Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-16 and 18-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/12/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, filed 8/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7, of the remarks, filed on 8/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, that “However, without acquiescing to the properness of the rejection and in an effort to advance prosecution, Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to recite the subject matter of original claim 4 (now cancelled) which, as noted in the Office Action, "make[s] the claim limitation of independent claim 1 clear." Id. at p. 7. Independent claims 14 and 20 are amended in a similar manner. For at least this reason, Applicant respectfully submits that the standing rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are moot. Accordingly, withdrawal of the standing rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as applied to claims 1-20 and allowance of claims 1-20 is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, of the remarks, filed on 8/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 5/12/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the independent claims 1, 14 and 20 and added the limitation from dependent claims 4 which makes the limitation, “determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage” clear. Claim now recites the steps of determining the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. Therefore the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 5/12/2026 has been withdrawn as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-10, filed 8/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 8/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1, that “Amended claim 1 requires evaluating whether an amplitude of a monitored "signal emitting from the cable system component…. exceeds a predetermined threshold[. Schneider fails to disclose this limitation. Specifically, Schneider relies on fitting a series of sampled data points gathered along a driving path to a "theoretical signal profile," which is a mathematical curve relating changing amplitudes to geographic distance. Schnieder, col. 1, 11. 51-58; col. 4, 11. 40-56; col. 5, 11. 34-61; Claim 1. However, the curve-fitting mechanism disclosed in Schneider is fundamentally different from evaluating whether an amplitude monitored "in (Remarks-Page 8) proximity to the cable system component. exceeds a predetermined threshold" as required by amended claim 1.
Additionally, as noted in Applicant's previous response (dated July 10, 2026), neither Schneider nor Williams disclose or suggest identifying a specific "cable component" as the source of the leak. Instead, Schneider provides a detection system 10 that collects "rf leakage data" and correlates the collected data "with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24)." Id. at col. 2, 11. 59-65. Similarly, Williams derives a "bearing angle" using Doppler frequency components to determine the leakage-source location. Williams, " [0084]-[0093]. However, identifying spatial coordinates and/or geographic bearings is not the same as determining that a specific "cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage" as recited in amended claim 1. Moreover, neither Schneider nor Williams discloses or suggests "sending. a notification that identifies the cable system component" as the source of the signal leakage as recited in amended claim 1.
Lastly, Williams fails to cure the deficiencies of Schneider. While Williams does disclose driving or flying a receiver to capture Doppler shifts and calculating a bearing angle to a spatial point, Williams is silent on causing a drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to a specific cable system component, monitoring the emitted signal at the one or more proximate locations, and using a predetermined threshold to identify the specific cable system component as the source of the signal leakage. See id. at " [0014], [0084]-[0087], [0098].
For at least these reasons, Applicant submits that Schneider and Williams-taken alone and/or in combination-fail to disclose or suggest "determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage" by "causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component;" "monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component," and "determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold" as recited in amended claim 1 (Remarks-Page 9).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 8/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 5/12/2026 have been fully considered and is partially not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, “However, the curve-fitting mechanism disclosed in Schneider is fundamentally different from evaluating whether an amplitude monitored "in (Remarks-Page 8) proximity to the cable system component. exceeds a predetermined threshold" as required by amended claim 1” which is not persuasive. Schneider discloses, “The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58)”. Therefore, Schneider clearly discloses source location of the leakage is determined based upon a formed profile. Predetermined threshold is any threshold that can be considered as to compare to detect the signal leakage. Claim does not recite any specific value of predetermined threshold and therefore the formed profile disclosed by Schneider can be considered as the predetermined threshold for the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s argument, “Moreover, neither Schneider nor Williams discloses or suggests "sending a notification that identifies the cable system component" as the source of the signal leakage as recited in amended claim 1” is not persuasive. Because Schneider discloses, “The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42)”. Therefore, isolation is done depending on the value stored in the memory which is the notification of the system. Claim does not recite any specific notification system. Therefore, isolation is one type of notification of the system and Schneider also discloses the claim limitation. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
However applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage comprises: causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component; monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component; and determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold” and similar amendment for independent claims 14 and 20, which overcomes the present rejection of claims 1, 14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 5/12/2026. LEE DOO IL et al. in the Patent Application Publication Number KR101766633B1 (Publication date: 2017-08-09) is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of LEE DOO IL et al. in the Patent Application Publication Number KR101766633B1 (Publication date: 2017-08-09), as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references, See the rejection set forth below, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references, See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of LEE DOO IL et al. (Hereinafter, “Lee”) in the Patent Application Publication Number KR 101766633 B1 (Publication date: 2017-08-09).
Regarding claim 1, Schneider teaches a method (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), comprising:
detecting, by a computing system [10] (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) comprising a drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determining, by the computing system [10], that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
sending, by the computing system [10] to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable; wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage comprises: comprises: causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component; monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component; and determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Lee teaches a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines, and more specifically, to a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines that utilizes an unmanned aerial vehicle (e.g., a drone) (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage (FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of a leakage current detection system for an overhead transmission and distribution line according to the present invention; FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of an insulator leakage current analysis device of FIG. 1; FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b are first exemplary diagrams of detecting leakage current of a support insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-6) by the drone [110] (Here, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) can be any type of aircraft, and in the present invention, it is assumed that a drone is used as an example; Paragraph [0034] Line 4-5) while the drone is in proximity to the cable (Next, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) is brought close to an insulator installed on an overhead transmission and distribution line, and then precise control is performed through a wireless remote control (200) to position the current meter (130) shown in FIGS. 14 and 15 at the measurement location of the insulator, or the current meter (130) is positioned at the measurement location of the insulator; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-4);
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (FIGS. 9a and 9b are first exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; FIGS. 10a and 10b are second exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 18-23) comprises:
causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component (The leakage current measuring device (100) includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (110) equipped with equipment for measuring the leakage current of an insulator and moving to a measurement location via flight; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-3);
monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component (The present invention is effectively applied to a technology that measures the leakage current of insulators installed on overhead transmission and distribution lines using an unmanned aerial vehicle and analyzes the results to prevent accidents caused by the leakage current of the insulators in advance; Paragraph [0106] Line 1-3); and
determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (In addition, as shown in FIG. 7a and FIG. 7b, when the insulator (3) is a suspension insulator, the current measurement value of the secondary side of the suspension insulator (3) or the secondary side of the lightning arrester is compared with the reference current value to analyze whether there is leakage current or the amount of leakage current. Basically, if the measured current value is greater than the reference current value, it is determined that leakage current has occurred, and the amount of leakage current is checked based on the magnitude of the measured current value; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to conveniently and accurately detect leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and to analyze the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user, to measure the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device, to quickly detect leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Lee, because Lee teaches to include a drone conveniently and accurately detects leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and analyzes the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user (Paragraph [0001]), measures the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device (Paragraph [0005]), quickly detects leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein detecting the signal leakage in the above- ground cabling infrastructure comprises identifying a signal produced by the above-ground cabling infrastructure (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23),
wherein the signal matches a predetermined type of signal (By knowing the distance between the rings of FIG. 2b, it is possible to estimate the degree to which a signal is offset from the track of the vehicle by measuring the spatial frequency of the interference signals. The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 41-57).
Regarding claim 3, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58) comprises:
performing a triangulation of the cable system component (Claim 4. The method of detecting a leakage signal as in claim 3 further comprising determining the source location of the signal based upon a triangulation of the relative source directions),
wherein an amplitude of a signal emitting from the cable system component exceeds a predetermined threshold; and determining, based on the triangulation and the amplitude of the signal emitting from the cable system component, that the cable system component is the source of the signal leakage (The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 44-57).
Regarding claim 5, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the drone includes a plurality of sensors (antenna/ sensor or GPS) and wherein causing the drone to move to the one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component comprises:
determining, based on the plurality of sensors, a distance between the drone and the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 15-23); and
determining that the distance between the drone and the cable system component is a length where the drone can monitor the signal emitting from the cable system component (FIG. 7 is a direct comparison of p1n and p2n data (the two northerly runs past the leak 12). The data is plotted versus distance from the reference point in meters north and south of the peak. What is significant in FIG. 7 is that each feature in the two profiles p1n, p2n is repeated in the two runs down to a very minute level of detail. The conclusion that may be drawn is that these details are due to physical and spatial properties of the leak (and de facto antenna) and its surroundings and not due to temporal variations. Thus it should be possible to analyze signal features and draw conclusions about the leak 12 and the environment in which it is active; Column 7 Line 34-34; Claim 1. A method of determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a community antenna television distribution system, such method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of theoretical signal profiles that each relate theoretical leakage signals to source locations by distance; sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the community antenna television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable; matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles; and determining a source location of where the leakage signals leak from the distribution cable based upon the matched theoretical signal profile).
Regarding claim 6, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58) comprises:
causing the drone to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) in proximity to a plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14);
identifying a plurality of signals emitting from the plurality of cable system components (The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively; Column 7 Line 6-11);
determining an amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14); and
determining that a signal from among the plurality of signals has a highest amplitude, wherein the signal from the plurality of signals emits from the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 7, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining the amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals comprises:
causing the drone to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) to a location proximate to each of the plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14); and
determining an amplitude of a signal emitting from each cable system component (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14; The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 8, Schneider teaches a method, further comprising:
prior to detecting the signal leakage in the above-ground cabling infrastructure, obtaining geolocation data corresponding to a location of the above-ground cabling infrastructure (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Abstract; A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 29-35); and
causing the drone to move to a location proximate to the above-ground cabling infrastructure based on the geolocation data (Each curve 50, 52, 54, 56 represents a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective geographic location. From the increasing width of the base of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56, it may be seen that the curves represent an objective indication of the distance of the leak 12 from each of the paths upon which the data was collected. More specifically, since the other variables of equation 2 remain constant, equation 2 could be solved to provide a calculated distance of the leak 12 from the path of each of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56; Column 5 Line 52-61; From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Schneider teaches a method, further comprising:
subsequent to determining that the cable system component of the above- ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage, causing the drone to capture at least one image of the cable system component; and storing the at least one image in a database ( (Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 50-57; graph or chart or map as the image of the cable system component or a signal indicator of the cable system component).
Regarding claim 10, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the signal leakage comprises a radio frequency (RF) signal leakage (An rf leak 12 of the CATV system 30 may exist under any of a number of different formats (e.g., an impedance mismatch, a faulty connector, a break or fault in an rf shield, water penetrating a connector, etc). While the leak may exist under a number of different formats, the propagation of the energy from the leak may follow any of a number of paths and, in general, may be extremely complex; Column 2 Line 24-31).
Regarding claim 11, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the cable system component comprises one or more of a cable signal amplifier, a coaxial cable tap, or a coaxial cable (The field of the invention relates to cable television systems and more particularly to the identification to radio frequency leaks in the distribution cables of such systems; Column 1 Line 8-10; CATV systems distribute their signals to subscribers almost exclusively through coaxial cable systems. Where distribution distances are long, amplifiers are periodically provided to elevate signals to an acceptable level; Column 1 Line 30-33).
Regarding claim 12, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the destination device comprises a display device configured to control the drone (Claim 36. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 35 further comprising a display on the leak detection device and adapted to display distance and global positioning system data).
. Regarding claim 13, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the notification comprises one or more of an image of the cable system component, a location of the cable system component, or a signal indicator of the cable system component (Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 50-57; graph or chart or map as the image of the cable system component or a signal indicator of the cable system component; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data).
Regarding claim 14, Schneider teaches a computing device [10] in Figure 1 (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), comprising:
a memory [26] (In each case, the CPU 20 of the detector 10 causes a received signal strength indication (RSSI) 28 to perform a signal strength measurement on a detected signal. The CPU 20 also periodically (e.g., one per second) receives a position indication from the GPS 24. The CPU 20 receives and may store the collected information in a memory 26; Column 5 Line 46-51); and
a processor device [20] (CPU 20 as the processing device) coupled to the memory [26] (Figure 1 shows processing device coupled to the memory 26), the processor device to:
detect (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determine, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
send, by the computing system [10] to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable; wherein determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage comprises: comprises: cause the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component; monitor, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component; and determine that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Lee teaches a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines, and more specifically, to a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines that utilizes an unmanned aerial vehicle (e.g., a drone) (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage (FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of a leakage current detection system for an overhead transmission and distribution line according to the present invention; FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of an insulator leakage current analysis device of FIG. 1; FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b are first exemplary diagrams of detecting leakage current of a support insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-6) by the drone [110] (Here, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) can be any type of aircraft, and in the present invention, it is assumed that a drone is used as an example; Paragraph [0034] Line 4-5) while the drone is in proximity to the cable (Next, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) is brought close to an insulator installed on an overhead transmission and distribution line, and then precise control is performed through a wireless remote control (200) to position the current meter (130) shown in FIGS. 14 and 15 at the measurement location of the insulator, or the current meter (130) is positioned at the measurement location of the insulator; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-4);
wherein determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (FIGS. 9a and 9b are first exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; FIGS. 10a and 10b are second exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 18-23) comprises:
cause the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component (The leakage current measuring device (100) includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (110) equipped with equipment for measuring the leakage current of an insulator and moving to a measurement location via flight; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-3);
monitor, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component (The present invention is effectively applied to a technology that measures the leakage current of insulators installed on overhead transmission and distribution lines using an unmanned aerial vehicle and analyzes the results to prevent accidents caused by the leakage current of the insulators in advance; Paragraph [0106] Line 1-3); and
determine that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (In addition, as shown in FIG. 7a and FIG. 7b, when the insulator (3) is a suspension insulator, the current measurement value of the secondary side of the suspension insulator (3) or the secondary side of the lightning arrester is compared with the reference current value to analyze whether there is leakage current or the amount of leakage current. Basically, if the measured current value is greater than the reference current value, it is determined that leakage current has occurred, and the amount of leakage current is checked based on the magnitude of the measured current value; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to conveniently and accurately detect leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and to analyze the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user, to measure the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device, to quickly detect leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Lee, because Lee teaches to include a drone conveniently and accurately detects leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and analyzes the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user (Paragraph [0001]), measures the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device (Paragraph [0005]), quickly detects leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Schneider teaches a computing system,
wherein to detect the signal leakage in the above- ground cabling infrastructure comprises, the processor device is further to identify a signal produced by the above-ground cabling infrastructure (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23),
wherein the signal matches a predetermined type of signal (By knowing the distance between the rings of FIG. 2b, it is possible to estimate the degree to which a signal is offset from the track of the vehicle by measuring the spatial frequency of the interference signals. The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 41-57).
Regarding claim 16, Schneider teaches a computing system,
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58), the processor device is further to:
perform a triangulation of the cable system component (Claim 4. The method of detecting a leakage signal as in claim 3 further comprising determining the source location of the signal based upon a triangulation of the relative source directions),
wherein an amplitude of a signal emitting from the cable system component exceeds a predetermined threshold; and determine, based on the triangulation and the amplitude of the signal emitting from the cable system component, that the cable system component is the source of the signal leakage (The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 44-57).
Regarding claim 18, Schneider in view of Lee teaches a computing system,
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58), the processor device is further to:
cause the drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) in proximity to a plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14);
identify a plurality of signals emitting from the plurality of cable system components (The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively; Column 7 Line 6-11);
determine an amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14); and
determine that a signal from among the plurality of signals has a highest amplitude, wherein the signal from the plurality of signals emits from the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 19, Schneider in view of Lee teaches a computing system, wherein the processor device is further to:
prior to detecting the signal leakage in the above-ground cabling infrastructure, obtain geolocation data corresponding to a location of the above-ground cabling infrastructure (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Abstract; A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 29-35); and
cause the drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), to move to a location proximate to the above-ground cabling infrastructure based on the geolocation data (Each curve 50, 52, 54, 56 represents a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective geographic location. From the increasing width of the base of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56, it may be seen that the curves represent an objective indication of the distance of the leak 12 from each of the paths upon which the data was collected. More specifically, since the other variables of equation 2 remain constant, equation 2 could be solved to provide a calculated distance of the leak 12 from the path of each of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56; Column 5 Line 52-61; From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Schneider teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes computer-executable instructions that, when executed (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), cause one or more processor devices [20] (CPU 20 as the processing device) coupled to the memory [26] (Figure 1 shows processing device coupled to the memory 26; In each case, the CPU 20 of the detector 10 causes a received signal strength indication (RSSI) 28 to perform a signal strength measurement on a detected signal. The CPU 20 also periodically (e.g., one per second) receives a position indication from the GPS 24. The CPU 20 receives and may store the collected information in a memory 26; Column 5 Line 46-51) to:
detect (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determine, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
wherein determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58);
send, by the computing system [10] to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable; wherein determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage comprises: comprises: cause the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component; monitor, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component; and determine that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Lee teaches a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines, and more specifically, to a leakage current detection system for overhead transmission and distribution lines that utilizes an unmanned aerial vehicle (e.g., a drone) (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
determine, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage (FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of a leakage current detection system for an overhead transmission and distribution line according to the present invention; FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of an insulator leakage current analysis device of FIG. 1; FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b are first exemplary diagrams of detecting leakage current of a support insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-6) by the drone [110] (Here, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) can be any type of aircraft, and in the present invention, it is assumed that a drone is used as an example; Paragraph [0034] Line 4-5) while the drone is in proximity to the cable (Next, the unmanned aerial vehicle (110) is brought close to an insulator installed on an overhead transmission and distribution line, and then precise control is performed through a wireless remote control (200) to position the current meter (130) shown in FIGS. 14 and 15 at the measurement location of the insulator, or the current meter (130) is positioned at the measurement location of the insulator; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-4);
wherein determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (FIGS. 9a and 9b are first exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; FIGS. 10a and 10b are second exemplary diagrams for detecting leakage current in an internal insulator installed on a transmission line using a leakage current detection device for an overhead transmission and distribution line using an aircraft of the present invention; Paragraph [0026] Line 18-23) comprises:
cause the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component (The leakage current measuring device (100) includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (110) equipped with equipment for measuring the leakage current of an insulator and moving to a measurement location via flight; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-3);
monitor, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component (The present invention is effectively applied to a technology that measures the leakage current of insulators installed on overhead transmission and distribution lines using an unmanned aerial vehicle and analyzes the results to prevent accidents caused by the leakage current of the insulators in advance; Paragraph [0106] Line 1-3); and
determine that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (In addition, as shown in FIG. 7a and FIG. 7b, when the insulator (3) is a suspension insulator, the current measurement value of the secondary side of the suspension insulator (3) or the secondary side of the lightning arrester is compared with the reference current value to analyze whether there is leakage current or the amount of leakage current. Basically, if the measured current value is greater than the reference current value, it is determined that leakage current has occurred, and the amount of leakage current is checked based on the magnitude of the measured current value; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to conveniently and accurately detect leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and to analyze the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user, to measure the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device, to quickly detect leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Lee, because Lee teaches to include a drone conveniently and accurately detects leakage current flowing through insulators of overhead transmission and distribution lines that are difficult for humans to approach and measure, and analyzes the detected leakage current of the insulators to provide information on insulator replacement to the user (Paragraph [0001]), measures the leakage current flowing through an insulator, a measurer carries a current measuring device up a transmission tower and manually measures the leakage current using the device (Paragraph [0005]), quickly detects leakage current flowing through the insulator and replace the insulator promptly if the level exceeds a certain standard (Paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fong (US 20050198688 A1) discloses, “System And Method For Digitally Monitoring A Cable Plant-[0002] The present invention relates to certification and monitoring of a cable system or plant, and more particularly to certifying a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) cable plant and subsequently monitoring its performance. [0022] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating the interconnectivity of some components of an HFC CATV cable plant 100B capable of interactive data service. This diagram is greatly simplified for ease of explanation. HFC cable plant 100B encompasses a headend 180 containing a cable modem termination system (CMTS) 190 coupled to one end of each of three fiber optic trunk cables 210. Each trunk cable 210 at its other end is coupled to a respective one of three optical network units 220. Although FIG. 2 shows three trunk cables 210 coupling to termination system 190, other configurations having a larger or small number of coupled trunk cables 210 are possible. Similarly, some embodiments in accordance with the invention have multiple termination systems 190. [0023] Each optical network unit 220 couples one fiber optic trunk 210 to one coaxial cable run 122, and thus serves as the initiation point of local distribution networks, one of which, network 130, is shown in some detail for illustrative purposes. Exemplary distribution network 130 is a branched network of coaxial cable runs 125. At various points within distribution network 130, splitters 140 allow a single cable run 122 or 125 to branch into two or more cable runs 125. Each branched cable run 125 has a number of signal amplifiers 150 positioned appropriately for maintaining the sufficient signal strength being supplied to a user site 392. Where branched cable run 125 passes a user site 392, a cable tap 160 couples a cable modem 394 at user site 392 to cable run 125, providing cable modem 394 with interactive data service. Cable modems may be from various vendors, including but not limited to 3COM Cable Modem CMX, Thomson RCA DCM105, General Instrument SB3100, Sony CMR-1000, or Philips PD10D. The typical distance covered is a few hundred feet. Any Data Over Cable Service Interface Specification (DOCSIS) compliant cable modems would report power levels, signal-to-noise ratios, timing offsets, frame error counts, microreflection levels, and equalizer settings. [0024] While not shown, each amplifier 150 is a bi-directional amplifier capable of amplifying both downstream and upstream signals. The signal level below which amplification is needed is -15 dBmV, where dBmV (decibels relative to one millivolt across 75 ohms) is a measure of RF power. The cable modem would not be able to receive an input beyond the range of -15 dBmV to +15 dBmV, otherwise known as the dynamic range. [0026] FIG. 3 is a simplified flow diagram of operational steps using analog and digital methods for certifying and maintaining an HFC cable plant. Beginning in step 310, an HFC cable plant 100B is newly constructed, upgraded or re-adjusted. Step 315 tests HFC cable plant 100B until granting analog certification. If in step 315 the tests fail to establish such certification, the process returns on "No" path 312 to step 310 and additional adjustments and upgrades are made. Once the step 315 analog testing is successfully passed, the process follows "Yes" path 318 and in step 320 grants analog certification for HFC cable plant 100B. [0027] Next, step 330 digitally tests HFC cable plant 100B. Unlike the analog testing of step 315, digital testing is generally automated and thus does not require travel to various cable plant locations for testing purposes. The digital testing processes generally take advantage of the "smart" nature of the digital components used in building or upgrading HFC cable plant 100B. Thus components such as cable modems 394 (FIG. 2), digital amplifiers 150 (FIG. 2) and the like are configurable to automatically provide performance and status data to a central site-However Fong does not disclose wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage comprises: causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component; monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component; and determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold; and sending, by the computing system to a destination device, a notification that identifies the cable system component.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858