Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 2/05/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, filed 2/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 2/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, that “A claim is definite under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph if those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification. Power-One, Inc. V. Artesyn Techs., Inc., 599 F.3d 1343, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Orthokinetics, Inc. V. Safety Travel Chairs, Inc., 806 F.2d 1565 (Fed. Cir. 1986) …… (remarks-Page 7)
Applicant notes that the subject application and dependent claims provide multiple mechanisms via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal. For example, paragraph 0027 of the subject application discloses a triangulation mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal. Paragraph 0022 of the subject application discloses a predetermined threshold mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal. Thus, Applicant submits that one skilled in the art would clearly understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification.
Interestingly, the Patent Office asserts "It is not clear what steps are used to determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage," and yet rejects claims 3, 4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, each of which recites steps "used to determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage," and thus it is unclear exactly what the Patent Office believes would provide sufficient clarity.
Because one skilled in the art would clearly understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification, Applicant submits that claim 1 comports with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, and thus respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn. Claims 14 and 20 contain limitations substantially similar to those discussed herein with regard to claim 1 and comport with 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph for at least the same reasons (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 2/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “A claim is definite under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph if those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification….”. However, applicant misinterprets the principles that claims are interpreted in light of the specification. Claims are interpreted in light of the specification however one of an ordinary skill would need to understand the claim language without incorporating the limitation from specification. At first claim 1 recites, detecting, by a computing system comprising a drone, a signal leakage in an above-ground cabling infrastructure”. Then claim 1 recites, “determining by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage…..”. Therefore, Claim looks like that some of the method steps are missing to determine the cable system component…………………. Because claim does not recite after detecting a signal leakage how the signal leakage is used to determine a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. Then claim 1 recites, “based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage…..”. However, it is not clear how a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage is determined and based on the sensed amplitude determine that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. Therefore, the limitation is not clear.
In response to Applicant's argument that the subject application and dependent claims provide multiple mechanisms via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal. For example, paragraph 0027 of the subject application discloses a triangulation mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal. Paragraph 0022 of the subject application discloses a predetermined threshold mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal., applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (multiple mechanisms via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal…a triangulation mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal…… a predetermined threshold mechanism via which the determination of the cable system component can be made based at least in part of the sensed amplitude of the signal) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Interestingly, the Patent Office asserts "It is not clear what steps are used to determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage," and yet rejects claims 3, 4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, each of which recites steps "used to determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage," and thus it is unclear exactly what the Patent Office believes would provide sufficient clarity” which is not persuasive. Examiner in the rejection rejected claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph however examiner in the rejection never rejected claims 3, 4 or 6 separately under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. Examiner in the rejection in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 11/05/2025 rejected claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention and Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 1. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Similarly, applicant’s argument regarding independent claims 14 and 20 and dependent claims 16-19 are not pe3rsuasive because of the same reason as stated above.
Therefore, the rejection Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025 has been maintained as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Examiner Note: However, for expedite prosecution examiner suggests to incorporate the limitation from dependent claim 3/4/6 which would make the claim limitation of independent claim 1 clear. However further consideration and search will be required regarding allowability.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, filed 2/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9, of the remarks, filed on 2/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, that “Applicant's claim 1 recites "detecting, by a computing system comprising a drone, a signal leakage in an above-ground cabling infrastructure; " The Patent Office asserts that these features are disclosed by columns 2 and 9 of Schneider (Office Action, pp. 5-6). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Schneider discloses the use of a vehicle with a detector that drives on a road at different speeds (Schneider, col. 7, lines 4-14). Schneider contains no disclosure regarding a drone…….. In contrast, Applicant's recited drone can move into proximity, e.g., two feet, of different cable system components to measure amplitudes extremely accurately and identify a specific cable system component. Applicant's recited drone thus eliminates many of the weaknesses that Schneider discloses.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9, of the remarks, filed on 12/30/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Claim 1 recites, “detecting, by a computing system comprising a drone ..”. Claim only recites that the computing system comprises a drone. Schneider discloses, “A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35)”. Claim 1 does not recite anything about the drone any function of the drone. Claim only recites a computing system comprises a drone. Schneider discloses a moving vehicle where the GPS is situated and therefore can be function as a drone as the drone is some kind of vehicle for measuring data. Applicant argues that “In contrast, Applicant's recited drone can move into proximity, e.g., two feet, of different cable system components to measure amplitudes extremely accurately and identify a specific cable system component.” However, claim does not recite any of the limitation. Claim is rejected in light of the specification and the specification is not incorporated in the claim for rejecting the claim. It is the claim which is rejected using references. Claim does not recite any function or purpose of the drone or any steps done by the drone. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., drone can move into proximity, e.g., two feet, of different cable system components to measure amplitudes extremely accurately and identify a specific cable system component) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
In response to Applicant's argument that in contrast, Applicant's recited drone can move into proximity, e.g., two feet, of different cable system components to measure amplitudes extremely accurately and identify a specific cable system component and applicant's recited drone thus eliminates many of the weaknesses that Schneider discloses, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (drone can move into proximity, e.g., two feet, of different cable system components to measure amplitudes extremely accurately and identify a specific cable system component) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 2/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, that “Applicant's claim 1, as amended, recites: ….. The Patent Office asserts that these features, prior to the amendment herein, are disclosed by columns 1-3 of Schneider (Office Action, p. 6). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Schneider discloses a ground-based mechanism to determine a location of a leak. Nowhere does Schneider disclose an ability to identify a particular "cable system component" as a source of a leak (Remarks-Page 9) …………..
Thus, Schneider discloses that a location is identified. Nowhere does Schneider teach or suggest a mechanism to "determine[e] that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage" as recited in Applicant's claim 1. Moreover, nowhere does Schneider teach or suggest "a sensed [[an]] amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is at a predetermined distance from the cable system component," at least for the reason that Schneider fails to teach or suggest the use of a drone in any context.
Applicant's claim 1 recites "sending, by the computing system to a destination device, a notification that identifies the cable system component." The Patent Office asserts that these features disclosed by columns 1 and 8 and Figure 10 of Schneider (Office Action, pp. 6-7). Applicant respectfully disagrees. The referenced portions of Schneider disclose analyses of signals in an attempt to identify a location of signal leakage. Nowhere does Schneider disclose an ability to determine that a particular "cable system component" is the source of a leak, and thus Schneider cannot disclose "sending, by the computing system to a destination device, a notification that identifies the cable system component."
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that claim 1 is patentably distinct from the cited art. Claims 14 and 20 contain limitations substantially similar to those discussed herein with regard to claim 1 and should thus be allowable for at least the same reasons (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 2/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025 have been fully considered and is partially persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Moreover, nowhere does Schneider teach or suggest "a sensed [[an]] amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is at a predetermined distance from the cable system component," at least for the reason that Schneider fails to teach or suggest the use of a drone in any context.”. Applicant argument is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable system component;” and similar amendment for independent claims 14 and 20, which overcomes the present rejection of claims 1, 14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025. Because claim now recites based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable system component. Schneider does not disclose determine based on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable system component. Therefore, present amendment overcomes the rejection of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/05/2025, as set forth below. Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references, See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant argues that, “Schneider cannot disclose "sending, by the computing system to a destination device, a notification that identifies the cable system component." Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.”
Schneider discloses, “The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58”. Therefore, Schneider discloses to determine the source location and create leakage signal profile. However, applicant has amended the claims as stated above. Therefore, Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references, See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage; and sending, by the computing system to a destination device, a notification that identifies the cable system component.” The limitation is not clear. Because claim does not recite how to determine a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. It is not clear what steps are used to determine the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. At first claim 1 recites, detecting, by a computing system comprising a drone, a signal leakage in an above-ground cabling infrastructure”. Then claim 1 recites, “determining by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage…..”. Therefore, Claim looks like that some of the method steps are missing to determine the cable system component…………………. Because claim does not recite after detecting a signal leakage how the signal leakage is used to determine a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. Then claim 1 recites, “based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage…..”. However, it is not clear how a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage is determined and based on the sensed amplitude determine that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage. Therefore, the claim limitation is not clear.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
For the purpose of present examination any steps of determining the cable system component are construed to mean interaction values.
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, because of the same reason as stated above.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (Hereinafter, “Schneider”) in the US Patent Number US 6833859 B1 in view of Williams in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20170019148 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Schneider teaches a method (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), comprising:
detecting, by a computing system [10] (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) comprising a drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determining, by the computing system [10], that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58); and
sending, by the computing system [10] to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable.
Williams teaches in FIG. 17, a diagram 1700 illustratively representing a cable 1704 within a cable plant that has damage to the cable's shield, which causes it to act as a stationary leakage antenna 1710 (Paragraph [0084] Line 1-4); The cable 1704 transports a leakage test signal 1702, and example of which is a stable continuous wave (CW) carrier or other deterministic signal, such as a DOCSIS 3.1 signal with pilots (Paragraph [0085] Line 1-4), wherein
determining, by the computing system, a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable (The embodiment described in FIG. 17 may be utilized in multiple ways. It can be carried by a human or placed on a cart, where an accelerometer may cooperate with the system to provide uniform I-Q samples. The present system and method may also be mounted on a vehicle, examples of which include by are not limited to a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle. Likewise the embodiment can be flown by a manned aircraft or drone. When aerial, geometry considerations vary relative to ground testing. For example, when driving the 3-D cone intersects with the ground along a “V” shape. However, when flying the ground (containing the leakage antenna) intersects slices the 3-D cone along a hyperbola, assuming level flight. So geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions when time is included; Paragraph [0098] Line 1-15; Williams did not show the position of the drone is in proximity to the cable however it is understood from the figure that the drone is placed in proximity to the cable for measurement; Williams teaches that Figure 17 could be done for cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction such as may be beneficial in an airborne, terrestrial, or cable “walking” drone implementation (Paragraph [0095] Line 12-15). Therefore, by using a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle or drone geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions). The purpose of doing so is to have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction, to provide automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit, to have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, to focus on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Williams, because Williams teaches to include a drone have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction (Paragraph [0095]), provides automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit (Paragraph [0099]), have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, focuses on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather (Paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 2, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein detecting the signal leakage in the above- ground cabling infrastructure comprises identifying a signal produced by the above-ground cabling infrastructure (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23),
wherein the signal matches a predetermined type of signal (By knowing the distance between the rings of FIG. 2b, it is possible to estimate the degree to which a signal is offset from the track of the vehicle by measuring the spatial frequency of the interference signals. The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 41-57).
Regarding claim 3, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58) comprises:
performing a triangulation of the cable system component (Claim 4. The method of detecting a leakage signal as in claim 3 further comprising determining the source location of the signal based upon a triangulation of the relative source directions),
wherein an amplitude of a signal emitting from the cable system component exceeds a predetermined threshold; and determining, based on the triangulation and the amplitude of the signal emitting from the cable system component, that the cable system component is the source of the signal leakage (The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 44-57).
Regarding claim 4, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58) comprises:
causing the drone to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component (1. A method of determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a community antenna television distribution system, such method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of theoretical signal profiles that each relate theoretical leakage signals to source locations by distance;
monitoring, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component (Claim 1: sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the community antenna television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable; matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles); and
determining that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (Claim 1: matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles; and determining a source location of where the leakage signals leak from the distribution cable based upon the matched theoretical signal profile).
Regarding claim 5, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the drone includes a plurality of sensors (antenna/ sensor or GPS) and wherein causing the drone to move to the one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component comprises:
determining, based on the plurality of sensors, a distance between the drone and the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 15-23); and
determining that the distance between the drone and the cable system component is a length where the drone can monitor the signal emitting from the cable system component (FIG. 7 is a direct comparison of p1n and p2n data (the two northerly runs past the leak 12). The data is plotted versus distance from the reference point in meters north and south of the peak. What is significant in FIG. 7 is that each feature in the two profiles p1n, p2n is repeated in the two runs down to a very minute level of detail. The conclusion that may be drawn is that these details are due to physical and spatial properties of the leak (and de facto antenna) and its surroundings and not due to temporal variations. Thus it should be possible to analyze signal features and draw conclusions about the leak 12 and the environment in which it is active; Column 7 Line 34-34; Claim 1. A method of determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a community antenna television distribution system, such method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of theoretical signal profiles that each relate theoretical leakage signals to source locations by distance; sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the community antenna television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable; matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles; and determining a source location of where the leakage signals leak from the distribution cable based upon the matched theoretical signal profile).
Regarding claim 6, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58) comprises:
causing the drone to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) in proximity to a plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14);
identifying a plurality of signals emitting from the plurality of cable system components (The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively; Column 7 Line 6-11);
determining an amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14); and
determining that a signal from among the plurality of signals has a highest amplitude, wherein the signal from the plurality of signals emits from the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 7, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein determining the amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals comprises:
causing the drone to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) to a location proximate to each of the plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14); and
determining an amplitude of a signal emitting from each cable system component (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14; The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 8, Schneider teaches a method, further comprising:
prior to detecting the signal leakage in the above-ground cabling infrastructure, obtaining geolocation data corresponding to a location of the above-ground cabling infrastructure (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Abstract; A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 29-35); and
causing the drone to move to a location proximate to the above-ground cabling infrastructure based on the geolocation data (Each curve 50, 52, 54, 56 represents a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective geographic location. From the increasing width of the base of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56, it may be seen that the curves represent an objective indication of the distance of the leak 12 from each of the paths upon which the data was collected. More specifically, since the other variables of equation 2 remain constant, equation 2 could be solved to provide a calculated distance of the leak 12 from the path of each of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56; Column 5 Line 52-61; From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Schneider teaches a method, further comprising:
subsequent to determining that the cable system component of the above- ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage, causing the drone to capture at least one image of the cable system component; and storing the at least one image in a database ( (Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 50-57; graph or chart or map as the image of the cable system component or a signal indicator of the cable system component).
Regarding claim 10, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the signal leakage comprises a radio frequency (RF) signal leakage (An rf leak 12 of the CATV system 30 may exist under any of a number of different formats (e.g., an impedance mismatch, a faulty connector, a break or fault in an rf shield, water penetrating a connector, etc). While the leak may exist under a number of different formats, the propagation of the energy from the leak may follow any of a number of paths and, in general, may be extremely complex; Column 2 Line 24-31).
Regarding claim 11, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the cable system component comprises one or more of a cable signal amplifier, a coaxial cable tap, or a coaxial cable (The field of the invention relates to cable television systems and more particularly to the identification to radio frequency leaks in the distribution cables of such systems; Column 1 Line 8-10; CATV systems distribute their signals to subscribers almost exclusively through coaxial cable systems. Where distribution distances are long, amplifiers are periodically provided to elevate signals to an acceptable level; Column 1 Line 30-33).
Regarding claim 12, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the destination device comprises a display device configured to control the drone (Claim 36. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 35 further comprising a display on the leak detection device and adapted to display distance and global positioning system data).
. Regarding claim 13, Schneider teaches a method,
wherein the notification comprises one or more of an image of the cable system component, a location of the cable system component, or a signal indicator of the cable system component (Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 50-57; graph or chart or map as the image of the cable system component or a signal indicator of the cable system component; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data).
Regarding claim 14, Schneider teaches a computing device [10] in Figure 1 (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), comprising:
a memory [26] (In each case, the CPU 20 of the detector 10 causes a received signal strength indication (RSSI) 28 to perform a signal strength measurement on a detected signal. The CPU 20 also periodically (e.g., one per second) receives a position indication from the GPS 24. The CPU 20 receives and may store the collected information in a memory 26; Column 5 Line 46-51); and
a processor device [20] (CPU 20 as the processing device) coupled to the memory [26] (Figure 1 shows processing device coupled to the memory 26), the processor device to:
detect (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determining, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58); and
send, to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that to determine that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable.
Williams teaches in FIG. 17, a diagram 1700 illustratively representing a cable 1704 within a cable plant that has damage to the cable's shield, which causes it to act as a stationary leakage antenna 1710 (Paragraph [0084] Line 1-4); The cable 1704 transports a leakage test signal 1702, and example of which is a stable continuous wave (CW) carrier or other deterministic signal, such as a DOCSIS 3.1 signal with pilots (Paragraph [0085] Line 1-4), wherein
determine, by the computing system, a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable (The embodiment described in FIG. 17 may be utilized in multiple ways. It can be carried by a human or placed on a cart, where an accelerometer may cooperate with the system to provide uniform I-Q samples. The present system and method may also be mounted on a vehicle, examples of which include by are not limited to a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle. Likewise the embodiment can be flown by a manned aircraft or drone. When aerial, geometry considerations vary relative to ground testing. For example, when driving the 3-D cone intersects with the ground along a “V” shape. However, when flying the ground (containing the leakage antenna) intersects slices the 3-D cone along a hyperbola, assuming level flight. So geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions when time is included; Paragraph [0098] Line 1-15; Williams did not show the position of the drone is in proximity to the cable however it is understood from the figure that the drone is placed in proximity to the cable for measurement; Williams teaches that Figure 17 could be done for cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction such as may be beneficial in an airborne, terrestrial, or cable “walking” drone implementation (Paragraph [0095] Line 12-15). Therefore, by using a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle or drone geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions). The purpose of doing so is to have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction, to provide automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit, to have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, to focus on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Williams, because Williams teaches to include a drone have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction (Paragraph [0095]), provides automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit (Paragraph [0099]), have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, focuses on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather (Paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, Schneider teaches a computing system,
wherein to detect the signal leakage in the above- ground cabling infrastructure comprises, the processor device is further to identify a signal produced by the above-ground cabling infrastructure (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23),
wherein the signal matches a predetermined type of signal (By knowing the distance between the rings of FIG. 2b, it is possible to estimate the degree to which a signal is offset from the track of the vehicle by measuring the spatial frequency of the interference signals. The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 41-57).
Regarding claim 16, Schneider teaches a computing system,
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58), the processor device is further to:
perform a triangulation of the cable system component (Claim 4. The method of detecting a leakage signal as in claim 3 further comprising determining the source location of the signal based upon a triangulation of the relative source directions),
wherein an amplitude of a signal emitting from the cable system component exceeds a predetermined threshold; and determine, based on the triangulation and the amplitude of the signal emitting from the cable system component, that the cable system component is the source of the signal leakage (The rings of FIG. 2b represents a theoretical distance to leak that may be determined from signal leakage data. In each case, the theoretical distance to leak 12 is stored as a signal profile that sampled data may be compared with. In each case a normalized signal measurement is stored in conjunction with GPS data. Alternatively, theoretical data may be adjusted for local conditions to create empirical data profiles stored in memory 26 as a set of profiles that may be matched to a particular data set. In addition, an adjusted distance to leak figure in increments of feet or meters may be provided, based on a characterized theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distance table eligible for transfer to a map, graph or chart of the geographical are under survey; Column 4 Line 44-57).
Regarding claim 17, Schneider in view of Williams teaches a computing system,
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58), the processor device is further to:
cause a drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), to move to one or more locations in proximity to the cable system component (1. A method of determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a community antenna television distribution system, such method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of theoretical signal profiles that each relate theoretical leakage signals to source locations by distance);
monitor, by the drone, a signal emitting from the cable system component (Claim 1: sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the community antenna television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable; matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles); and
determine that an amplitude of the signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (Claim 1: matching the sampled leakage signals with a theoretical signal profile of the plurality of theoretical signal profiles; and determining a source location of where the leakage signals leak from the distribution cable based upon the matched theoretical signal profile).
Regarding claim 18, Schneider in view of Williams teaches a computing system,
wherein to determine that the cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is the source of the signal leakage (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58), the processor device is further to:
cause the drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), to move (vehicle moves with the detector 10 makes the drone as the detector 10 to move) in proximity to a plurality of cable system components (FIG. 6 shows a sequence of leakage data including four runs past a large leak 12 intentionally inserted into a system 30. The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively. FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing. The strong peaks vary in width from pass to pass because the vehicle drove past the leak 12 at different speeds; Column 7 Line 4-14);
identify a plurality of signals emitting from the plurality of cable system components (The leak 12 was located approximately 28 meter from a road running past a front of a structure. The vehicle containing the detector 10 rove past the leak 12 at varying speeds making two asses traveling south and two passes traveling north. These passes are annotated as p1s, p1n, p2s and p2n, respectively; Column 7 Line 6-11);
determine an amplitude of each signal of the plurality of signals (FIG. 6 shows the raw data of the profile prior to any processing; Column 7 Line 8-14); and
determine that a signal from among the plurality of signals has a highest amplitude, wherein the signal from the plurality of signals emits from the cable system component (The data of the different runs may be compared by first normalizing the data to position. Selecting the largest value in each run as a reference point, the distance of the detector 10 to the reference point may be calculated using the GPS information. Intermediate positions may be interpolated by assuming the vehicle's speed did not change between GPS updates one a second. The data of the runs may then be compared directly; Column 7 Line 16-23).
Regarding claim 19, Schneider teaches a computing system, wherein the processor device is further to:
prior to detecting the signal leakage in the above-ground cabling infrastructure, obtain geolocation data corresponding to a location of the above-ground cabling infrastructure (The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Abstract; A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 29-35); and
cause the drone [leak detector/ CPU 38/ sensor 17 in Figure 11] (A leak detector may be located in the moving vehicle and may include the receiver 18, transmitter 22, CPU 20 and GPS 24. The data collected from the moving vehicle may be transceived with the headend via the leak using the Ethernet, Bluetooth, or other similar transmission protocol. A host 38 located at the head end 30 may receive the transceived data and perform the functions of correlation, profiling, peak detection and distance determination. Based upon the GPS data transceived along with the sampled data, the headend host may plot a leak location on a geographic map; Column 9 Line 24-35), to move to a location proximate to the above-ground cabling infrastructure based on the geolocation data (Each curve 50, 52, 54, 56 represents a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective geographic location. From the increasing width of the base of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56, it may be seen that the curves represent an objective indication of the distance of the leak 12 from each of the paths upon which the data was collected. More specifically, since the other variables of equation 2 remain constant, equation 2 could be solved to provide a calculated distance of the leak 12 from the path of each of the curves 50, 52, 54, 56; Column 5 Line 52-61; From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Schneider teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes computer-executable instructions that, when executed (A method and apparatus are provided for determining a source of a leakage signal from a distribution cable of a cable television distribution system; Column 1 Line 48-50; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an rf leak detector system 10, generally in accordance with an illustrated embodiment of the invention. Under the illustrated embodiment, the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 18-23), cause one or more processor devices [20] (CPU 20 as the processing device) coupled to the memory [26] (Figure 1 shows processing device coupled to the memory 26; In each case, the CPU 20 of the detector 10 causes a received signal strength indication (RSSI) 28 to perform a signal strength measurement on a detected signal. The CPU 20 also periodically (e.g., one per second) receives a position indication from the GPS 24. The CPU 20 receives and may store the collected information in a memory 26; Column 5 Line 46-51) to:
detect (detection system 10 as the computing system as it detects the leakage) (the detector system 10 may be portable and may be mounted within a vehicle (not shown) for purposes of profiling the leakage characteristics of a CATV system 30; Column 2 Line 20-23) a signal leakage [12] in an above-ground cabling infrastructure (Figure 2b shows the above ground cabling infrastructure) (8) Under the illustrated embodiment, the detection system 12 may collect rf leakage data within an environs of the leak 12. Typically the data may be collected at a relatively high sampling rate (e.g., 20 Hz). Collection of the data may be correlated with indicia of geographic location (e.g., latitude and longitude provided by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 24); Column 2 Line 59-65);
determining, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage (From the data collected by the system 10, profiles may be created of the characteristics of the rf leak 12, which relate signal strength to geographic location. From the profiles, the location of the rf leak 12 may be determined; Column 2 Line 66-67 & Column 3 Line 1-2; The method includes the steps of sampling the leakage signal from the distribution cable of the cable television distribution system at each of a plurality of geographic locations within an environs of the cable, forming a leakage signal profile relating each sample with a respective location of the plurality of geographic locations; and determining a source location of the leakage signal based upon the formed profile; Column 1 Line 51-58); and
send, to a destination device [40], a notification that identifies the cable system component (FIG. 10 depicts data collected by the receiver 34 from signals transmitted by the detector 10 during an ingression run. Data was collected at 221 sample points. Each transmission interval was triggered within the detector 10 by the GPS 24 providing a reading (i.e., once a second). GPS position data and leakage detector readings are transmitted by the transmitter 22 and received by the receiver 34 at the headend 42. During the receipt of the data, the carrier level of the signal from the transmitter 22 is measured in the RSSI detector 36. The readings are recorded with the receive position and leakage data in a memory 40; Column 8 Line 39-49; Claim 39. The apparatus for calculating distance as in claim 37 wherein the apparatus for calculating distance further comprises a storage media coupled to the leak detection device and central processing unit and upon which resides peripheral device control software and processing algorithms necessary for discerning isolation of primary leakage source and assignation of distance to leak as derived from embedded theoretical or empirical amplitude versus distances tables and correlation to action sampling time-frame global positioning system data; See claim 36 claim 42).
Schneider teaches determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on an amplitude of the signal leakage.
However, Schneider fails to teach that to determine that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable.
Williams teaches in FIG. 17, a diagram 1700 illustratively representing a cable 1704 within a cable plant that has damage to the cable's shield, which causes it to act as a stationary leakage antenna 1710 (Paragraph [0084] Line 1-4); The cable 1704 transports a leakage test signal 1702, and example of which is a stable continuous wave (CW) carrier or other deterministic signal, such as a DOCSIS 3.1 signal with pilots (Paragraph [0085] Line 1-4), wherein
determine, by the computing system, a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable (The embodiment described in FIG. 17 may be utilized in multiple ways. It can be carried by a human or placed on a cart, where an accelerometer may cooperate with the system to provide uniform I-Q samples. The present system and method may also be mounted on a vehicle, examples of which include by are not limited to a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle. Likewise the embodiment can be flown by a manned aircraft or drone. When aerial, geometry considerations vary relative to ground testing. For example, when driving the 3-D cone intersects with the ground along a “V” shape. However, when flying the ground (containing the leakage antenna) intersects slices the 3-D cone along a hyperbola, assuming level flight. So geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions when time is included; Paragraph [0098] Line 1-15; Williams did not show the position of the drone is in proximity to the cable however it is understood from the figure that the drone is placed in proximity to the cable for measurement; Williams teaches that Figure 17 could be done for cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction such as may be beneficial in an airborne, terrestrial, or cable “walking” drone implementation (Paragraph [0095] Line 12-15). Therefore, by using a cable service vehicle, a taxi, or a delivery vehicle or drone geometric leakage calculations are made in three dimensions or four dimensions). The purpose of doing so is to have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction, to provide automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit, to have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, to focus on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Schneider by including a drone as disclosed by Williams, because Williams teaches to include a drone have the benefit of cost reduction, power reduction, or weight reduction (Paragraph [0095]), provides automatic testing, where a driver of a vehicle is not aware test data is being gathered. In this mode the collected leakage data can be uploaded over a wireless link, for example, when the vehicle is parked near a wireless data receiving unit (Paragraph [0099]), have the data obtained by leakage detection can be manually or automatically placed into a data base and processed, focuses on proactive network maintenance, troubleshooting interference with wireless services, or tracking new leaks or leaks that vary with time and weather (Paragraph [0100]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alkadi et al. (US 20180095032 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR REMOTE INSPECTION OF INDUSTRIAL ASSETS- [0001] The field of the disclosure relates generally to inspection apparatuses and, more particularly, to a system and method for inspection of industrial assets using inspection apparatuses. [0022] FIG. 1 is a schematic view of an exemplary asset inspection system 100 for inspecting industrial assets in a geographic region 101. In the exemplary embodiment, asset inspection system 100 is configured to inspect oil and gas equipment geographic region 101. Asset inspection system 100 includes one or more inspection apparatuses 102, which, in the exemplary embodiment, are inspection vehicles 102. Each of inspection vehicles 102 is capable of autonomous, semi-autonomous, and fully piloted navigation. Inspection vehicles 102 include, without limitation, aerial, ground-based, and water-based vehicles. Aerial vehicles include, without limitation, fixed wing aircraft, tilt-rotor aircraft, helicopters, multirotor drone aircrafts such as quadcopters, blimps, dirigibles, or other aircrafts. Ground-based inspection vehicles include, without limitation, wheeled vehicles, crawling or walking vehicles, vehicles with tracks, and air-cushioned vehicles (such as hovercrafts). Water-based vehicles include, without limitation, boats and other surface-based vehicles, submarines, and underwater rovers. Each of inspection vehicles 102 is communicatively coupled to a remote processing device 104, using one or more wireless communications standards. In the exemplary embodiment, remote processing device 104 is further communicatively coupled to mobile computing device 106, remote data source 108, and industrial cloud-based platform 110-However Alkadi does not disclose determining, by the computing system, that a cable system component of the above-ground cabling infrastructure is a source of the signal leakage based at least in part on a sensed amplitude of the signal leakage by the drone while the drone is in proximity to the cable system component.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858