DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s argument/remarks filed on March 30, 2026, claims 1-2, 7, 18 and 19-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant had amended claims 1, 19 and 20.
Claims 3-6 and 8-17 had been withdrawn from further consideration, as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
Response to Argument
Regarding applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment of the claims, applicant is kindly invited to consider the Office Action below to view the new ground of rejection, cited prior arts section and motivation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention; this constitutes new matter. The invention fails to disclose “ … determine a target area that requires an environmental change … by comparing the moving route with geographical locations based on an estimated emotion of the-target user …” (claims 1 and 20) and “ … determining a target area that requires an environmental change … by comparing the moving route with geographical locations based on an estimated emotion of the-target user …” (claim 19) (added remarks), and (ii) their critical role with respect to the scope of the invention.
Applicant failed to provide specification support for the amended limitations and indicated that support “is found in the Specification as originally filed.” However, the specification is completely devoid of the feature " … by comparing the moving route with geographical locations ...” (added remark). The specification describes two types of comparisons not related to amended limitations – see Pub.: par. 78 and 111. Applicants may consider using terms clearly disclose within the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ … determine a target area that requires an environmental change … by comparing the moving route with geographical locations based on an estimated emotion of the-target user …” (added remarks) or other new matter cited on the claim limitations” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the amended claims 1, 19 and 20. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 18 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn (Pub. No.: US 2015/0092020 A1) in view of Lutke et al. (Pat. No.: US 8,511,606 B1) and Berman et al. (US 2013/0245396 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Vaughn discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) apparatus comprising:
circuitry (e.g., processor(s) – par. 89) configured to:
determine a target area that requires an environmental change on a moving route from a current location of a target user to a destination by comparing the moving route with geographical locations (e.g., a UAV moving into position in relation to a user (par. 103) while waking on a route within a location area (610) to a particular destination (e.g., car, house or other point) (par. 24 and 82 and Figure 6), which requires the UAV to determine a target area where the user is located by comparing walking route with location area(s); wherein the UAV provides sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) (limitation: “… that requires an environmental change … “);
control a moving object (e.g., a UAV – par. 45) at a base station located near the target area to move to the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to follow or move around a user (par. 45). Figure 2 shows UAV 210 in operation near a wireless tower 230 (par. 23) while providing sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39)); and
control the moving object to perform the environmental change by tracking the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) while the UAV follows / moves around a user (par. 45) ).
However, Vaughn failed to specifically disclose a moving object disposed at a based station; wherein the base station is configured to house the moving object and facilitate deployment and return of the moving object (added remark).
However, Lutke et al. Unmanned aerial vehicle based station configured to housed /shelter unmanned aerial vehicle (col. 14, lines 57-61; col. 16, lines 31-34 and Figures 13-14) and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission (e.g., col. 17, lines 25-29; col. 5, lines 54-59) and return for charging / refueling (col. 4, lines 46-49; col. 16, lines 29-31; col. 6, lines 49-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the tower taught by Vaughn such that the tower is configured to house /shelter an unmanned aerial vehicle and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission and return for charging / refueling, in view of Lutke et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of reducing cost and / or time consuming of human operator for launching, retrieving and maintaining unmanned aerial vehicle during a mission (col. 4, lines 18-25) while enable aerial vehicle(s) to operate over large area (col. 19, lines 43-52).
However, Vaughn, as modified by Lutke et al. failed to disclose an estimated emotion of each of a plurality of users, the plurality of users including the target user.
However, Berman et al. teach a storage configured to collect mental state data for a plurality of people (par. 5. 14, 18, 21) based on GPS information / region(s) (par. 5. 14, 27) and output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person (par. 28); wherein the mental state data comprises disappointment, hesitation, calmness, stress and others emotion states (par. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) as taught by the combination of Vaughn in view of Lutke et al., such that the UAV is configured to output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person and collected mental state data for a plurality of people across regions, in view of Berman et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of evaluating the mental states of a user for an effective human interaction (Berman et al.’s par. 3) while the UAV provides sound projection to the user as it follows / moves around the user (Vaughn’s par. 31, 39 and 45).
Regarding claim 2, Vaughn discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), wherein the circuitry (e.g., processor(s) – par. 89) is configured to control the moving object to perform the environmental change by controlling the moving object to fly above the target user while tracking the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31, 39) while the UAV follows / moves around a user (par. 45) ).
Regarding claim 7, Vaughn discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), wherein the circuitry is configured to determine the target area that requires the environmental change on the basis of a detection value of a sensor of the moving object (e.g., the UAV configured to follow / move around a user (par. 45) based on the UAV’s camera data for viewing and tracking the user (par. 27, 28, 71 and 87) and to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31, 39)).
Regarding claim 18, Vaughn discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), wherein the environmental change includes outputting sound in a direction of the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31, 39)).
Regarding claim 19, Regarding claim 1, Vaughn discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) method comprising:
determining a target area that requires an environmental change on a moving route from a current location of a target user to a destination by comparing the moving route with geographical locations (e.g., a UAV moving into position in relation to a user (par. 103) while waking on a route within in a location area (610) to a particular destination (e.g., car, house or other point) (par. 24 and 82 and Figure 6), which requires the UAV to determine a target area where the user is located by comparing walking route with location area(s); wherein the UAV provides sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) (limitation: “… that requires an environmental change … “);
controlling a moving object (e.g., a UAV – par. 45) at a base station located near the target area to move to the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to follow or move around a user (par. 45). Figure 2 shows UAV 210 in operation near a wireless tower 230 (par. 23) while providing sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39)); and
controlling the moving object to perform the environmental change by tracking the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) while the UAV follows / moves around a user (par. 45) ).
However, Vaughn failed to specifically disclose a moving object disposed at a based station; wherein the base station is configured to house the moving object and facilitate deployment and return of the moving object (added remark).
However, Lutke et al. Unmanned aerial vehicle based station configured to housed /shelter unmanned aerial vehicle (col. 14, lines 57-61; col. 16, lines 31-34 and Figures 13-14) and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission (e.g., col. 17, lines 25-29; col. 5, lines 54-59) and return for charging / refueling (col. 4, lines 46-49; col. 16, lines 29-31; col. 6, lines 49-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the tower taught by Vaughn such that the tower is configured to house /shelter an unmanned aerial vehicle and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission and return for charging / refueling, in view of Lutke et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of reducing cost and / or time consuming of human operator for launching, retrieving and maintaining unmanned aerial vehicle during a mission (col. 4, lines 18-25) while enable aerial vehicle(s) to operate over large area (col. 19, lines 43-52).
However, Vaughn, as modified by Lutke et al. failed to disclose an estimated emotion of each of a plurality of users, the plurality of users including the target user.
However, Berman et al. teach a storage configured to collect mental state data for a plurality of people (par. 5. 14, 18, 21) based on GPS information / region(s) (par. 5. 14, 27) and output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person (par. 28); wherein the mental state data comprises disappointment, hesitation, calmness, stress and others emotion states (par. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) as taught by the combination of Vaughn in view of Lutke et al., such that the UAV is configured to output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person and collected mental state data for a plurality of people across regions, in view of Berman et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of evaluating the mental states of a user for an effective human interaction (Berman et al.’s par. 3) while the UAV provides sound projection to the user as it follows / moves around the user (Vaughn’s par. 31, 39 and 45).
Regarding claim 20, Vaughn discloses a non-transitory computer readable storge medium / random access memory (RAM) / dynamic storge device for storing information and instruction to be executed by a processor (par. 91 and 135), the instruction causing the processor to:
determine a target area that requires an environmental change on a moving route from a current location of a target user to a destination by comparing the moving route with geographical locations (e.g., a UAV moving into position in relation to a user (par. 103) while waking on a route within a location area (610) to a particular destination (e.g., car, house or other point) (par. 24 and 82 and Figure 6), which requires the UAV to determine a target area where the user is located by comparing walking route with location area(s); wherein the UAV provides sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) (limitation: “… that requires an environmental change … “);
control a moving object (e.g., a UAV – par. 45) at a base station located near the target area to move to the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to follow or move around a user (par. 45). Figure 2 shows UAV 210 in operation near a wireless tower 230 (par. 23) while providing sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39)); and
control the moving object to perform the environmental change by tracking the target user (e.g., the UAV configured to provide sound projection directly to a user (par. 31 and 39) or project image (par. 36 and 58) while the UAV follows / moves around a user (par. 45) ).
However, Vaughn failed to specifically disclose a moving object disposed at a based station; wherein the base station is configured to house the moving object and facilitate deployment and return of the moving object (added remark).
However, Lutke et al. Unmanned aerial vehicle based station configured to housed /shelter unmanned aerial vehicle (col. 14, lines 57-61; col. 16, lines 31-34 and Figures 13-14) and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission (e.g., col. 17, lines 25-29; col. 5, lines 54-59) and return for charging / refueling (col. 4, lines 46-49; col. 16, lines 29-31; col. 6, lines 49-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the tower taught by Vaughn such that the tower is configured to house /shelter an unmanned aerial vehicle and allow the aerial vehicle to depart for a mission and return for charging / refueling, in view of Lutke et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of reducing cost and / or time consuming of human operator for launching, retrieving and maintaining unmanned aerial vehicle during a mission (col. 4, lines 18-25) while enable aerial vehicle(s) to operate over large area (col. 19, lines 43-52).
However, Vaughn, as modified by Lutke et al. failed to disclose an estimated emotion of each of a plurality of users, the plurality of users including the target user.
However, Berman et al. teach a storage configured to collect mental state data for a plurality of people (par. 5. 14, 18, 21) based on GPS information / region(s) (par. 5. 14, 27) and output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person (par. 28); wherein the mental state data comprises disappointment, hesitation, calmness, stress and others emotion states (par. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) as taught by the combination of Vaughn in view of Lutke et al., such that the UAV is configured to output audio to a person based on the mental state of the person and collected mental state data for a plurality of people across regions, in view of Berman et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of evaluating the mental states of a user for an effective human interaction (Berman et al.’s par. 3) while the UAV provides sound projection to the user as it follows / moves around the user (Vaughn’s par. 31, 39 and 45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsu (US 2009/0156887 A1) is directed to emotion database storing a plurality of emotional state information and play media information to an individual for releasing the emotion of the individual.
Vu et al. (US 2007/0192910 A1) is directed to a robot configured to detect an emergency condition when a person appears to be in danger, sick or other conditions and allow a remote user (e.g., caregiver) to command the robot to make a contact with the person.
Peeters et al. (US 8,983,682 B1) is directed to UAV configured to assist a person in need during an emergency response service.
Karabed (US 2017/0248970 A1) is directed to drones providing a current of air for cooling or ventilation – for instance, a mobile fan that follows its user.
This application is a continuation application of U.S. application no. 17/018,736 filed on September 11, 2020, now U.S. Patent 11,940,170 (“Parent Application’), which is a continuation application of U.S. application no. 15/515,653 filed on March 30, 2017, now U.S. Patent 10,788,235 (“Parent Application’). See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A. 2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Application. Also, in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2. Finally, Applicant(s) are reminded that the prosecution history of the Parent Application is relevant in this application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.O.P/ Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656