DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “form factor” and “spectrum of form factors” of Claims 13 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, as the “form factor” and “spectrum of form factors” are neither shown in the Figures nor defined in the specification in a way to provide additional meaning, it is unclear what constitutes a “form factor” or “spectrum of form factors.” The specification (see [0042], describes that the “form factor . . . or a spectrum of form factors” has “an expected range of value based on the donor tooth” and that the “preparation tool is adjustable to accommodate the form factor or the spectrum of form factors desired in an autotransplantation process”, but does not provide a definition, parameters, or structure associated with the “form factors or spectrum of form factors.” For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted broadly to mean any custom sizing or shaping that is desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiun et. al. (TWI805830, see English translation) in view of Chen (US 12,440,315 B2).
Regarding Claims 11 and 17, Shiun discloses a socket preparation tool configured to facilitate autotransplantation of a donor tooth to a recipient site ([0039]), the tool comprising a tooth replica of the donor tooth (20a), a coronal portion (crown portion 21) for facilitating alignment of the tooth replica adjacent teeth during a simulated autotransplantation ([0041]), a radicular portion (22) comprising a contoured surface (Figure 2, where surface is contoured) adapted for filing/cutting bone (as described in [0042]) during a simulated autotransplantation, and a cylindrical attachment (321) configured to be coupled to the tooth replica, the attachment comprising a receiver (binder 33a). Shiun discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose the contoured surface having a plurality of ridges. In the same art of implant preparation, Chen teaches a socket preparation tool (Figure 1, 1) that has a contoured surface (surface of drill section 12) with a plurality of ridges (formed by steps 121 as seen in Figure 1). The ridges of Chen are capable of use for preparation of the recipient site to receive an implant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the surface of the socket preparation tool of Shiun with the ridges as taught by Chen in order to provide a more secure surface for implantation of the implant when installed.
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, Shiun in view of Chen discloses the tool of claim 11 and Chen further discloses an attachment (Figure 1,10) that comprises a slot (101) with a receiver (11) that is configured to be directly or indirectly coupled to a driver (as disclosed in Column 5, lines 48-50, the slot connects to a rotary tool/driver) via the slot for driving the socket forming tool in at least one direction in order to adjust the fit of the socket preparation tool in the recipient site. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the socket preparation tool of Shiun with the slot/receiver configuration attached to a rotary tool/driver in order to provide a secure attachment mechanism to prevent release of the receiver from the rotary tool/driver during use.
Regarding Claim 13, Shiun in view of Chen discloses the tool of claim 12 as described above and Shiun further discloses that the socket preparation tool is customized to accommodate a form factor of the tooth replica or a spectrum of form factors of the tooth replica within an expected range of value based on the donor tooth ([0049], step 49 describes that the tooth replica is specifically shaped and formed).
Regarding Claim 14, Shiun in view of Chen discloses the tool of claim 13 as described above and Shiun further discloses that the radicular portion of the socket preparation tool is adjusted to accommodate the form factor or the spectrum of form factors ([0049], step 49 describes that the tooth replica is specifically shaped and formed).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objection and 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection for Claims 13 and 14 regarding the for the figures failing to show the “form factor” and “spectrum of form factors” and lack of clarity are not persuasive and the drawing objection and 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections are maintained. In the response, the applicant indicates the form factors as shown in the embodiment of Figures 6A-6D, however the elected embodiment is that of Figures 3A-3E.
The claims as amended have overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection of Claims 11 and 12.
The amended specification is sufficient to overcome the objection to the specification and has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-14, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the combination of references in view of Chen as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772