DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 as previously presented in applicant’s response dated 24 August 2026 is presently under consideration. Claims 2-49 remain cancelled.
The prior art grounds of rejection is maintained and restated below.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments to Masuda on page 3 of the response filed 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as the grooves of Masuda allow easier bending of the semiconductor material along an axis (para [0044], see Fig. 9) so that in can for example conform to the curvature of a vehicle roof as the thinner segments allow greater flexibility thus improved mechanical resilience compared to a conventional semiconductor wafer without the grooves which would be more prone to breaking or cracking. Further, bending any article places it under tension and compression stresses, the grooves in Masuda reduce the force required to bend or flex the article at those points. Additionally, as CHU further modified the grooves to include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17) further provides mechanical resilience to the PV cell. As such, applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments to CHU on pages 3-4 of the response filed 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. The cited embodiment of CHU (Fig. 1B) includes non-transcending gaps (gap-B region) that leave an intact and continuous semiconductor layer. See para [0087] of CHU which recites “Multiple gap-B regions are formed inside the Type-B semiconductor assembly module 10b and edge gap regions are formed surround the edge of the Type-B semiconductor assembly module 10b; Please note that a portion of semiconductor layer is not etched and remained in gap-B region. The semiconductor units are connected via the remaining semiconductor layer for Type B semiconductor assembly module 10a”. Thus one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the gaps B of CHU to not be fully transcending. Further CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17) where the effect of dampening or absorbing and dissipating vibration shock waves meets the functional limitations of absorbing mechanical shocks and dissipating mechanical forces. Applicant’s arguments to the filler material providing a hard property are also not found persuasive as they are directed to an embodiment not relied upon. CHU in in paras [0110]-[0111] states the filler can be treated instead to provide semi-cured flexible, stretch, soft properties and as recited previously (paras [0118], [0120]) the effect of dampening or absorbing and dissipating vibration shock waves meets the functional limitations of absorbing mechanical shocks and dissipating mechanical forces. Further Fig. 7B clearly illustrates the filler material of CHU withing non-transcending gap regions of a semiconductor unit 11 contrary to applicant’s assertions.
Applicant’s arguments to CHU are thus not found persuasive for the reasons above.
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks to the claim are considered moot as they depend form the arguments and remarks rebutted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bende et al (WO 2015/012697A1) and further in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) and in further view of Nishi (JP H07312434A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of CHU (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 1 Bende discloses a Photovoltaic (PV) cell, comprising:
(a) a semiconductor wafer, having a top surface that is intended to face a light source, and having a bottom surface that is opposite to said top surface (Top of page 7, Fig. 1a see: 10 substrate 10 comprising a semiconductor body);
wherein the bottom surface of the semiconductor wafer is covered by a bottom-side covering layer that comprises at least one of: a bottom-side encapsulation layer, a bottom- side lamination layer (Page 6, Fig. 1a see: inner electrically isolating sheet 12a on bottom of substrate 10);
(b) a metal foil, connected beneath the bottom-side covering layer (Page 6, Fig. 1a see: first electrically conductive sheet 12 beneath inner electrically isolating sheet 12a);
wherein the metal foil is an internal and integral part of a solar cell stack of said PV cell (Abstract, top of page 4, Fig. 1a see: first electrically conductive sheet 12 is internal and thus integral to the stack of sheets laminated on the back side of the substrate 10 and forming the solar cell);
wherein the metal foil collects and transports PV-generated electric power from a plurality of regions of the PV cell (Pages 6-7, Figs. 1a and 2 see: first electrically conductive sheet 12 connected to a plurality of regions of the substrate 10 by electrical connection materials 18);
(c) a Metal Foil Protection Layer, that comprises one or more encapsulation layers or lamination layers, connected beneath said metal foil, to provide mechanical protection to said metal foil and said PV cell (Pages 6-7, Fig. 1a see: further electrically isolating sheets 16 and 17 provided behind first electrically conductive sheet 12).
Bende does not explicitly disclose wherein the top surface of the semiconductor wafer is covered by a top-side covering layer that comprises at least one of: a top-side encapsulation layer, a top-side lamination layer or wherein the PV cell is flexible and rollable; wherein the semiconductor wafer has blind gaps that penetrate uniformly upward into between 75 percent and 99 percent of a total thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and that do not penetrate into an entirety of the total thickness of the semiconductor wafer; wherein said blind gaps that penetrate into the semiconductor wafer increase flexibility and mechanical resilience and mechanical shock absorption of said PV cell without fully dividing said semiconductor wafer; wherein at least some of said blind gaps contain a filler material having mechanical force absorption properties, which provides mechanical shock absorption properties to said PV cell.
Matsuda discloses a photovoltaic cell is flexible and rollable as the semiconductor wafer has blind gaps that penetrate uniformly upward into between 75 percent and 99 percent of a total thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and that do not penetrate into an entirety of the total thickness of the semiconductor wafer (Matsuda, [0010], [0027]-[0028] Fig. 2 see: power generation layer 1 of a Si semiconductor substrate with grooves 7 in a rear surface where said grooves have a depth of three-fourths of the thickness of the semiconductor substrate (75%)). Matsuda teaches this configuration allows the photovoltaic cell to deform and curve ([0044] Fig. 9).
Matsuda and Bende are combinable as they are directed to the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Bende in view of Matsuda such that the PV cell of Bende is flexible and rollable as in Matsuda where the semiconductor wafer has blind gaps that penetrate uniformly upward into between 75 percent and 99 percent of a total thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and that do not penetrate into an entirety of the total thickness of the semiconductor wafer as in Matsuda (Matsuda, [0010], [0027]-[0028] Fig. 2 see: power generation layer 1 of a Si semiconductor substrate with grooves 7 in a rear surface where said grooves have a depth of three-fourths of the thickness of the semiconductor substrate (75%)) as Matsuda teaches this configuration allows the photovoltaic cell to deform and curve ([0044] Fig. 9).
Nishi teaches a solar cell which is flexible and rollable where the top surface of the semiconductor wafer is covered by a top-side covering layer that comprises at least one of: a top-side encapsulation layer, a top-side lamination layer (Nishi, [0008] Fig. 1 see: light transmitting resin 7 made of PET, which covers the light-receiving surface side of the substrate 1 and protects the surface of the substrate and/or thermoplastic resin filled around the substrate 1).
Nishi and modified Bende are combinable as they are directed to the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Bende in view of Nishi such that the PV cell of Bende further comprises a top-side covering layer that comprises at least one of: a top-side encapsulation layer, a top-side lamination layer that covers the top surface of the semiconductor wafer as in Nishi (Nishi, [0008] Fig. 1 see: light transmitting resin 7 made of PET, which covers the light-receiving surface side of the substrate 1 and protects the surface of the substrate and/or thermoplastic resin filled around the substrate 1) for providing top surface protection.
Furthermore, regarding the claim 1 limitation “wherein at least some of said blind gaps contain a filler material having mechanical force absorption properties, which provides mechanical shock absorption properties to said PV cell” Matsuda teaches the gaps (grooves 7) can further include a filler material (insulating film 7a) such as an insulating resin (para [0045], Fig. 8) but does not explicitly disclose said filler material having mechanical force absorption properties, which provides mechanical shock absorption properties to said PV cell.
However, CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Bende are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the PV cell of modified Bende such that the filler material of the blind gaps of Bende is an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
As such, regarding the claim 1 recitations of “wherein said blind gaps that penetrate into the semiconductor wafer increase flexibility and mechanical resilience and mechanical shock absorption of said PV cell without fully dividing said semiconductor wafer” and where the filler material has mechanical force absorption properties, which provides mechanical shock absorption properties to said PV cell” the examiner notes these recitations are directed to an intended use of the claimed PV cell.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
The photovoltaic cell of Bende as modified by Matsuda includes grooves 7 which allow deformation and flexing/rolling of the power generation layer 1 ([0028], [0044] Figs. 2, 9) and due to this flexing and deformation (physical displacement) is thus considered fully capable of providing mechanical resilience and mechanical shock absorption to said semiconductor body as claimed and as said grooves are further provided with a filler as modified by CHU which provides a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves, said filler material thus has mechanical force absorption properties, which provides mechanical shock absorption properties to said PV cell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726