DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 9/4/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 11-14 have been amended.
Claims 15-22 have been added.
Claims 1, 2, and 5-22 are now pending.
The double patenting rejection remains of record.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, and 5-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the following new grounds of rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barday et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0341784), hereinafter referred to as Barday, in view of Kurtin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0026488), hereinafter referred to as Kurtin.
Barday disclosed techniques for the identification and deletion of personal data in computer systems. In an analogous art, Kurtin disclosed techniques for the identification of sensitive data in documents. Both systems are directed toward identifying and protecting personal data.
Regarding claim 1, Barday discloses a tangible non-transitory computer readable storage media, including program instructions loaded into memory that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement a method of responding to right to be forgotten requests (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored, the one or more locations comprising document locations on the one or more cloud-based services (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc., and paragraph 205, document of particular storage location); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations, the performing the deep inspection including applying one or more content inspection rules to the consumer data stored at the identified locations to identify sensitive data related to the particular consumer, and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning, and paragraphs 137-141, scan storage locations to identify personal data); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Barday does not explicitly state performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data. However, performing rule-based analysis on particular user documents in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kurtin. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Barday by adding the ability for performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data as provided by Kurtin (see paragraphs 33-34, searches documents for personal identity information). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that identifying and protecting a user’s sensitive data in this way would assist in preventing the misuse of documents containing personal information (see Kurtin, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method further including: in addition to removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services, the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (Barday, paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method, wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier (Barday, paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method further including: erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (Barday, paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Regarding claim 7, Barday discloses a method of responding to right to be forgotten requests (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored, the one or more locations comprising document locations on the one or more cloud-based services (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc., and paragraph 205, document of particular storage location); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations, the performing the deep inspection including applying one or more content inspection rules to the consumer data stored at the identified locations to identify sensitive data related to the particular consumer, and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning, and paragraphs 137-141, scan storage locations to identify personal data); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Barday does not explicitly state performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data. However, performing rule-based analysis on particular user documents in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kurtin. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Barday by adding the ability for performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data as provided by Kurtin (see paragraphs 33-34, searches documents for personal identity information). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that identifying and protecting a user’s sensitive data in this way would assist in preventing the misuse of documents containing personal information (see Kurtin, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (Barday, paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier (Barday, paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (Barday, paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Regarding claim 11, Barday discloses a system for responding to requests to be forgotten (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the system including a processor, memory coupled to the processor, and computer instructions loaded into memory that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement a method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored, the one or more locations comprising document locations on the one or more cloud-based services (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc., and paragraph 205, document of particular storage location); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations, the performing the deep inspection including applying one or more content inspection rules to the consumer data stored at the identified location to identify sensitive data related to the particular consumer, and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning, and paragraphs 137-141, scan storage locations to identify personal data); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Barday does not explicitly state performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data. However, performing rule-based analysis on particular user documents in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kurtin. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Barday by adding the ability for performing the deep inspection at the identified document locations to identify the sensitive data as provided by Kurtin (see paragraphs 33-34, searches documents for personal identity information). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that identifying and protecting a user’s sensitive data in this way would assist in preventing the misuse of documents containing personal information (see Kurtin, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the computer instructions further cause the processors to implement the method, the method further including: in addition to removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services, the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (Barday, paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier (Barday, paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the computer instructions further cause the processors to implement the method, the method further including: erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (Barday, paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method further including, removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer from the identified document locations response to identification of the sensitive data using the one or more content inspection rules (Barday, paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer (Barday, paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the computer instructions further cause the processors to implement the method, the method further including: removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer (Barday, paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the identified document locations comprise at least one folder of a cloud-hosted email service or at least one folder of a cloud storage service (Kurtin, paragraph 33, cloud storage folders).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the applying of the one or more content inspection rules is performed by a data loss prevention (DLP) engine of the CASB (Barday, paragraph 137, intelligent identity scanning module).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the identified document locations comprise at least one folder of a cloud-hosted email service or at least one folder of a cloud storage service (Kurtin, paragraph 33, cloud storage folders).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein the applying of the one or more content inspection rules is performed by a data loss prevention (DLP) engine of the CASB (Barday, paragraph 137, intelligent identity scanning module).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Barday and Kurtin discloses wherein to perform the deep inspection, the computer instructions cause the CASB to apply the one or more content inspection rules using a data loss prevention (DLP) engine of the CASB (Barday, paragraph 137, intelligent identity scanning module).
Conclusion
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493