DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 3-5, recite limitation, “steering wheel member”. It is unclear if this is the same element as steering wheel cover member. The examiner, at best, will interpret the two elements the same. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "steering wheel cover member" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11708015 B1 Willis; Seojeong Lee.
Regarding claim 1 Willis teaches, a car seat and steering wheel cover fabricated of a flexible material comprising: a main body (fig. 2, element 9); a steering wheel member attached to said main body (fig. 3, element 3), said steering wheel member in the form of a hood having an opening circumscribed by a stretchable member (fig. 3, element 7) to attach said steering wheel member to a steering wheel such that said steering wheel member encompasses said steering wheel (fig. 3, element 7); a first strap attached to said main body and configured to attach to a driver car seat (fig. 3, element 7, col. 3, lines 53-54 second headrest equal to driver’s seat); a second strap attached to said main body (fig. 3, element 1) and configured to attach to a passenger car seat; an attachment member configured to retain said main body in an area occupied by said passenger car seat (fig. 3, element 1); and wherein when in position said main body hangs over at least a bottom rest and back rest of said driver car seat and passenger car seat (fig. 2).
Note: the steering wheel and passenger car seat are intended use, and thus not required.
Regarding claim 2, Willis teaches, the car seat and steering wheel cover of claim 1 wherein said steering wheel cover member is in the form of a hood with a stretchable member circumscribing a hood opening (fig. 2, element 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 5655810 A Shikler; Arie.
Regarding claim 3, Willis teaches, the car seat and steering wheel cover of claim 1 but fails to teach, wherein said flexible material is reflective on at least one surface.
However Shikler teaches, wherein said flexible material is reflective on at least one surface (fig. 2, element 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover taught by Willis with the with the reflective material taught by Shikler with a reasonable expectation of success “to reflect sunlight and resulting heat radiation” (col. 3, lines 55-56).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 5031684 A Soong; Jeanne F. et al.
Regarding claim 4, Willis teaches, the car seat and steering wheel cover of claim 1 but fails to teach, wherein said attachment member is one of the following: a) a suction cup; b) a hook; c) a clip; d) hook and loop fasteners; e) adhesive; f) snap; g) carabiner; or h) weight.
However, Soong teaches, wherein said attachment member is one of the following: a) a suction cup (fig. 2, element 32); b) a hook; c) a clip; d) hook and loop fasteners; e) adhesive; f) snap; g) carabiner; or h) weight.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover taught by Willis with the with the suction cup taught by Soong with a reasonable expectation of success “enabling variation of positioning of the cups and the application of the shade to different sizes of windows” (abstract).
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642