Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicants arguments are directed to the newly amended limitations which are addressed by newly cited Norton ‘417.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2020/0078010) in view of Norton (US 2012/0059417) and Norton (US 2013/0190819) further evidenced by Denham (US20120053630).
As to claims 1 and 9: Anderson discloses: A self-cinching suture apparatus (see Fig. 2), comprising: a suture body including a fixed loop (42) and an adjustable loop (38) opposite the fixed loop; a self-cinching section (40) having a first opening, and a second opening defined in the suture body wherein a portion of the suture body passes axially through the suture body wherein the first opening is positioned between the second opening and the fixed loop (see below).
Anderson does not disclose that the suture enters at the first opening (away from adjustable loop) and exits at the second opening (closest to adjustable loop) such that the tag end extends from the second opening of the self-cinching section in a direction away from the fixed loop.
However, Norton ‘417 in Fig. 1 discloses a suture construct similar to that of Anderson where an adjustable loop is created by the suture entering the first opening (closest to adjustable loop) and exiting the second opening (away from adjustable loop). Norton further discloses an alternative option to forming an adjustable loop (as seen in Fig. 2A) where the suture enters the first opening and exits the second opening. Norton further discloses that the alternative approaches are an improvement on the prior art ([0007]).
Based on the teachings of Norton ‘417, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to form the adjustable loop by having the suture enter the first opening and exit the second opening such that the tag end extends away from the second opening since substituting one structure for the other is well known in the art and would obtain predictable results, mainly a way of maintain tension on an adjustable suture loop. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Modified Anderson does not disclose a transverse pass between the self-cinching section and the fixed loop, wherein a portion of the suture body passes transversely through the suture body at the transverse pass.
However Norton ‘819 in the same field of endeavor discloses a self cinching suture body that includes a transverse pass (62) between a self-cinching section (64 [0061]) and a fixed loop (50 [0061] where loop 50 can be fixed or adjustable), wherein a portion of the suture body passes transversely through the suture body at the transverse pass (see Fig. 1b). Note that using a transverse passage to form fixed portions is further evidenced by Denham (118, Fig. 1 [0035]).
Based on the teachings of Norton ‘819, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to substitute the fixed loop of Anderson with the fixed loop of Norton formed by a transverse pass since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results, namely a way of forming a fixed loop. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Anderson further discloses:
Claim 2 and 10: comprising a free loop disposed on the adjustable loop (22, 220).
Claim 3 and 11: further comprising a first anchor disposed on the free loop (221, Fig4c-4l).
Claim 4 and 12: wherein the first anchor comprises a soft anchor (For example Fig. 13b-13d, [0084-0086]).
Claim 5 and 13: further comprising a first shuttling suture (12) disposed on the free loop (Fig. 2).
Claim 6 and 14: further comprising a second shuttling suture (360) disposed on the fixed loop (fig. 10)
Claim 7 and 15: further comprising a second anchor disposed on the fixed loop ([0048]).
Claim 8 and 16. wherein the second anchor comprises a soft anchor (For example Fig. 13b-13d, [0084-0086])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771