DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Fig. 1, ref. no. “21d” should be replaced with ref. no. --21e-- since it points to the “recess 21e”, rather than the “frame 21d”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 2: Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the first shaft portion and the second shaft portion each have the same outer diameters along the axial direction.” However, claim 1 requires that the second shaft portion has “a diameter smaller than that of the first shaft.” It is unclear how both of these limitations can be true at the same time since the outer diameter of the second shaft portion cannot be both “smaller than” and “the same” as the outer diameter of the first shaft portion. For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret this limitation to mean that the outer diameter are not the same as each other, but rather they are each constant along the axial direction.
Further, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the limitation “the axial direction.” For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret this limitation as referring to an axial direction of the positioning pin.
If the above interpretations are correct, claim 2 should be amended as follows:
--2. The component assembly structure according to claim 1, wherein
the first shaft portion and the second shaft portion each have a constant outer diameter along an axial direction of the positioning pin.--
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claim 4: This claim is considered indefinite because of its dependency from indefinite claim 2.
Examiner notes that any prior art rejections made in this Office Action are made in view of the claims, as best understood by the Examiner, in view of the above indefiniteness rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa (JP H10-311746, a copy of which was provided by Applicant with the IDS filed 21 May 2025).
Re Claim 1: Nakagawa discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a component to be assembled (3) in which a positioning pin (17) is provided on a base (at 3h);
a first component (21) with a first hole (21h) to be fitted to the positioning pin (17); and
a second component (11) with a second hole (11h) to be fitted to the positioning pin (17), wherein
the positioning pin (17) includes a first shaft portion (17a) in a side on the base and a second shaft portion (17c), having a diameter smaller than that of the first shaft portion, in a side on a tip end,
the first component (21) is positioned on the component to be assembled by fitting the first hole (21h) to the first shaft portion (17a), and
the second component (11) is positioned on the component to be assembled by fitting the second hole (11h) to the second shaft portion (17c).
Re Claim 2, as best understood by the Examiner: Nakagawa discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the first shaft portion (17a) and the second shaft portion (17c) each have a constant outer diameter along an axial direction of the positioning pin.
Re Claims 3 and 4: Nakagawa discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 1-2), wherein an inclined portion (17b) having a conical trapezoidal shape is provided between the first shaft portion (17a) and the second shaft portion (17c).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiberghien (US Patent 8,336,922).
Re Claim 1: Tiberghien discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 5-8) comprising:
a component to be assembled (3) in which a positioning pin (positioning post 121) is provided on a base (at centring post 31);
a first component (2) with a first hole (see annotated Fig. 6 below) to be fitted to the positioning pin (121); and
a second component (410) with a second hole (see annotated Fig. 6 below) to be fitted to the positioning pin, wherein
the positioning pin (121) includes a first shaft portion (see below) in a side on the base and a second shaft portion (see below), having a diameter smaller than that of the first shaft portion, in a side on a tip end,
the first component (2) is positioned on the component (3; upon positioning the centring post 31 within the centring socket 21) to be assembled by fitting the first hole to the first shaft portion, and
the second component (410) is positioned on the component to be assembled by fitting the second hole to the second shaft portion.
Re Claim 2, as best understood by the Examiner: Tiberghien discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 5-8), wherein the first shaft portion and the second shaft portion (see annotated Fig. 6 above) each have a constant outer diameter along an axial direction of the positioning pin.
Re Claims 3 and 4: Tiberghien discloses a component assembly structure (see Figs. 5-8), wherein an inclined portion (see annotated Fig. 6 above)) having a conical trapezoidal shape is provided between the first shaft portion and the second shaft portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678