DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 were subject to restriction requirement on 02/17/2026.
Applicant elected Group I, Species 1A, Species 2A, and Species 3A on 04/16/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending, of which claims 3, 5-6, 13-16, and 27-30 are withdrawn by the Examiner.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, and 17-26 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, and 17-26 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-26, Species 1A, drawn to the low-melt fiber is a filament from 10 denier to 450 denier, Species 2A, drawn to the low-melt fiber is monopolymer, and Species 3A, drawn to the fabric is a woven fabric comprising of dual core spun yarn with said rigid fiber as sheath and said elastic fiber and said low-melt fiber as core, in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 13-16, and 27-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “with easy set and shape enhance property” in line 1. It is not clear what is meant by easy set and shape enhance property. What shape does the elastic fabric enhance? What does set mean for the elastic fabric? The Examiner will interpret any elastic fabric as having some degree of easy set and shape enhance property for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 1 recites, “a first type of fibers”, “a second type of fibers”, and “a third type of fibers” in lines 2-3. The addition of the word “type” extends the scope of the claims so as to render them indefinite since it is unclear what “type” is intended to convey. The addition of the word “type” to the otherwise definite expression renders the definite expression indefinite by extending its scope. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955).
Claim 1 recites, “the fabrics” in line 4. Claim 1 is drawn to an elastic fabric. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the fabrics” in the claim. Further, it is unclear additional fabric to the elastic fabric is being claimed.
Claim 1 recites, “the low-melt fiber comprises a low melt polymer selected from the group consisting of polyester, polyamide, polyolefin and polypropylene” in lines 5-6. Is polypropylene a preferred embodiment? Is it required in the claim? Does any polyolefin meet the claim limitation or is a polypropylene required? The recitation “polyolefin and polypropylene” renders the claim indefinite. The Examiner will interpret any polyolefin as meeting the claim limitation for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 4 recites, “said low-melt fiber is a monopolymer” in line 1. It is unclear what a monopolymer refers to. Does the low-melt fiber comprise a homopolymer? Does the low-melt fiber comprise a mono-component? Is the term “mono” in reference to the physical structure or chemical composition of the low-melt fiber? The Examiner will interpret either interpretation as meeting the claimed limitation for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 8 recites, “said fabric comprises spandex elastic fiber” in lines 1-2. Is the spandex elastic fiber in addition to the elastic fibers recited in claim 1? Is the spandex elastic fiber the elastic fiber recited in claim 1? The Examiner will interpret this limitation as said elastic fiber comprises a spandex elastic fiber.
Claim 9 recites, “said fabric comprises polyester bi-component elastic fiber” in lines 1-2. Is the polyester bi-component elastic fiber in addition to the elastic fibers recited in claim 1? Is the polyester bi-component elastic fiber the elastic fiber recited in claim 1? The Examiner will interpret this limitation as said elastic fiber comprises a polyester bi-component elastic fiber for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 18 recites, “said fabric provides performance enhancing, including in durability, abrasion resistance, wrinkle resistance, anti-elastane slippage, anti-laddering and running and anti-curving” in lines 1-3. It is not clear what “provides performance enhancing” means in this claim. Does the fabric include a performance enhancing additive with respect to durability, abrasion resistance, etc.? What degree of performance is required to be considered performance enhancing? Or is the claim requiring the fabric to exhibit one of the following properties of durability, abrasion resistance, wrinkle resistance, anti-elastane slippage, anti-laddering and running and anti-curving? The Examiner will interpret the limitation as requiring the fabric to exhibit one of the following properties of durability, abrasion resistance, wrinkle resistance, anti-elastane slippage, anti-laddering and running and anti-curving.
Claim 19 recites, “intimate wear, such as panty, and ready to wear, such as jeans shirtings and bottom weight.” Are panty, jeans, shirtings, and bottom weight required in the claim or preferred embodiments? It is unclear if any ready to wear reads on claim 19, or specifically if jeans, shirtings, and bottom weight are required. It is unclear if any intimate wear reads on claim 19, or is panty specifically required? The Examiner will interpret any intimate wear and any ready to wear as meeting the claim limitation for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 21 recites, “linger wear” in line 2. What is linger wear? Does this refer to lingerie? The Examiner will interpret this limitation as lingerie for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 24 recites, “a fabric shaping zone is at least 5% unit lower than said fabric in a no shaping zone” in lines 1-2. It is unclear what is being measured in this claim. The fabric shaping zone is 5% lower in what property? Also, what does “5% unit” mean? Is there a unit associated with the 5%?
Claim 23 recites, “area selected from the group consisting of hip-up, hip shaping, belly tummy, thigh slenderizing, waist slim area, and combinations thereof” in lines 2-3. Is hip shaping an area? Is hip-up an area? Is thigh slenderizing an area? Is waist slim area an area? The Examiner will interpret the areas as the hip, belly, thigh, and waist.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 4, 7-12, and 17-26, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agzikara et al. (US 2013/0260129) (Agzikara) in view of Gao et al. (US 2008/0138599) (Gao).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7, and 11-12
Agzikara teaches a stretch woven fabric comprising a stretch yarn comprising a stretchable core covered by an inelastic fiber sheath. The core comprises first and second fibers, wherein the first fiber is an elastomer with greater elastic properties than the second fiber and the second fiber is a fiber with limited elasticity (at least 20%) and with higher recovery properties than the first fiber. The second fiber’s recovery is at least 90%. The second fiber is present in an amount from 73-87% by weight of the core fibers. The amount of core fibers is present in an amount from 8-30% by weight of the fabric. See, e.g., abstract, paragraphs [0002-0004], [0010-0013], [0021], [0029], [0031], [0037], [0040], [0043], and claims 1 and 6-8. The amount of second fibers in the fabric ranges from about 5% to 26.1% by weight of the fabric. Given the fabric has elasticity, it follows the fabric is an elastic fabric.
Agzikara does not teach the presence of a low-melting fiber.
With respect to the difference, Gao teaches a polyolefin polymer for use in garments. The polyolefin polymer offers stretch and good dimensional stability. The polyolefin polymer is used as the core component of a core spun yarn. The polyolefin polymer possesses a melting point in the range of 100 to 140°C. A fiber comprising the polyolefin polymer typically recovers at least about 70 percent or more of its stretched length. The fiber is a filament possessing about 20 to about 150 denier. Since a fabric comprising the polyolefin polymer stretches up to at least about 25%, it follows the polyolefin polymer possesses at least 20% elasticity. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0007-0008], [0021], [0023], [0045], [0120-0122], [0126], [0128-0129], [0135], [0150-0151], [0229], [0270], and FIG. 1.
Gao and Agzikara are analogous art as they are both drawn to core spun yarns comprising for use in stretch fabrics for garments.
In light of the motivation provided by Gao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polyolefin polymer as the second fiber of Agzikara, in order to provide the fabric good stretch and good dimensional stability, especially as the fiber has high recovery properties, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Given Agzikara in view of Gao does not require an additional physical component in the second fiber, it follows the polyolefin fiber is a mono-component low-melt fiber.
Regarding claim 8
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Agzikara further teaches the first fiber is an elastic spandex fiber. Paragraph [0039].
Regarding claim 10
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Given that the material and structure of the stretch fabric of Agzikara in view of Gao is substantially identical to the material and structure as used in the present invention, including the amount of low-melt fiber used in the elastic fabric, as set forth above, it is clear that the stretch fabric of Agzikara in view of Gao would intrinsically be capable of being heatset at a temperature lower than 180°C, as presently claimed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 18
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. It is the Examiner’s opinion the stretch fabric would provide some degree of durability.
Alternatively, Gao teaches the it is known to apply a wrinkle resistant treatment to a stretch fabric for use as a garment. Paragraphs [0136-0148].
Gao and Agzikara are analogous art as they are both drawn to core spun yarns comprising for use in stretch fabrics for garments.
In light of the disclosure provided by Gao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply a wrinkle resistant treatment to the stretch fabric of Agzikara in view of Gao, in order to attain a stretch fabric with performance enhanced wrinkle resistance, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Agzikara further teaches the stretch fabric is used to form a garment. Paragraph [0064] and Claim 8.
Claims 17, 20-23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agzikara et al. (US 2013/0260129) (Agzikara) in view of Gao et al. (US 2008/0138599) (Gao), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Rotter et al. (US 2016/0174642) (Rotter).
Regarding claims 20-23 and 26
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach the specific garment the stretch fabric is used in.
With respect to the difference, Rotter teaches a garment, specifically jeans, comprising an upper region formed of a combination of denim with elastic fabric. The elastic fabric forms a shape element that shapes and slims the hip area or the waist area or the belly area of the wearer. The shaper element possesses a graduated edge zone 107, as shown in FIG. 9. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0023] and [0039-0040] and claim 1.
Rotter and Agzikara in view of Gao are analogous art as they are both drawn to fabrics capable of stretching.
In light of the disclosure of Rotter, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the stretch fabric of Agzikara in view of Gao to form a shaper element in a pair of jeans, in order to provide shaping and slimming to the hip area or the waist area or the belly area of the wearer, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 17, 20-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agzikara et al. (US 2013/0260129) (Agzikara) in view of Gao et al. (US 2008/0138599) (Gao), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2017/0172219) (Liao).
Regarding claims 17, 20-23, and 25
Agzikara in view of Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach the specific garment the stretch fabric is used in.
With respect to the difference, Liao teaches a garment with shape enhancing function, including jeans. The garment comprises a base fabric made of a stretch fabric including one or more elastic yarns. The garment includes shaping zones in the areas of the belly and thigh to provide support and shaping to these portions of the body. The shaping zones are placed in a pattern selected from the group consisting of dots, vertical lines, horizontal lines, diagonal lines, a grid, and combinations thereof. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0010], [0012], [0018-0019], [0023], [0043], [0046-0048], and claim 16.
Liao and Agzikara in view of Gao are analogous art as they are both drawn to elastic fabrics for garments.
In light of the disclosure as provided by Liao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the elastic fabric of Agzikara in view of Gao as the elastic fabric in the garment of Liao, in order to produce jeans with shape enhancing function with predictable success, as Liao teaches the base fabric is a stretch fabric comprising elastic yarn, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4, 7-10-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2015/0354101A1) (Liao) in view of Ono et al. (JP2007107123A) (Ono).
The Examiner has provided machine translations of Ono et al. (JP2007107123A) (Ono). The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, 7-8, 11-12, and 19
Liao teaches a stretch woven fabric comprising a core spun yarn comprising a sheath of hard fibers and a core of two sets of elastic fibers wherein the sets of elastic fibers have different properties. The elastic fiber comprise spandex fibers. The hard fibers correspond to the claimed rigid fibers. The elastic fibers corresponds to the claimed elastic fiber. The stretch woven fabric I used to form a garment. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0002], [0009], [0015], [0020], [0030-0031], [0041-0043], and [0053]. Since the fabric exhibits elasticity, it follows the fabric is an elastic fabric.
Liao does not explicitly teach the presence of a low-melt fiber.
With respect to the difference, Ono teaches a woven fabric comprising a composite elastic yarn, for use in clothing. The composite elastic yarn includes a first elastic fiber and a second elastic fiber having different melting points to form a core yarn and a non-elastic yarn comprising non-elastic fibers covering the core yarn. The first elastic fiber is a polyamide elastomer elastic fiber preferably having a melting point of 180°C or lower. The second elastic fiber is a spandex elastic fiber. The non-elastic fiber includes cotton. The first elastic fibers act as a binder, fusing the core yarn with the non-elastic yarn thereby preventing slip-in. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0001-0003], [0009-0013], [0015-0016], [0018], and [0029].
Ono and Liao are analogous art as they are both drawn to stretch woven fabrics for use in garments.
In light of the motivation as provided by Ono, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a polyamide elastomer elastic fiber having a melting point of 180°C or lower in the core of the core-spun yarn of Liao, in an amount overlapping the presently claimed amount, in order to provide a binder that fuses the core yarn with the non-elastic yarn to prevent slip-in, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. It is the Examiner’s opinion one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of determining an appropriate amount of polyamide elastomer elastic fiber to include in the core in order to bind the elastic fiber together with the hard fiber, and it is the Examiner’s opinion this amount would overlap the presently claimed amount as the low-melt fiber is used to bind the elastic fiber together with the rigid fiber in view of paragraph [0044] of Applicant’s specification.
It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding claim 4
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Given no additional component is required, it follows the polyamide elastomer elastic fiber is a mono-component fiber.
Regarding claim 9
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Liao further teaches a fabric made from a polyester bi-component filament has excellent recovery characteristics. The elastic core includes a bi-component fiber. Paragraphs [0025-0026] and [0048]. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a polyester bi-component filament as the bi-component fiber of the elastic core fiber of Liao in view of Ono, in order to produce a fabric with excellent recovery characteristics, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Liao further teaches the fabric can be heatset at a temperature of 170°C. Paragraphs [0042] and [0080].
Regarding claim 18
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. It is the Examiner’s opinion the stretch fabric would provide some degree of durability.
Claims 17, 20-23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2015/0354101A1) (Liao) in view of Ono et al. (JP2007107123A) (Ono), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Rotter et al. (US 2016/0174642) (Rotter).
Regarding claims 20-23 and 26
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach the specific garment the stretch fabric is used in.
With respect to the difference, Rotter teaches a garment, specifically jeans, comprising an upper region formed of a combination of denim with elastic fabric. The elastic fabric forms a shape element that shapes and slims the hip area or the waist area or the belly area of the wearer. The shaper element possesses a graduated edge zone 107, as shown in FIG. 9. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0023] and [0039-0040] and claim 1.
Rotter and Liao in view of Ono are analogous art as they are both drawn to fabrics capable of stretching.
In light of the disclosure of Rotter, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the stretch fabric of Liao in view of Ono to form a shaper element in a pair of jeans, in order to provide shaping and slimming to the hip area or the waist area or the belly area of the wearer, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 17, 20-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2015/0354101A1) (Liao) in view of Ono et al. (JP2007107123A) (Ono), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2017/0172219) (Liao II).
Regarding claims 17, 20-23, and 25
Liao in view of Ono teaches the limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach the specific garment the stretch fabric is used in.
With respect to the difference, Liao II teaches a garment with shape enhancing function, including jeans. The garment comprises a base fabric made of a stretch fabric including one or more elastic yarns. The garment includes shaping zones in the areas of the belly and thigh to provide support and shaping to these portions of the body. The shaping zones are placed in a pattern selected from the group consisting of dots, vertical lines, horizontal lines, diagonal lines, a grid, and combinations thereof. See, e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0010], [0012], [0018-0019], [0023], [0043], [0046-0048], and claim 16.
Liao II and Liao in view of Ono are analogous art as they are both drawn to elastic fabrics for garments.
In light of the disclosure as provided by Liao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the elastic fabric of Liao in view of Ono as the elastic fabric in the garment of Liao II, in order to produce jeans with shape enhancing function with predictable success, as Liao II teaches the base fabric is a stretch fabric comprising elastic yarn, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/C.X.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789