DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 35 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al. (WO 2023/142051 A1) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 (5G; NG Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); Stage 2 functional specification of User Equipment (UE) positioning in NG-RAN (3GPP TS 38.305 version 15.1.0 Release 15 - 2023-07)).
Regarding Claim 1, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches:
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory ([0005]: “The second device comprises at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code”) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to ([0004], Claim 1: “A first device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: select a subsampling configuration from a plurality of subsampling configurations ([0074]: “the first device 110-1 can determine the number of PRS samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information”; Table 1 showing multiple configurations with different minimum numbers of samples based on target accuracy and channel conditions),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: receive a set of positioning signals; measure the received set of positioning signals ([0052]: “The second device 120 can transmit 2040 a set of positioning reference signals to the first device 110-1”; [0079]: “the first device 110-1 may perform the PRS-RSRP measurement on the PRS samples. Alternatively, the first device 110-1 may perform the PRS-reference signal received path power (PRS-RSRPP) measurement on the PRS samples.”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: calculate a subset of measurements of the measured set of positioning signals based on the selected subsampling configuration ([0051]: “the first device 110-1 may determine that the number of PRS samples is 2 according to Table 1… the first device 110-1 may determine that the number of PRS samples is 4”; Claim 1: “perform the positioning reference signal measurement based on the number of positioning reference signal samples”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: output the calculated subset of measurements ([0083-0092]: “the first device 110-1 may transmit a report indicating a result of the PRS measurement”; [0092]: “the report can be transmitted to the second device 120 and then forwarded to the core network device 210”).
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches wherein the calculated subset of measurements is output to a positioning model (Section 5.4.4: “The LMF manages the support of different location services for target UEs, including positioning of UEs… The LMF may combine all the received results and determine a single location estimate for the target UE”; Section 8.1.2.1-1 listing assistance data transferred to UE for positioning computation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PRS measurement system of Ryan et al. (‘051) with the positioning model of 3GPP TS 38.305. Ryan et al. (‘051) already teaches transmitting measurement reports to network entities ([0092]), and 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches that the LMF processes such measurements for positioning. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to output measurements to a positioning model because both references are directed to the same field of wireless positioning, and the LMF is the standardized network function specifically designed to process positioning measurements and generate location estimates (Section 5.4.4). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the 3GPP standard defines interoperable interfaces (LPP, NRPPa) for transferring positioning measurements to the LMF, and Ryan et al. (‘051) already contemplates forwarding reports to core network devices.
Regarding Claim 2, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein, to output the calculated subset of measurements, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the calculated subset of measurements for the positioning model, the at least on processor, individually or in any combination, is configured ([0095], Claim 16: “transmit to the second device a report indicating of a result of the PRS measurement”).
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: train the positioning model based on the calculated subset of measurements; or calculate a set of positioning outputs based on the calculated subset of measurements (Section 5.4.4: “The LMF may combine all the received results and determine a single location estimate for the target UE (hybrid positioning)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 1, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 3, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 2.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: transmit the calculated set of positioning outputs after the calculation of the set of positioning outputs (Section 7.2.2-1: “the NG-RAN Node transfers location related information to the server”; Figure 7.3.2-1 showing Location Response transmitted after positioning operations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to transmit computed positioning outputs to requesting entities because location-based services require delivery of position estimates to the requesting application or network function. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the 3GPP standard defines established procedures for location information transfer (Section 7.2.2-1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: receive a first indicator of the plurality of subsampling configurations before the selection of the subsampling configuration (Claim 2: “receive, from the second device, mapping information indicating a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for the PRS measurement”; [0040], [0067]: “the second device 120 may transmit the mapping information to the first device 110-1”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: transmit a positioning report comprising a second indicator of the selected subsampling configuration ([0083]: “the first device 110-1 may transmit a report indicating a result of the PRS measurement for the TRP/beam”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 4.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: transmit a third indicator of a capability for the wireless device to calculate the subset of measurements before the reception of the plurality of subsampling configurations, wherein each of the plurality of subsampling configurations satisfy the capability (Section 7.1.2.5: Sequence of Procedures: “Despite the flexibility allowed by LPP, it is expected that procedures will normally occur in the following order: 1. Capability Transfer; 2. Assistance Data Transfer; 3. Location Information Transfer (measurements and/or location estimate).”; Section 7.1.2.5 explicitly establishes that the UE transmits capability information to the LMF (step 1: Capability Transfer) before the network provides assistance data including positioning configurations (step 2: Assistance Data Transfer). Figure A.3-2 illustrates this sequence with “LPP PDU: Capability indication [transaction B]” occurring before “LPP PDU: Assistance data request [transaction C]”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with the capability exchange procedures of 3GPP TS 38.305. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches that the network provides mapping information (i.e., subsampling configurations) to the device ([0067]), but does not explicitly describe a preceding capability exchange step. One of ordinary skill in the art, working within the 3GPP ecosystem as evidenced by Ryan et al’s discussion of NR positioning, would have looked to the established 3GPP procedures for implementing such positioning systems. 3GPP TS 38.305 Section 7.1.2.5 teaches that capability exchange is the expected first step before providing assistance data, and Section 8.3.3.3.1 confirms that network requests are tailored to UE-supported capabilities. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform capability exchange first because doing so ensure that the mapping information/configurations transmitted to the UE are within the UE’s capabilities, thereby avoiding wasted signaling and failed position attempts. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because capability transfer is a well-defined procedure in 3GPP standards with established message formats, and the sequential procedure (capability first, then configuration) was already the expected practice in 3GPP positioning systems at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 5.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: receive a request for the capability before the transmission of the third indicator of the capability (Section 7.1.2.1: LMF-initiated capability transfer where LMF requests capabilities from UE; Figure 8.1.3.3.1-1 showing “LPP Request Location Information” followed by UE response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 5, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 7, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 5.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein transmitting the third indicator of the capability for the wireless device to calculate the subset of measurements comprises: transmit a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message or a new radio positioning protocol (NRPP) message comprising the third indicator of the capability for the wireless device to calculate the subset of measurements (Section 6.2.1: “The LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) is terminated between a target device (the UE in the control-plane case) and a positioning server (the LMF)”; Section 6.3.1: “The NR Positioning Protocol A (NRPPa) carries information between the NG-RAN Node and the LMF”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with the LPP/NRPPa protocols of 3GPP TS 38.305. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches communication between a first device (terminal) and second device (network) for positioning purposes, and one of ordinary skill would have looked to standardized protocols for implementing such communication. One would have been motivated to use LPP/NRPPa because these are the established standardized protocols specifically designed for positioning information exchange in LTE and NR networks. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because LPP and NRPPa are mature protocols with defined message formats for capability exchange.
Regarding Claim 8, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 4.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: receive a third indicator of the subsampling configuration before the selection of the subsampling configuration, wherein to select the subsampling configuration from the plurality of subsampling configurations, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to ([0080]: “the first device 110-1 may receive performance information from the second device 120”; [0091]: “the second device 120 may transmit performance information to the first device 110-1”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: select the subsampling configuration from the plurality of subsampling configurations based on the received third indicator of the subsampling configuration ([0080]: “the first device 110-1 may update the number of PRS samples based on the performance information. For example, if the second device 120 signals performance degradation, the mapping information can be updated to a more conservative set of values e.g., the minimum number of samples is increased by a fixed value.”; [0091]: “the mapping information can be updated according to the configuration given by the dynamic mapping”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 8.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein, to receive the third indicator of the subsampling configuration, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a positioning broadcast signaling (posSIB), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) comprising the third indicator of the subsampling configuration (Section 6.1.2-6.1.4 describing transport mechanisms over NR-Uu and LTE-Uu interfaces for positioning information; positioning information is carried using RRC and lower layer signaling mechanisms).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use posSIB, MAC-CE, or DCI for signaling configuration indicators. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches receiving configuration information from the network ([0080]), and one of ordinary skill would have selected an appropriate signaling mechanism based on latency requirements. One would have been motivated to use these mechanisms because posSIB provides broadcast positioning information, while DCI and MAC-CE provide low-latency dynamic signaling suitable for time-sensitive configuration updates, which are well-known signaling mechanisms in LTE/NR systems at the time of the invention. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because these are established signaling mechanisms with defined formats in 3GPP specifications.
Regarding Claim 10, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 4.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein, to receive the plurality of subsampling configurations, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message or a new radio positioning protocol (NRPP) message comprising the plurality of subsampling configurations (Section 6.2.1: “LPP messages are carried as transparent PDUs across intermediate network interfaces… The LPP protocol is intended to enable positioning for NR and LTE”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 7, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 11, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: receive an indicator of the subsampling configuration before the selection of the subsampling configuration, wherein to select the subsampling configuration from the plurality of subsampling configurations, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to (Claim 2: “receive, from the second device, mapping information indicating a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for the PRS measurement”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: select the subsampling configuration from the plurality of subsampling configurations based on the received indicator (Claim 3: “determining the number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy and the mapping information”).
Regarding Claim 12, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: select the subsampling configuration from the plurality of subsampling configurations based on a set of criteria ([0049]: “the first device 110-1 can determine the number of PRS samples based on the channel metrics, the target accuracy”; [0042]: criteria include “a line of sight (LoS) state… a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)… a reference signal received power (RSRP)”).
Regarding Claim 13, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein the selected subsampling configuration comprises a path selection configuration ([0062], [0082]: “the first device 110-1 may prioritize the PRS measurement within the measurement gap based on the channel metrics… prioritize certain TRP/beams in certain MG instances”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein, to calculate the subset of measurements of the measured set of positioning signals based on the selected subsampling configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: select a path of a plurality of paths of the received set of positioning signals; and calculate the subset of measurements corresponding with the selected path ([0051]: “the first device 110-1 may determine that the number of PRS samples is 2… which are shown as PRS samples 310-1 and 310-2” describing selection of specific PRS samples/paths from multiple TRPs).
Regarding Claim 14, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein, to calculate the subset of measurements associated with a subset of samples of the measured set of positioning signals, the at least one processor is configured to, at least one of: select the subset of samples from the measured set of positioning signals in response to the subset of samples satisfying a power threshold range ([0042]: channel metrics include “a reference signal received power (RSRP)”; [0047], [0051]: determining number of samples based on “the SINR between the first device 110-1 and the TRP” where SINR thresholds determine sample selection).
The remaining alternatives (truncating CFR, truncating transform output, magnitude threshold range, local maximum values, super resolution calculation, minimum delay values) are not required to be taught under the claim’s “at least one of” language.
Regarding Claim 15, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein the wireless device comprises at least one of a user equipment (UE), a base station, or a transmission reception point (TRP) ([0110], Claim 17: “wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device”; [0030]: “The network device may refer to a base station (BS)”; [00108]: “measurement, a user equipment (UE) receiving-transmitting time difference measurement”).
Regarding Claim 16, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, the set of positioning signals ([0052]: “The second device 120 can transmit 2040 a set of positioning reference signals to the first device 110-1” -inherently requiring a transceiver for wireless reception).
Regarding Claim 17, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches:
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory ([0005]: “a second device. The second device comprises at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit an indicator of a plurality of subsampling configurations ([0005]: “transmit mapping information to a first device, wherein the mapping information indicates a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for positioning reference signal measurement”; [0039], [0067], [0086]: “the second device 120 transmits mapping information which indicates a relation among number of positioning reference signal (PRS) samples, channel metrics and accuracies”),
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: receive a positioning report comprising at least one of a set of measurements based on at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations or a set of positioning outputs based on the at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations ([0092]: “the second device 120 receives a report indicating a result of the PRS measurement for the TRP/beam”).
Regarding Claim 18, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: train a positioning model based on the set of measurements; or calculate a second set of positioning outputs using the positioning model based on the set of measurements (Section 5.4.4: “The LMF… may combine all the received results and determine a single location estimate for the target UE (hybrid positioning)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches that the network entity receives measurement reports, and one of ordinary skill would have recognized the utility of processing these measurements. One would have been motivated to use received measurements for computing position estimates at the network side because this is the standard function of the LMF in 5G positioning architecture, enabling centralized position computation with access to multiple data sources. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the LMF is specifically designed to combine measurements from different sources to determine location estimates.
Regarding Claim 19, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein the positioning report comprises a second indicator of the at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations ([0092]: “the second device 120 receives a report indicating a result of the PRS measurement for the TRP/beam” where the report indicates which TRP/beam, i.e., which configuration, was used for measurement).
Regarding Claim 20, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: receive a second indicator of a capability for a wireless device to utilize a subsampling configuration before the transmission of the plurality of subsampling configurations, wherein each of the plurality of subsampling configurations satisfy the capability (Section 7.1.2.1: Capability Transfer Procedure where Section 7.3.2.2: “The LMF may obtain location related information from the UE and/or from the serving NG-RAN Node” including capabilities).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 to receive UE capabilities before transmitting configurations. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches transmitting configurations to devices, and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that different devices may have different capabilities. One would have been motivated to receive capabilities first to ensure that transmitted configurations are compatible with device capabilities, thereby avoiding wasted resources on unsupported configurations. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because capability exchange is a well-established procedure in 3GPP systems.
Regarding Claim 21, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 20.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: transmit a request for the capability before the reception of the second indicator of the capability (Section 7.1.2 describing LMF-initiated capability transfer; Figure 7.3.2-1: step 2 showing “LPP Transaction(s)” for capability exchange initiated by LMF).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 20, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 22, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 20.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein, to receive the second indicator of the capability, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message or a new radio positioning protocol (NRPP) message comprising the second indicator of the capability (Section 6.2.1: “The LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) is terminated between a target device… and a positioning server”; Section 6.3.1: “The NR Positioning Protocol A (NRPPa) carries information between the NG-RAN Node and the LMF”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 7, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 23, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: transmit a second indicator of the at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations after the transmission of the plurality of subsampling configurations ([0091]: “the second device 120 may transmit performance information to the first device 110-1” which is transmitted after the initial mapping information transmission at [0086]).
Regarding Claim 24, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 23.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein, to transmit the second indicator of the at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a positioning broadcast signaling (posSIB), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) comprising the second indicator (Section 6.1.2-6.1.4 describing various transport mechanisms; positioning information is carried using standard signaling mechanisms).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit configuration indicators using posSIB, MAC-CE, or DCI. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches transmitting configuration updates to devices ([0091]), and one of ordinary skill would have selected an appropriate signaling mechanism. One would have been motivated to use these mechanisms because posSIB provides efficient broadcast of positioning information, while DCI and MAC-CE provide low-latency dynamic signaling suitable for time-sensitive configuration updates, all of which were well-known signaling mechanisms in LTE/NR systems at the time of the invention. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because these are established signaling mechanisms with defined formats in 3GPP specifications.
Regarding Claim 25, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the plurality of subsampling configurations, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message or a new radio positioning protocol (NRPP) message comprising the plurality of subsampling configurations (Section 6.2.1: “LPP messages are carried as transparent PDUs across intermediate network interfaces using the appropriate protocols”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ryan et al. (‘051) with 3GPP TS 38.305 for the same reasons as stated for claim 7, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 26, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein the plurality of subsampling configurations comprises a set of path selection configurations ([0062], [0082]: “the first device 110-1 may prioritize the PRS measurement within the measurement gap based on the channel metrics… prioritize certain TRP/beams”; Table 1 showing configurations for different TRP/beam scenarios).
Regarding Claim 27, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches: wherein the plurality of subsampling configurations comprises at least one of: a third subsampling configuration to select a first subset of samples from the set of positioning signal measurements based on a power threshold range ([0042]: “the channel metrics may indicate… a reference signal received power (RSRP)”; Table 1 showing sample selection based on SINR thresholds which relate to signal power).
The remaining alternatives (truncating CFR, truncating transform output, magnitude threshold, local maximum values, super resolution, minimum delay values) are not required to be taught under the claim’s “at least one of” language.
Regarding Claim 28, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the apparatus according to claim 17.
Ryan et al. (‘051) does not explicitly teach, but 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches: wherein the network entity comprises a location management function (LMF) (Section 5.4.4: “The LMF manages the support of different location services for target UEs, including positioning of UEs and delivery of assistance data to UEs”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network entity of Ryan et al. (‘051) as an LMF as taught by 3GPP TS 38.305. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches a network device that transmits mapping information and receives measurement reports ([0005], [0092]), which corresponds to the functions of an LMF. One would have been motivated to implement the network entity as an LMF because the LMF is the standardized network function responsible for managing positioning services in 5G systems, providing interoperability with standard UE implementations. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the LMF architecture is well-defined in 3GPP specifications and designed to perform the positioning management functions taught by Ryan et al.
Regarding Claim 29, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the method claim.
a method of wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: selecting a subsampling configuration from a plurality of subsampling configurations; receiving a set of positioning signals; measuring the set of positioning signals; calculating a subset of measurements of the measured set of positioning signals based on the selected subsampling configuration; and outputting the calculated subset of measurements to a positioning model.
This claim recites a method substantially parallel to the apparatus of claim 1. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches the method in Claim 18: “A method comprising: determining, at a first device, channel metrics between the first device and a second device; determining, at the first device, a number of positioning reference signal samples based on the channel metrics and a target accuracy for a positioning reference signal measurement; and performing the positioning reference signal measurement based on the number of positioning reference signal samples”. The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding Claim 30, Ryan et al. (‘051) in view of 3GPP TS 38.305 teaches the method claim.
a method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting a plurality of subsampling configurations; and receiving a positioning report comprising at least one of a set of measurements based on at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations or a set of positioning outputs based on the at least one of the plurality of subsampling configurations.
This claim recites a method substantially parallel to the apparatus of claim 17. Ryan et al. (‘051) teaches the method at [0007]: “transmitting, at a second device, mapping information to a first device, wherein the mapping information indicates a relation among numbers of positioning reference signal samples, channel metrics and accuracies for the PRS measurement; and receiving from the first device a report indicating of a result of a PRS measurement”. The rejection of claim 17 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/REMASH R GUYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648