DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/582,202 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180242814 to Welch further in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,088,305 to Ohmann. Both sets of claims, claim a washing machine appliance comprising: a wash tub; a wash basket; a pump assembly; a recirculation conduit; a pump; a drain conduit; wherein the pump is bi-directional and direct current; a dispensing assembly with dispenser housing defining an inlet port; along with configuration therewith. The ‘202 Patent Application does not claim the limitations with respect to the filter. However, Welch discloses a filter coupled to the recirculation conduit (Welch, paragraph 16; Fig. 2, generally) wherein one of ordinary skill realizes that the filter is of a cage, screen mesh, and removable type filter thereof all in order to remove soils from the washing liquid thereof (see Fig. 4, parts 240, 242, and 250; paragraph 38). Finally, the ‘202 Patent Application in view of Welch does not disclose or make obvious that the filter is positioned within the dispensing assembly extending at a non-zero angle, however, Ohmann clearly teaches a filter within the dispensing assembly extending at a non-zero angle so that a need for separate components is obviated (see Ohmann, col. 1, ll. 50-53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the ‘202 Patent Application with the filter teachings of Welch and Ohmann all in order to achieve the predictable result of removing soils from the washing liquid in unified dispenser/filter apparatus thereof.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1688529 to Krische in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,088,305 to Ohmann.
Regarding claims 1, 3-8, 12, and 14-18, Krische discloses a washing machine appliance (Fig. 2, part 1) comprising: a wash tub (Fig. 2, part 6) positioned within a cabinet (Fig. 2, see part 1) and defining a wash chamber (Fig. 2, see part 6); a wash basket (Fig. 2, part 5) rotatably mounted within the wash tub for receiving a load of clothes; and a pump assembly (Fig. 2, at parts 7 and 13) in fluid communication with a sump of the wash tub (Fig. 2, see part 6 between parts 7 and 13), the pump assembly comprising: a recirculation conduit fluidly coupled to the sump (Fig. 2, parts 8 and 9); a pump for selectively urging a flow of wash fluid from the sump and through the recirculation conduit (Fig. 2, part 7); and a filter positioned operably coupled to the recirculation conduit for filtering the flow of wash fluid (paragraph 24).
Krische discloses a dispensing assembly (Fig. 2, part 3) mounted within the cabinet for selectively adding wash fluid into the wash tub, wherein the recirculation conduit is fluidly coupled to the dispensing assembly (Fig. 2, parts 8 and 9). Krische further discloses wherein the dispensing assembly (Fig. 2, part 3) comprises: a dispenser housing defining an inlet port (Fig. 2, at parts 3 and 9), wherein the recirculation conduit is fluidly coupled to the inlet port (Fig. 2, at part 9; paragraph 21); wherein the inlet port is defined on a back wall of the dispenser housing (Fig. 2, at parts 3 and 9); and wherein the dispenser housing defines a discharge aperture for discharging the flow of wash fluid into the wash tub after the filter has removed collected particulates (paragraph 24).
Krische does not disclose or make obvious wherein the filter extends at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal plane; wherein the filter is positioned within the dispensing assembly, wherein the dispensing assembly comprises: a filter cage positioned within the dispenser housing for receiving the filter and wherein the filter cage is removable to facilitate cleaning of the filter and removal of collected particulates.
Ohmann discloses a washing machine (Fig. 1, generally) wherein a filter extends at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal plane and is positioned within the dispensing assembly (Figs. 1 and 2, generally and part 56), wherein the dispensing assembly comprises: a filter cage positioned within the dispenser housing for receiving the filter and wherein the filter cage is removable to facilitate cleaning of the filter and removal of collected particulates (col. 1, ll. 44-58; Figs. 1 and 2, generally and part 56) all in order to consolidate/reduce components thereof and allow a user convenient service thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to have modified the filter of Krische with the configuration of the single component dispenser filter of Ohmann all in order to consolidate/reduce components thereof.
Claims 2, 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1688529 to Krische in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,088,305 to Ohmann further in view of U.S. Patent 4,467,627 to Platt et al. (Platt).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 13, and 20, Krische in view of Ohmann is relied upon as above in claims 1 and 12. Krische discloses a drain conduit fluidly coupled to an external drain (Fig. 2, at part 13 and paragraph 32). Krische in view of Ohmann does not disclose or make obvious wherein the pump is a direct-current bi-directional pump for selectively urging a flow of wash fluid through the drain conduit or the recirculation conduit.
Platt discloses a pump for a washing machine wherein the pump may flow in a bi-directional manner to fill a dispenser or to drain liquid thereof and one of ordinary skill understands that the motor associated therewith is a direct current (DC) type thereof (col. 6, ll. 62-68 and col. 7, ll. 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to have substituted the pump of Krische in view of Ohmann for the direct-current bi-directional pump of Platt all in order to use a single pump to fill and drain liquid in a washing machine thereof.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1688529 to Krische in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,088,305 to Ohmann further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170159223 to Alexander et al. (Alexander).
Regarding claim 9, Krische in view of Ohmann is relied upon as above in claim 8. Krische does not disclose or make obvious wherein the inlet port defines a fan-shaped geometry to spread the flow of wash fluid.
Alexander discloses a washing machine with a dispenser system wherein a nozzle has a fanned distribution pattern to increase the surface area in which the fluid is dispensed (paragraphs 72-74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try to have modified the inlet port of Krische in view of Ohmann with the fan-shaped teaching of Alexander all in order to achieve the predictable result of increasing the surface area in which the fluid is dispensed to the dispenser thereby better mixing the fluid and chemicals thereof.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1688529 to Krische in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,088,305 to Ohmann further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180242814 to Welch.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Krische in view of Ohmann is relied upon as above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Krische in view of Ohmann does not disclose wherein the filter is a screen mesh filter that lines a perimeter of a filter cage.
Welch discloses a washing machine (Fig. 4, generally) comprising a filter coupled to a recirculation conduit (Welch, paragraph 16; Fig. 2, generally) wherein one of ordinary skill realizes that the filter is of a cage, screen mesh type filter thereof all in order to remove soils from the washing liquid thereof (see Fig. 4, parts 240, 242, and 250; paragraph 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified the filter of Krische in view of Ohmann with the cage, screen mesh type filter of Welch all in order to achieve the predictable result of removing soils from the washing liquid thereof.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has thoroughly considered and reviewed Applicant’s amendments and arguments in support of patentability, however, Examiner remains unconvinced.
Applicant’s primary argument is that the prior art to Krische does not disclose or make obvious the newly added claim limitation wherein the filter extends at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal plane.
Examiner agrees with Applicant. However, upon further search and consideration, Examiner has applied the prior art reference to Ohmann, wherein all claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN LEE OSTERHOUT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/BENJAMIN L OSTERHOUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711