DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 08/10/2026, claims 1-10, and 25-44 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-25, 27-34, 35, and 37-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (US 2018/0063777 A1) in view of LEE et al. (US 2022/0141884 A1) and further in view of Arunachalam et al. (WO 2018/234851 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Muller teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
establish, via a network function of an access network (See Fig. 3: the combination of NN RAT-1 and RAT-2 provides the network function. ¶ [0105]) associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) type, a connection with a network of a second RAT type (See Fig. 3: S601: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-2 network access on RAT-2 resources by transmitting a RAT-2 pre-amble signature that may or may not be combined with L2/3 message and user data. S602: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-1 network access on RAT-1 resources by transmitting a RAT-1 pre-amble signature. ¶ [0106] and ¶ [0107]);
receive, via the network function, a message comprising a data indicating random access information (See Fig. 3: This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) for the second RAT type for the UE (See Fig. 3: S603: The network node 140 b transmits a network access response using RAT-2. ¶ [0109]), the random access information comprising a preamble for the UE and a temporary identifier (ID) for the UE (See Fig. 3: The C-RNTI (i.e., temporary ID) from step S503 is by the network node used to address the wireless device on a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The wireless device is considered contention resolved if the C-RNTI matches from step S503 in case of non dedicated preamble, i.e. a contention based random access preamble. ¶ [0011]), wherein the preamble and the temporary ID are based on location information associated with the UE (See Fig. 3: ¶ [0011]; and
transmit a random access message (See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) to a network entity associated with the second RAT type based on the message indicating the random access information (See Fig. 6: S604: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information (i.e., the message related to the second RAT type) such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. ¶ [0110]), the random access message comprising the preamble for the UE and a request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (See Fig. 6: S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant (i.e., providing a grant based upon the request made by the UE) or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150…The wireless device 150 recognizes the RAT-2 network access response and continues the RAT-2 network access procedure (i.e., requesting to connect the RAT-2). ¶ [0009] and ¶ [0111]).
Muller doesn’t explicitly discuss using the message comprising a payload.
However, Lee further discloses the message comprising a payload indicating random access information (Lee: See Fig. 15, the UE to receive the RAR MAC PDU including a MAC subPDU which contains the RAPID for the 2-step RACH and an RAPID payload…¶ [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a payload indicating random access information as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide that radio communication signals can be more efficiently transmitted and/or received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved. Lee: ¶ [0014].
Even though, Muller in view of Lee teaches the information or message including the Random Access Preamble and the temporary ID (Muller: ¶ [0008] and Lee: Abstract), neither of them states the information is based on location information.
However, Arunachalam teaches the information is based on location information (Arunachalam: the set of random access preamble sequences…on which the set of random access preamble sequences is to be transmitted, is a function of an identity of the wireless communication device (e.g., subscriber identity such as International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or the like)… , the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node, where the distance can be indicated by any suitable parameter such as, e.g., a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement performed by the wireless communication device with respect to the radio access node. ¶ [0078] and ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the information is based on location information as taught by Arunachalam to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide efficient transmission of data embedded in the random access procedure even in scenarios where up to many thousands of devices are served by one cell. Arunachalam:
Abstract.
Regarding claim 3; Muller teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network function, an informational exchange message indicating that the UE received the message indicating the random access information, the informational exchange message comprising no payload (Muller: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150. The network node 140 b may give the wireless device 150 further grants to transmit on RAT-2 uplink resources and may also schedule further downlink data to the wireless device 150 using RAT-2. ¶ [0110] and ¶ [0111]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 4; Muller in view of Lee discloses the UE wherein, to transmit the random access message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) comprising the preamble and the temporary ID (Lee: the UE may transmit a preamble through a physical random access channel (PRACH) and receive a response message to the preamble through a PDCCH and a PDSCH. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 5; Muller in view of Lee teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the random access message is an initial message of a two-step random access procedure, the initial message comprising both the PRACH and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) comprising the request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (Lee: performing PDCCH/PDSCH reception and PUSCH/PUCCH transmission as a normal UL/DL transmission procedure. The random access procedure is also referred to as a random access channel (RACH) procedure. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 6; Muller in view of Lee discloses the UE wherein the access network is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (TNGF) (Lee: implementations of the present disclosure are mainly described in regards to a 3GPP based wireless communication system. ¶ [0040]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 7; Muller teaches the UE wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate, after transmission of the random access message, with the network entity via a radio frequency (RF) chain associated with the second RAT type (Muller: See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]), wherein the random access information is based on precise location information for the UE (Arunachalam: the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node. ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 8; Muller in view of Lee discloses the UE wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: deactivate, after transmitting the random access message to the network entity, a radio frequency (RF) chain associated with the first RAT type (Lee: deactivate it; i.e. a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated. ¶ [0214]).
Regarding claim 9.; Muller teaches the UE wherein the preamble is unique to the UE (See Fig. 5: The random access preamble comprises a preamble signature which could be a dedicated signature. ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 10; Muller teaches the UE wherein the first RAT type is a wireless local area network (WLAN) RAT and the second RAT type is a cellular network RAT (See Fig. 5-6: There are different examples of network access procedures that the wireless device 150 and the network nodes 140 a, 140 b participate in…such as Wi-Fi and LTE in unlicensed frequency bands also apply. In this sense, Wi-Fi is defined as any wireless local area network (WLAN). ¶ [0104]).
Regarding claim 25; Muller teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
establishing, via a network function of an access network (See Fig. 3: the combination of NN RAT-1 and RAT-2 provides the network function. ¶ [0105]) associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) type, a connection with a network of a second RAT type (See Fig. 3: S601: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-2 network access on RAT-2 resources by transmitting a RAT-2 pre-amble signature that may or may not be combined with L2/3 message and user data. S602: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-1 network access on RAT-1 resources by transmitting a RAT-1 pre-amble signature. ¶ [0106] and ¶ [0107]);
receiving, via the network function, a message comprising a data indicating random access information (See Fig. 3: This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) for the second RAT type for the UE (See Fig. 3: S603: The network node 140 b transmits a network access response using RAT-2. ¶ [0109]), the random access information comprising a preamble for the UE and a temporary identifier (ID) for the UE (See Fig. 3: The C-RNTI (i.e., temporary ID) from step S503 is by the network node used to address the wireless device on a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The wireless device is considered contention resolved if the C-RNTI matches from step S503 in case of non dedicated preamble, i.e. a contention based random access preamble. ¶ [0011]), wherein the preamble and the temporary ID are based on location information associated with the UE (See Fig. 3: ¶ [0011]; and
transmitting a random access message (See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) to a network entity associated with the second RAT type based on the message indicating the random access information (See Fig. 6: S604: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information (i.e., the message related to the second RAT type) such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. ¶ [0110]), the random access message comprising the preamble for the UE and a request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (See Fig. 6: S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant (i.e., providing a grant based upon the request made by the UE) or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150…The wireless device 150 recognizes the RAT-2 network access response and continues the RAT-2 network access procedure (i.e., requesting to connect the RAT-2). ¶ [0009] and ¶ [0111]).
Muller doesn’t explicitly discuss using the message comprising a payload.
However, Lee further discloses the message comprising a payload indicating random access information (Lee: See Fig. 15, the UE to receive the RAR MAC PDU including a MAC subPDU which contains the RAPID for the 2-step RACH and an RAPID payload…¶ [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a payload indicating random access information as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide that radio communication signals can be more efficiently transmitted and/or received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved. Lee: ¶ [0014].
Even though, Muller in view of Lee teaches the information or message including the Random Access Preamble and the temporary ID (Muller: ¶ [0008] and Lee: Abstract), neither of them states the information is based on location information.
However, Arunachalam teaches the information is based on location information (Arunachalam: the set of random access preamble sequences…on which the set of random access preamble sequences is to be transmitted, is a function of an identity of the wireless communication device (e.g., subscriber identity such as International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or the like)… , the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node, where the distance can be indicated by any suitable parameter such as, e.g., a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement performed by the wireless communication device with respect to the radio access node. ¶ [0078] and ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the information is based on location information as taught by Arunachalam to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide efficient transmission of data embedded in the random access procedure even in scenarios where up to many thousands of devices are served by one cell. Arunachalam:
Abstract.
Regarding claim 27; Muller teaches the method wherein to: transmit, to the network function, an informational exchange message indicating that the UE received the message indicating the random access information, the informational exchange message comprising no payload (Muller: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150. The network node 140 b may give the wireless device 150 further grants to transmit on RAT-2 uplink resources and may also schedule further downlink data to the wireless device 150 using RAT-2. ¶ [0110] and ¶ [0111]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 28; Muller in view of Lee discloses the method wherein, to transmit the random access message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) comprising the preamble and the temporary ID (Lee: the UE may transmit a preamble through a physical random access channel (PRACH) and receive a response message to the preamble through a PDCCH and a PDSCH. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 29; Muller teaches the method wherein to: communicate, after transmission of the random access message, with the network entity via a radio frequency (RF) chain associated with the second RAT type (Muller: See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]), wherein the random access information is based on precise location information for the UE (Arunachalam: the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node. ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 30; Muller in view of Lee discloses the method wherein the access network is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (TNGF) (Lee: implementations of the present disclosure are mainly described in regards to a 3GPP based wireless communication system. ¶ [0040]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 31; Muller in view of Lee teaches the method wherein the random access message is an initial message of a two-step random access procedure, the initial message comprising both the PRACH and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) comprising the request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (Lee: performing PDCCH/PDSCH reception and PUSCH/PUCCH transmission as a normal UL/DL transmission procedure. The random access procedure is also referred to as a random access channel (RACH) procedure. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 33; Muller in view of Lee discloses the method wherein the access network is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (TNGF) (Lee: implementations of the present disclosure are mainly described in regards to a 3GPP based wireless communication system. ¶ [0040]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 33; Muller teaches the method wherein the preamble is unique to the UE (See Fig. 5: The random access preamble comprises a preamble signature which could be a dedicated signature. ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 34; Muller teaches the method wherein the first RAT type is a wireless local area network (WLAN) RAT and the second RAT type is a cellular network RAT (See Fig. 5-6: There are different examples of network access procedures that the wireless device 150 and the network nodes 140 a, 140 b participate in…such as Wi-Fi and LTE in unlicensed frequency bands also apply. In this sense, Wi-Fi is defined as any wireless local area network (WLAN). ¶ [0104]).
Regarding claim 35: Muller teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to:
establish, via a network function of an access network (See Fig. 3: the combination of NN RAT-1 and RAT-2 provides the network function. ¶ [0105]) associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) type, a connection with a network of a second RAT type (See Fig. 3: S601: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-2 network access on RAT-2 resources by transmitting a RAT-2 pre-amble signature that may or may not be combined with L2/3 message and user data. S602: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-1 network access on RAT-1 resources by transmitting a RAT-1 pre-amble signature. ¶ [0106] and ¶ [0107]);
receive, via the network function, a message comprising a data indicating random access information (See Fig. 3: This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) for the second RAT type for the UE (See Fig. 3: S603: The network node 140 b transmits a network access response using RAT-2. ¶ [0109]), the random access information comprising a preamble for the UE and a temporary identifier (ID) for the UE (See Fig. 3: The C-RNTI (i.e., temporary ID) from step S503 is by the network node used to address the wireless device on a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The wireless device is considered contention resolved if the C-RNTI matches from step S503 in case of non dedicated preamble, i.e. a contention based random access preamble. ¶ [0011]), wherein the preamble and the temporary ID are based on location information associated with the UE (See Fig. 3: ¶ [0011]; and
transmit a random access message (See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) to a network entity associated with the second RAT type based on the message indicating the random access information (See Fig. 6: S604: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information (i.e., the message related to the second RAT type) such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. ¶ [0110]), the random access message comprising the preamble for the UE and a request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (See Fig. 6: S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant (i.e., providing a grant based upon the request made by the UE) or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150…The wireless device 150 recognizes the RAT-2 network access response and continues the RAT-2 network access procedure (i.e., requesting to connect the RAT-2). ¶ [0009] and ¶ [0111]).
Muller doesn’t explicitly discuss using the message comprising a payload.
However, Lee further discloses the message comprising a payload indicating random access information (Lee: See Fig. 15, the UE to receive the RAR MAC PDU including a MAC subPDU which contains the RAPID for the 2-step RACH and an RAPID payload…¶ [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a payload indicating random access information as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide that radio communication signals can be more efficiently transmitted and/or received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved. Lee: ¶ [0014].
Even though, Muller in view of Lee teaches the information or message including the Random Access Preamble and the temporary ID (Muller: ¶ [0008] and Lee: Abstract), neither of them states the information is based on location information.
However, Arunachalam teaches the information is based on location information (Arunachalam: the set of random access preamble sequences…on which the set of random access preamble sequences is to be transmitted, is a function of an identity of the wireless communication device (e.g., subscriber identity such as International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or the like)… , the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node, where the distance can be indicated by any suitable parameter such as, e.g., a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement performed by the wireless communication device with respect to the radio access node. ¶ [0078] and ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the information is based on location information as taught by Arunachalam to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide efficient transmission of data embedded in the random access procedure even in scenarios where up to many thousands of devices are served by one cell. Arunachalam:
Abstract.
Regarding claim 37; Muller teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to:
: transmit, to the network function, an informational exchange message indicating that the UE received the message indicating the random access information, the informational exchange message comprising no payload (Muller: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150. The network node 140 b may give the wireless device 150 further grants to transmit on RAT-2 uplink resources and may also schedule further downlink data to the wireless device 150 using RAT-2. ¶ [0110] and ¶ [0111]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 38; Muller in view of Lee discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein, to transmit the random access message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) comprising the preamble and the temporary ID (Lee: the UE may transmit a preamble through a physical random access channel (PRACH) and receive a response message to the preamble through a PDCCH and a PDSCH. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 39; Muller in view of Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4, wherein the random access message is an initial message of a two-step random access procedure, the initial message comprising both the PRACH and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) comprising the request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (Lee: performing PDCCH/PDSCH reception and PUSCH/PUCCH transmission as a normal UL/DL transmission procedure. The random access procedure is also referred to as a random access channel (RACH) procedure. ¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 40; Muller in view of Lee discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the access network is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (TNGF) (Lee: implementations of the present disclosure are mainly described in regards to a 3GPP based wireless communication system. ¶ [0040]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 41; Muller teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate, after transmission of the random access message, with the network entity via a radio frequency (RF) chain associated with the second RAT type (Muller: See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]), wherein the random access information is based on precise location information for the UE (Arunachalam: the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node. ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 42; Muller in view of Lee discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: deactivate, after transmitting the random access message to the network entity, a radio frequency (RF) chain associated with the first RAT type (Lee: deactivate it; i.e. a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated. ¶ [0214]).
Regarding claim 43.; Muller teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the preamble is unique to the UE (See Fig. 5: The random access preamble comprises a preamble signature which could be a dedicated signature. ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 44; Muller teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for establishing, via a network function of an access network (See Fig. 3: the combination of NN RAT-1 and RAT-2 provides the network function. ¶ [0105]) associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) type, a connection with a network of a second RAT type (See Fig. 3: S601: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-2 network access on RAT-2 resources by transmitting a RAT-2 pre-amble signature that may or may not be combined with L2/3 message and user data. S602: The wireless device 150 performs RAT-1 network access on RAT-1 resources by transmitting a RAT-1 pre-amble signature. ¶ [0106] and ¶ [0107]);
means for receiving, via the network function, a message comprising a data indicating random access information (See Fig. 3: This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) for the second RAT type for the UE (See Fig. 3: S603: The network node 140 b transmits a network access response using RAT-2. ¶ [0109]), the random access information comprising a preamble for the UE and a temporary identifier (ID) for the UE (See Fig. 3: The C-RNTI (i.e., temporary ID) from step S503 is by the network node used to address the wireless device on a Physical downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The wireless device is considered contention resolved if the C-RNTI matches from step S503 in case of non dedicated preamble, i.e. a contention based random access preamble. ¶ [0011]), wherein the preamble and the temporary ID are based on location information associated with the UE (See Fig. 3: ¶ [0011]; and
means for transmitting a random access message (See Figs. 5-6: the network access is part of a random access procedure. This random access procedure could be an LTE random access procedure…This random access procedure could be a random access procedure using an emerging RAT. ¶ [0104]) to a network entity associated with the second RAT type based on the message indicating the random access information (See Fig. 6: S604: The wireless device 150 transmits user data and/or control signaling using RAT-2 to the network node 140 b. The user data and/or control signaling comprises RAT-2 information (i.e., the message related to the second RAT type) such as identity information. The network node 140 b recognizes that the wireless device 150 responded to the network access response transmitted in step S603. ¶ [0110]), the random access message comprising the preamble for the UE and a request to connect with the network of the second RAT type (See Fig. 6: S605: The network node 140 b transmits, using RAT-2, an uplink grant (i.e., providing a grant based upon the request made by the UE) or downlink scheduling to the wireless device 150…The wireless device 150 recognizes the RAT-2 network access response and continues the RAT-2 network access procedure (i.e., requesting to connect the RAT-2). ¶ [0009] and ¶ [0111]).
Muller doesn’t explicitly discuss using the message comprising a payload.
However, Lee further discloses the message comprising a payload indicating random access information (Lee: See Fig. 15, the UE to receive the RAR MAC PDU including a MAC subPDU which contains the RAPID for the 2-step RACH and an RAPID payload…¶ [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a payload indicating random access information as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide that radio communication signals can be more efficiently transmitted and/or received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved. Lee: ¶ [0014].
Even though, Muller in view of Lee teaches the information or message including the Random Access Preamble and the temporary ID (Muller: ¶ [0008] and Lee: Abstract), neither of them states the information is based on location information.
However, Arunachalam teaches the information is based on location information (Arunachalam: the set of random access preamble sequences…on which the set of random access preamble sequences is to be transmitted, is a function of an identity of the wireless communication device (e.g., subscriber identity such as International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or the like)… , the length of the random access preamble pattern is dynamic and is based on one or more parameters such as, but not limited to: distance (i.e., location based information) between the wireless communication device and the radio access node, where the distance can be indicated by any suitable parameter such as, e.g., a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement performed by the wireless communication device with respect to the radio access node. ¶ [0078] and ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the information is based on location information as taught by Arunachalam to have incorporated in the system of Muller, so that it would provide efficient transmission of data embedded in the random access procedure even in scenarios where up to many thousands of devices are served by one cell. Arunachalam:
Abstract.
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one or more of…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 26, and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Muller fails to teach or suggest receiving, “via a network function of an access network associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) type,” a message comprising random access information for a second RAT type. In particular, Applicant argues that Muller's RAT-2 network access response of ¶ [0109] is transmitted using RAT-2 and therefore is not received via a network function associated with RAT-1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's characterization of the rejection because the rejection does not rely upon Muller's RAT-2 network access response of ¶ [0109] in isolation. Rather, Muller expressly describes a coordinated multi-RAT network-access procedure involving both RAT-1 and RAT-2. Specifically, Muller teaches that the wireless device performs RAT-2 network access on RAT-2 resources by transmitting a RAT-2 preamble signature, which may be combined with an L2/L3 message and user data. Muller further teaches that the wireless device performs RAT-1 network access on RAT-1 resources by transmitting a RAT-1 preamble signature. See Muller ¶¶ [0106]-[0107]. Muller thereafter teaches that the network node transmits a RAT-2 network access response to the wireless device and that the wireless device continues the RAT-2 network access procedure. See Muller ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]. Thus, Muller's teachings are not directed to two wholly unrelated access procedures but rather disclose a multi-RAT network-access architecture in which the UE performs network access using the respective RAT-1 and RAT-2 resources and receives network signaling associated with the RAT-2 access procedure.
Applicant's argument appears to require that the claimed phrase “via a network function of an access network associated with a first RAT type” necessarily means that the random-access information for the second RAT must itself be transmitted over the RAT-1 radio interface. However, the claim does not expressly recite that the message comprising the random access information for the second RAT is transmitted using the first RAT air interface. Rather, the claim recites receiving the information “via a network function” associated with the access network of the first RAT type.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “network function” is not limited to the physical RAT-1 radio transmission itself. Muller teaches coordinated network functionality supporting access involving RAT-1 and RAT-2, including RAT-specific network access, network access responses, and continuation of the RAT-2 network access procedure. See Muller ¶¶ [0104]-[0111].
Moreover, the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Muller, Lee, and Arunachalam, rather than Muller alone. Muller further provides the underlying multi-RAT network access procedure and the UE's transmission and reception of signaling associated with access to RAT-2. Muller further teaches the use of a random access preamble and C-RNTI in the random access procedure. See Muller ¶ [0011].
Lee supplements Muller by expressly teaching a random access response message comprising a RAR MAC PDU, including a MAC PDU containing a RAPID and RAPID payload for the random access procedure. See Lee Fig. 15 and ¶ [0195]. Thus, Lee provides the expressly recited payload containing random-access information that Muller does not explicitly describe.
Arunachalam further supplements the combination by teaching that random-access preamble information may be determined based upon device-related parameters including location-related information. In particular, Arunachalam teaches that the random access preamble pattern may depend upon parameters including the distance between the wireless communication device and the radio access node, where the distance may be represented by a suitable parameter such as an RSRQ measurement. See Arunachalam ¶¶ [0078] and [0082].
Accordingly, Applicant's argument that Muller alone does not expressly state that random-access information for RAT-2 is conveyed through a RAT-1 network function does not persuasively address the rejection as a whole. Muller provides the coordinated RAT-1/RAT-2 network-access framework, Lee provides the payload carrying random-access information, and Arunachalam provides the location-based determination of random-access information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee's random-access payload signaling and Arunachalam's location-dependent random-access information into Muller's multi-RAT access procedure for the reasons previously stated in the Office Action, including improving efficient transmission/reception and facilitating efficient random-access operation.
Therefore, when the references are considered for what they collectively teach, the combination teaches or suggests the claimed multi-RAT random-access procedure, and Applicant's argument does not overcome the rejection. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416