DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on October 02, 2025 is acknowledged. Thus, claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 2,848,794 to Roth.
Regarding claim 1, Roth discloses a fabrication process for coils (see Fig. 3) to be used in high-temperature operations, the fabrication process comprises: preparing a slurry of castable inorganic composite potting materials (8) in water (in vessel 7); coating a wire (5) with the slurry (8) using a coating device (7/10) to obtain a wet coated wire; winding, the wet coated wire egressed from the coating device (7/10), on a filament winding device (9), in near real-time, to obtain a wet coil (see Fig. 1); and upon drying the wet coil (see Col. 2, lines 59-60), curing a dried coil to obtain a cured coil (see Col. 2, lines 69-72).
Regarding claims 2-3, Roth discloses the coated wire in combination with fibers is co-wounded and the fibers are selected from glass fibers, ceramic fibers, or a combination thereof (see Col. 2, lines 19-34).
Regarding claim 4, Roth discloses the wire is made of copper (see Col. 4, line 6).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 5,105,531 to Sawada et al.
Regarding claim 1, Sawada disclose a fabrication process for coils (5) to be used in high-temperature operations, the fabrication process comprises: preparing a slurry of castable inorganic composite potting materials (see Col. 2, lines 28-34) in water; coating a wire (1) with the slurry (7) using a coating device (2) to obtain a wet coated wire; winding, the wet coated wire egressed from the coating device (2), on a filament winding device (having coil 5), in near real-time, to obtain a wet coil (see Fig. 1); and upon drying the wet coil (see Col. 4, lines 18-19), curing a dried coil to obtain a cured coil (see Col. 4, lines 19-22).
Regarding claims 2-3, Roth discloses the coated wire in combination with fibers is co-wounded and the fibers are selected from glass fibers, ceramic fibers, or a combination thereof (see Col. 2, lines 28-34).
Regarding claim 4, Roth disclose the wire is made of copper (see Col. 4, line 65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art reference cited for general teachings of manufacturing electric coil.
/DN/ /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/November 15, 2025 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729