DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 5/3/2024 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1, 2, and 5-14 are presented for examination.
The IDS filed 5/14/2024, the IDS filed 5/14/2024, the IDS filed 5/14/2024, and the IDS filed 1/18/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barday et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0341784), hereinafter referred to as Barday.
Regarding claim 1, Barday discloses a tangible non-transitory computer readable storage media, including program instructions loaded into memory that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement a method of responding to right to be forgotten requests (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc.); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 2, Barday discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method including: in addition to removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services, the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 5, Barday discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method, wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier; removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer (paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Barday discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method including: erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Regarding claim 7, Barday discloses a method of responding to right to be forgotten requests (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc.); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 8, Barday discloses program instructions that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement the method including: in addition to removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services, the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 9, Barday discloses wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier; further including removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer (paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Barday discloses erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Regarding claim 11, Barday discloses a system for responding to requests to be forgotten (paragraph 163, right to be forgotten), the system including a processor, memory coupled to the processor, and computer instructions loaded into memory that, when executed on processors, cause the processors to implement a method including: a cloud access security broker (abbreviated CASB) controlling exfiltration of consumer data stored on cloud-based services by a service provider (paragraph 165, Subject Access Request Module, and paragraph 186, cloud-based servers); in response to receiving a right to be forgotten request from a particular consumer, the CASB identifying one or more locations on one or more of the cloud-based services at which consumer data for the particular consumer is stored (paragraph 165, request to delete personal data, and paragraph 166, identify database, server, etc.); the CASB performing deep inspection of the consumer data stored at the identified locations and detecting at least some sensitive data related to the particular consumer in the consumer data (paragraph 166, intelligent identity scanning); and the CASB fulfilling the right to be forgotten request by removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 169, facilitate deletion of personal data).
Regarding claim 12, Barday discloses in addition to removing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services, the CASB providing the detected sensitive data to the particular consumer (paragraph 169, display personal data).
Regarding claim 13, Barday discloses wherein the sensitive data in the consumer data is personal data referenced by an identifier including name, identification number, location data, and online identifier; further including removing records referenced by the identifier of the particular consumer (paragraph 183, unique subject identifier used to fulfill data subject access request, and paragraph 218, unique subject identifier is unique user ID, e-mail address, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Barday discloses erasing any information directly or indirectly identified as related to an identifiable person corresponding to the right to be forgotten request appearing in records containing the detected sensitive data from the cloud-based services (paragraph 2, personal data includes PII).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 5-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent Number 11,416,641 in view of Barday.
Claim 1 of the ‘641 Patent discloses the features of the independent claims of the present invention except for the features of the right to be forgotten request and the removing the detected sensitive data. However, Barday teaches these features as discussed in the prior art rejection above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the ‘641 Patent in this way so as to better manage personal data in a manner that complies with legal and industry requirements (see Barday, paragraph 3). Concerning the dependent claims of the present invention, Barday teaches these features as discussed in the prior art rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muffat et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0250139) disclosed techniques for sensitive personal information linking.
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493