overlapping the electric machine 30 and wrapping partially circumferentially about the electric machine 30; and a mounting structure connecting the electric machine to the exhaust duct 64,
Menhere does not teach (1) mounting structure connecting the electric machine to the exhaust duct 64, the framework extending axially between and connected to the duct mount [between 66 and 102] and the machine mount, the framework comprising a plurality of struts arranged in a truss nor (20) the mounting structure including a plurality of struts arranged in a truss, an outer portion of the truss wrapping partially circumferentially about the annular first section 102, and an inner portion of the truss projecting radially into a pocket in the non-annular second section 104, 103 towards the electric machine. Bohm [see annotations] teaches a mounting structure connecting the electric machine 120 to the axially adjacent structure, the mounting structure including a duct mount 412, a machine mount 440 [connects to a ring of 120 in Fig. 2] and a framework 300; the duct mount 412 connected to the annular first section; the machine mount 440 connected to the electric machine 120; and the framework 310 extending axially between and connected to the duct mount and the machine mount, the framework comprising a plurality of struts arranged in a truss. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the mounting structure of Bohm to connect the electric machine to the mounting structure connecting the electric machine to the exhaust duct of Menhere, the mounting structure including a duct mount, a machine mount, by adding a framework, the framework extending axially between and connected to the duct mount and the machine mount, the framework comprising a plurality of struts arranged in a truss as taught by Bohm, in order to provide for support for the electric machine and the exhaust duct. It would have been obvious to add the mounting structure including a plurality of struts arranged in a truss, an outer portion of the truss wrapping partially circumferentially about the annular first section 102 of Menhere, as taught by Bohm, would be advantageous by adding struts to the axially adjacent structure and which allow for mutually support of the electric machine and the duct assembly. Menhere already teach a pocket [top of 106, 108] in the [top of] non-annular second section towards the electric machine 30 [see Fig. 4] but not an inner portion of the truss projecting radially into a pocket. As for an inner portion of the truss projecting radially into a pocket in the non-annular second section 104, 103 towards the electric machine, Born et al is applied. Born et al teach the mounting structure including a plurality of struts 62A, 62B arranged in a truss, an outer portion of the truss 70A, 70B wrapping partially circumferentially about the first section 102, and an inner portion of the truss 62A, 62B projecting radially into the top section, Fig. 3 in the non-annular second section 104, 103. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an inner portion of the truss projecting radially, as taught by Born et al, into the existing pocket in the non-annular second section towards the electric machine of Menhere, as a typical way of providing support to non-annular second section exhaust duct.
Menhere teach (4) wherein the exhaust duct is connected to but not bonded to the duct mount. As for the (4) wherein the exhaust duct 64 is bonded to the duct mount [between 66 and 102], it is typical in the art to use fastening techniques such as welding bonds for exhaust duct structure and it would have been obvious to make the exhaust duct 64 is bonded to the duct mount [between 66 and 102], using e.g. welding or other bonding techniques, to create an integral structure.
Menhere does not teach (7) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring connected to the electric machine; and a triangular frame projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to the framework. (8) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring connected to the electric machine; a first arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a first set of the plurality of struts at a first node; and a second arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a second set of the plurality of struts at a second node. (9) wherein the exhaust duct extends partially circumferentially about the mounting ring between a first circumferential side and a second circumferential side; the first arm radially overlaps the first circumferential side, and the first node is disposed radially outboard of the exhaust duct; and the second arm radially overlaps the second circumferential side, and the second node is disposed radially outboard of the exhaust duct. (10) wherein the machine mount further includes a third arm circumferentially between the first arm and the second arm; the third arm projects out from the mounting ring and is connected to a third set of the plurality of struts at a third node. (11) wherein a fourth set of the plurality of struts are connected to the mounting ring at a fourth node that is diametrically opposite the third node. (12) wherein a third set of the plurality of strut are connected to the mounting ring circumferentially between and equispaced from the first node and the second node. (13) wherein the plurality of struts include a first strut, a second strut and a third strut; the first strut and the second strut are connected to the duct mount at a first duct mount node; the second strut and the third strut are connected to the machine mount at a first machine mount node; and the third strut is connected to the duct mount at a second duct mount node. (14) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the machine mount at a second machine mount node. (15) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the duct mount at a third duct mount node. Bohm further teach (7) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring [see annotations of Fig. 2, 4A] connected to the electric machine 120; and a triangular frame [e.g. 432, 404 are part of a triangle] projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to the framework. (8) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring [see annotations] connected to the electric machine 120; a first arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a first set of the plurality of struts at a first node; and a second arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a second set of the plurality of struts at a second node. (10) wherein the machine mount further includes a third arm circumferentially between the first arm and the second arm; the third arm projects out from the mounting ring and is connected to a third set of the plurality of struts at a third node. (11) wherein a fourth set of the plurality of struts are connected to the mounting ring at a fourth node that is diametrically opposite the third node. (12) wherein a third set of the plurality of strut [unlabeled, but nodes are annotated] are connected to the mounting ring circumferentially between and equispaced from the first node and the second node. (13) wherein the plurality of struts include a first strut, a second strut and a third strut [unlabeled, but nodes are annotated]; the first strut and the second strut are connected to the duct mount at a first duct mount node; the second strut and the third strut are connected to the machine mount at a first machine mount node; and the third strut is connected to the duct mount at a second duct mount node. (14) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut [unlabeled, but nodes are annotated]; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the machine mount at a second machine mount node. (15) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut [unlabeled, but nodes are annotated]; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the duct mount at a third duct mount node. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ:
(7) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring connected to the electric machine; and a triangular frame projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to the framework; (8) wherein the machine mount includes a mounting ring connected to the electric machine; a first arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a first set of the plurality of struts at a first node; and a second arm projecting out from the mounting ring and connected to a second set of the plurality of struts at a second node; (10) wherein the machine mount further includes a third arm circumferentially between the first arm and the second arm; the third arm projects out from the mounting ring and is connected to a third set of the plurality of struts at a third node; (11) wherein a fourth set of the plurality of struts are connected to the mounting ring at a fourth node that is diametrically opposite the third node; (12) wherein a third set of the plurality of strut are connected to the mounting ring circumferentially between and equispaced from the first node and the second node; (13) wherein the plurality of struts include a first strut, a second strut and a third strut; the first strut and the second strut are connected to the duct mount at a first duct mount node; the second strut and the third strut are connected to the machine mount at a first machine mount node; and the third strut is connected to the duct mount at a second duct mount node; (14) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the machine mount at a second machine mount node; (15) wherein the plurality of struts further include a fourth strut; the fourth strut is connected to the second strut at a location between the first duct mount node and the second duct mount node; and the fourth strut is connected to the duct mount at a third duct mount node,
in the manner taught by Bohm, as part of a truss strut assembly that provides for support for an electric motor in aircraft propulsion applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
January 23, 2026