DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 01 July 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-13 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application, with claims 14-20 withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following issues:
The hatching in FIG. 2 is informal and does not follow the outline of the components. Furthermore, it appears that a portion of the first part (12) within the annular chamber (48) of the second part (14) is missing, while the first flange (30) of the first part (12) appears to have some form of outer annular rim inconsistent with the structure shown in fig. 5.
In figs. 4 & 8B, second flange (32) is incorrectly shown to be a separate part. As understood, the first flange should be integral with the rest of the first part, as correctly shown in fig. 7.
In fig. 4, the portion of the second material (41) which passes through the holes (40) of the first part is incorrectly shown to be a separate part. As understood, this second material which passes through the first part should be integral with the rest of the second part, as correctly shown in fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 & 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milhas et al. (US 6,453,941; hereafter Milhas) in view of Mackal (US 5,058,933).
Regarding claim 1, Milhas discloses (fig. 1; see also alt embodiments in figs. 2-5) an adaptor (1) comprising:
a body having a first part (3) and a second part (4) integral with the first part and made of a dissimilar material (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 4, lines 1-15), the first part (3) has a first end (5) supporting a concentric barb (6) for connecting to a first tubing (C) and a second end (e.g. 7) has a flange (i.e., 9 / 10; see also 13 in alt. embodiment in fig. 2) to lock the parts together (col. 3, lines 58-61; see also col. 4, lines 50-55), and the second part has a receptacle for connecting to a fitting (T; see fig. 1; col. 4, lines 33-38).
Milhas does not disclose the limitation wherein the flange has a plurality of through holes, where material from the second part extends into the plurality of through holes to lock the parts together.
Mackal discloses a connection arrangement between a rigid first part (10) and an elastomeric second part (30 / 32) integral with the first part, the first part has a first end supporting a connection means (i.e., threads 14) and a second end has a flange (20; “flange 20”) with a plurality of through holes (21; “apertures 21”), material from the second part extends into the plurality of through holes to lock the parts together (see fig. 4; col. 4, lines 21-28: “the elastomeric material flows into the openings 21 from both sides, i.e., proximal and distal, thereof, thereby encasing flange 20 within said material when it hardens. As such, flange 20 becomes an integral part of the…article and can not be pulled therefrom or rotated relative thereto without destroying the…article itself”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor of Milhas such that the second end of the first part has a flange with a plurality of through holes, wherein material from the second part extends into the plurality of through holes to lock the parts together, in view of the teachings of Mackal, so as to provide a mechanical interlock which resists both axial and rotational forces (as suggested by Mackal), or otherwise obvious as the use of a known technique (i.e., forming a mechanical connection between a rigid connector and an elastomeric component by providing a flange with apertures on the rigid connector and overmolding the elastomeric component therearound such that elastomeric material extends through the apertures of the flange, as in Mackal) to improve a similar device (i.e., the adaptor of Milhas, having a molded joint between a rigid component and an elastomeric component) in the same way (i.e., providing a strong mechanical interlock which resists both axial and rotational forces).
Regarding claim 2, the adaptor of Milhas, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the barb (6) is dimensioned to connect to an internal lumen of the first tubing (C)(see fig. 1 & col. 3, lines 46-48).
Regarding claim 3, the adaptor of Milhas, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the fitting (T) is a second tubing (see fig. 1; at least the portion of T shown in fig. 1 is reasonably depicted as tubing; see col. 3, lines 36-39: “a nipple T… of thermoplastic material and comprising, in conventional manner, a tubular cylindrical part T1”; see also col. 1, lines 15-17) and the receptacle is dimensioned to circumscribe a portion of an outer surface of the second tubing (see col. 4, lines 33-38).
Regarding claim 4, the adaptor of Milhas, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the first part (3) is made from a polymeric material having a modulus of elasticity greater than that of the second part (4).
Milhas discloses that the first part is a “rigid part” while the second part is “a flexible sleeve”. Milhas further discloses that the rigid part may be, for example, “a polyamide” while the flexible sleeve may be “an elastomer such as carboxyl nitrile rubber (XNBR)”, though “other materials can also be used for the rigid part and the flexible sleeve and, in particular, the flexible sleeve can be made of a fluorocarbon rubber (FPM) or a hydrogenated nitrile rubber (HNBR)” (col. 4, lines 1-16).
In view of the above, Milhas reasonably discloses that the first part is made from a polymeric material (e.g., rigid polyamide) having a modulus of elasticity greater than that of the second part (e.g., flexible elastomer such as XNBR, FPM, or HNBR).
Regarding claim 5, Milhas discloses the additional limitation wherein the first part (3) is made from a material selected from the group consisting of: polyamides, polyesters, polyolefins, cyclic olefin copolymers, polysulfones, polyphenyl sulfides, and polyvinyl chlorides.
In particular, Milhas discloses that the rigid first part may be made from “a polyamide” (col. 4, lines 2-4), though “other materials can also be used”.
Regarding claim 8, Milhas discloses the additional limitation wherein the second part (4) is made from a thermoplastic elastomer or a thermosetting elastomer.
In particular, Milhas discloses the use of several thermosetting elastomers (XNBR, FPM, HNBR), though “other materials can also be used”.
Regarding claim 10, Milhas discloses the additional limitation wherein the second part (4) is made from a thermosetting elastomer selected from the group consisting of: ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), epichlorohydrin rubber, chloroprene, nitrile rubber, hydrogenated nitrile rubber, fluorinated rubber (FKM), polyacrylate rubber (ACM), ethylene acrylate rubber (AEM), styrene-butadiene- rubber (SBR), chloro-sulfonated monomer (CSM), and isoprene-isobutylene rubber.
In particular, Milhas discloses that the second part may be made from, for example, “hydrogenated nitrile rubber (HNBR)” (col. 4, lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 11, the adaptor (1) of Milhas, as modified in view of Mackal in claim 1 above (i.e., such that the second end of the first part has a flange with a plurality of through holes, wherein material from the second part extends into the plurality of through holes to lock the parts together), in its normal and usual operation, reads on or otherwise renders obvious a method for connecting a first tubing (C) to a second tubing (T) comprising the steps of:
providing a body (at 1) having a first part (3) and a second part (4) integral with the first part and made of a dissimilar material (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 4, lines 1-15), the first part (3) has a first end (5) supporting a concentric barb (6) for connecting to the first tubing (C) and a second end (7) has a flange with a plurality of through holes (i.e., corresponding to flange 20 with through holes 21 as taught by Mackal; see embedded flange-like features 9 / 10 / 13 in the original embodiments of Milhas), material from the second part extends into the plurality of through holes to lock the parts together (as taught by Mackal, though similar to the mechanical engagement at 13 in fig. 2 embodiment of Mihas), and the second end has a receptacle for connecting to the second tubing (T; see fig. 1; col. 4, lines 33-38; see discussion provided for claim 3 above, not repeated for brevity);
inserting the first end (5) into a lumen of the first tubing (C)(col. 3, lines 45-47); and,
attaching the receptacle to a portion of an outer surface (T1/T2) of the second tubing (T) (see col. 4, lines 33-42) to establish a fluid flow connection between the first tubing and the second tubing (see col. 3, lines 32-40; see also col. 1, lines 15-32, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Milhas discloses the additional step of mounting a hose clamp (S; “clamping collar S”) about the circumference of the second part (i.e., at groove 12)(see col. 4, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 13, the method of Milhas reads on the additional limitation wherein the second part (4) is removably connected to the second tubing (T).
In particular, as the second part is flexible / elastomeric and secured around the second tubing by the hose clamp (S), the second part would be removable from the second tubing by removing the hose clamp and pulling the second part free of the second tubing.
Claim 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milhas in view Mackal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Szabo (US 5,213,376).
Regarding claims 6 & 7, with respect to the limitation wherein the first part is made from an aliphatic polyamide, a semi-aromatic polyamide or an aromatic polyamide (claim 6), it is noted that polyamides are classified as aliphatic, semi-aromatic, or aromatic. Since claim 6 recites all three, Milhas’ disclosure that the first part may be made from “a polyamide” is reasonably seen as meeting the claimed limitation, since the resulting polyamide would be one of aliphatic, semi-aromatic, or aromatic. However, to promote compact prosecution with respect to claim 6, and to address the additional limitation wherein the first part is made from nylon 6,6 (claim 7), the following additional teachings are provided.
First, as previously noted, Milhas discloses the use of polyamides (“a polyamide modified for implementing the method”) but clarifies that “Other materials can also be used” (col. 4, lines 12-15).
Szabo teaches (figs. 1-7) an adapter having a body (11) with a first part (13 / 16) having an outer surface supporting a concentric barb (17) for connecting to a tubing (see col. 3, lines 25-29). Szabo suggests that the body, including the first part, is “preferably injection molded…from suitable material such as Nylon 66”, explaining that “although many materials would be suitable for practicing the present invention, Nylon 66 has been found to be particularly advantageous in certain automotive applications” (col. 4, lines 54-59).
Note: as acknowledged in applicant’s own specification (para. 32), Nylon 66 is an aliphatic polyamide
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor of Milhas such that the first part is made from Nylon 6,6 (an aliphatic polyamide), in view of the teachings of Szabo, as Milhas already suggests the use of polyamide for the first part, and Szabo identifies nylon 66 (a polyamide) as a particularly advantageous material for use in certain automotive applications, especially considering that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 9 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milhas in view of Mackal as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Powell (US 5,682,924).
Regarding claim 9, Milhas discloses that the flexible sleeve may be an elastomer (e.g., XNBR, FPM, HNBR) but suggests that “other materials can also be used for…the flexible sleeve” (col. 4, lines 12-15).
Milhas does not explicitly disclose the second part to be made from a thermoplastic elastomer selected from the group consisting of: styrenic block copolymers, thermoplastic polyolefin elastomers, thermoplastic vulcanizates, thermoplastic urethanes, thermoplastic copolyesters, thermoplastic polyamides, and unclassified thermoplastic elastomers.
Powell teaches (e.g., figs. 1-7) an adaptor comprising a body (30) having an end with a receptacle (32) for connection to a tube / fitting (40), an outer surface (34) of the end configured to receive a hose clamp (38) to secure the tube/fitting in the receptacle. Powell teaches that the adaptor body with the receptacle may be formed via injection molding from a thermoplastic elastomer such as Santoprene® (a thermoplastic vulcanizate) or rubber modified polypropylene (a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer)(col. 7, lines 49-67). Note: applicant’s own specification identifies Santoprene® as a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV)(see para. 37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor of Milhas such that the second part is made from a thermoplastic elastomer and, in particular, a thermoplastic elastomer selected from the group consisting of: styrenic block copolymers, thermoplastic polyolefin elastomers, thermoplastic vulcanizates, thermoplastic urethanes, thermoplastic copolyesters, thermoplastic polyamides, and unclassified thermoplastic elastomers (e.g., Santoprene®, a thermoplastic vulcanizate; or rubber modified polypropylene, a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer), in view of the teachings of Powell, to enable the second part to be manufactured using thermoplastic injection molding techniques (rather than requiring additional curing processes as may be required for thermosetting elastomers) and which may also enable the adaptor to be recycled or otherwise reprocessed after use (which may not be possible for thermosetting elastomers), especially considering that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 July 2026 have been fully considered, however, applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the grounds of rejection set forth in the previous action. New grounds of rejection have been applied to the claims in this action, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richard K. Durden/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753