DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sheet feeding unit”, “first setting unit”, “job accepting unit”, “specifying unit”, “second setting unit”, and “notification unit” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“sheet feeding unit” – 208 in Fig. 2 and paragraph [0046],
“first setting unit” – paragraph [0093],
“job accepting unit” – paragraph [0069],
“specifying unit” – paragraph [0077],
“second setting unit” – paragraph [0116]-[0117], and
“notification unit” – paragraph [0084].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamakawa (US 2018/0314471).
(1) regarding claims 1 and 13:
Yamakawa ‘471 discloses an image forming apparatus (100 in Fig. 1 and paragraph [0024]) comprising:
a sheet feeding unit (paragraph [0030], long deck 116, tray 117, and inserter 118);
a first setting unit configured to set sheet information for the sheet feeding unit (paragraphs [0063]-[0064], ad [0066], where the sheet information is set for the sheet holding unit);
a job accepting unit configured to accept a print job (paragraph [0060], print jobs are received);
a specifying unit configured to specify the sheet feeding unit based on a setting of the accepted print job (paragraph [0075], where based on the settings of the print job, a sheet holding unit is specified);
a second setting unit configured to perform a setting to add predetermined information to the sheet information (paragraph [0076], where information about the relationship about the sheet holding units and the pieces of sheets is registered); and
a notification unit configured to, in response to an instruction to execute a print job in which a sheet feeding unit to which sheet information additionally including the predetermined information is set by the first setting unit, the print job having no specific setting, notify a user of information indicating that the sheet feeding unit has been reserved (paragraph [0171] and [0175], where a notification is presented to the user when the sheet holding unit is usable (interpreted as reserved for printing)).
(2) regarding claim 2:
Yamakawa ‘471 further discloses wherein the predetermined information comprises information indicating that a sheet corresponding to the sheet information is to be reserved (paragraphs [0173]-[0175]).
(3) regarding claim 3:
Yamakawa ‘471 further discloses wherein the sheet information includes a sheet size and a sheet type (paragraph [0062]).
(4) regarding claim 4:
Yamakawa ‘471 further discloses wherein the specifying unit specifies the sheet feeding unit based on a sheet size setting of the accepted print job (paragraph [0066] and [0075]).
(5) regarding claim 5:
Yamakawa ‘471 further discloses wherein the specified sheet feeding unit comprises a sheet feeding unit in which a same sheet size as the sheet size set for the print job is set (paragraph [0066] and [0075], where the holding unit is selected based on the information obtained and it uses the information to match to the correct sheet size for the job).
(6) regarding claim 6:
Yamakawa ‘471 further discloses wherein the specific setting comprises a setting for using a reserved sheet (paragraph [0171] and [0175], where the setting for using a specific sheet of paper is considered when set to usable (interpreted as reserved for printing)).
Conclusion
/LENNIN R RODRIGUEZGONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683