DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The applicant has amended claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 21, 23 and 25. Applicant argues that with the amendment of claim 1 with the new limitation of “the first mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism.” This limitation was previously recited in dependent claim 2 whereby claim 2 now has a new limitation “the first mold and the second mold are linearly movable relative to each other along a rail of the position control mechanism”. Moreover claim 8 (previously allowable subject matter), has now been amended to change the recitation of a “fourth mold” to that of a “third mold”. Dependent claims 9 and 10 were amended to reflect this change.
Applicant argues that the two prior references, Nguyen (US 2014/0265016 A1) in view of Cort (EP 3112115 A1), provided over claim 1 under 35 U.S.C.§ 103, do not individually or in combination disclose a mold rotatable about two axes orthogonal to each other. Applicant argues that a mold portion 20/mold carrier 220 of Nguyen is rotatable about the axes 261 and 321 in parallel to each other. A molding element 5B of Corti is rotatable about one axis. (Applicant arguments/remarks 02/03/2026 p. 1). Applicant made no argument and/or remark regarding the amendments of claims 2 and 8. (Applicant arguments/remarks 02/23/2026 p. 1).
The examiner is not persuaded by this argument because it appears that Corti does disclose a first mold that is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism. Compare Fig. 7 instant invention to Corti Figs. 7A and 7B below, also see Corti paragraphs [0052] [0057] and discussion below:
Moreover, amended claim 8, where claim 8 was previously allowable subject matter, is now determined by the examiner to constitute new matter. See discussion below under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).
Examiner provides new grounds of rejection as necessitated by these amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is indicated in paragraphs [0039], [0048], [0055], [0112] of the current specification (02/21/2024), where paragraphs [0039] and [0048] disclose that the first mold is disposed opposite to the second mold with the fourth mold surrounded by the first mold cavity which coincides with the second mold (See Fig. 2 below, paragraph [0039] fourth mold – 17a, first mold – 11a, first mold cavity – 19a, second mold – 4). Additionally, the fourth mold is disclosed as attached to the first mold, not the third mold as amended (Fig. 2 paragraph [0039]). No other embodiments are disclosed which read on these amended limitations:
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected as new matter through dependency on claim 8.
Note 1: Claim rejections follow under prior art (35 U.S.C.§ 103) since the examiner should still consider the subject matter added to the claim in making rejections based on prior art since the new matter rejection may be overcome by applicant (MPEP 2163.06 I Treatment Of New Matter).
Note 2: amended claim 2 was also examined and it was determined that at least paragraphs [0072] [0097] of the specification supports and reads into claim 2 (linearly moving the second mold – 14 toward the first mold – 11a; position control mechanism – 20 moved the second mold – 14 disposed on the platform – 23 away from the first mold – 11a by moving the platform – 23 along the rail – 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen US 2014/0265016 A1) IDS 07/06/2025 in view of Corti (EP 3 112 115 A1) IDS 10/10/2024
Regarding Claim 1, Nguyen discloses a molding device (Fig. 1 abs, paragraph [0048] apparatus for molding articles, molding machine – 100 with molding assembly – 200) comprising a first mold; a second mold (Fig. 1 paragraph [0048] upper mold portion – 20 a middle mold portion – 30);
a first mold cavity defined by the first mold and the second mold when the first mold is disposed opposite to the second mold (Fig.3A, 3B paragraph [0055] mold portions – 20, 30 may cooperate with an adjacent mold portion to define mold cavities therebetween); and
a position control mechanism attached to the first mold and the second mold (Figs. 3-8, paragraphs [0052] [0059] where upper mold portion – 20 is carried by upper mold carrier – 220, middle mold portion – 30 is carried by middle mold carrier – 230; articulation mechanism – 300 includes a pair of connecting members – 320 extending between upper mold carrier – 220 and middle mold carrier – 230),
wherein the first mold and the second mold are movable by the position control mechanism individually (Figs. 3-8 paragraph [0059] middle mold carrier – 230 may be coupled to connecting members – 320 such that middle mold carrier – 230 may be translationally displaced with respect to upper mold carrier – 220. Middle mold carrier – 230 may linearly move apart from upper mold carrier – 220; vertically as shown in Fig. 4B).
But, while Nguyen discloses a first mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism (Fig. 7B paragraph [0068] perimeter edge of middle mold carrier – 230 rotation coupled such that the middle mold carrier – 230 may be hingedly coupled at axis – 321 to a lower end of each connecting member – 320) and that there appears to be an additional axis that is associated with a pivot member such that the upper mold carrier and middle mold carrier displace angularly around the additional axis (Fig. 7B paragraph [0069] axis – 321 pivot member – 262 upper mold carrier – 220, middle mold carrier – 230),
however, these axes involved appear to be parallel to each other and not orthogonal.
Corti discloses in an apparatus for conveying and foaming objects such as refrigerator doors (abs, paragraph [0024]) an injection molding unit (paragraph [0005]) which comprises a carrier having a plurality of molding stations (Figs. 1, 2 paragraphs [0036] conveying modules – MT1, MT2) with a molding device (Figs. 1-3 paragraphs [0034] [0042] first molding element – 5A second molding element – 5B where the conveying modules MT1 and MT2 have an advancement unit – 21 for the first molding elements – 5A and the second molding element – 5B, respectively) with two half-shells housed in the respective first – 5A and second – 5B molding elements that together define a respective molding unit – 4 (Fig. 1-3 paragraphs [0034]-[0036]). Corti further discloses that it has a position control mechanism attached to the first mold and the second mold (Fig. 1 paragraph [0061] control unit – 40 to control and mutually coordinate the various parts of the apparatus – 1 to move in an indexed manner or continuously the molding units – 4). Corti also discloses that a first mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism (Figs. 7A, 7B paragraphs [0052] [0057] upper platforms – 55 are tiltable by a cylinder o motor drive for tiling second moulding elements – 5B, 50B), paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Nguyen with the teachings of Corti whereby a molding device with a first mold and a second mold with a position control mechanism attached to the first mold and the second mold to have also included that the third mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of a position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism as taught by Corti.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to use this additional feature to allow for great versatility in inserting different designs into a production cycle in real time using innumerable geometrical configurations of the containing molds providing different models of a product on a “just in time” basis (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Nguyen further discloses that the first and second mold are linearly movable relative to each other along a rail of the position control mechanism (Figs. 13A, 13B paragraph [0082] support member – 340 may include a sliding surface provided by a rail, with support member – 340 which may extend from front to back on either side (or both sides) of the lower mold carrier with a rolling ,sliding element , sliding surface or other guided element – 342 complementarily provided on middle mold carrier where roller – 342 rest on and travel along the length of rails – 340).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Nguyen further discloses that the second mold is linearly movable along a rail of the position control mechanism (Figs. 17A, 17B middle mold carrier – 230 moves forward with the roller -342 maintaining contact and sliding (or rolling) along the rail – 340).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and Nguyen further discloses a third mold (Figs. 3A, 3B paragraph [0052] lower mold portion – 40 is carried by lower mold carrier – 240) attached to and movable by the position control mechanism (Figs. 13A, 13B paragraph [0082] adjunct to the articulated mechanism – 300 where support member – 340 which assists in the support, positioning and/or displacement guidance of the middle mold carrier – 320 may be attached to the lower mold carrier – 240)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Corti further discloses the feature of a first mold, a second mold and third mold held by a position control mechanism (Fig. 7A paragraphs [0051] -[0056] movement devices – 7, 8 diametrically opposite from each other) which are configured for engaging a first and second mold (paragraphs [0005] [0006]), with an additional third mold present as an additional unit because of a mold-changing station that enables one or more molding units to be replaced with other molding units (paragraph [0062]). These molds are duplicated into a plurality of molding units with a plurality of operating modules that are placed in sequence (Fig. 2 paragraph [0030}. See Fig. 2 below:
Corti also teaches that a third mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism (Figs 1, 5 paragraph [0051] – [0054] transfer-closing rotatable carousel unit - UCT which are diametrically opposite upper platforms rotating around a vertical axis and which are tiltable for receiving, translating, tilting and lower first and second molding elements.). See Fig. 5 below for configuration for a first, second and third mold rotatable in a hinged manner about a first axis and a second orthogonal axis by rotating and pivot of a position control mechanism:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Nguyen with the teachings of Corti whereby a molding device with a first mold, a second mold and a third mold with a position control mechanism attached to the first mold, second mold and third mold to have also included that the third mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of a position control mechanism and about a second axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism as taught by Corti.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to use this additional feature to allow for great versatility in inserting different designs into a production cycle in real time using innumerable geometrical configurations of the containing molds providing different models of a product on a “just in time” basis (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Nguyen further discloses a second mold cavity defined by the second mold and the third mold when the third mold is disposed opposite to the second mold (Figs. 3A, 3B paragraph [0055] mold portion – 40 cooperates with an adjacent mold portion to define mold cavity therebetween, which includes the second mold – 30).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Nguyen further discloses that when the third mold is disposed opposite to the second mold, the first mold is offset from the third mold substantially in a right angle (Fig. 7B paragraph [0067] where the upper mold portion – 20 and middle mold portions – 30 are no longer parallel and are at an angle to each other which encompasses a right angle while the lower mold portion – 40 is parallel to the middle mold portion – 30) - see Fig. 7B below
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Nguyen discloses that a third mold attached to the first mold, wherein the first mold cavity is defined by the first mold, the second mold and the third mold when the first mold is disposed opposite to the second mold and the third mold is surrounded by the second mold (Figs 13B, 14B, 15, 16, 17B paragraph [0082] where third mold - lower mold carrier – 240 is attached to the first mold – upper mold carrier – 220 through connecting member – 320 which guide the second mold – middle mold carrier – 230 and the front portion of the rail – 340 provided with a recessed region – 343 allow roller – 342 to drop down so that contact between the middle and the lower mold portion – 30, 40 is possible such that the middle mold portion (second mold) 30 rests on and is pressed against lower mold portion – 40 or surrounded by it.) See Fig. 14A below:
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 8, however, neither Nguyen nor Corti discloses that the third mold includes a shoe last. For evidence see shoemaking. Wiki where “last” is defined as a “key tool in shoemaking, “lasts” are molds around which the uppers of shoes are formed
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.”
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 8, and while Nguyen discloses that the third mold includes a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, Nguyen does not disclose that the position control mechanism is configured to tilt the third mold relative to the second mold to move the second end of the third mold higher than the first end of the third mold.
However, Corti disclose that its position control mechanism is configured to tilt at least a second mold (Figs. 2, 5 paragraph [0053] The movement devices – 7 are configured for engaging with, and coupling, a respective second moulding element – 5B, 50B with the corresponding first molding element – 5A, 50A such as to close the respective molding unit – 4 during a rotation, in particular by 180° (orthogonal), of the transfer-closing carousel unit UCT.). The position control mechanism of Corti is configured to tilt a third mold relative to a second mold to move the second end of the third mold higher than the thirst end of the third mold (paragraph [0054] grasping slide unit – 16 configured for engaging on opposite sides with a perimeter protrusion – 19 on each second moulding elements – 5B, 50B to move away/towards and tilt each second moulding element – 5b in relation to the corresponding first moulding element – 5A, 50A to open/clos the respective moulding unit). Therefore, it would be obvious to apply this technique to a third molding element. See MPEP § 2143 I (E) “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Regarding Claim 21, Nguyen discloses a molding device (Fig. 1 abs, paragraph [0048] apparatus for molding articles, molding machine – 100 with molding assembly – 200) comprising a first mold; a second mold, a third mold (Fig. 1 paragraph [0048] upper mold portion – 20 a middle mold portion – 30, lower mold portion – 40);
a position control mechanism attached to the first mold, the second mold and the third mold (Figs. 3-8, 13B paragraphs [0052] [0059] [0082]where upper mold portion – 20 is carried by upper mold carrier – 220, middle mold portion – 30 is carried by middle mold carrier – 230 lower mold portion – 40 is carried by lower mold carrier – 240; articulation mechanism – 300 includes a pair of connecting members – 320 extending between upper mold carrier – 220 and middle mold carrier – 230, adjunct to the articulated mechanism – 300 where support member – 340 which assists in the support, positioning and/or displacement guidance of the middle mold carrier – 320 may be attached to the lower mold carrier – 240),
wherein the first mold and the third mold together are movable relative to the second mold by the position control mechanism (Fig. 7B paragraphs [0067] [0072] middle mold portion – 30 may remain horizontal while the upper platen – 120 and the lower platen – 140 remain or the lower mold carrier – 240 maybe displaced horizontally while the upper mold carrier – 220 is pivoted).
But, while Nguyen discloses a first mold that is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism (Fig. 7B paragraph [0068] perimeter edge of middle mold carrier – 230 rotation coupled such that the middle mold carrier – 230 may be hingedly coupled at axis – 321 to a lower end of each connecting member – 320) and that there appears to be an additional axis that is associated with a pivot member such that the upper mold carrier and middle mold carrier displace angularly around the additional axis (Fig. 7B paragraph [0069] axis – 321 pivot member – 262 upper mold carrier – 220, middle mold carrier – 230),
the axes involved appear to be parallel to each other and not orthogonal.
Corti discloses in an apparatus for conveying and foaming objects such as refrigerator doors (abs, paragraph [0024]) an injection molding unit (paragraph [0005]) which comprises a carrier having a plurality of molding stations (Figs. 1, 2 paragraphs [0036] conveying modules – MT1, MT2) with a molding device (Figs. 1-3 paragraphs [0034] [0042] first molding element – 5A second molding element – 5B where the conveying modules MT1 and MT2 have an advancement unit – 21 for the first molding elements – 5A and the second molding element – 5B, respectively) with two half-shells housed in the respective first – 5A and second – 5B molding elements that together define a respective molding unit – 4 (Fig. 1-3 paragraphs [0034]-[0036]). Corti further discloses that it has a position control mechanism attached to the first mold and the second mold (Fig. 1 paragraph [0061] control unit – 40 to control and mutually coordinate the various parts of the apparatus – 1 to move in an indexed manner or continuously the molding units – 4). Corti also discloses that a first mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism (Figs. 7A, 7B paragraphs [0052] [0057] upper platforms – 55 are tiltable by a cylinder of motor drive for tiling second moulding elements – 5B, 50B), paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Nguyen with the teachings of Corti whereby a molding device with a first mold and a second mold with a position control mechanism attached to the first mold and the second mold to have also included that the third mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of a position control mechanism and about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism as taught by Corti.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to use this additional feature to allow for great versatility in inserting different designs into a production cycle in real time using innumerable geometrical configurations of the containing molds providing different models of a product on a “just in time” basis (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Nguyen further discloses that the first mold is engageable with the second mold to define a first mold cavity, and the third mold is engageable with the second mold to define a second mold cavity (Fig.3A, 3B paragraph [0055] mold portions – 20, 30, 40 may cooperate with an adjacent mold portion to define mold cavities therebetween).
Regarding Claim 23, Nguyen anticipates all the limitations of claim 21 but does not disclose that the first mold and the third mold are rotatable relative to each other about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism.
Corti teaches that a third mold is rotatable about a first axis by a hinge of the position control mechanism, and this is rotatable relative to a first mold which is rotatable by a hinge of the position control mechanism (Figs 1, 5 paragraph [0051] – [0054] transfer-closing rotatable carousel unit - UCT which are diametrically opposite upper platforms rotating around a vertical axis and which are tiltable for receiving, translating, tilting and lower first and second molding elements.).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 23 and Corti further discloses that the first mold is movable toward or away from with the second mold by the hinge, and the third mold is movable toward or away from with the second mold by the hinge (paragraph [0020] “carousel” plant defines a closed horizontal path along which a plurality of molds is advanced. Molds are hinged together).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 23 and Corti further discloses the first mold, and the third mold together are rotatable about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis by a pivot of the position control mechanism. (Figs. 2, 5 paragraph [0053] The movement devices – 7 are configured for engaging with, and coupling, a respective second moulding element – 5B, 50B with the corresponding first molding element – 5A, 50A such as to close the respective molding unit – 4 during a rotation, in particular by 180° (orthogonal), of the transfer-closing carousel unit UCT.)
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 23 and Nguyen further discloses that the first mold and the third mold are not rotatable relative to each other by the pivot of the position control mechanism (Fig. 7B paragraph [0070] a locking or latching mechanism may be located on a connecting member – 320 near the rotational axis – 321).
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 26 and Nguyen further discloses an angle between the first mold and the third mold (Fig. 7B paragraph [0065] pivot arm – 262 driven through an angle (A) around axis – 261 where upper mold portion – 20 and upper mold carrier – 220 rotate through angle (A) angle between the first mold and the third mold). However, Nguyen is silent that this angle is in a range of about 10 and 90 degrees.
But it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an angle between the first mold and the third mold to be in the range of about 10 and 90 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to use this range for the purpose of maintaining an angular displacement accompanied by a horizontal and/or vertical movement so that the first mold may be at least partially positioned outside the platen volume and relative to the frame in some embodiments (paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 27, but Nguyen does not disclose that the angle is adjustable by the hinge.
But it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make adjustable, since it has been held that adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to make this angle adjustable for the purpose of changing from a molding position to an accessing position allowing relatively complex motions and displacements to be achieved. This provides additional molding capability or capacity within a given working volume (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claim 29 the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Nguyen further discloses that the second mold is linearly movable along a rail of the position control mechanism (Figs. 17A, 17B paragraph [0086] in one embodiment, middle mold carrier – 230 moved forward with the roller – 342 sliding (or rolling along the rail – 340).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Nguyen and Corti disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Nguyen further discloses that the first mold and the third mold together are linearly movable along a rail of the position control mechanism (Fig. 7B paragraphs [0065] [0072] upper mold carrier – 220 may be linearly displaced; the lower mold carrier – 240 may be displaced horizontally).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748