DETAILED ACTION
Prior arts cited in this office action:
Pokale et al. (A Principled Formulation of Integrating Objects in Monocular SLAM”, Jan 2020, hereinafter “Pokale”)
Zhou et al. (CN 109887087 A, hereinafter “Zhou”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks: applicant argues that Applicant cannot find in Pokale or Zhou an explicit determination that an object to be tracked is stationary. Accordingly, Applicant submits that neither Pokale or Zhou discloses, at least, "determine that the object is stationary; and in response to determining that the object is stationary, adjust the pose of the object in the world coordinate system based on the reprojection error" as recited by amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Response: examiner disagrees with applicant assertion above that the combination of the cited prior arts does not teach or suggest applicant invention as claimed. Rolland teaches performing pose adjustment based on furniture location with is can be considered stationary under broadest reasonable interpretation, since Pokale did not mention otherwise. In other words, implicitly determination of the object being stationary is made for proper location determination and pose adjustment if error occurs. Furthermore, Zhou teaches the initial SLAM map or the initial position is calculated based on the determination that the vehicle is stationary (Pokale section 3.2.2: Zhou [0025]-[0033]). The initial determination is used as reference for any further error calculation and map update. In other words, the pose adjustment of the objected in the world coordinate system based on projection error is a function of the initial determination that the vehicle is stationary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, determine if the object if stationary, since that would make is easier to calculated the position or coordinate using more the one camera by not having the take into consideration, movement, displacement, speed and/or velocity.
Furthermore, applicant is reminded that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, since less error would occur if the object is stationary less update or less frequent update would be needed or required since not much would change from time t to time t + n.
Claim 21 contains similar limitation as claim 1 and is therefore not allowable for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 3-20 and 23-28 depends at least in part on either claim 1 or 21 and are therefore, not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-21 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites in part “determine that the object is stationary; and in response to determining that the object is stationary, adjust the pose of the object in the world coordinate system based on the reprojection error”. However, a thorough review of applicant invention as originally filed fails to reveal this limitation. For example, in paragraph [0055], applicant discloses “if the object is stationary, the systems and techniques may infrequently update the object pose. However, if the object begins to move, the systems and techniques may determine to update the object pose more frequently”. In other words, the pose of the object in the world coordinate system is adjusted based on the reprojection error regardless of the determination not in response of the determination.
Appropriate amendment and/or explanation are respectfully requested.
Claim 21 contains similar limitation as claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reason given above with regard to claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokale et al. (A Principled Formulation of Integrating Objects in Monocular SLAM”, Jan 2020, hereinafter “Pokale”) and in view of Zhou et al. (CN 109887087 A, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 1 and 21:
Pokale teaches an apparatus for tracking objects (Pokale Abstract, where Pokale discloses method and apparatus for localization and tracking of objects; we propose a novel approach in which objects are combined in the SLAM back-end to jointly optimize for the 3D structure, camera track as well as the object pose and shape), the apparatus comprising:
A system and apparatus for computer vision (Pokale Abstract and introduction) and configured to:
obtain a pose of an object in a world coordinate system (Pokale Section 3.2.2 Object Measurement using category models. Where Pokale teaches we assume that the SE3 pose(in the world frame) of each camera is denoted by Cj and from the jth pose, the robot observes M objects. The SE3 pose of each object observation m with respect to camera j is denoted by ˆTOm
j . The SE3 pose(in world frame) of each object observation m in the set is indexed as TOm. We denote the number of keypoints in the object category by K. The kth keypoint of the mth object observed are denoted by smk.);
obtain an image of the object from a camera position (Pokale section 3.3 paragraph 1 figs. 1 and 2);
obtain a world-to-camera transformation for relating the world coordinate system to the camera position (Pokale section 3.2.2 where Pokale teaches We assume that the SE3 pose(in the world frame) of each camera is denoted by Cj and from the jth pose, the robot observes M objects. The SE3 pose of each object observation m with respect to camera j is denoted by ˆTom j . The SE3 pose(in world frame) of each object observation m in the set is indexed as Tom);
determine a reprojection error based on the pose of the object in the world coordinate system, the image, and the world-to-camera transformation (Pokale section 3.2.3 and 3.3, where Pokal teaches When we run any SLAM, the reconstruction that we get is up to a scale. As mentioned in 3.2.2, we do the optimization of objects in Ceres and we need a good initialization for it converge to a better solution. We use the translation initialization method used in [9]. This gives us the initialization of the translation of the object with respect to the camera. In this method, the height and width of the bounding box are used to give an estimate of the translation. Let Tx, Ty, Tz be the translations in the x, y and z directions respectively with respect to the camera); and
adjust the pose of the object in the world coordinate system based on the reprojection error (Pokale section 3.2.3 and 3.3, where Pokal teaches optimizing for the global pose of the chair along with the other parameters. We show that solving for the global pose of chair along with shape aids in estimation of the Edge SLAM trajectory and 3D structure. The shape and pose in world frame of each object can then be computed by minimizing the following keypoint reprojection error).
Pokale fails to teach the apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory; determine that the object is stationary; and
in response to determining that the object is stationary.
However, the system of Pokale is directed to automatic use of Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) from image captured by at least one camera for computer vision which inherently would use modern processor and memory to optimize the process. And the system of Pokale is directed to furniture in the room such as chair, in other words stationary object localize in the room. Nevertheless, Zhou teaches a SLAM mapping method and system of vehicle wherein the multi-frame based on the target image and the second camera module pose sequence determining the target camera module in the global SLAM map relocation pose. to make use of the target camera module the relocation pose the second vehicle pose sequence converted to the SLAM map coordinate system of the global SLAM map, converting the third vehicle pose sequence with the second camera module pose sequence to obtain the minimum error, the coordinate origin of the global SLAM map coordinate system is the target shot by the camera module light center position when the initial frame. optimizing unit for iteratively adjusting the value of the three-dimensional spatial position pose sequence of the target camera module included in each camera module pose of the value and the current SLAM map in the map point, until the target camera module sequence and the pose of the first pose sequence between the minimum projection error. The projection error is obtained based on the image frames taking while the vehicle is stationary such that calibration of the SLAM map can be perform and a reference position can be obtained (Zhou [0025]-[0033], [0040]-[45], [0051]-[0056]).
Therefore, taking the teaching of Pokale and Zhou as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use processor coupled with memory to implement the system and obviously a furniture tend to be stationary which can allow for the furniture to be used as reference point or reference location, since it is a well-known technique in the art to implement these kinds of systems.
Regarding claims 3 and 23:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the object is determined to be stationary based on one or more of:
respective locations of the object in a plurality of images of the object; a categorization of the object; or data from one or more other sensors (Pokale section 3.2.2: Zhou [0031]).
Regarding claims 4 and 24:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein: the image comprises a first image; the camera position comprises a first camera position;
the world-to-camera transformation comprises a first world-to-camera transformation;
the reprojection error comprises a first reprojection error; and the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a second image of the object from a second camera position;
obtain a second world-to-camera transformation for relating the world coordinate system to the second camera position;
determine a second reprojection error based on the pose of the object in the world coordinate system, the second image, and the second world-to-camera
transformation; and
adjust the pose of the object in the world coordinate system based on the
second reprojection error(Pokale section 3.2.3 and 3.3; Zhou [0025]-[0033).
Regarding claim 5:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein to determine the reprojection error, the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a model of the object;
obtain features of the object based the model of the object; and
determine the reprojection error based on comparing locations of the features of the
object in the image with locations of the features of the object as reprojected from the model
of the object in the pose of the object in the world coordinate system into an image plane
based on the camera position (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou [0025]-[0033).
Regarding claim 6:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the model of the object comprises a point- cloud model of the object, a computer-aided design model of the object, or a neural radiance field (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou [0025]-[0033).
Regarding claim 7:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein to determine the reprojection error, the at
least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a model of the object;
obtain features of the object based the model of the object; and
determine the reprojection error based on comparing locations of the features of the
object in the image with locations of the features of the object as represented by the model
of the object with the pose of the object in the world coordinate system and world-to-camera
transformation applied to the model of the object (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou Abstract, [0004] and [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 8:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein to determine the reprojection error, the at
least one processor is further configured to determine visual correspondences between the
image and a representation of the object in the world coordinate system with the world-to-
camera transformation applied thereunto (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou [0025]-[0033).
Regarding claim 9:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the visual correspondences are determined
based on one or more of: a template-matching technique; a feature-matching technique; or
a deep-learning technique (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou Abstract, [0004] and [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 10:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein to obtaining the pose of the object in the world coordinate system, the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine a pose of the object in a camera coordinate system based on a second
image of the object captured from a second camera position, wherein the pose of the object
in the camera coordinate system comprises a position of the object relative to the second
camera position and an orientation of the object; and
invert a second world-to-camera transformation and apply the inverted second world-
to-camera transformation to the pose of the object in the camera coordinate system to determine the pose of the object in the world coordinate system (Pokale section 3.1, 3.2; Zhou Abstract, [0004] and [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 12:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the world-to-camera transformation is
based on one or more of:
inertial data obtained from one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs); or
relative position data based on a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM)
technique (Pokale section 3.1; Zhou Abstract, [0004] and [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 13:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine to use the image from among a plurality of images (Pokale section 3.1; Zhou Abstract, [0004] and [0010]-[0015], [0027]).
Regarding claim 14:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the image is determined to be used based on one or more of:
a difference between the camera position and another camera position;
a difference between a camera orientation and another camera orientation;
a difference between a timestamp of the image and a timestamp of another image; or
a quality of the image (Zhou [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claims 15 and 25:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the object comprises a first object and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine that the first object is stationary; obtain a pose of a second object in the world coordinate system; determine that the second object is stationary; and adjust the pose of the second object in the world coordinate system based on the reprojection error (Pokale section 3.1; Zhou [0006]-[0011]).
Regarding claims 16 and 26:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured
to:
obtain a second image of the first object from a second camera position;
obtain a second world-to-camera transformation for relating the world coordinate
system to the second camera position;
determine a second reprojection error based on the pose of the first object in the
world coordinate system, the second image, and the second world-to-camera transformation;
adjust the pose of the first object in the world coordinate system based on the second
reprojection error; and adjust the pose of the second object in the world coordinate system based on the second reprojection error (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou [0006]-[0011], [0108]).
Regarding claims 17 and 27:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured
to:
associate the first object with the second object based on the first object and the second
object being stationary;
determine further reprojection errors based on further poses of the first object in the world coordinate system, further images, and further world-to-camera transformations;
adjust the pose of the first object in the world coordinate system and the pose of the second object in the world coordinate system based on the further reprojection errors based on the association between the first object and the second object (Pokale section 3.2; Zhou [0006]-[0011], [0108).
Regarding claims 18 and 28:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine that the second object is not stationary; disassociate the first object and the second object; and adjust the pose of the first object in the world coordinate system based on the further reprojection errors (Zhou [0123]).
Regarding claim 19:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to track the object (Pokale section 3.1; Zhou [0016]).
Regarding claim 20:
Pokale in view of Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to generate virtual content based on the pose of the object in the world coordinate system (Pokale section 3.1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEDNEL CADEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 August 6, 2026