DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 13, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viehmann et al. (US 2021/0302834) in view of Masato (JP 2009/051157A) and Sato et al. (US 4390616). Regarding claim 1, Viehmann et al. disclose “a stack (paragraph 114) comprising: a lithographic printing plate precursor including an image-recording layer which contains an infrared absorber, a polymerizable compound, and a polymerization initiator (paragraph 41); and an interleaving paper stacked on the lithographic printing plate precursor (paragraph 114); wherein the image-recording layer further contains an acid color forming agent (claim 19, paragraph 108).” Examiner notes that Viehmann et al. do not explicitly say that an interleaving paper is present. However, paragraph 114 merely discloses that when the interleaving paper is not present, the protective layer of one precursor contacts the backside of the substrate of the precursor immediately above it. Therefore, Viehmann et al. are implicitly disclosing both the embodiment when the interleaving paper is not present, and the embodiment when the interleaving paper is present. Viehmann et al. fail to disclose “wherein air permeation resistance of the interleaving paper is 55 seconds or more.” However, Masato et al. disclose using interleaving paper with an air permeation resistance of 60 seconds or more (paragraph 25) in order to achieve a lithographic printing plate with little deterioration in printing durability even when stored for a long period of time (paragraph 12). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the interleaving paper of Viehmann et al. have an air permeation resistance of 60 seconds or more in order to achieve a lithographic printing plate which has little deterioration in printing durability even when stored for a long period of time. Viehmann et al. also fail to disclose “the acid color forming agent includes a leuco colorant, and the leuco colorant includes a compound represented by Formula (Le-2)
wherein the electron-donating group in Formula (Le-2) is a monoalkyl monoarylamino group, a diarylamino group, a diheteroarylamino group, or a monoarylmonoheteroarylamino group.” However, Sato et al. disclose very well-known dyes that change color in response to an acid (an electron acceptor) (column 1, lines 42-45, column 4, lines 64-68) that are stable and resist discoloration or fading (sentence bridging columns 4 and 5). The dyes include 3,6, bis-diphenylaminofluoran (column 5, line 4), and are colorless or pale before changing color (column 4, lines 65-66) and are therefore leuco dyes.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.06. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use 3′,6′-diphenylaminofluoran as the acid color developer of Viehmann et al.: because it is shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose; and/or in order to have an image which is stable and resists discoloration. Regarding claim 2, Viehmann et al. disclose “a stack (paragraph 114) comprising: a lithographic printing plate precursor including an image-recording layer which contains an infrared absorber, a polymerizable compound, and a polymerization initiator (paragraph 41); and an interleaving paper stacked on the lithographic printing plate precursor (paragraph 114), wherein the interleaving paper is overlapped with the lithographic printing plate precursor to be in contact with a surface of the lithographic printing plate precursor on an image-recording layer side (paragraph 114),
wherein the image-recording layer further contains an acid color forming agent (claim 19, paragraph 108).” Examiner notes that Viehmann et al. do not explicitly say that an interleaving paper is present. However, paragraph 114 merely discloses that when the interleaving paper is not present, the protective layer of one precursor contacts the backside of the substrate of the precursor immediately above it. Therefore, Viehmann et al. are implicitly disclosing both the embodiment when the interleaving paper is not present, and the embodiment when the interleaving paper is present. Viehmann et al. also fail to disclose “the acid color forming agent includes a leuco colorant, and the leuco colorant includes a compound represented by Formula (Le-2)
wherein the electron-donating group in Formula (Le-2) is a monoalkyl monoarylamino group, a diarylamino group, a diheteroarylamino group, or a monoarylmonoheteroarylamino group.” However, Sato et al. disclose very well-known dyes that change color in response to an acid (an electron acceptor) (column 1, lines 42-45, column 4, lines 64-68) that are stable and resist discoloration or fading (sentence bridging columns 4 and 5). The dyes include 3,6, bis-diphenylaminofluoran (column 5, line 4), and are colorless or pale before changing color (column 4, lines 65-66) and are therefore leuco dyes.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.06. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use 3′,6′-diphenylaminofluoran as the acid color developer of Viehmann et al.: because it is shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose; and/or in order to have an image which is stable and resists discoloration. Viehmann et al. also fail to disclose “a color difference ΔE of the image-recording layer before and after storage in a dark room in an environment of 25°C and 55 %RH for 3 days is less than 3.0.” However, Masato et al. disclose using interleaving paper on top with an air permeation resistance of 60 seconds or more (paragraph 25) in order to achieve a lithographic printing plate with little deterioration in printing durability even when stored for a long period of time (paragraph 12). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the interleaving paper of Viehmann et al. have an air permeation resistance of 60 seconds or more in order to achieve a lithographic printing plate which has little deterioration in printing durability even when stored for a long period of time. It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by an identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP §2112.01. In this instance, since the stack of Viehmann et al., as modified, is at least substantially identical to that claimed by Applicant, the recited property of the color difference is presumed to be inherent. Regarding claims 4 and 13, Viehmann et al. further disclose “wherein the polymerization initiator includes an electron-donating polymerization initiator (paragraph 78).” Regarding claims 5 and 14, Viehmann et al. further disclose “wherein the electron-donating polymerization initiator includes a borate compound (paragraph 78).” Regarding claims 8 and 17, Viehmann et al. further disclose “wherein the lithographic printing plate precursor further includes a support (paragraph 41).”
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viehmann et al., Masato, and Sato et al, further in view of Takeshi (JP 2009-248419A). Regarding claims 10 and 19, Viehmann et al., as modified, disclose all that is claimed, as in claims 1 and 2 above, respectively, except “wherein a pH of the interleaving paper is less than 5.” Viehmann et al., as modified, are silent with regard to the pH, leaving the choice up to one having ordinary skill in the art. Takeshi discloses a similar stack with an interleaving sheet (abstract), the interleaving sheet being disclosed as having a pH of 4 (paragraph 230). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a pH of 4 for the pH of the interleaving paper in the modified invention of Viehmann et al. because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viehmann et al., Masato, and Sato et al., further in view of Keiichi et al. (JP 2009-023354A).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Viehmann et al., as modified, disclose all that is claimed, as in claims 1 and 2 above, respectively, except “wherein a basis weight of the interleaving paper is 51 g/m2 or more.” Viehmann et al., as modified, are silent with regard to the basis weight, leaving the choice up to one having ordinary skill in the art. However, Keiichi et al. disclose a similar interleaving paper (abstract) which has a basis weight of 20 to 120 g/m2 (paragraph 22). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a basis weight of 20 to 120 g/m2 because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viehmann et al., Masato, and Sato et al., further in view of Shibamoto et al. (US 2019/0329545). Regarding claims 6, 7, 15, and 16, Viehmann et al., as modified, disclose all that is claimed, as in claims 1 and 2 above, except “wherein an HOMO value of the infrared absorber is -5.30 eV or less,” or “wherein an HOMO value of the infrared absorber - an HOMO value of the electron-donating polymerization initiator is 0.60 eV or less.” However, Shibamoto et al. discloses using an infrared absorber and an electron-donating polymerization initiator wherein the HOMO value of the infrared absorber - a HOMO value of the electron-donating polymerization initiator is 0.60 eV in order to achieve desired printing durability and tone reproducibility (paragraph 318). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an infrared absorber and an electron-donating polymerization initiator wherein the HOMO value of the infrared absorber - a HOMO value of the electron-donating polymerization initiator is 0.60 eV in order to achieve desired printing durability and tone reproducibility. Shibamoto et al. disclose many infrared absorbers having a HOMO of -5.30 eV or less (Table 2). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use any of the IR absorbers having a HOMO of -5.30 eV or less because they have been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viehmann et al., Masato, and Sato et al., further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0061404). Regarding claims 9 and 18, Viehmann et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claims 1 and 2 above, except “wherein a value of lightness L* of a surface of the support on an image-recording layer side is 85 or less.” However, Nakamura et al. disclose making the lightness of a surface of the support on an image-recording layer side between 70 and 100 in order to achieve improved image visibility (paragraph 47). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the lightness of a surface of the support on an image-recording layer side to between 70 and 85 in order to achieve improved image visibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853