DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant's amendments and remarks submitted on December 22, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 6, 10, 15 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are still pending on this application, with claims 1-20 being rejected. All new grounds of rejection were necessitated by the amendments to claims 1, 10 and 19. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub No 2011/0075880 A1 to Kamimura et al. (“Kamimura”).
As to claim 1, Kamimura discloses a speaker for a mobile device (see pg. 1, ¶ 0001), the speaker comprising: a bottom cover formed of a first metallic material (60, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0027), wherein the bottom cover conducts a magnetic field in the speaker when a voice coil of the speaker is energized (magnetic circuit yoke made of magnetic metal material, see pg. 2, ¶ 0027; pg. 3, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0036); a sound-producing diaphragm (22, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0020; pg. 3, ¶ 0036); and a top cover formed of a second metallic material and to which the diaphragm is affixed, wherein the top cover is sealed to the bottom cover (40, see figure 3; pg. 3, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0034).
As to claim 2, Kamimura further discloses further comprising a permanent magnet affixed to a top surface of the bottom cover (12, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0028).
As to claim 5, Kamimura further discloses further comprising a washer affixed atop the magnet (13, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0028).
As to claim 6, Kamimura further discloses wherein the voice coil is affixed to the diaphragm (21, see figure 3; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0029 - ¶ 0031).
As to claim 7, Kamimura further discloses wherein the voice coil surrounds the magnet (see figures 3 and 8).
As to claim 10, Kamimura discloses a method for providing a speaker in a mobile device (see pg. 1, ¶ 0001), the method comprising: providing the speaker with a bottom cover formed of a first metallic material (60, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0027), wherein the bottom cover conducts a magnetic field in the speaker when a voice coil of the speaker is energized (magnetic circuit yoke made of magnetic metal material, see pg. 2, ¶ 0027; pg. 3, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0036); providing the speaker with a sound-producing diaphragm (22, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0020; pg. 3, ¶ 0036); providing the speaker with a top cover formed of a second metallic material; affixing the diaphragm to the top cover; and sealing the top cover to the bottom cover (40, see figure 3; pg. 3, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0034).
As to claim 11, Kamimura further discloses further comprising affixing a permanent magnet to a top surface of the bottom cover (12, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0028).
As to claim 14, Kamimura further discloses further comprising affixing a washer atop the magnet (13, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0028).
As to claim 15, Kamimura further discloses further comprising affixing the voice coil to the diaphragm (21, see figure 3; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0029 - ¶ 0031).
As to claim 16, Kamimura further discloses wherein the voice coil surrounds the magnet (see figures 3 and 8).
As to claim 19, Kamimura discloses an information handling system, comprising: a case (portable telephone, see pg. 1, ¶ 0001); and a speaker affixed within the case, wherein the speaker includes a bottom cover formed of a first metallic material (60, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0027; pg. 3, ¶ 0033), a sound-producing diaphragm (22, see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0020; pg. 3, ¶ 0036), and a top cover formed of a second metallic material and to which the diaphragm is affixed, wherein the top cover is sealed to the bottom cover (40, see figure 3; pg. 3, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0034), wherein the bottom cover conducts a magnetic field in the speaker when a voice coil of the speaker is energized (magnetic circuit yoke made of magnetic metal material, see pg. 2, ¶ 0027; pg. 3, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura in view of US Patent Pub No 2018/0035188 A1 to Lim et al. (“Lim”).
As to claims 3 and 12, Kamimura discloses the speaker and method of respective claims 2 and 11.
Kamimura further discloses wherein the first metallic material is a first magnetically conductive material (see pg. 2, ¶ 0027), but does not expressly disclose the second metallic material is a second magnetically conductive material. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Lim, which discloses a similar speaker for a mobile device, and further discloses the speaker having upper and lower enclosure structures made with metallic magnetic materials (see Abstract; pg. 9, ¶ 0126; pg. 10, ¶ 0130 - ¶ 0131). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being as such a configuration can provide a magnetic flux shielding effect, which can increase an intensity of the magnetic flux density and therefore increase sound pressure generated by the speaker (Lim pg. 12, ¶ 0167, ¶ 0172 - ¶ 0173).
As to claims 4 and 13, Kamimura in view of Lim further discloses wherein a magnetic field produced by the magnet is substantially contained within the bottom cover and the top cover (Lim Abstract; pg. 9, ¶ 0111; pg. 12, ¶ 0172 - ¶ 0173).
5. Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura.
As to claims 8, 17 and 20, Kamimura discloses the speaker, method, and information handling system of respective claims 1, 10 and 19.
Kamimura does not expressly disclose wherein the speaker has a depth of less than 3.3 millimeters. However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Kamimura regarding a small and thin dynamic speaker (see pg. 1, ¶ 0001), and further as it has been held that changes in size and/or relative dimensions are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, the specific depth of the thin speaker as taught by Kamimura can depend on various factors such as the size and shape of the speaker components and their arrangement, as well as the type of portable device the speaker is incorporated in, provided that the speaker is small and thin enough to be mounted in such portable devices, as already taught by Kamimura.
As to claims 9 and 18, Kamimura does not expressly disclose wherein the speaker has a dimensional volume of less than 0.77 cubic millimeters. However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Kamimura regarding a small and thin dynamic speaker (see pg. 1, ¶ 0001), and further as it has been held that changes in size and/or relative dimensions are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, the specific dimensional volume of the thin speaker as taught by Kamimura can depend on various factors such as the size and shape of the speaker components and their arrangement, as well as the type of portable device the speaker is incorporated in, provided that the speaker is small and thin enough to be mounted in such portable devices, as already taught by Kamimura.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Applicant argues “the art of record fails to disclose the features of the independent claims as amended,” mainly that “the bottom cover conducts a magnetic field in the speaker when a voice coil of the speaker is energized.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kamimura discloses the speaker as recited in the claims, including a bottom cover formed of a first metallic material, the bottom cover being in the form of yoke-integral frame 60, which is made of a flat metal plate, i.e. a magnetic material (see figure 3; pg. 2, ¶ 0027). The frame 60 forms part of the magnetic circuit 10 as it includes yoke 11 integrally formed in a middle portion of bottom plate 61 (see figures 3-4; pg. 2, ¶ 0020 - ¶ 0021). The magnetic circuit includes a permanent magnet and magnetic metal materials configured to generate a magnetic flux in the magnetic gap, and the voice coil is positioned in the magnetic gap to interact with the magnetic field when a current is supplied from an external circuit, enabling the coil to vibrate and generate sound (see figures 3-4; pg. 2, ¶ 0027 - ¶ 0028; pg. 3, ¶ 0036). Kamimura is therefore considered to teach the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693